Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I wish this worked, or had any support at all.

Decent program Rated 4 out of 5 stars

This is s decent program that works very well. It's a little rough and ready and you have to modify the settings depending on what you want to do. For instance if I want music then I have to enable it in settings first. You probably also want to modify link depth to ensure you are getting the files you want.

Files download the usual default way so it's compatible with download status bar for example.

Interface could be improved so I can just view audio / video / pictures and then just click on download all, or use checkboxes to select files I want. But otherwise it works well.

This has functionality I've not seen since IDM which cost quite a bit of money.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Great ! please Keep your Good work !

Nearly quite good. Rated 3 out of 5 stars

The problem is this addon is fully nuclear. Except for a blacklist and media type selection, there aren't many ways to focus in on what you want.

-The blacklist should be able to be disabled with a check box.
-A whitelist with an enable/disable option should also be available. (E.g. You only want pictures found on ImageShack or similar image host sites.)
-Restrictions should be available: Ignore images/videos/audio above/below certain dimensions or file sizes.
-And really critical but missing options: Do not spider links that aren't on the original website/URL. Ignore media that isn't on the original website/URL. Ads, google, off site links and social media links get spider without this option.
You can nearly mimic this, but it is bare bones. This should be found under the preferences tabs.
Otherwise, I find this to be useful.
Edit: Oh yeah, and the 'Download files' button is still broken for me in v1.5.6.

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Absurdly, laughably, inexcusably SLOOOOW! Must B written in JavaKrap, 'cuz U can save a page WAAAAY faster & just look in the 'files' folder generated 2 get the items U want, or freeware like 'WinHTTrack' 2 spider sites. Oh sure, if U have an 8 core CPU & 16GB of RAM U may B able 2 spider a small web site with say, 100 pages of images or whatever. Or U can use ANY 'garbage' machine & WinHTTrack (or payware like Teleport Pro or something) 2 get the content. This thing is just an IDEA, not a PRODUCT. It has INSANE CPU hogging junk also like 'fade in effect' (WTF?!?!) & silly rounded borders on all the images, + tries 2 resize them all. Don't waste your time. Should B able 2 generate a LIST of files, with check boxes & 'select all' type options. This thing is barely able 2 spider ONE fairly long page, let alone an entire WEB SITE!! If U R going 2 produce something this slow & buggy, please don't waste your time until U fix it, because all U do is waste OUR time by pretending it will work. It even hung on a 3GHZ machine W/2GB of RAM just trying 2 display the thumbs 4 1 page of images! That is ABSURD! The same page displays INSTANTLY when NOT doing so through this addon. Can click 'save page as' & DONE. This addon is GARBAGE!

Quick and simple web page scraper Rated 4 out of 5 stars

[UPDATE (10/1/14): Looks like they fixed the download problem. Haven't fully tested all media. Have only done pictures, but looks like the glitch is resolved. Still one of the easiest ways to scrape a web page/website for content.]

This extension is simple, sleek and relatively powerful for spidering sites for pictures, vids, files, etc.

HOWEVER, it stopped downloading files earlier this year when the Firefox browser was updated. As of today the problem still hasn't been fixed. The extension "half works" -- it will spider a page and show you all the related pictures, etc., but when you go to download the files (regardless of how they're selected), it will give you the dialog box to choose where to save them and then......nothing. No download / no save. Zero happens.

I will gladly contribute to further development, but not until it is working again.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.5.1-signed). 

Fixed

Check out 1.5.6.

uhm.. nope! Rated 1 out of 5 stars

When it mostly worked, it was slow as molasses and hung FF with large thumbnail counts. That wouldn't have been so bad if the user were able to set a low thumbnail count and then pick up where s/he left off next time the same page was "Spidered". Instead, we start from scratch, downloading everything we just downloaded all over again.

Also, "Finalizing"? Finalizing?? This unnecessary step takes forever. What's wrong with giving the user the option to simply download each file immediately, or maybe 10 at a time in batches, or whatever it takes to keep FF from hanging and gets the file on the HD quickly?
And how about an option to not generate any thumbnails at all? Sometimes we don't even care what the images are, we just want to click a button and boom, grab everything and sort them out offline. This option may also help keep FF from crashing/hanging.

NOW it's utter unusable, as it won't even download any images under FF 32.0, it only generates thumbnails.

This is a great concept, poorly executed. Fix the above issues and it'll be at least 4-star worthy. The interface could use some polishing to bring it up to 5 stars.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.5.1-signed). 

Good Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Very good extension.

only after updating FF to 31 foxy wont download anymore.

I hope this will be fixed.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.5.1-signed). 

Download Fail Rated 3 out of 5 stars

The premise and seek routines work to an acceptable level, but downloading fails on Linux. It seems Firefox struggles with any large download lists or other programming methods to process the download file list in FoxySpider. The Coder should check if his code is proper in this area, or is efficient. Note sometime single downloads work when manually clicking the file icons after a crawl.

Layout could get a polish too.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.5.1-signed). 

Nice extension, but still needs improvements Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Very useful extension. User friendly as well.
Thou, it could become some fine tunning.
One issue is the file-selection for download at the gallery.

"Select files by keywords" should work with "wildcards" and/or "regular expressions" for reasonable usability.

The web-crawler could be enhanced for better usability as well.
Thank you!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.5.1-signed). 

one shot Rated 1 out of 5 stars

This add-on worked exactly one time for me.
Every subsequent try does not download anything.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.5.1-signed). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Fábio Magnoni is correct. I just built a gallery of many JPG files on a site, but when I choose "Select all files" and then the "Download files" button... nothing happens. Fortunately, you can still download them using the DownThemAll extension.

Edit: Thank you very much, foxyspider.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.3.1-signed). 

The "download files" issue was fixed in FoxySpider 1.5.4. I am sorry for the inconvenience.

Rated 2 out of 5 stars

It gets the pictures, but don't download anything, only if I go pic by pic do download, not if I select more than one or all... I'm using Firefox 26

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.3.1-signed).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

The "download files" issue was fixed in FoxySpider 1.5.4. I am sorry for the inconvenience.

essential tool for harvesting sites rich in your interest Rated 5 out of 5 stars

mine is podcasts. when i find a new site, i point foxy at it, (tell it depth/links to search) and in a few minutes have a web page full of the .mp3 or .mp4 links. I save the page to a folder as an html file, then tell Flashget (or any other downloader) to get all links on that hmtl file. And (after Flashget lets you select file extensions etc you want) off it goes to get the 10 or 100 or 1000 podcasts for listening at my leisure offline. Brilliant for making use of what limited mind.i have. RSA, Brain Science Podcast, CUNY, etc. (And believe me, this laptop is OLD - like all the discards i get from my son).(As i read feedback from users without Flashget, and my occasional manual use of the gallery page, i'd like the file name in the url visible on the page, perhaps in list form, to save having to hover over it to decide whether to download).

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.1-signed).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

It seems a little heavy, my browser crashed after 10 minutes, maybe because my PC is not so good, I know it takes much memory and CPU resources, could you please relieve this?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.1-signed). 

thanks for the plugin Rated 5 out of 5 stars

> The browser downloads the picture once to create the 'gallery' then if you actually want them on disk you have to click, click, click, browse, click.... very, very tedious and
I agree - this is the major minus of plug in - if there may select thru "shift" - click first pic hold "shift" and last if they go one by one or if not - lasso select - it would be an ideal tool

Except this - great and unique plugin - is some one know plug ins similar like FoxySpider - tell me in comments

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.1-signed). 

FoxySpider Rated 5 out of 5 stars

well guys im on wireless dongle with man.software wiped so it uses dial up settings.max speed 3.6Mb in new mony ,384KB in old money.its never hit the max unless i was downloading of torrent site ,max download from normal site 200KB.So youve got my back story.So all i can say about this beauty is wow,isint it nice that something does exactly has you wanting it to do without no probs,without having to change all its settings,god didnt even read how it worked.I installed it went to my sons wife facebook page which has got 1000's of pics of grandson.i right clicked on foxy and of it went on its merry way,ididnt know where or what it would do so i sat there for 5 mins it said done then i told it to save to file blah blah,it went on its merry way again for 5 mins ! then it finished and i thought poooo that couldnt of worked.Well it did wow ripped 1000 pics of facebook on dial up in 10 mins.Guys your a life safer keep it plz.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.1-signed). 

Rated 2 out of 5 stars

I guess it does what it says it does but man it is so sloooowww. The browser downloads the picture once to create the 'gallery' then if you actually want them on disk you have to click, click, click, browse, click.... very, very tedious and THEN it inserts all of the pictures it just pulled up in the gallery into your download queue! Double the bandwidth, double the time. The sad truth is that there doesn't seem to be anything better.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.1-signed). 

does not work out of the box Rated 5 out of 5 stars

first: i read a lot here before i was willing to test and likely buy this piece of software later because of the good price.
so i just installed it on my ff7.x
after restarting, i navigate to a normal page which contains some simple imagelinks to test the addon.
after clicking the button a new tab opened with nothing more to see as:

Gallery created by FoxySpider (and some lame facebook text)

i guessed, there could be problems with other installed addons (or whatever reasons), so i installed ff7.x portable and then only this addon.
starting the portable version and going to the site with the simple imagelinks and pressing the addons-button worked as expected. an image gallery was shown.

so that leads me to the point on which i need to check, WHY my fully functional configured ff does not work with the addon (or the addon does not work with my ff...i don't care)

because i did not find any help anywhere, i will write the developer.
if he can help me, i will add some info here.


EDIT:
great. both the support from the developer and the addon itself.
i was able to test it the 30 days and i must say it's a quite useful and good working tool.
imho, its worth the price you pay and there is nothing to complain about.

you can download all the images from a website you like to and you don't have to install 3rd party software on your computer (beside firefox and this addon of course), thats why i choosed it as my favorite tool. quick & easy. intuitive.

Only thing, i'm missing, is that no Imagedimensions are shown in the resulting tab. That would help decide which images to download.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.3.4.1-signed). 

Thank you for your review. I am not familiar with a compatibility issue with Firefox 7 (and in fact FoxySpider does work on one of your machines with FF7). I will appreciate it if you get in touch with me directly (foxyspider@gmail.com).

Where's the documentation? Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I can't figure out how to use this add-in.

zero support
zero documentation

I click on the "Support section" and all I see is the download page. I’ve looked all over trying to find where the user documentation is, to tell me how to use it, and it's nowhere. I've already wasted too much time on this!

Written after Response 1:
I did figure out that the icon to the left of the address box activates the add-in.
But I don't think that emailing the developer every time I have a question like, "Where are the files that are downloaded stored?" or "When I see an icon and a url in the gallery, does that mean they are on my machine? If so, where? And where do I change the default library to which they are loaded?"

These are basic questions that should be answered by user documentation.

User documentation is an important part of any application, and emailing the developer is not the same thing.
I appreciate the fact that you are open to hearing from your users, that is a help. But that is not an acceptable alternative to real documentation.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.3.2.1-signed). 

Support and documentation

Hello Margaret,I was sorry to hear that you had hard time activating FoxySpider. You can find a brief documentation for FoxySpider under "Developer's Comments". Additionally in FoxySpider's page on Facebook you have a video trailers as well as a FAQ section.And most importantly, my e-mail (foxyspider@gmail.com) is open for everyone who needs support. It is also specified clearly in this page under "Support E-mail". Unfortunately, you are complaining about "zero support", but you have not e-mailed me for support. I will be happy if you get in touch so I can assist you, and if you reconsider FoxySpider.

Written after "Written after Response 1"... :) :
Hello again,
I doubt it if you find any other browser add-on with the extensive documentation you expect to see. The questions you mentioned are not basic questions (I will refer to them in a moment). The basic operation guidelines are specified under "Developer's Comments". I think, other than that, that the software is self explanatory, and the non-savvy user could find its way in the add-on preferences. I also remind you about the additional guides in FoxySpider's page on Facebook.
HOWEVER, I will consider your review and try to provide a full "FoxySpider Manual" in the future.
As for your questions:
1. When you use the (recently added) download button on the top of the gallery, a standard directory selection interface appears. You can then select the location you want the files to be downloaded to. The name of the files will match the name of the original files, with some required renaming to avoid overlaps.
2. As for the second question - you are overthinking it. You could ask the same question about images you see in Firefox when you simply surf the web. You see them while you visit www.cnn.com (for example), but where is it stored? The truth is that the images might be cached on your HD, but this is a general behavior of Firefox displaying a page. FoxySpider gallery is not different than a regular HTML page. The only difference is that it is created dynamically in front of your eyes. All the rest is up to the browser (Of course in case of FoxySpider, I am talking about the thumbnails and not the files accessible by clicking them. The underlying files are not downloaded from the web nor stored anywhere when the gallery is created.)