Now working in FF3 Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This was easily my favourite and most used extension in Firefox 2 and I've been missing it horribly since updating. However, as the reviews below me have stated, there is a way to get it functioning in Firefox 3! I followed the instructions on the blog and the extension if now fully functional. So if you would like to have this extension back or if you want to try it out and see it's usefulness for yourself, please visit: http://planetzarg.blogspot.com/
(And be sure to drop a comment on the blog thanking the author for giving this very useful extension back to us!)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.0.5.20070419). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Sorry if there are a lot of my reviews here. This website is broken and if you try to edit your review it doesn't - it just posts another! Anyway, if you want to get this working on Firefox 3, please visit: http://planetzarg.blogspot.com/

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.0.5.20070419). 

Working in Firefox 3! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Because this board cannot properly format posts, and there's no Preview Your Post button (bah! How lame is that?), I cannot post instructions on how to do this here. So if you want to know how to get Signature running in FF3, please visit:

http://planetzarg.blogspot.com/

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.0.5.20070419). 

Working in Firefox 3! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Sorry if there are a few repeated posts by me here - I was trying to post accurate instructions but this notice board's limitations (it kept stripping out line breaks and references to commented code!) and the lack of a PREVIEW your post feature (note to Add-ons web developers: please add this, and a remove your post feature too!) it kept coming out wrong. So if you want to see properly formatted instructions, please go here:
http://planetzarg.blogspot.com/

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.0.5.20070419). 

Working in Firefox 3! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I have signature running in Firefox 3 by bumping the extension version. Here's how to do it (but please be aware that if you don't do this properly you might break things, so only do this if you're sure you know what you're doing!):

1. Download the latest version and save it to your hard disk
2. Open the .xpi file you've just downloaded - it's basically a zipped archive, so open it with 7zip or whatever zip software you use. (I used File Roller in Ubuntu GNU/Linux.)
3. In the archive you'll see a file called install.rdf - you need to edit this file and replace the one that's in the xpi with your edited version. This file is a text file so you can open it with notepad or whatever text editor you use. (MS Word is NOT a good idea!)
4. In install.rdf, under the section that begins:


Find the line that says:
2.0.0.*
and change the 2 to a 3.

That's it! It worked for me.
And if you're about Miek - thanks again for a splendid extension.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.0.5.20070419). 

Working in Firefox 3! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I have signature running in Firefox 3 by bumping the extension version. Here's how to do it (but please be aware that if you don't do this properly you might break things, so only do this if you're sure you know what you're doing!):

1. Download the latest version and save it to your hard disk
2. Open the .xpi file you've just downloaded - it's basically a zipped archive, so open it with 7zip or whatever zip software you use. (I used File Roller in Ubuntu GNU/Linux.)
3. In the archive you'll see a file called install.rdf - you need to edit this file and replace the one that's in the xpi with your edited version. This file is a text file so you can open it with notepad or whatever text editor you use. (MS Word is NOT a good idea!)
4. In install.rdf, under the section that begins:


Find the line that says:
2.0.0.*
and change the 2 to a 3.

That's it! It worked for me.
And if you're about Miek - thanks again for a splendid extension.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.0.5.20070419). 

@ JackPhippsburg: Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I have Signature working in FF3, and this is how I did it:
http://planetzarg.blogspot.com/2008/06/install-signature-extension-for-firefox.html

Alternatively, have you tried inoculate128's method in the comments below?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.0.5.20070419). 

Update to FF3 Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This was really an excellent extension, but it seems that there will be no further updates? A short note from the developer would be nice? Currently I use PhaseExpress as a replacement tool. Anyone else knows of a replacement extension that can be used in FF3?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.0.5.20070419). 

FF3 Hack - http://planetzarg.blogspot.com Rated 5 out of 5 stars

It seems likely this is an abandoned add-on. Which if that is the case it is a TRUE shame. The FF3 hack posted below works. Might take a little doing but the principle instructions are sound. I can use FF3 now. ;)

Also I just used 3.* instead of 3.0.0.* to hopefully allow functionality through more updates. Not sure if that will actually do that but it worked. ;~)

I do hope for a proper "supported" version though. Who knows what/when update of FF will break this hack.

Also.. http://www.phraseexpress.com is a pretty interesting alternative. Its basically a 10x more function OS counterpart. It will require a re-adjustment in operational dynamics to work with browser work.

I'm sticking with my hacked signature add-on for now though! I hope someone maybe takes this over or writes a new one so additional features can be added etc.

Yes, thank you miek for what you have given us at least to start with!

- SK

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.0.5.20070419). 

Would like to try it... Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I didn't discover this add-on until after I upgraded to FF 3, so I haven't been able to try it yet. Please, please create an FF3 version - I have been looking for something like this for several years. I would pay for it as well.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.0.5.20070419). 

Well-done! Rated 4 out of 5 stars

This is the third time I've gone hunting for "Web 2.0-stuff" and hit pay dirt (the other two were the Linkwad add-on and Clipperz).

The Signature add-on provides such an easy & powerful way to extend the power of the browser editor by customizing any right-click menu.

My short wish list would include cascading menus to a couple of levels deep. And, of course, hopefully the add-on will survive & thrive in Firefox 3.0.

Appreciate free but I'd pay a bit for this if asked.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.0.5.20070419). 

T2 Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Any support for Thunderbird 2.0?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.0.5.20070419). 

For FF3??? Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This is really a wonderful extension!!!
Can we have a new build for FF3???

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.0.5.20070419). 

Pls. update to FF3 Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I use(d) it extensively for editing wikis. After upgrading to FF3 I miss so much. It is a great tool, pls. update asap. Thanks for you good work.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.0.5.20070419). 

:`( Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Since I've upgraded to Firefox 3.0 and discovered that this add-on is not compatible, life has little meaning. I've been walking around in a daze, the sky is constantly gray, and there is no joy in anything anymore. Even ice cream no longer tastes good. Please upgrade this add-on to make it compatible with Firefox 3.0 so that happiness can be restored throughout the universe.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.0.5.20070419). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I love this add-on very much. Will it be ported over to Firefox 3.0?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.0.5.20070419). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I love it... but is it getting an update for 3.0 or has it been abandoned.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.0.5.20070419). 

New version of Thunderbird? Rated 2 out of 5 stars

Used to use this till I updated Thunderbird. Was very useful. Hopefully it will be updated soon.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.0.5.20070419). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Just what I was looking for! Thank you Michael.

I can't get keyboard commands to work in gmail - any suggestions?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.0.5.20070419). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

OK my apologies - I didn't know that I had to click the developer's link to get thie instructions - I think the instructions should be more clearly accessible - the stuff on this page is gobbldygook to a lay person like me

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.0.5.20070419).