Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Great extension. But I have 1 suggestion:

I like how you can go to "Set Icon Color" and change the shape of the HashColoured favicon, but these different shapes should be a part of the package by default. For example if I open 1 tab it could randomly be a red square, but another tab could be a blue diamond, etc.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.22). 

Needs Help. Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Good idea, but not working well for me. (Mac OSX4.11, Firefox 3.5.3). No "set icon color" or "reset" options to be found anywhere. I currently have two tabs open that don't have site icons, and it only replaced one of them. Does not work at all in bookmarks or history. Any chance there's an update/fix coming soon?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.22). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Cannot find "Set Icon Color" option on Firefox 3.5.2, Windows 7 Environment. Works fine in mac.

Great addon btw.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.22). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

I just noticed there is a reset button in the Set Icon Color dialog shown on the extension page, but I cannot find that dialog accessible anywhere in Firefox. Bug?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.22). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

I prefer a solid color block this ext. uses over IdentFavicon's weird patterns that are sometimes hard to see (or just look "broken" -lol). Add a command to "reset icon to none" (or default generic, whatever) would be a nice addition.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.22). 

Ident Rated 2 out of 5 stars

Look into IdentFavicon, maybe you can get greater inspiration?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.22). 

Uninstalled for lack of customizability Rated 2 out of 5 stars

Great idea, I had it installed for about a week but ultimately uninstalled it, for two reasons.

First, the addon's Options menu contains no text at all. All the options are presented with pictures which are obviously less-intuitive than the developer thinks they are. I had to read through the reviews here just to figure out what they were.

Second, and much more importantly, there is no way to customize the colour used. Although I love how it uses the domain name to decide the colour, sometimes the colour chosen contrasts badly with the dominant colour theme of the website itself, and there is no way within the addon to change this.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.21). 

Set Icon Colour (and Shape)

Are you, perchance, still using Fx 2? The Set Icon Colour dialogue - see preview image #4 - is only available from Fx 3.

working problem Rated 4 out of 5 stars

great addon but i think it is not working with "Faviconize Tab"

pls fix it or build a the Faviconize function into HCT+

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.18). 

They work for me

The two extensions should complement each other nicely; Even after reading the Faviconize Tab source, I can see no overlap in their implementations.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

A great extension. Highly reccomended.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.18). 

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

This is a nice cosmetic addition for the strange and boring blank icons that Firefox 3 gives us on lots of bookmarks and tabs but I agree with another comment here...you have to realise that in the world of computing there are more people who are NOT savvy and able to work things out without it being fed to them in simple steps or at least some easy instructions, than not! I am not one of them, I merely repair and build PCs and fix crap like Windows OS' daily but it makes me see just how many people there are that know very little. I would guarantee that there are loads of people who have downloaded your addon and then uninstalled it just because there are no instructions in the settings. First signs of confusion and people like that are off. they uninstall cos they don't want to mess their PC up.
Just add a few lines of text mate and it'll be perfect!
But from me...thank you, it's perfect! :)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.18). 

it comprises to my best combination Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Firefox3 accompanied by HashColouredTabs, TabScope & Faviconized makes the best combination ever to me, who more often than not has >20 tabs opened at once. However, could you please make an import/export Hash list for visited sites, so that I can learn to recognize the color for my favorite domains and maintain the same set of colors in my office computer, home computer, college computer and my laptop. Thank you,

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.17). 

consistent colours

The generated colours are only based on the extension settings; However the original author made one setting (extensions.hashcolouredtabs.salt) random and hidden - it can be set from about:config so all profiles use the same value.

The saved colours and shapes are in the same database as, for example, zoom preferences and so import and export should be part of a more general solution - I don't think that there is a bug on this yet.

Excellent extension Rated 5 out of 5 stars

With Firefox 3, i needed something to differentiate between sites that didn't have favicons and this fills the gap.
The only issue i have had with it is that the non www version of an address will have a different colour to the www version of the same address
eg http://www.belowcostappliances.com/ gives a blue colour and http://belowcostappliances.com/ gives a brown colour

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.17). 

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Admit that this could be useful. But after removing it my bookmarks without icons are staying with hased colors, though default icon is shown on tabs. Try it with CARE and backup your profiles before. Also, Settings without any text? It's not so intuitive as you may think.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.17). 

hmm!

This is a good point. I shall give it some more thought but, as there is no interface to disassociate an icon from a page, I can't see an easy solution at the moment. The same thing would happen, without this extension, if a site stopped providing an icon.

edit: This has been fixed in the next version. [For anyone needing to clear HCT+ icons kept after an uninstall, the following should work: Install 0.4.18 -> (Restart) -> Uninstall 0.4.18 -> (Restart)]

Great, but feature request Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Has worked fine for me so far; works as specified in Firefox 3. One thing which would be even nicer would be if, rather than just creating solid icons, the extension created checkerboard patterns; basically, there aren't enough solid colors to make lots of tabs unique, but if you added a bit of a pattern, you'd have more options.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.17). 

Shapes

I am not totally convinced that this would work very well; However version 0.4.18 will allow a few more (currently 4) shapes to be set which may help a bit.

0.4.18f is currently under testing and is available from http://seis.bris.ac.uk/~ccjpb/

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

this is terrible do not waste time if you use firefox 3 will not display icons.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.17). 

These are great! Not yet rated

I've used them for quite a while and thoroughly enjoyed them. For some reason there's now a conflict with favicon picker 2. I can use one or the other.

I don't know if it's something I did or not. Anyway it's a great extension. Any ideas how I can use both?

Hardson

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.14). 

favicon picker 2

I am afraid that that is not much for me to go on - especially if they used to work together.

Version 0.4.16 will not update an icon that was saved by something else, which will allow it to work better with other icon extensions, but I doubt that this is your problem.

Perhaps this can be followed up in a discussion when they return...

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Some, but not all colored icons show up in the Bookmarks Sidebar for me. I use AIOS.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.14). 

no icons

I know of three circumstances when this can happen:

1) Bookmark icons don't update until you next visit the page.
2) redirected pages don't have icons (bugs 389642/423127)
3) bookmarked fragments will not initially have an icon (bug 420605) until next visit.

you win Rated 4 out of 5 stars

I tried all the tab-coloring extensions I could find (three), and I like HashColouredTabs+ best.

ChromaTabs refuses to apply URL-based colors until the tab is brought forward or moused-over. This has gone unaddressed for a while, so it doesn't seem to be currently supported. And Firefox 2.0.0.10 broke it completely (though a later nightly build reportedly restored it).

ColorfulTabs changes the tab design for the worse, and exhibits rendering problems on Firefox 2.0.0.10.

HashColouredTabs+ (HCT+) works well in 2.0.0.10, leaves the native tab design alone, and is more visually unobtrusive than coloring the entire tab. I keep favicons turned off in about:config anyway to reduce bookmark file bloat, so HCT+ is a good fit. I tried HCT+ a while ago when it wasn't working so well, and ended up using ChromaTabs. I feel lucky that 2.0.0.10 broke ChromaTabs and caused me to try HCT+ again.

(Author: note that HCT+ does not appear in the search results for "color tabs" or "tab colors" at addons.mozilla.org, while ChromaTabs and ColorfulTabs do. It seems the plurals are missing from the HCT+ page search terms.)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.14).