Rated 4 out of 5 stars

I am having trouble with the combination of SearchLoad Options and Searchbar Autosizer. When a search is completed, I have the settings revert to the default search engine and clear the searchbar after 15 seconds. The searchbar clears and reverts to the default engine, but it does not shrink back to its minimum size. This is even with all other addons disabled. Help please.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.14). 

Thanks for letting be know. This looks really easy to fix, I will just have to contact the SearchLoad Options developers.

I have opened a bug in our tracker to keep track of this issue: https://sourceforge.net/p/autosizer/tickets/27/

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

2.0.15 is perfect, now, for both ordinary computers AND netbooks.

I added some missing strings to the german local files.
If you would like to have these files, please tell me,
how to send them to you.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.13).  This user has 2 previous reviews of this add-on.

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Fehlermeldung bei Version 2.0.13
XML-Verarbeitungsfehler: Nicht definierte Entität
Adresse: chrome://autosizer/content/prefs.xul
Zeile Nr. 5, Spalte 1:<dialog
^

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.13). 

I am sorry for the error, we had a hiccup in our release process which blanked several translations. This went unnoticed and causes the error described. A new version has been uploaded and is awaiting mozilla's approval. You can roll back to an earlier version or download the new version from https://sourceforge.net/projects/autosizer/files/Packages/

2.0.12 not working on Mac OS X Rated 3 out of 5 stars

version 2.0.12 breaks the compatibliity with Mac OS X, please fix it ! . thank you very much in advance.....

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.13). 

I don't have a OS X machine to test it on but if you can submit a bug report we can try to figure it out.

http://sourceforge.net/p/autosizer/tickets/

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

nice one, thanks. :)

but in 2.09 the localization is broken. now it is all in english.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.9). 

Yes and no. What it is is that the strings were changed around and I don't speak any other languages. The addon will need to be retranslated in these areas. There are a small portion of translations that can be saved and I am currently working on those. The reason the English is there is because you get an XUL error if a translation is not available so the english ones are put there as a fallback and a reminder to translate.

If you could help translate that would be awesome, see https://sourceforge.net/p/autosizer/wiki/GetInvolved/ and contact us via the mailing list for help (https://groups.google.com/d/forum/searchbar-autosizer) Please don't be afraid to ask //stupid// questions.

**Edit:** I have finished moving the strings that I could. There are still some parts that need to be l10nized though.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Does everything promised except for one thing... if you use the Assistant, it will not keep the setting "Enlarge searchbar on first strike". It will work just after you first set it, but after restarting Firefox, it reverts back to "Size incrementally, to each letter". Is there a way I can make it keep the enlarge on first strike option permanently? It used to work in earlier versions prior to 2.0. Also, this option cannot be selected without using the Assistant, to the best of my knowledge.

UPDATE: Yes Mr. Cox, it does seem to be fixed in v2.0.8 (even after restarting Firefox), as long as the minimum searchbar width isn't set at -1. Thank you.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.7). 

Yes, I should have this fixed soon. I have created a bug report for you. https://sourceforge.net/p/autosizer/tickets/19/

an option... Rated 4 out of 5 stars

"shrink to smaller than the search engines title" should have an option...
---
Re: Mean it can like v2.0.5 or v2.0.6.
---
Re: YES v2.0.7 minwidth(int) Values -1: The searchbar will fit the search engine title.
http://sourceforge.net/p/autosizer/wiki/Preferences

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.6).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

I don't quite get what you mean. If you set the minimum size to smaller than the size of the search engine title it will become that small. Please note that there is a minimum that firefox will allow us to make the searchbar (approximately 10-15px).

Feel free to open a bug report or feature request so that we can discuss this further. https://sourceforge.net/p/autosizer/tickets/

FULLY customizable once again! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

It used to be that you could customize it to be very small and expand as you started typing. It was beautiful. Not anymore???? There's no need to see the name of the search engine and don't like the shrink to button feature (which you have to click on before starting to type your query) -- like seeing the search engine icon (and little else). So, if you like to customize, you may not care for the new version.

8/30/12 Edit:
WOW! LOVE IT! Works beautifully -- Like the first time I fell in love with Searchbar Autosizer. Perfect for saving space, yet still have the "eye candy" of the search engine icon and expands as you type your search query. Thank you for the update/fixes!! Great work!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.5). 

This was fixed in version 2.0.6. See the bug report for more information http://sourceforge.net/p/autosizer/tickets/13/. I have just recently uploaded this version and it will update once approved my AMO staff. You can also grab it at our sourceforge page http://sourceforge.net/projects/autosizer/files/.

Empty searchbar doesn't shrink to 1 pixel Rated 5 out of 5 stars

The searchbar no longer shrinks to 1 pixel when it is empty. The empty searchbar now expands to the width of the search engine name, which I have no need to see. This is new behavior starting with version 2.0.0.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.5). 

This is intended behavior. Feel free to submit a bug report at http://sourceforge.net/p/autosizer/tickets/ so that we can discuss it further.

What you might be interested is the shrink to button feature, a way to use minimum space while keeping the seachbar one click or keystroke away.

Location of the suggestions Rated 4 out of 5 stars

I've noticed something strange. When I type into the searchbar, which is on the right side of the URL bar, the suggestion showed up under URL bar instead of searchbar. I am using everything latest. How do I troubleshoot? Thanks

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.5).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

This is a known issue on windows. I have submitted a bug for Firefox and am waiting to see what Mozilla is going to say.

http://sourceforge.net/p/autosizer/tickets/9/

I also hope so that the short cut of Web Search may operate again. Rated 1 out of 5 stars

" Command + K " was able to be used till version v1.5.7.
However, it is not possible to use it by a present version.
Therefore, I return to v1.5.7 now and am using it.


-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Jul. /03/2012 10:13 pm [GMT+09:00] ( at Japan Standard Time )

It was corrected by version 2.0.5. Thank you.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.3). 

Still buggy.. Rated 4 out of 5 stars

The latest version 2.0.3 is still buggy.
Clicking the button "Assistant", the options panel goes off but the
assistant does not appears.
In error console i get the following error entry:
Timestamp: 28/6/2012 2:00:05 AM
Error: asw is not defined
Source File: chrome://autosizer/content/wizard.xul
Line: 1

Extension's description does not shown in localized instances.
This is due to the lack of file \defaults\preferences\prefs.js and
its corresponding entry which points to extension's description.
However, i suggest to developers to put extension's description
in install.rdf, since the localized method currently used applies
to very old Gecko versions (prior to FFx 3).

Edit:
Today i noticed another problem:
I have enabled the option "Shrink searchbar to Button if empty".
When i click the button, the search field appears, but clicking
on the icon to show the list to pick another searche engine, the
searce field shrinks to buton again. This is very annoying..
To overcome this behavior, after clicking the button, i have to
type first something in the field to not be empty. Only this way
i can click then on the icon to show the list of search engines.

Edit2:
Thank you for respond Kevin.
I hope and i wish you fix all these issues, because this extension is
really useful, especially in cases of netbooks-laptops that most
people used to use today.
So, Good Luck..

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.2). 

Thank you, I have created bug reports for these issues:
https://sourceforge.net/p/autosizer/tickets/10/
https://sourceforge.net/p/autosizer/tickets/11/

latest patch broke a few things for me Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Love the add-on, it's been working perfectly - until the latest update, now the search bar doesn't hide anymore when leaving it empty without searching for anything, the icon on the bar is kind of wrong (it seems to be the wrong type of button or something) and its tooltip says "&amp;autosizer.button.tooltip;". Additionally, searching overrides the currently active tab instead of creating a new one like before.
Re-installing the current version doesn't help, but reverting to the previous version solves any issues.
The option dialogue still works either way.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.0.0). 

You are right, version 2.0.0 didn't shrink to button when you emptied the search-bar, only on submitting a search. This is fixed in version 2.0.1 which should be out soon.

Problem with Customization Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Firefox 12, no assistant, no way to customize. Can someone please just let me know if I'm missing something, or does this not work with Firefox 12? I would like to use this extension; it was just what I was looking for. I cannot figure out how to choose the modes (tried both 1.5.7 and 2.0 in Firefox 12).

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.7). 

I'm sorry but I can't reproduce your issue. If you could file a bug report at http://sourceforge.net/p/autosizer/tickets/ we could try to figure it out.

Thanks

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I am the author of Tab Mix Lite. I have tested Search Autosizer 1.5.7 + Tab Mix Lite 4.2 in Windows 7 and Ubuntu 10.04. Everything works well. Could anyone provide the detail of the issue?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.7). 

Sorry for the confusion. The issue I found was with our new version 2 beta. I was looking at the wrong version as I had the version I am working on installed. You can download the new version at http://sourceforge.net/projects/autosizer/files/Packages/ .

On that note if the new 2.0 beta does work is is because of a race condition. I would like to get this fixed or at least get a work around going before I release 2.0. I have created a bug in our issue tracker so that we can get this sorted out. https://sourceforge.net/p/autosizer/tickets/7/

Thanks for your attention.

Doesn't work together with Tab Mix Lite Rated 4 out of 5 stars

When there are installed the "Searchbar Autosizer 1.5.7" and the "Tab Mix Lite 4.2" extensions together, the search bar stops working (pressing Enter produces no action, however search suggestions still work).

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.7). 

Thank you for letting me know. I have taken a look at Tab Mix Lite and the problem is in that extension. I have let the developer know where and why the problem occurs. Hopefully the incompatibility will be fixed in the next release of Tab Mix Lite.

Here is the message for reference: http://hemiolapei.free.fr/extensions/index.php/support/en?cp=14#comment-2625 .

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Great addon, specially for small screens. Working fine for me on FF 14.0a1 nightly 32-bit on win after ediiting maxversion into install.rdf

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.7). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Was helpful to the option "shrink button to search bar" if firefox would not be in full screen.Because when I reduce the size of the web browser window I have no place in the address bar.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.7). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

One of the most wanted addons lately, i really enjoy it's brain on cleaning the bar for new serches and also the option of resetting the search engine to default. But it's not working well for me.

I have XP & FF9, it installs correctly, i don't need to do any tricks on install.rdf, and works ok until next restart of the browser. Afterwards the search bar simply disappears and i have grab it back again from the customize menu.

Already tried several versions, including the 2.0 beta and the problem is always the same, after rebooting FF the search bar disappears into the Customize Toolbar Menu and i have to grab it manually everytime.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.7). 

Thats a really intresting problem. If you can submit a bug report on our sourceforge page I can help get that fixed.

Still not working on FF5+ Rated 2 out of 5 stars

I loved this add-on with FF3, but ever since trying it on 5+ it doesn't work properly. Sometimes hitting enter won't do anything at all, the suggestions width doesn't work, won't clear the search engine, etc. I'm even trying to new version 2 beta and it's still miserable.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.7). 

I can not reporduce your issue with the clearing and enter. Please try with the version with git commit 29396b38006ee98521288be7461c2bb400cf5e2a. It is the version currently avaiable at our downloads area http://sourceforge.net/projects/autosizer/files/Packages/ . If the problem persists please try disabling other extenstions in case they are conflicting and submit a bug report in our issue tracker http://sourceforge.net/p/autosizer/tickets/ .

Thank you for letting us know.