Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Great addon. Hope to get an update for 4.0 :))

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.13). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Perfect for every Maerklin-modeler, cause they don't allow clicking deep-links to their service-pdfs with a non-maerklin referrer.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.13). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

'Tools' > 'RefControl Options' > 'Edit' (next to 'Default for sites not listed') > Enter url for default referral site

I luv it. :D

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.13). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

RefControl is one of the add-ons that makes me love Firefox. Will be even more happy once it is updated for the 4 betas!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.13). 

A must-have for privacy! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I highly recommend this as additional layer of security/privacy.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.13). 

I'm on my knees! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Please... PLEEEASE... I beg you! Update for FF4.0b2 as soon as possible!

Without this "Must-Have" I am not a happy user of FF Beta's like before...

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.13). 

"Bravo!" Rated 5 out of 5 stars

It works and works well.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.13). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent privacy tool, works as advertised.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.13). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Works very nicely! I have all sites except the ones I need given a reference to a site on garden gnomes.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.13). 

Good ! Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Works great !
Beware: the forge option disable the downloads on sourceforge.com, so set the behaviour to normal for this site in the option menu.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.13). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Awesome!!!!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.13). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

It works fine on linux

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.13). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Be careful! Per-site settings wasn't work for me!
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux i686; ru; rv:1.9.1.8) Gecko/20100214 Ubuntu/9.10 (karmic) Firefox/3.5.8

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.13). 

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

I support the suggestion from user "Quatrix" - it's an excellent idea - it would be good if this was an option in refControl.

Also, I feel refControl needs a toolbar button, to quickly access its options.

If these enhancements are made, I will upgrade my rating from 3 to 5 stars.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.13). 

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

I support the suggestion from user "Quatrix" - it's an excellent idea - it would be good if this was an option in refControl.

Also, I feel refControl needs a toolbar button, to quickly access its options.

If these enhancements are made, I will upgrade my rating from 3 to 5 stars.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.13). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Great and must have.

Suggestion:
It would be nice to allow regular expression or allow sub-domain only reference. So allows all sub-domains. Example of for sub-domains for google would be video.google.com, images.google.com etc.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.13). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Пожалуйста, сделайте функцию блокировать все referer кроме тех что разрешены в правилах (настройках) плагина.

Please, make function to block all referer except those that are resolved in rules (options) of a plug-in.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.13). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

I made a simple change to make this work for "from" sites instead of "to" sites (but not both). For example, I have images.google.com set to "forge" and "normal" for everything else. Now my RefControl only changes the referrer when opening a link from Google Images to another site.

Load \extensions\{455D905A-D37C-4643-A9E2-F6FEFAA0424A}\components\refcontrolComp.js into a text editor and find the onModifyRequest() function. You'll find a 'for' loop "for (var s = oHttpChannel.URI.host; s != ""; s = s.replace(/^.*?(\.|$)/, ""))". Just change oHttpChannel.URI.host to oHttpChannel.referrer.host, save, and restart Firefox. The list of hosts in your RefControl options now apply to the referring (from) site instead of the site being linked to.

If you want to get technical, oHttpChannel.referrer is sometimes null, but it won't hurt anything and you don't need to worry about it.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.13). 

deny then allow Rated 5 out of 5 stars

much like a firewall this extension when correctly configured sets the default rule to forge, and then requires the user to set normal for sites one wishes to pass referer [sic] information.

Those who whine for the contrary are the same likely who want protection from themselves :P

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.13). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Sometimes it works, and sometimes it doesn't. On most Ubuntu systems using Firefox 3.5, usually not. I recommend WebDeveloper instead; it's heavier weight, but it works.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.13).