Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This add-on should included in official build of Firefox!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2010.12.26.22.1-signed). 

Not working anymore Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Unfortunately it does not work properly any more since upgrading to 4.0 beta 8. Once add-on installed and restarting the browser the add-on works fine, with a another restart of Firefox it does not recognize the add-on any more. It only works again after de-installation and reinstalling again!
Any solution?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2010.12.26.22.1-signed). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

It's great that this addon exists, even though it shouldn't have to exist. The same applied to the RSS Icon addon which - just as Status-4-Evar - also only exists to repair what has been destroyed in Firefox 4's UI.

Which brings me to my point: it would be great, if adding back the RSS icon could be integrated into Status-4-Evar as well, so that only one addon is necessary to repair Firefox 4's UI.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2010.12.26.22.1-signed). 

No statusbar-4-evar Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I don't miss the status bar at all now. In fact I'm glad it's gone. :p It would be nice to trim the text in the download status button (all I need is a number to show number of downloads) to save space when it is used in the nav-bar (like I do).

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2010.11.20.19). 

Works as described but shouldn't be necessary Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Add on does exactly what it's meant to do. The sad thing is it shouldn't be necessary at all. Firefox devs you've got realise that when you hit bone you've cut too deep. A status bar widget is trivial and even if it's not there by default it should be made available from the customize dialog for people who need it.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2010.11.20.19). 

Love it! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

It does exactly what it says. Personally, I find it strange that the developers would remove this functionality from Firefox - I find it awkward to look down at the Add-on Bar, and see nothing but buttons and icons.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2010.11.20.19). 

Great to get progress bar back Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This is a great addon to get the progress bar back. At first I didn't like it because it pushed all the icons on the status bar / addon bar over to the left hand side of the screen - but then I found out all you have to do is drag a flexible space to the left of the icons and hey presto.. there you are all back to normal.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2010.11.20.19). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

When I upgraded to B4, I was shocked to see there was no way to get the status bar to show. I require it and was considering going back to version 3.06. I agree with several comments that the status bar is a MUST have and should be showing by default. Why was it removed? I installed it and the status bar shows now, but doesn't seem to show everything that I am used to seeing.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2010.11.20.19). 

must have Rated 5 out of 5 stars

It's sad there's a need for this. How can UI developers think completely removing the status bar is a good idea? Every application I have installed has a status bar. Now I have one application that does it own thing.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2010.11.20.19). 

This really needs to be built-in Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Once I got it to display, it works perfectly and makes the 4.0 beta once again useable (which is good; I'm a huge fan of giving UI developers feedback!). I honestly don't think I could survive having to look at my url bar for what-url-is-this mouseovers, not to mention the ugly distracting mouseover animation and complete lack of status updates? Ugh.

Anyway, when I installed the addon, it appeared to do nothing, but after clicking Customize -> "restore default set", everything showed up and seems to be working perfectly. Thanks!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2010.11.20.19). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Nice & nifty - except the status bar progress meter (that you can turn on with "make the toolbar item always visible") which doesn't do anything, neither on downloading nor on reloading webpages. I'm using FF 4 beta 7.
EDIT: Seems this was due to the "Black Office" theme I was using - it works with the LavaFox theme.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2010.11.20.19). 

Sweet! I can keep the beta now :) Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Amazing how a tiny little thing like Missing Link Text can spoil your whole 'cool-a-new-beta!' mood. I had just about resigned myself to making Chrome my default browser when I saw this add-on mentioned somewhere. Works perfect! :D Absolutely made my day.. LOL

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2010.11.20.19). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Simply GREAT !
Should have been included in Firefox natively...
Bugs :
- When status is in the URL Bar, RSS & Markup icon (the star) doesn't appear anymore.
- When switching between loaded tabs, URL doesn't change.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2010.11.20.19). 

It’s not working, and the icons are on the left... Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Hey, this is a great extension! I have it working on my Mac laptop, but it isn’t working on my Mac desktop. Both run Snow Leopard.1) The icons shift to the left instead of staying on the right.2) The hover-over-links text never appears in the progress bar, no matter what I select in the add-on preferences. It does appear in the Location Bar if I select one of the two options that makes it appear there.I don’t have the laptop here right now, but I know I installed the plugin on the laptop before I did the desktop. Maybe something regressed in this latest version?

EDIT: I meant that the link destinations don’t show in the status text item, no matter what options I choose in the Status-4-Evar preferences.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2010.11.20.19). 

1. Customize the toolbar and drag the items to the left of the icons.
2. There has never been an option to show hovered links in the progress bar item. The only options are to show them in the status text item or in the location bar.

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Awesome addon, saved me the trouble of making it for myself!
2 bugs:
1 - The progress bar isn't hidden after loading is complete. This was the behaviour of the old status bar.
2 - Wasn't added automatically at install for me; of course it was a simple matter of right-clicking the addon bar and using Customize... to drag elements on.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2010.11.20.19). 

There is an option in the extension preference to control if the progress bar item is hidden or not. By default, it should be hidden.

Brilliant, thank you. (glitch) Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Thanks, dude. Really wanted this. Nice also to find that your add-on allowed for placing the status text in the location bar.
To reproduce glitch:
1) Have more than one open tab. 2) Move cursor off-window. 3) Load or reload a webpage. 4) Let it finish loading so status reads "Done". 5) Use keyboard shortcut to switch tabs. 6) Notice the favicon changes according to active tab, but url text is frozen, unless you hover over a link or switch to a tab with status bar text activity. B) If the "Clear the status after... seconds" is on, and you wait for the status text to clear, the fake url will fade away along with it. C) Also, if you edit the url, the status text disappears and doesn't come back by itself when you finish editing.
Using version 2010.11.20.19 on ff4.0b7. Five stars anyways, coz this is a must have.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2010.11.20.19). 

The problem with the location bar not changing when switching tabs has been fixed for Firefox 4.0 beta 8.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Great work. Also it works as a first replacement for the discontinued fission addon.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2010.11.20.19). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This was great... until the 18 Nov update. The gripper looks like an unwanted artefact - I thought it was a bug at first.

More important: the download remaining time is not displayed any more. It's a tooltip, which makes it very inconvenient in my opinion.

Thank you for a great addon though. I hope you reconsider the points I made...

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2010.11.17.21). 

This is great! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

No status bar? Really? Mousing over hyperlinks at the bottom of the screen while scrolling down a webpage and having to look up at the address bar was a huge pain pain these last few days. I was close to switching to IE (gasp!) until this was fixed.

Then I thought about searching for "status bar" in the FF add-ons. Status-4-Evar to the rescue! This add-on is the best!! (Although, I suspect that future releases of FF 4.0b will bring the status bar back, but for now, this add-in is a TREMENDOUS help.)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2010.11.17.21). 

I am happy Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I missed it so much. FF without the StatusBar? Never!!! Now I am happy again. Thank you!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2010.11.17.21).