WebExtensions be damned Rated 2 out of 5 stars

The addon itself is working just fine, but WebExtensions is actually terrible because of https://wiki.mozilla.org/WebExtensions/Filesystem#Writing_outside_the_downloads_directory

not sure where Mozilla has the balls to call that an improvement.
Organizing is part of my routine and this addon is no longer suitable for it.

Version 2.2 is slower than previous versions... Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Very useful addon, but it was very quick in the previous versions to save an entire page. Now it takes 5 seconds... Why this performance issue ?

Edit : Thanks for your quick answer! Indeed I have blocked the Firefox update to v54.0.1 in order to still be able to use all my extensions, but this had also blocked the Screengrab updates. I have then installed Screengrab! manually, and now I see this version has great performance. Thanks for your wonderful extension!

Please install current version (now 2.5)

Settings problem Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I have the "settings" changed to save as a jpeg. It still only saves as a png. Will try another program.

Please send your problem to forum:
http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?t=3033778

Workaround doesn't work! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

The work around with the 'preview' function doesn't work! When I copy the preview image and paste.. it only will paste a broken image icon. UGH. That's the whole reason I have this add on.

ok, please wait Firefox 57 and function "copy to clipboard" - November 14, 2017

WHY??? Why Remove The Copy To Clipboard? Rated 5 out of 5 stars

UPDATE: See developer's response. I've updated to 5 stars because it really is a great add on. Thanks Oleksandr for your quick response.
######

So I have to give this only two stars now because you removed the most useful feature for me - copying to clipboard which lets me pop it into Photoshop. Please put it back and I'll give it 5 stars.

option "save to clipboard" available only for Firefox 57
Firefox 57 will be available in November 2017

temporary workaround: use the "preview" mode, then right click on the image and select "copy"

What the hell happened? Rated 3 out of 5 stars

The latest update ruined this app-- at least on my computer. All of my screenshots are now saved as generic files regardless of whether PNG, JPG or BMP is selected, and cannot be used in Facebook. Further, I cannot change the default save location-- dumped into "My PC"-- and so I have to navigate to a preferred location every time I save.

I'm giving three stars-- rounded-up average of 0 and 5-- because I used to like Screengrab!.

Edited to add:

Adding the file extension as a grab is saved does not work for for posting grabs to Facebook.

It is a major pain to have to navigate from My PC (why such a generic location? Who other than the computer puts stuff there?) to the desired folder for every save. Am I to understand that this will never be fixed because the add-on language demands it?

I notice that the developer has commented in a couple of locations, "This is the inevitable change in Firefox - all Xul-addons will die out in Firefox 57
https://blog.mozilla.org/addons/2017/02/16/the-road-to-firefox-57-compatibility-milestones/"
Is this an explanation for all of the current problems with Screengrab!, or just for the clipboard thing? Does this mean that Screengrab! will work as before once Firefox V. 57 is released, or does it mean that Screengrab! will never again be particularly useful?

Edited again to add:

Thank you Oleksandr for your prompt reply. However, I had read the forum you linked to, and it does not answer my question:
Will Screengrab! work as before once Firefox V. 57 is released, or will Screengrab! never again be particularly useful?

I could willingly navigate to the proper folder every time I saved a screenshot if the screenshots could be posted on Facebook. However, I have tried every file format offered with no success, and I have added every file extension to the name of each saved grab without success. I cannot upload any Screengrab! image to Facebook. Will this issue be fixed?

answer:
http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?p=14770433#p14770433

Learning how to love it Rated 4 out of 5 stars

It´s a different approach than it used to be but I´m learning how to benefit from the new features and how to love it.

Question:

In ´Settings´ under the Tab ´Image text template´ in the field ´In file name´ I use {#DOMAIN!WWW#}. Is it possible to publish the domain name in the Windows image file name field with only an initial capital? It now all is in lower case. Thanks for your reply.

Please send your questions to forum:
http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?t=3033778

Not your fault but it died Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Screengrab!, this lovely little tool helps me save a lot of useful information in the past. I know this is not your fault but it died. The most useful feature of it is that it can save the full page. The other functions can be easily get via some third -party software but this is indispensible. It can be only complete by an add-on.

Again I say that Firefox is commiting suicide and I will give you 5-star bucause you did a good job. I hope the mozilla's guys can see what happens here and do something.

Recent Firefox 55+ WebExtensions update makes this useless Rated 2 out of 5 stars

I used to love this extension, but the recent update breaks far too many essential features:
- "Save complete page/frame" used to be nearly instantaneous, but now often takes several seconds, or fails to work at all.
- Keyboard shortcut to begin "save complete page/frame" sometimes doesn't work.
- Last saved folder location is no longer remembered. User must manually navigate every single time.
- If you try to write a custom file name in the "Save As" dialogue box, the file extension will be deleted. You now must add ".png" or ".jpeg" manually.

It doesn't matter which of these are the fault of the developer, and which are the fault of Firefox. Without these simple, but essential features, it now takes longer, and requires a lot more manual work, to use this extension. That makes it useless for my speed-optimized workflow.

Begrudgingly, I'll have to find something else.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.4). 

This is the inevitable change in Firefox - all Xul-addons will die out in Firefox 57
https://blog.mozilla.org/addons/2017/02/16/the-road-to-firefox-57-compatibility-milestones/

the latest XUL version for older versions of Firefox, SeaMonkey and PaleMoon is here:
https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/screengrab-fix-version/versions/0.99.12

Great, but forgets save folder Rated 4 out of 5 stars

This is super. And much better than the built in FireFox snipper. I use Visible portion all the time. But in last release it stopped remembering my save folder. This needs to be separate from some general Firefox save folder. I put my screenshots in a particular folder. Doesn't everyone? Great job, but minor glitch.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.4).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?p=14770433#p14770433

Latest version does not work Rated 5 out of 5 stars

** developer has replied with a workaround, thanks.

The latest version does not allow copy, and full screen grab (full web page preview) I used to copy a complete webpage no matter how long the page was, i can easily do a full screen grab from my keyboard. Shame as this used to be a great plugin, it is now uninstalled

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.4). 

option "save to clipboard" available only for Firefox 57
Firefox 57 will be available in November 2017

temporary workaround: use the "preview" mode, then right click on the image and select "copy"

Great. But Not Now Saving As JPEG Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful add-on, but with latest version, when I save, the image appears in 'Photos' without any file extension! (When the screen pops up to let me name the file, the only option is 'All FIles'. )

So Windows (10) doesn't know what it is. I have to rename it, adding '.jpg'. Then all is well.

My settings: Save as JPEG 100%; FastMode and Quickly Save are not selected.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.4). 

Please send me letter for more details (with screenshots) about your problem: pag77@mail.ru

Missing right click on icon Rated 1 out of 5 stars

That was my favourite option. It disappeared in version 2.4

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.4). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

,

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.4). 

new Verion faults Rated 1 out of 5 stars

it's frustrating how bad the new verion got. I can not change the location for the file permanently and also the file extension is not beeing remembered.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.4). 

This is the inevitable change in Firefox - all Xul-addons will die out in Firefox 57
https://blog.mozilla.org/addons/2017/02/16/the-road-to-firefox-57-compatibility-milestones/

No option for right click to icon? Rated 3 out of 5 stars

I used to set the "right click to icon" to save complete page/frame (left click is for saving selection). This function is missing after 2.4 update, Even though it can be done with hotkey, nothing is faster and more convenient than right-clicking the icon :(

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.4). 

> No option for right click to icon?

Sorry, but webextensions not supported this feature

Can't save image to clipboard anymore Rated 2 out of 5 stars

I mainly used the feature "save to clipboard" - especially with "choosable area". Both features aren't available anymore.

This makes the former GREAT addon mostly useless for me. Is there any way to restore these features?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.4).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

option "save to clipboard" available only for Firefox 57
Firefox 57 will be available in November 2017

temporary workaround: use the "preview" mode, then right click on the image and select "copy"

latest version has problem Rated 3 out of 5 stars

It don't save in the last saved folder as in the past,every time I have to change from download folder to my desired folder.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.4). 

Please send all your questions to forum:
http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?t=3033778

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

migrated to Firefox 57 just to keep the "copy to clipboard" option in Screengrab

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.3). 

sera posible que siga permitiendo copiar sin pasar por archivo save Rated 3 out of 5 stars

no puedo copiar directo al clipboard ...por que o como se hace en la nueva version 2.3
la 2.2 si lo hacia ahora ya no

i can copy an the fly....why not or what is the correct proces?

fix that srs ... me tooo like other in this list i can do it in the old version ...it was a nice...

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.3). 

option "save to clipboard" available only for Firefox 57
Firefox 57 will be available in November 2017

temporary workaround: use the "preview" mode, then right click on the image and select "copy"