Share your experiences Rated 5 out of 5 stars

For so much users its a must have, because it's make it easy to use FF. Without it I could just as well use Chrome.
All developer have the same problem. Maybe you can share your experiences and power. The developer of "Tabgruppen" has the same problem and the App is similar.

Tab Groups is going away Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Does this mean we'll no longer be able to use Tab Groups Helper? The Tab Groups developer is calling it quits.

When WebExtensions platform is finally in full-force, Tab Groups Helper will no longer depend on Tab Groups. At that point the question becomes, will there be a WebExtensions compatible version of Tab Groups Helper?

At this point I cannot promise anything. I have been making efforts in that direction. Currently there is no API in WebExtensions to provide support for having any kind of tab grouping paradigm. Without this basic backend support, there would be no Tab Groups of any kind. I have been working at trying to get the Mozilla team to approve and add such an API. It looks promising so far and I am pretty certain that at least some level of API will be available to allow a grouping paradigm[1][2], but remains to be seen what will actually happen, how it will be implemented and to what level of support it will provide (which would determine how much work addon developers would have to invest in creating their own tab groups addons.)

Then I will have to create a WebExtensions version of Tab Groups Helper. As Luis pointed out in his message, that will require rebuilding TGH almost from the ground up. It is something that I would like to do, but whether or not it will be practical for me to do that is another question. How this all plays out can take different possible forms. I may be able to work up something rudimentary which could evolve from there over time, just as the original TGH has. The degree of evolution would be very dependent on the evolution of WebExtensions, and what APIs become available. For example, currently it does not appear like there would be any support for having a "groups bar", and if Mozilla does eventually offer an API which would support such a thing, it may be quite some time. IAE, there would be changes in the UX of Tab Groups Helper.

As I have said, I cannot promise anything. Developing addons is not really my occupation but something I have just done in my "spare time". I can certainly empathize with Luis' circumstances on this issue. But all I can say is that at this point I am not planning to throw in the towel. But if TGH is to continue on, it remains to be seen how that will evolve, and whether or not my own personal circumstances will allow there to be at least a rudimentary version available in time for the changeover, so the transition would be gapless.

[1] https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1322057
[2] https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1333837

Love it + a request Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Works great. Nice work Kevin. Thanks!

One nice feature to consider would be incorporating pinned tabs into the options. I'd love it if I could stay on the same pinned tab when I select a different group tab. I'm often looking up info about an email on a pinned tab, but need a different context of tab groups.

Thanks again!

Great add-on, one small issue though... Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Thanks for your work on this - thought you might want to know that the default keyboard shortcuts you've chosen for move group left and right (CTRL+SHIFT+left/right cursors) breaks the standard CTRL+SHIFT+cursor text selection shortcut, which I use all the time. Took me a while to figure out why my text selection was broken in firefox, just realized it's a conflict with your default shortcut. Not the end of the world by any stretch of the imagination, but I thought you might want to pick a different default.

I have viewed shortcuts in TGH as a bit of a bonus for those whom they work out for, as I haven't wanted to spend the energy involved in making shortcuts configurable for all platforms/workflows. As you probably have already discovered, you can switch off individual shortcuts which create a conflict in the Options panel.

Les meilleures fonctionalités alliés à l'ergonomie Rated 5 out of 5 stars

J'ai toujours cherché un outil pratique :
- pour manipuler de grosses sessions (jusqu'à 200 tabs ouvertes)
- transformer les groupes en dossier de bookmarks

d'autres fonctionnalités très importantes comme les sauvegardes partielle au formats HTML et JSON (permettant l'ouverture et la modification avec des outils adaptés)
... etc.

Donc le produit offre de pouvoir exécuter toutes les manipulations nécessaires pour manipuler un grand nombre d'onglets et construire ce qui prépare une bibliothèque thématique de "marque-pages",.

L'utilisation de Tabs Groups Helper permettant notamment d'effectuer cette préparation et cette mise en place.

Utilisateur de Firefox depuis ses origines, j'ai longtemps utilisé autre outil basé sur une arborescence des groupes et onglets manipulable par déplacement dans un arbre affiché. J'ai du abandonner provisoirement , il y a deux ou trois ans, même l'usage de Firefox, à cause des bugs dans ces versions antérieures .

Tabs Groups Helper a donc été une découverte pour moi aujourd'hui majeure.

Tabs Groups Helper offre à mon avis toutes les fonctionnalités qui peuvent être attendues. Mais je ne détaille pas ici, ce serait bien trop long.

Toutes, ou presque, il manque encore, toujours à mon avis :
- le déplacement d'un groupe vers une autre fenêtre (avec le manager ou glisser-déposer)
- la possibilité de déposer "directement" un groupe comme nouveau dossier dans l'arbre des bookmarks dans le volet latéral ou dans la fenêtre "tous les marque pages"

Un problème au 04/11/2016 : il semble impossible de joindre l'auteur, son site est "down" et affiche uniquement le nom, il n'y a pas non plus de mail ni de forum. Les communications sont donc coupées avec les utilisateurs.

Donc je signale ici :
- l'incompatibilité avec l'autre plugin du même auteur : "All Tabs Helper" -> all tabs helper empêche l'exécution de tabs-groups helper tout simplement.

- un petit problème de paramètres : l'affichage au survol (hover over) du panneau d'un groupe est très pratique, mais il manque une temporisation (paramètre) pour éviter les affichages intempestifs (trajet de la souris sans arrêt provoque l'affichage)

C'est donc 5 étoiles.

Please click on the "Support E-mail" link on the addon's main page (near the top on the right) for email communication and support issues.

Please contact me through that email address if you wish to talk more about these support issues.

so freaking awesome! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

now that i've found this, i don't know how i could live without it previously. it's literally that good.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.28). 

Muy bueno Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Excelente para organizar tu trabajo

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.24). 

Useful, simple, well thought out add on Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This is a very practical add on, it's minimal but very well designed, simple and really helpful. Thanks for your work, it's really helpful!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.24). 

Indispensible for users having large numbers of open tabs Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This makes managing hundreds of open tabs manageable and has the very useful facility of displaying the tab count in each tab group. The developer cares about his work and its users and it shows in his timely updates and responses to queries. I am really grateful.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.21). 

This developer has it together. Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Ultimately I had to skip this one and uninstall it because I run a highly customized setup that uses vertical tabs that just was too incompatible.

Still, this probably is the best tab grouper out of a really broken lot. The developer has a great attitude and he really knows how to stick with it and solve problems.

So, for something I ultimately can't use this guy still is worth some stars for his attitude.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.19). 

Great Add-on Rated 5 out of 5 stars

It is a awesome addon, I could manage my tabs and groups just with simple hot-key.

also, it is clearly review the search results and saves lots of time for looking for many tabs.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.19). 

Amazing. Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This is for me one of the 2 most important extensions.
Also, I'm totally amazed at authors attitude to bugs and features. I didn't even managed to report the bug, just asked a question and in a few hours, everything was fixed.
One of the best extensions with even better support.

Now it even supports Pale Moon!

I would give 6 stars.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.17). 

Simply brilliant Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This add-on fills a gap in Firefox: managing, saving, restoring and, what I think is very needed, suspending tab groups. It works perfectly. Together with the Tree Style Tabs ( https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/tree-style-tab/ ) and pinned tabs it is a perfect combo to handle a large number of tabs.

The Author is EXTREMELY helpful and we had a long email discussion to track down a problem which was immediately fixed identifying the cause.

Overall: extremely pleasant experience with the add-on and it's author.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.15). 

Great Functionality, Friendly Dev Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I've been using this add on for a while, and after I emailed the dev thank him for making such a helpful addition to FF, he replied and has been very friendly and helped me get the most out of this add on.

Rather than complain in a review, please please email him first! Allasso does his best to fix problems once he's aware of them and a review is an unfair way of alerting him to problems you might be having. For the time being at least there is ongoing support.

I like that I can now manage groups, and back them all up in one simple click with this add on. It's something that should have been integrated into firefox as standard a long time ago. It's quite customisable and fairly flexible to different ways of working.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.11). 

Thanks kindly for your helpful review. You raise a point that is important to addon developers, and I'm grateful that you appreciate that reviews are not an appropriate place for bug reports and feature requests.

I am glad your experience with TGH has been beneficial to you, and I thank you for sharing it.

Thanks!!!! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Edit:

Thank you so much for your quick implementation, much appriciated.
--------------------------------

Hi,
Can you add an option to show/hide groups bar by clicking on the toolbar button?

Thanks for this great addon.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.10). 

Very welcome :-)

Keyboard problems with 1.0.6 on Mac OS X Rated 5 out of 5 stars

EDITED TO ADD:

Version 1.0.10 fixes these issues. Outstanding add-on that makes it so much easier to manage tabs for those of us who need to keep many of them open.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

1, I would like to continue to use Cmd-Shift-E to open Panorama, but despite un-checking the "Firefox Tab Groups (Panorama) commands open main UI panel" option, Tab Groups Helper opens instead with Cmd-Shift-E. I can temporarily fix this using the Keyconfig add-on to change the TGH key to something else, but restarting Firefox loses this, and TGH replaces Cmd-Shift-E.

2. I want to use Cmd-Shift-1, Cmd-Shift-2, etc. to select tab groups, but TGH seems to set these keys incorrectly. I go into Keyconfig, I see TGH sets them as:

Switch to group 1: ⌘⇧1
Switch to group 2: ⌘⇧2
(etc.)
but these don't work. However, if I select these commands and add new keybindings, typing in Cmd-Shift-1, they do work, but they are displayed like this:

Switch to group 1: ⌘⇧!
Switch to group 2: ⌘⇧@
(etc.)

note that the displayed key is the "shifted" version of the number, e.g. 1 -> !, 2 -> @, etc.

I don't know that this affects other platforms, but it does affect OS X.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.6). 

TGH has been updated (version 1.0.10) with a refactored implementation of keyboard shortcuts, which fixes the problems you have reported regarding native TGH keyboard commands.

Regarding override of Panorama commands, I have not been able to duplicate the issue you have reported on OS X. Changing that setting requires restart, so perhaps you forgot to restart FF after changing the setting?

Any further communication involving support issues, please use the support channel:
allassopraise@gmail.com

I lost the Group Bar with version 1.0.6 Rated 5 out of 5 stars

First, I am using Firefox 28.0. It was the last version before FF began trying to mimic Chrome. I like it so I have stuck with it. Having said that, when Tab Groups Helper auto updated today to version 1.0.6, the Group Bar disappeared. I could only access groups through the "Group" icon which opens a separate window showing the groups - NOT what I want.

Rolling back to TGH 1.0.2 restored the Group Bar and everything now works fine with good ol' FF28. I've disabled the auto updates so it ought to remain stable.

The apparent backward incompatibility of v1.0.6 notwithstanding, this is a great add-on.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.6). 

Great addon, clear documentation Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This addon brings the necessary functionality that makes group use painless and intuitive, and it comes with some of the most comprehensive documentation I've seen in software, written in understandable language and focuses on getting the maximum functionality from the present features.

Many thanks to Allasso, you're a brilliant programmer with the rare ability to explain what it is that you've made and how best to use it.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.5). 

Great add-on, very helpful developer... Rated 5 out of 5 stars

To use Tab Groups Helper in Palemoon there a couple of caveats, otherwise everything is working as of v26.0.2:

1/ Do not install the Firefox version of Tab Groups by Quicksaver. Instead go to the Palemoon Add-ons page and follow the link from there. It will be version 0.2 by Mozilla.
2/ Do not install v1.0.1 or v1.0.5 of Tab Groups Helper. Most of the options, context menus and button menus are missing making it unusable, plus it may crash the browser as it did for me.

I reverted to v1.0.2 and everything is working perfectly.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.5). 

Tab Groups Helper works with Pale Moon as of TGH version 1.0.17. Additional compatibility upgrades have been made in later versions.

Outstanding support! Outstanding addon! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I have been using this addon for quite a while now. When Firefox was recently updated to version 44 the addon stopped working so I contacted Allasso.

I received a reply within a couple of hours and some suggestions. Allasso quickly found the bug a released a new version that fixed the issue within a few hours of my original email.

So I just wanted to say a bug thanks to Allasso for all his hard work and to highly recommend this addon to anyone looking to organise they're tabs in firefox.

Brilliant!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.5).