not working Rated 1 out of 5 stars

absolutely no reaction on click of the marker icon

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Should be automatically blocked by Mozilla. Creates a mess and can not be uninstalled.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.22486). 

Awful Firefox slow down:Not Responding Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I have no idea how or when Browser Highlighter got added to my Firefox. I've been using Firefox steadily for at least 4 years and from time to time add another add-on. I don't recall adding this, but I'm not certain that I didn't. I don't recall ever using it, either, but it certainly sounds like it should be benign.

In any case, some time at the end of July of this year (2010) I started experiencing terrible slowdowns in Firefox. I mean really terrible, especially for long pages. Long pages would just get hung up with a 'Not Responding' when I would try to scroll or see what was going on. Often I would have to use Task Manager to close out of Firefox.

I kept researching on the internet to see what was causing my problem and did all the usual things (cleared cache, expanded cache size, deleted temp files etc) all to no avail. I even uninstalled Firefox and reinstalled it several times.I had to resort to using Internet Explorer for my browser much of the time, instead of Firefox. Finally yesterday after several months of frustration and wasted time, and embarrassment when I was trying to show things to people and had to kill my Firefox, etc, I spent the day yesterday just focusing on this problem. This time when I uninstalled Firefox, I checked a box that said something like 'destroy all my settings'. I don't remember exactly but as a result, I had far fewer Add-ons, this being one, and I was able to delete it. Finally the strangle hold on my Firefox is gone. It was being choked by this Add-on.

I can't believe how much time I have lost and how much aggravation I experienced as a result of this Add-On. I hardly ever ever go to eBay. I don't recall if I went there at the end of July and that's why this started. I do use Skype quite regularly but I don't think I use a browser to do it. But in any case, I am so glad to be rid of this problem and hope it does not re-appear.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.19126). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Does not work! See ebay spy instead:
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/192507/

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.19126). 

SPYWARE / MALWARE Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Don't install this piece of crap malware.
Just spent a half an hour trying to figure out what was hijacking my girlfriends firefox install. I'm really annoyed that mozilla have even approved this program for download.
typing in a website results in a numerous other websites being called logging your usage and displaying ads! WHAT IS THE POINT!!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.14907). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

P.S. As someone mentioned, it is an actual program rather than an add-on. I was able to quickly remove it through the control panel. Good riddance.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.14907). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Just updated Skype. What a mistake! What makes them think they can automatically stick crap on my computer? The highlighter does not appear as a separate add-on that I can remove, probably because I haven't yet restarted Firefox. I guess my only option at this point is to disable the whole Skype add-on.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.14907). 

This plugin is essentially... Rated 1 out of 5 stars

malware

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.14907). 

helps me Rated 3 out of 5 stars

i don't know, i kind of like it. i'm fairly novice when it comes to the web...so i find it helpful when it comes to searching for specific items.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.14907). 

add ons Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Overall it is pretty good

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.14907). 

DO NOT INSTALL!! Rated 1 out of 5 stars

If i could give this zero stars, i would! This is the ONLY add on i have EVER tried that required me to start firefox as an admin to uninstall it. before i found i could do that, it tried a couple of times to disable it from the add on menu ... but it kept coming back from the dead.

Apparently, this got installed along with an update for skype. yeah, i guess that makes it my own fault for not fully reading the whole EULA ... but GET REAL!! This is truly BS!!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.14907). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

One ethical engineer could have stopped this. Your marketing group is out of control.

Surreptitious installation, as experienced by me, and many other concerned users, illustrates poor marketing decision at high levels at both EBAY and Skype.

Someone should be dismissed immediately. Find the executives in charge of this fiasco and dismiss them immediately before they further harm your already tarnished reputation.

Shame on you!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.14907). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Like several others, only registered for an account here to leave a 1 star review for this surreptitiously installed malware.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.14907). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I got this add-on when I updated my skype. I was never even asked to give permission to install this software. It is automatically loaded when my windows starts up. I have to uninstall it from the windows start-up menu and Firefox's add-on option.

Keep away of this. It is an advertising tool from ebay. Since ebay owns skype as well, they bind them together and do not ask any permission to install it. Stay away with this malicious ad-ware.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.14907). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

i created an account just to give this malware/adware a negative review.

i don't even know what this is useful for, nor did i ask to install it, or was given a chance to opt-out.

horrid.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.14907). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Having received this via Skype (which never provided any options during the update, or I certainly would not have installed this), I have now uninstalled this crapware and Skype will be removed now as well.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.14907). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

This is not an add-on so much as it is malicious ad-ware that installs itself on your computer without your permission.

It is shameful that it is even listed on here.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.14907). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I took the time to register, because this is sameful. The only reason why this add-on has anything over 1 star is because THE DEVELOPERS took the time on August 20th, 2009 to Reply to a few comments and MADE THE ONLY POSITIVE COMMENTS TO THE ADD ON.
It is a spam add-on. Read below for detailed information on how to remove it. Shame on Skype and Ebay.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.14907). 

LAME Rated 1 out of 5 stars

You guys really screwed this one up! My World of Warcraft account has been banned 3 separate times due to 3rd party spam due to your stupid, unasked for browser highlighter! I never gave permission for it to be installed along with the forced update of Skype, so both ebay and Skype can suck it.

I'll never use the either of you again.

UNINSTALL THIS PIECE OF CRAP!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.14907). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Like many others, this POS was installed when I upgraded Skype without my permission (that I can recall anyway). But now it gets really ugly ... and maybe it's just a coincidence, but I was (actually, still am) infected with a spyware/virus things call MyWebSearch which is proving nearly impossible to remove. AVG doesn't see it at all so I downloaded a few others. Long story short, I'm still infected and can't help thinking that Skype is at the root(kit) of my recent infection. Not happy in the least!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.14907).