Not Ready for Primetime Rated 2 out of 5 stars

This add-on has the potential to be good. Unfortunately the documentation is bloody awful (at the very least there needs to be a help page associated with the preferences page). The user interface is overly complex, offers needless flexibility (all the mouse, group, menu selections in preferences are overly flexible, complex, and not well documented). Further this add-on does not follow normal Windows user interface guidelines. In particular the rename function should work the way the rename function works in Windows Explorer (not with a dialog box; and not with all those undocumented automatic renaming capabilities, which without documentation seem utterly useless to me). The search plug-in is completely undocumented, and I can't see how it provides any additional useful functionality beyond what the normal Firefox search facility provides, nor is it explained what the difference between a "focused" and a "background" search might be. Speaking of which: what is the difference between a "group" and a "focused group"? One missing feature from this add-on is a way of telling what the tab contents of individual groups are. They should be a right click context menu item which when selected provides a list of the names of the tabs within the group. Without some means of telling what the tab content of our group is without bringing it to the foreground, the management facilities of this add-on are greatly diminished. Finally a nit: in the rename facility you seem to imply that a group can have a name consisting of an icon plus some text, an icon only, or text only -- nowhere is it specified how one would create a group name other than text-only. What if one wants to have a group name using a specific icon or specific icon plus text -- how would one do that?you also seem to imply on one of the preferences pages that a tree style layout is possible, but I see no documentation for this either. As you may be able to tell I have sent several hours playing around with this add-on, and am beginning to get very frustrated -- that is not (I am sure) the initial user impact that you wish to create.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2009.10.02.05). 

Not Ready for Primetime Rated 2 out of 5 stars

This add-on has the potential to be good. Unfortunately the documentation is bloody awful (at the very least there needs to be a help page associated with the preferences page). The user interface is overly complex, offers needless flexibility (all the mouse, group, menu selections in preferences are overly flexible, complex, and not well documented). Further this add-on does not follow normal Windows user interface guidelines. In particular the rename function should work the way the rename function works in Windows Explorer (not with a dialog box; and not with all those undocumented automatic renaming capabilities, which without documentation seem utterly useless to me). The search plug-in is completely undocumented, and I can't see how it provides any additional useful functionality beyond what the normal Firefox search facility provides, nor is it explained what the difference between a "focused" and a "background" search might be. Speaking of which: what is the difference between a "group" and a "focused group"? One missing feature from this add-on is a way of telling what the tab contents of individual groups are. They should be a right click context menu item which when selected provides a list of the names of the tabs within the group. Without some means of telling what the tab content of our group is without bringing it to the foreground, the management facilities of this add-on are greatly diminished. Finally a nit: in the rename facility you seem to imply that a group can have a name consisting of an icon plus some text, an icon only, or text only -- nowhere is it specified how one would create a group name other than text-only. What if one wants to have a group name using a specific icon or specific icon plus text -- how would one do that?you also seem to imply on one of the preferences pages that a tree style layout is possible, but I see no documentation for this either. As you may be able to tell I have sent several hours playing around with this add-on, and am beginning to get very frustrated -- that is not (I am sure) the initial user impact that you wish to create.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2009.10.02.05). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

One of the best add-ons I've come across. Suits me perfect with my habit of keeping so many tabs open.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2009.10.02.05). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

In the Top 3 addon for me.
Strange behaviour with last TabMixPlus build.
Hope to see some improvement in the session reload feature.. often buggy..
Anyway great addon

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2009.10.02.05). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

this addon plus Load control "Stop all" button works great.

The hibernate function delivers.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2009.10.02.05). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

ahhh... LOVE IT!!! Hibernation has greatly increased performance...Reducing crashes and time to relaunch/reload pages.. Huge plus!! Thx Todd

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2009.10.02.05). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This is one of my top 5 add-ons!

At work I have to open a lot of tabs at the same time: this add-on is perfect to manage them.

Thanks a lot!!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2009.10.02.05). 

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

ww

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2009.10.02.05). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Great add-on -- exactly what i was looking for!

One thing is the auto-hiding. I realize there is a Toolbar Button to hide the GroupBar. However, if I click the Toolbar Button to hide it, close Firefox, and re-open Firefox, the GroupBar is back. Is there a way so that it remembers its last state and stays hidden until i need to use it. The mouseover hide features work well enough, but if I switch tabs quickly and overshoot the tab bar, the entire thing moves (as it should) when the GroupBar appears.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2009.10.02.05). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Great add-on -- exactly what i was looking for!

One thing is the auto-hiding. I realize there is a Toolbar Button to hide the GroupBar. However, if I click the Toolbar Button to hide it, close Firefox, and re-open Firefox, the GroupBar is back. Is there a way so that it remembers its last state and stays hidden until i need to use it. The mouseover hide features work well enough, but if I switch tabs quickly and overshoot the tab bar, the entire thing moves (as it should) when the GroupBar appears.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2009.10.02.05). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

i really love it. and the quick toggle, auto rename just made it better. oh and that i use it as a 'to be looked at later' thaingmagig doesn't harm it any. at least i hope not..

but i'd like to know, how do i save/restore it if ever my firefox crashes and i have to do a complete restore? because although it shows up in febe-installation only. it does not seem to come up in it's extension Preferences exporter, opie.

imma try anyway. hopefully, i won't have to do one them complete profile restores to get it all back.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2009.10.02.05). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

This add-on has great potential. On Firefox 3.6 and OS X 10.5.8 and Powerbook G4, I cannot save a built-up configuration between Firefox sessions. One always assumes that once a config change is made, it is auto-saved. Apparently not, there are things one must do in the Session TGM menu. Resetting 0 to 1, presumably meaning Yes, or at least 1, and Interval to 1--as frequently as possible--should do it? Nope. Also, the box labeled Saving Data on that menu does not fully display; maybe there's something essential on it.

The documentation needs editing for more than clarity--the instruction to use Firefox Preferences does not map to 3.6, and there is no FAQ.

On the main page, in Works WIth, there is an asterisk on 3.6--does this mean Not Really?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2009.10.02.05). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I value this extension together with Tab Mix Plus as the two most essential addons available for Firefox.

For those of you, like me, who struggle with cluttering of the tab bar, this extension will serve you well. It also hugely benefits someone who researches a wide range of topics; each set of tabs can be placed into a group named whatever you want. 50 tabs on one window? This extension makes such a case organized and not the least bit daunting.

It works fantastic with Tab Mix Plus, which extends its usefulness tenfold. I use the tab bar at the top as opposed to vertically like many people do, and this extension works perfectly in my situation. For those of you who aim to maximize web page content space, this extension offers an interactive button that can be placed in your address toolbar; this button allows you to hide the group bar, returning you to a normal tabbed environment. However, the groups dont close- you can simply display the bar, change groups, move tabs to other groups, or whatever- and then close the groupbar all with a button!

For the developer, I do have a suggestion, but by no means do I offer it in any demeaning way- this extension is fantastic. In Options>Mouse> + Button, it would be really handy if you had a "New Focused Group with Rename and Homepage" option in the drop down lists.

Fantastic extension, fantastic cooperation with Tab Mix Plus- 5 stars

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2009.10.02.05). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Thank you very much! Lovin' it :)

But as rene already suggested, a vertical bar would be really nice
And btw: Either I didn't found the option or it isn't possible at the moment to define the height of the bar (?)

Thanks again
Ali

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2009.10.02.05). 

Excellent, most useful plugin Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This should be default to Firefox ;-)

Well done to Axel for creating a simple, sleek, easy-to-use, drag and drop plugin!

... and of course the bonus that it's already Firefox 3.6 compliant. Nice one!

The following is merely a suggestion as I find the plugin hugely beneficial as it is, but it would be nice to have the option of having the tabs vertically down the side, rather than horizontal.

Thanks again, and keep it up!
- a simple user (reneCschutte.com)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2009.10.02.05). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

is great!!! i'v found it for a long time.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2009.10.02.05). 

Great add-on, thanks! Rated 4 out of 5 stars

This add-on works great but it would be nice if there is an option for delay when the mouse enters the toolbox, or an icon button to click for toolbox to appear. Now every time I move over it the toolbox appears even if I don't need it.

I can't find the g-button for toggle display so that may be a bug or something? (using firefox version 3.5.7)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2009.10.02.05). 

would be great with toomanytabs Rated 5 out of 5 stars

groups tabs is great, as with Tab Kit, but dozens of tabs slows firefox no matter how powerful the machine is.

TabGroups manager would be AWESOME if it would shove older groups of tabs into TMT (TooManyTabs) session store

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2009.10.02.05). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This add-on is just what I was looking for! :D
Every time I start up firefox it has to load 100-200 tabs, which seems to happen way faster, and now i can find my tabs.

After a crash or restart the tabs sometimes load in a unnamed group, but I dont care renaming some groups once in a while since this addon saves me a lot of time.
It works fine with my other tab-related addons: FaviconizeTab, Better Gmail 2, Undo Closed Tabs Button

Things I would love to see in a later version:
- Possibility to store tab to specified folder on harddisc for faster loading of tabs
- A way to start firefox and restore tabs an other session in case I want to have a quick look at some page without having to wait before all the tabs are loaded. (pause button for the loading of the tabs?)
- Possibility to place tabs in between the tab groups for tabs you use regularely
- Option to hide the arrows, (1) ,+ and - since its already possible to do with the mouse.
- A way to export and import tabs to file

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2009.10.02.05). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Add-on, worth 5 star!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2009.10.02.05).