Won't work with Firefox 7 Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Are you planning to update this to work with Firefox 7 or later?

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Here is a modified version of Googlebar 0.9.20.05 where the ugly transparent-background popup menu is removed: http://www.mediafire.com/?dkdyclm7qyf8bn2

This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Can be used with FF4 Rated 5 out of 5 stars

1. Download the XPI file to your hard drive (right click the download button and "save link as").
2. Change the XPI extension to ZIP
3. Unzip the file Install.rdf and open it in a text editor (notepad works)
4. Look for the line em:maxVersion>3.6.*</em:maxVersion and change it to em:maxVersion>4.5.*</em:maxVersion
5. Save the file and add it back to the ZIP
6. Rename the ZIP file back to XPI
7. Drag the XPI file into your Firefox browser window to install the add-on

this general procedure works for lots of add ons actually...

==== someone emailed me and asked me to add this ===

The Print button is broken. Google uses "books" instead of "print" now.

Involves updating a couple of lines in GooglebarOverlay.js

Changed URL "print.google" to "books.google"
and "/print?sourceid=..." to "?sourceid=..."

From (note two changes in this line):
searchURL = 'http://print.google.' + GB_USA_ONLY_DOMAIN + '/print?sourceid=mozclient&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8&q=' + crit;
To:
http://books.google.' + GB_USA_ONLY_DOMAIN + '?sourceid=mozclient&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8&q=' + crit;

and a similar, shorter line before that.


Also changed print.png to new image of a book (the icon Google uses) saved as 20x20 gif with white as transparent background, renamed as .png.
Goes in | chrome | googlebar | skin | print.png

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.20.03). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

I updated this by increasing the max version in the Intall.rdf file. You have to open the xpi file first using a zip program like jzip and then edit the install.rdf using notepad. Change the line that says maxVersion to say 4.0 between the arrows like so: >4.0<. Make you are doing it in the spot below where it says Firefox. Below that there are also lines for the Mozilla Suite, Seamonkey, and Netscape. Seem to be working fine since I updated it. When you close jzip and it asks you if you want to "update archive" do that as well and then you just have to install the xpi using the addon manager. You might also have to use internet explorer to download the xpi from somewhere on the internet. I don't know of any way to do it here at the addons page. I am only subtracting one star because typing in the search field is so slow. I don't even type in it that much anymore. Just hit the google button and go to google. Much faster typing it in there.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.20.03).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

suddenly working on FF4 RC Rated 5 out of 5 stars

As it says, Not Compatible with FF4. I didn't uninstall it though. And FF4 refused to open my saved xpi. But just now I installed this theme:
Office Black :: Add-ons for Firefox
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/office-black/
And after the restart it suddenly appeared. Yay, I love it!
BTW, after getting Office Black, not only did this Googlebar come back, but so did FEBE, Nightly Tester Tools, CopyURL+, Cacheviewer and Copy All URLs. Maybe more too that I just haven't noticed yet. ELECTRONS!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.20.03). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

A good tool. I like it better than Google's as it is a bit simpler. Suggestions stopped working though, this is a necessary feature.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.20.03). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Compared to Google Toolbar, the good:
- up-directory works better
- search words is not case sensitive.

The not so good:
- can't get Google Suggest to work.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.20.03). 

Oh well Rated 2 out of 5 stars

The first thing I tried, dragging some selected text into the search window, did not work as GT does.

Oh well. I may check in a year or so and give it another try.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.20.03). 

Rated 2 out of 5 stars

Better than the previous but Google search Engine is getting dated in comparison to the features that Bing offers. However if your still in love with Google then this isn't a bad search add-on.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.20.03). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Good Tools for Beginners in SEO-Working and a good Tool to Trash the Toolbar.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.20.03). 

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Works well. Would like custom searches.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.20.03). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant :o) I am a very happy SeaMonkey user now

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.20.03). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This new version 0.9.20.03 works pretty sweet on FireFox 3.6
YIPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPIE
;)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.20.03). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This is the best google bar for Firefox ever. I've tried to make the Google Toolbar work as well as this off and on and could never get all the special searches on it that I wanted,. I've been using this Googlebar since it was first made (making it compatible with Mr Tech Toolkit.
But thank you for making it work for Firefox 3.6.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.20.03). 

3.X patch Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Works with 3.X, here it is:
http://xylem.aegean.gr/~modestos/mo.blog/?p=1443

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.15.14). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

We really need an update for 3.5... The official google toolbar is terrible.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.15.14). 

Making googlebar work with FF3.5 Rated 5 out of 5 stars

apinto2k8's instructions for making googlebar work with FF3.5 are correct. If you're getting the error "install script not found" after following those steps, it's possible your ZIP file creator (WinZip, 7-Zip, etc.) is putting the googlebar files under a subdirectory within the zipfile. The googlebar files (install.rdf, install.js, etc.) must be in the top-level directory within the ZIP (XPI) file.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.15.14). 

Better Than Google's Official Toolbar Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I like this add-on better than the official Google Toolbar from Google. The double-back-arrow button that returns you immediately to the Google search results page is awesome, and that isn't in the official Google version. I like the overall look of this one and its icons a lot better too. Now, can't we get an update that's compatible with FF 3.5?? C'mon fellas!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.15.14). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

John, could we please, please have an update for FF3.5?
None of the suggested workarounds have worked for me and I miss my googlebar dearly. It is by far my most used Firefox add-on.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.15.14). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

to Long Pham. Please try with experimental version here : http://googlebar.mozdev.org/installation.html. Download it, then change maxVersion. It works for me.
But a upgrade is still welcome ;-)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.15.14).