Rated 2 out of 5 stars

I noticed this has a performance impact (according to the "this script is slow" firefox alerts).

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.11). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

James you are a genius. I love RefControl. It operates perfectly in the background and is just fantastic.

Thank you very much!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.11). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Very useful, because it prevents sites from behaving differently based on where I'm coming from. Works perfectly.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.11). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

It serves its purpose.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.11). 

Rated 2 out of 5 stars

Be careful with this. It caused me to not be able to login to my bank's online account access system.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.11). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Please add support for Firefox3.1

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.11). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

It's a great one, can you add an option "Picture only"?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.11). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Great! And I don't have the problems mentioned by Joerg. (Tested with package monitoring software 'wireshark')

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.11). 

nice - if it would work properly Rated 1 out of 5 stars

nice addon, looks as if it would do exactly what I need. But if you open a link where you have blocked sending the referrer with the midlle mouse button in a new tab, RefControl does not work, the referrer will be transmitted.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.11). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

works as indicated!!! 5 stars

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.11). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I recently started using this addon, really liked it. I set default as 'No Referer' and make the exclusions for the sites that I want to send referal and it is working like a charm. The only missing options is the jokers (* ?) or regular expression type of rules. Why? Because one website that I visit a lot, I want to send them a custom referer header but they allow images only to be loaded from their site so I should be sending referer 'Normal' for any url ending with *.jpg and rest of the site, use my custom referer. It might be too much to ask but that would make this little addon charming. :)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.11). 

solid, but missing a features Rated 4 out of 5 stars

been using RefControl a long time and really like it, but it would be nice to easily enable/disable via left click on the status bar button rather than having to r-click and choose from menu.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.11). 

Handy Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Now some sites will working

Thanks

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.11). 

extend to User-Agent Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Very nice.
I would like to see it handling User-Agent: in the same way.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.11). 

Great for site-promoting! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This tool is not only GREAT for your privacy (after all, why should I want anyone to know where I came from), but it's also a nice "feature" to promote your own site. Since many nosy webmasters keep a record of their referrers and sometimes even display them somewhere on the site, you can draw people to your own site just by making your own URL the default referrer. :-D

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.11). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Great Addon! Referrers can say a lot about your browsing habits. The way this was written just compliments other Addons, e.g. CS Lite, NoScript. :D

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.11). 

Per-site enable/disable Rated 5 out of 5 stars

The extension is great, really useful, but it doesnt work with some sites, even when i set it to Normal (clicking on image thumbnail, no pic is showing, just the little "cracked" image icon).

If i turn it off, refresh the page, click thumbnail again, voilá, image is there.

IMHO it would be useful to add a per-site enable/disable option, or if this problem is solvable in some other way, it would be great.

Anyway, five stars it deserves :)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.10). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Great for the paranoids out there. Just block all 3rd party sites and relax, or block everything and whitelist sites you have to. Either way, brilliant.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.10). 

Very useful for forums Rated 5 out of 5 stars

On the contrary, this extension is great for anyone who browses forums and gets sick of seeing "lol hotlinking r teh eval" images in peoples' posts. Just forge the referrer and it's no longer a problem. :-)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.10). 

good tool, but not for everybody Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Does what it's supposed to and easy to configure. However, this falls under the category of paranoia extensions. I used to use this, but these days I'm shying away from extensions I don't really need.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.10).