Really cool! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

thx!

Nice but need some improvements Rated 4 out of 5 stars

1. Links like «\\link\random\" should be underlined and highlighted by blue color.

2. It would be great if direct links to file (like «\\link\random\file.jpg») opens inside browser as option.

3. Addon needs Settings menu.

4. Russian localization

Thanks for the review. I answer point by point:

1. You mean this without using the HTML <a href=... syntax?

2. At least for image files this is a good idea, you could propose it here: https://github.com/feinstaub/firefox_addon_local_filesystem_links/issues

3. Currently, the addon's settings page can be reached via the Firefox addons page.

4. Add this request here: https://github.com/feinstaub/firefox_addon_local_filesystem_links/issues We would need a developer who looks into making the addon localizable and someone with Russian knowledge to provide the translations.

Broken update... Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Hi... Thank you for the extension. However, the update of Feb 29th, 2016 (v. 0.99.42) had broken the icons on a Firefox v 39 which worked just fine before the update. White listed file:/// (long and tedious process of exclusion) were _deleted_ from 'options'. Removing and reinstalling version 0.99.41c of November 25, 2015 brought bake the preferences and restored the icons.
I for one disabled the automatic update for the extension: I believe I recall correctly that this is not the first time that this addon got broken at an update...

So... Attention, developer: 'Don't fix it if it ain't broken' seems to apply here...

N.B. The context menu option at right-click on link name was useful, but not at the cost of the little icon (which allows opening the link with one click less). If both are implemented, fine. But not one at the cost of the other.

Thanks for the review. The addon got a major rewrite to keep up with the ever-increasing requirements for developing robust and secure addons. Your bug report will be handled here: https://github.com/feinstaub/firefox_addon_local_filesystem_links/issues/53

You seem to use the whitelist/exclusion feature a lot. You could join/start the discussion here: https://github.com/feinstaub/firefox_addon_local_filesystem_links/issues

N.B. if the icon is not working, it is a bug. It is supposed to be working. Note that there is an option to hide the icon.

New icons don't show in FF ESR (38.6.1) Rated 4 out of 5 stars

First of all, you did great work on fixing the whole thing for FF >39.

Meanwhile we switched to Firefox ESR (which is now at v. 38.6.1) amongst other reasons because of the incompatibility of your add-on (which is great) with versions 39 and up.
Now we got upgraded to version 0.99.42 of the add-on, we noticed that the folder-icon has been replaced by a yellowish text ("folder" and "folder_open").
Everything works, except for the icon. So don't panic. It's just to let you know...

This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Thanks for the praise and the bug report, the issue is handled here: https://github.com/feinstaub/firefox_addon_local_filesystem_links/issues/53

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Thanks! It's very helpful to me!

I am glad that it can help you.

Suggestion : option to hide icons and Right-Click Menu to open up local file Rated 4 out of 5 stars

First of all, thank author for quick reply.

Seems still have no solution to hide the icons and using content-menu instead (I visited github to read the similar issue, and someone already has the same request.)
I use a stupid mtd. to make my tiddlywiki page look a bit better, by custom CSS (User Style) :
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
@namespace url(http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml);
/* TiddlyWiki, shink the icons of FF addon "Local FileSystem" to 1px */

.alien-lfl-href-buttonLink {
margin-left: 1px;
margin-bottom: -3px;
display: inline-block;
width: 1px;
height: 16px;
}

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Last Reply : (Oct. 10, 2015)
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Thanks for creating this useful extension.
.
And It's becuase I'm using tiddlywiki (a self-contained wiki). "Local FileSystem Links" works seamlessly with tiddlywiki, but all the links on the page has the icon, due to all links being interpreted as local file links, and totally make the wiki page looks messy.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.99.37). 

Thanks for the review (which also pointed me to tiddlywiki which seems to be a nice piece of software).

I support your idea of optionally hide the icon (or maybe even hide it by default since it often is the cause for troubles).
Unfortunately, I currently don't use the extension myself and don't have the time to make changes. Still, I try to react to user contributions in time, if someone sends pull requests.

You could start by adding your issue to the list: https://github.com/feinstaub/firefox_addon_local_filesystem_links/issues

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Great Add-On, but to get it working with current Firefox versions, on have to heed the developer's advice "FOR LATEST UNREVIEWED VERSION" and use Version 0.99.39b (as of august 2015) instead of the currently advertised 0.99.37 (that simply does nothing under Firefox 39 and newer).
Then one can ignore all the complains about compatibility issues of the last few weeks.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.99.37). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Works great; unfortunately, there is a compatibility issue with FireFox 39.0.

I hope to see this resolved soon.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.99.37). 

Thanks for the feedback. Yes, the issue is known, see https://github.com/feinstaub/firefox_addon_local_filesystem_links/issues/37

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

That is a perfect tool to store whole documents on out nas server. I have found 3 things that doesn't work good in version 37, 1 - it doesn't work with Firefox 39 (which has been informed at below comment) 2- when the file link is generated it opens a file directly instead of opening catalog which contains the file. 3- I use this addon with a dynamic page (refresh in 1s) but the link is placed in stable side (no refresh) sometimes refresh button works and sometimes not. When the icon appears it stays until the page is closed. I put 6 stars for this addon, because it's the best tool for storing documents I beg you to solve this small problems :)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.99.37). 

Hello, thanks for the praise. Good to here that this piece of software can simplify your work.

"doesn't work with Firefox 39": yes, unfortunately, I cannot put time into investigating the issue myself right now. So let's hope for contributions.

"when the file link is generated it opens a file directly": thanks for this feedback. Users seem to need both options, the issue is tracked here: https://github.com/feinstaub/firefox_addon_local_filesystem_links/issues/32

"dynamic page issues": see https://github.com/feinstaub/firefox_addon_local_filesystem_links/issues/24 but first the FF 39 issues have to be resolved.

Local Filesystem Links to network locations Rated 3 out of 5 stars

This was great , But as the previous review it no longer adds the folder icon. The workaround to install the previous version does not work for me. Still cannot see the folder icon to click on.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.99.37). 

The problem is that the addon became incompatible since Firefox 39 or later, see https://github.com/feinstaub/firefox_addon_local_filesystem_links/issues/37

5 stars last week, none today Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Hi, great stuff, but since the last update, it doesn't work anymore on my wiki. Je suis colère car je suis trahison ;-)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.99.37). 

"Version information"

Hi, as a quick fix please go down the addon's page and expand the "Version information" section. There, click "See complete version history". Hover over "Version 0.99.25.1-signed" and click "Add to Firefox". This will install the previous version.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Great solution. I use it to show how our voice recorder app works. Thank you.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.99.25.1-signed). 

You're welcome. I am glad to hear that the add-on can be of help.

Does not work if file URL was displayed in an ajax update Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Works OK if url was created during the first load of the page. However if the url is changed from an ajax callback, the folder icon does not display unless you manually "rescan" page.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.99.25.1-signed). 

Hi, thanks for the review. This is a known issue which is not addressed yet, see https://github.com/feinstaub/firefox_addon_local_filesystem_links/issues/24

Doesn't handle the most obvious cases Rated 2 out of 5 stars

As another latest review by user gsingh said, the add-on has great potential, but does not handle some of the most common ways people put local links in company local network pages. The local links which work in IE should work in Firefox. For most of the links in my company intranet, this add-on says "Cannot find link location".

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.99.25.1-signed). 

Thanks for the review. Did you find another addon in the meantime which can serve your purpose better? If not you can file a bug report here with a more detailed description: https://github.com/feinstaub/firefox_addon_local_filesystem_links/issues

I could not use it for my purpose. Pplease help Rated 5 out of 5 stars

First of all. Thanks for your efforts.

I was looking for some firefox plugin which will help me open the local network links in windows explorer directly from webpage.

Your tool is closest to my requirement.

Issue description:

On installing the tool, I see a folder icon next to all the local links on my weppage.
Lets say I have a network path: \\XYZ\ABC\TEST\XYZ.1 which I like to open in explorer. On hovering over my link i see a tip balloon pops up and in this tip balloon, I see location of link as file:\\XYZ\ABC\TEST\XYZ.1. I also see another tip poping up at the lower left corner of firefox which is different . It shows : file:///ABC/TEST/XYZ.1. Then I hover on the folder icon which populated after installing the tool. The tip balloon pops up and suggests the folder icon will try to open the link : file:///ABC/TEST/XYZ.1 in windows explorer.

On clicking the folder icon to open the link in windows explorer i see error message saying it cannot find the location.

Expected result:

The only way i think this will work if the addon tries to change the link to file://XYZ/ABC/TEST/XYZ.1 an open it in windows explorer.

Please let me know if you need any more info.

Thanks for your help in advance.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.99.25.1-signed). 

Thanks for reviewing the addon.

I can reproduce your issue. This is because hyperlinks are a bit tricky when it comes to UNC paths (i.e. network shares). As mentioned in the description of the addon the href part of the hyperlink must look like this in your case:
file:///\\XYZ\ABC\TEST\XYZ.1
or
file://///XYZ/ABC/TEST/XYZ.1
Note, that we have 3 slashes after the file: part and then 2 (back)slashes for the UNC path. So in total 5 slashes.

Does this help you? If it is your own webpage you probably have control over creating the hyperlinks and can change them.

For further discussion please file an issue here: https://github.com/feinstaub/firefox_addon_local_filesystem_links/issues

Works great Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Thanks for this add-on, I have the same situation as you had with wikis and lokal links. It really saves me much time, so this was the first add-on where I spent double proposed amount :-)

One single issue: It took me some time to find out why it works perfect on my workstation and not so perfect on my laptop: obviously, it needs firefox history enabled, correct?
Without enabled history, the icon doesn't show in the add-on bar, and the scan doesn't work.Changing the setting and restarting, it works perfect and vice versa.
Can you confirm that?
Firefox 29.0.1, local filesystem links 0.99.25
But altogether a great thing!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.99.25.1-signed). 

Hello Ryan. Thanks for reviewing, spending and issue reporting. Your report was great help. There were other reports that the addon was not working in certain occasions but now the cause could be pinpointed: the addon currently does not work in Private Browsing mode (under the covers disabled history is the same as Private Browsing). So I confirm your observation and I will investigate the issue. Until then it is a known bug.
Best regards.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

works as it should, thank you!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.99.25.1-signed). 

Works Great on the PC Rated 5 out of 5 stars

The add-on works like a charm on the PC.

I have an asp.net / IIS application with links for opening network share folders. If I make the URL for the link "file://", then it works perfectly on the PC. On FireFox for the MAC, I see the "local filesystem links' folders, but nothing happens when I click on them.
The reason is, for the MAC, you need "smb://", not "file:'//".
Is there any way to have Local FileSystem Links work for "smb://" links the same way it does for "file://"?

UPDATE 4/30/2014: I found a way to make it work on MAC without the need for Local File System. A great product, and was a project saver for FireFox on the PC. Thanks!!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.99.25.1-signed). 

Hi thanks for the hint how things work on MAC. With the current version of the addon this is not supported. Technically it is probably an easy fix: I forwarded your issue to the issue tracker on github (https://github.com/feinstaub/firefox_addon_local_filesystem_links/issues/25) so it might end up in one of the next versions.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

It won't install with Firefox ESR 17.0.7, which is the version used by my company.

Could you make it work with this version ?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.99.25.1-signed). 

Hi, thanks for your interest in the add-on. Shouldn't the ESR 17 be dropped by now? (see https://wiki.mozilla.org/Enterprise/Firefox/ExtendedSupport:Proposal).

Anyway, older versions of Firefox are currently not targeted. Depending on your skill and time you might want to contribute and add the desired support. Here is the latest code: https://github.com/feinstaub/firefox_addon_local_filesystem_links

Sorry to have no better news.

ISSUE https Rated 3 out of 5 stars

ISSUE: It does not work under https connection because the folder image is not secure so the browser does not display it.
Can you fix it?
thanks!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.99.25.1-signed). 

Hi, thanks for reporting. The issue will be tracked here: https://github.com/feinstaub/firefox_addon_local_filesystem_links/issues/21