Essential Tool for day to day Software Development Rated 5 out of 5 stars

The Regular Expressions Tester is one of my day to day Tools for software development. It helps you to figure out the correct syntax of your expression and to see the result that can be expected.
It helped me in many cases to solve different problems and improve my regular expressions.
Thank you for this Tool

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.2.11). 

An Essential Firefox Addon Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Regular Expressions Tester is a fantastic add-on! It's on my short list of essential Firefox add-ons. The ability to check data as you type it is pure gold. It's also nice and compact. I also like that its highlights that parts that match. I've tried other regex apps and none of them are as good

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.2.11). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Great add-on. The only problem I see is if you want to add TAB characters in the search text box... would be nice to be able to use SHIFT+TAB or maybe provide a toolbar with these kinds of characters...

Thanks!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.2.11). 

There is a helping popup, which is available when you press Ctrl+Space after entering a backslash.
In previous Firefox versions this was even shown automatically, though there's currently a bug avoiding it to do so.

Smarty fast regexp addon Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Simple,but fast, smart & easy tool. Very good - it's have all what needs to faster create and testing regular expressions. Thanx!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.2.11). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

simple, easy, fast, GOOD!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.2.11). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

great in fx

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.2.11). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Amazing thanks for update works like a charm under FF4.0b2@W7.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.10). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This version works on Windows XP SP3 without a problem and ... I still like and use it - Great work, Sebastian!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.10). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Doesn't work - but it used to. Right now it always shows "The entered string is not a regular expression!" no matter what you put in. It must not be compatible with the latest firefox updates.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.0). 

Please update RExT

I guess you're using Mac OS? As mentioned at Marcel's comment, there's a bug with Java Embedding Plugin. Please try out the new version of RExT. If you're not using Mac OS, please update your Java Plugin. This should fix the problem. If not, please let me know.

karma blocker training? Rated 5 out of 5 stars

opportunity for dev to create a new generation of RegEx powerusers to wield Karma Blocker ;)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.0). 

Brilliant add on Rated 5 out of 5 stars

A brilliantly useful tool for testing regular expressions.

Some other reviews mention problems. Worked for me on Ubuntu 10 straight away.

You can turn off automatic brackets in the options, if you find them confusing; other settings also available.

Older versions also available to download if issues remain.
I find it an indispensable tool

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.0). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Does not work on Firefox 3.6.3 (Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; Intel Mac OS X 10.6; en-US; rv:1.9.2.3) Gecko/20100401 Firefox/3.6.3) on Mac OS X 10.6.3 on Intel. Crazy

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.0). 

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

This very nice and useful extension appears to have been broken. :(

No matter what regular expression is entered into the "Regular Expression" field the response is: "The entered string is not a regular expression!"

Also the new auto bracket functionality suck ass. I HATE IT. Too many functions do not a good application make. Any chance of getting hold of a previous OLD version?

This extension was one of the most use full ones in my development arsenal. Be nice to have it fixed.

Broken with:
Mac OS X Leopard - Firefox 3.5.9 - latest version of the extension.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.0). 

Known problems with Mac OS

Due to a problem related to the Java Embedding Plugin under Mac OS in combination with LiveConnect interpreting the expressions using Java is not possible at the moment. Therefore I created a new version, that at least automatically falls back to JavaScript interpretation instead of showing that misleading message. For more info about this see http://sourceforge.net/tracker/index.php?func=detail&aid=2999075&group_id=107955&atid=649116.

What's the problem with bracket auto-completion? The current implementation is working like many IDE's. If that's a problem for you, simply disable the completion in the RExT settings.

v3.x Rated 5 out of 5 stars

quick'n'dirty 3.x fix here -> http://it-centralen.dk/ffext/regularexpressiontester/1.1.6.13/get.html

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.0). 

New version in sandbox

Thanks sjoller for your contribution!
Though there is already a new version in sandbox (means, I uploaded a new version here, but the guys from Mozilla still need to check it).
Should be out the next days. If you're impatient have a look here:
https://addons.mozilla.org/de/firefox/addons/versions/2077
http://sebastianzartner.de/firefoxExtensions/RExT/

Weird bracket behaviour Rated 2 out of 5 stars

This works, but the way brackets behave is broken. It insists on always closing them for you, even though the closing bracket might be in the wrong place. This sort of helps if you're typing the expression from scratch, but becomes very annoying if you're editing an existing one. Thumbs down.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.1.6.13). 

Versions 3.0+ have better bracket interpretation

Please update your version and let me know, if there's still a problem.

Good tool. Rated 4 out of 5 stars

A suggestions though:
I keep trying to edit the text in the Result box, so please combine the Search Text and Results text boxes into one. I.e. highlight the matching characters in the box where you enter the text to search, and remove the separate results box. Although I guess these need to be a separate result box if the "Replace by" option is used.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.1.6.13). 

Auto brackets Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Works OK now (I think) the last version with auto brackets was a pain - didn't understand the escape sequence and insisted on putting in the closing bracket...

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.1.6.13). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This is a must have tool for all serious developers. Excellent!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.1.6.13). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent tool, well designed and light.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.1.5.6). 

Has potential Rated 2 out of 5 stars

I agree with gd2shoe's review.... this would be great if it could do regex search on the page, integrated into the search bar that comes up with Ctrl+F. Another cool feature might be regex syntax highlighting like http://regexpal.com/ does.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.8.9).