Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Great add-on but unfortunately still very buggy at present.

I like to combine TabGroups Manager with Tab Mix Plus and with Tree Style Tab. All 3 add-ons give unique and powerfull features which you cannot miss once you have taken the time to learn how to setup and use them.

BUT there are many bugs left and even showing up once you update FF or some add-ons since apparently the developpers do not take care of what the other developpers are doing. I know it must not be easy to coordinate but it remains a big problem for the users.

After I had during months 2 empty tabs appearing again when I used to close the last tab, I finally found the latest version 2009.06.19.01 which seems to correct this bug related to Tab Mix Plus.

I don't understand why the updates are not proposed automatically and why there's absolutely no mention of it on the main page. So one have to dig deeper and explore the link at the extreme bottom of the page 'View Older Versions' in order to actually get the latest ones... Not good at all !!

Besides I recently updated (automatically as usual) various add-ons and now every time I reopen FF I have 2 windows instead of only one (which was left when I closed it the previous time). Where is the bug ?? Always the same problem since it happens only with combined use of the 3 add-ons I mentioned above...

And last but not least I can confirm what buergi wrote because I experience the same type of problems again and again. The saving of the sessions / hibernated groups is utterly unreliable !!!

I wish the developpers stay at work to reach an adequate quality of their apps.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2009.10.02.01). 

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Great add-on but unfortunately still very buggy at present.

I like to combine TabGroups Manager with Tab Mix Plus and with Tree Style Tab. All 3 add-ons give unique and powerfull features which you cannot miss once you have taken the time to learn how to setup and use them.

BUT there are many bugs left and even showing up once you update FF or some add-ons since apparently the developpers do not take care of what the other developpers are doing. I know it must not be easy to coordinate but it remains a big problem for the users.

After I had during months 2 empty tabs appearing again when I used to close the last tab, I finally found the latest version 2009.06.19.01 which seems to correct this bug related to Tab Mix Plus.

I don't understand why the updates are not proposed automatically and why there's absolutely no mention of it on the main page. So one have to dig deeper and explore the link at the extreme bottom of the page 'View Older Versions' in order to actually get the latest ones... Not good at all !!

Besides I recently updated (automatically as usual) various add-ons and now every time I reopen FF I have 2 windows instead of only one (which was left when I closed it the previous time). Where is the bug ?? Always the same problem since it happens only with combined use of the 3 add-ons I mentioned above...

And last but not least I can confirm what buergi wrote because I experience the same type of problems again and again. The saving of the sessions / hibernated groups is utterly unreliable !!!

I wish the developpers stay at work to reach an adequate quality of their apps.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2009.10.02.01). 

Great but unreliable Rated 4 out of 5 stars

I absolutly love this addon, perfect way to keep order of your tabs. 5 stars for the idea of this awesome addon.

BUT i don't know why but the addon is very unreliable for me, after a restart or crash of firefox about half of the tabs are in a new unnamed group. So i have to sort them back to their tabgroups one by one. It's really annoying, i have no idea why it happens and the tabs for which it happens are not always the same.
Occasionally it works correctly but it happens randomly so i cannot say what causes the problem.
After a restart the addon starts sorting back the tabs into their groups but after some time it simple stops and leaves the remaining tabs in the unnamed group.

I use Session Manager but it makes no difference if i activate or deactivate the "Session Manager"-Setting in TabGroups' option dialog.
The only tab-related addons i use is "Tabs Open Relative" and "FaviconizeTab" but i also tried deactivating them and it didn't change anything.
So 3 stars for the functionality makes 4 stars in total.

Sorry i cannot give further description. It's a very strange problem and perhaps it's also a problem of my firefox. It got very buggy since i installed and deinstalled so many addons.
With firefox it's just as with Windows if you experiment to much you have to reinstall it every year :D

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2009.06.19.15). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Great addon.
But the keyboard tab in preferences is spelled keyborad...
just a heads up.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2009.06.19.09). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

The author of TGM explained that the behavior I expirienced is of TMP, not of his addon, so I give it a 5 stars...

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2009.06.19.09). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

It worked perfectly, except today when I tried "Open All in Tabs" option from bookmarks - all my groups simply vanished and about half of the links from bookmark folder were opened, and other half was not. I'm also using TabMixPlus, maybe some interaction between those two made a mess? It's a great plugin, it solves a problem of too many tabs, but this bug is a show-stopper...

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2009.06.19.09). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

+ very good and relatively stable

minor issues:
- the context menus can be a bit simpler
- icons should be more standard
- sometimes group names are lost with a restart

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2009.06.19.09). 

constantly improved by a hardworking author Rated 5 out of 5 stars

To the poster "J S" (3 posts below) :
Read the reply from the author Axel (by clicking "See all reviews of this add-on" link) .

Axel is one of the most hardworking add-on developers I have seen. It would be a BIG loss if he stops the development of this add-on because of some improper receptions.
BTW his English is much better than he though himself.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2009.06.19.09). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This is an awesome add-on that I'd like to see perfected. But... I can't log in to the new bug tracker to submit this bug:
Seems like after I "Customize..." the Fx UI, my menu bar items are disabled, and "Customize..." is disabled until I restart Fx.
Not a showstopper, but it does break core Fx functionality.

About the bug tracker: All I see is a login prompt with "guest" credentials already filled in. Did I miss something?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2009.06.19.09). 

UPDATE: Conflicts with TreeStyle Addon Indent feature Rated 5 out of 5 stars

TabGroups disables the function of Treestyle addon to indent tabs.. Just an FYI

Axel should have read your release notes. Your new version fixed the conflict!!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2009.06.19.09). 

corrected in the alpha version

This problem happens when "Tree Style Tab" is used together with "Tab Mix Plus".
This problem was corrected in the alpha version that is opened to the public.
http://axel.my-sv.net/downloaden.html

---
There was an explanation that the user cannot use this review system for the bug report.
Therefore, I was refraining from the answer.
Please send the bug report to following URI.
http://axel.my-sv.net/bugtracker/report/autoproject_list.php?project_id=2

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

In theory, this could be fantastic, however, support is VERY lacking. I tried endlessly to utilize the bugtracker system only to be told the author doesn't speak or understand English. WHAT! You submit an extension to English speaking countries and you can't support it?

The major problem I encountered was losing the ability to move a tab to a different location within my tab tree (I utilize TabKit with vertical tabs along left side of FF)). Before installing TabGroups Manager I could drag / drop a tab to any location and drop it. With TabGroups Manager I've lost that function as TabGroups Manager steals the focus.

I find it HARD TO BELIEVE I'm the only person having this problem. I found it harder to believe the author admits he doesn't understand the problem and without notice just closes the bug report.

I was willing and ready to donate to this author once the problem was resolved or at least addressed with some type of effort. I FIRMLY believe in supporting an extension writer's hard work.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2009.06.19.09). 

I had misunderstood

I'm sorry.
I had misunderstood it.

Because the status of your report was "Fixed and verified", I thought that this problem is solved or you had given up solving.
Because I thought that you given up solving the problem, I answered like that.
Therefore, I made status "Closed".
I forgot that when the user does not change status, "Fixed and verified" is selected automatically.

If you have not given up solving yet, I will challenge this problem.
I return the status of bugtracker.

In my environment, I think that Tabkit operates right-on.
I appended the screen shot to bugtracer when the tab was moved on Tabkit.

http://axel.my-sv.net/bugtracker/report/autoreport_show.php?project_id=2&report_id=5

However, it is true that my English language skill is scarce.
The person who reports on the bug might have a hard time to make me understand.
Possibly, it might be I had better stop the development of add-on of this.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

What a new level in tab grouping!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2009.06.19.09). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Best extension for grouping tabs

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2009.06.19.08). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

hey,
quite good work. I really like that, because i often use up to 60 tabs for different projects and haven#t found another good solution yet.
I have a few ideas for improving it, maybe you can implement such features, if you like them.
-hide group bar if only one group, well happens not so often, but when it is wasting of space
-open rss feed in new group, well icould open a group before, but changing the context menu is not so difficult

and i discoverd a litle bug:
the preferences window and tablescolumns can't be resized. When setting shortcuts i can't see what i am doing. Here a picture.
http://img406.imageshack.us/img406/2443/tgm.jpg

thx jacko

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2009.06.19.01). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Clearly bad in MacOS X. Lost all my existing tabs after uninstall. I understand you don't have access to a Mac to fix this problem. Oh well... :(

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2009.06.19.01). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Very nice extension
Easy to use with great functionality

The settings are not documented properly. Very hard to understand. An option to move the tab groups to the left or right side would be good.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2009.06.19.01). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

unreliable if u want it to remember your groups (without bookmarking). used it for some time: my groups somehow vanished (reset to zero) following a re-start, and no trace of them. better just use conventional bookmarks then.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2009.06.19.01). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I found bug:
1) I click settings->other->the group doesnt close when all tabs are closed
2) create group with 1 tab and move to another
3) group with 0 tabs closed despite of checked option that say do not close even when there is 0 tabs in the group

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2009.06.19.01). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This is a GREAT addon! =)

But as someone mentioned earlier, would it be possible to make all hibernated sessions still visible on the groupbar? It would make a HUGE difference in usability.

Also when tabbing forward through a group of tabs, I notice that when you get to the end of the group, it automatically goes on to the next group of tabs which is great. But the thing is you can't tab backwards back into the previous group. You're forced to tab forwards in order to get back to a previous group.

Using another extension called Swift tabs which allows you to go back and forth between tabs by keystrokes, it would be great if this extension could allow fowards and backwards navigation between tab groups.

Other than these couple of things, this is a wonderful extension and should be included in future Firefox releases for sure. =)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2009.06.19.01). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I like it very much: great to stay organised. Just one thing: I would love TGM to have an option of staying hidden by default as i start the browser: I'll explain why. To have 2 different sets of tabs together can be pretty confusing to the eye. I wish to be able to just press the G button to call TGM whenever I need it. Also, I would really love to see all the buttons closer together, and/or perhaps a lil "hibernate" button for each tab - would b nice. In all, beautiful addon!
and.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2009.06.19.01).