great!! Rated 2 out of 5 stars

it's great but very buggy... on my linux with ff 2.0.0.8 appear 3 lines of buttons and page... when install crash ff. i'm waiting for new version!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.2007101002). 

Great, but buggy Rated 3 out of 5 stars

I used this for a while. The function is great, but the bugs are too awful to keep it on. The only one I've personally noticed are that closing any window opened via javascript will crash firefox and require you to 'kill' the program. Other than that, it's an amazing plugin. If that can be fixed, I will use it again.. I can't though now - is too problematic.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.2007070801). 

I like it Rated 4 out of 5 stars

I was looking this idea in general to have two programs in two panes. I like this solution for a browser.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.2007070801). 

Extremely useful but causes crashes Rated 4 out of 5 stars

I would give this plugin a 10 because it is exactly what I think a pane-splitting plugin should do (well, I really think it should come baked in..) and how it should operate, but it does seem to increase the likelihood of the browser crashing or freezing greatly. It might be due to incompatibilities with my other Add-ons (which I can't do without - Firebug and LORI).
Another very odd thing I have noticed is that firefox locking up and Microsoft Outlook (my work email client) locking up seem to be inexplicably related. Not sure what to make of that.

I would love to keep this Add-on installed but for now it's just not quite ready.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.2007070801). 

(Used to be) Extremely useful! Not yet rated

This was a very useful extension until ut started causing severe memory leaks, and crashes. I didn't have any problems with it until recently. Now it is totally conflicting with Firebug and has rendered itself useless. There is no contact link on the developer's site (that I can find), and no system for reporting bugs (again, that I can find). I've been forced to disable it and change what originally was a rave review.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.2007070801). 

too many bugs Rated 2 out of 5 stars

This is an extension that excited me with it's potential, but there are just too many bugs to make it usable. Things such as the split panels flashing open and closed infinitely, and the button bar appearing incorrectly make this extension disappointing.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.2007070801). 

incompatibility with Firebug Rated 4 out of 5 stars

This is a great extension, it's a fine implementation of a functionality every user wants (probably everyone thought at some point: "oh, I wish I could split this window") BUT the Firebug incompatibility MUST be solved somehow: the 'geeks' want both, and, when it comes to deciding which stays and which goes I don't think SplitBrowser stands any chances...

My solution so far is to use version 0.3.2007041101 as https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/discussions/comments.php?DiscussionID=2619&page=1#Item_1
suggests.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.2007070801). 

So Basic and So Necessary Rated 4 out of 5 stars

This feature is so basic and so necessary that I am surprised that it has not found its way to the base Firefox code already. Until web browsers and user's [uninformed] choices of browsers get in line with contemporary standards (i.e. scrolling table bodies with stationary headers), this utility will be useful. Try using consumerreports.org ratings tables without it.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.2007070801). 

THANKS. Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I ONCE THOUGHT AVANT WAS THE BEST BROWSER EVER DESIGNED. THE MORE I EXPLORE FIREFOX ADD-ONS, I AM FINDING THE THINGS I ONCE USED AND MISSED ABOUT AVANT; SPLIT BROWSER IS ONE OF THEM. THANKS FOR THE CONTRIBUTION.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.2007070801). 

July 8 version looking good Rated 4 out of 5 stars

I've had no problems with anything so far. It adds great functionality for people doing research. Tabs in each "split" would be a nice addition, but it seems to work fine as it is.

I guess the biggest problem is for the user to get accustomed to it.

Good job.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.2007070801). 

it's oddly usefully &crash free... window$ free Rated 4 out of 5 stars

it has its uses,

though i turn of the 'auto' arrows; only show them when i'm dragging links. i rarely 'need' it, only occasionally use it. but when i do its incredibly useful. thank you ;)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.2007070801). 

Love it, but too bad it crashes Rated 2 out of 5 stars

I absolutely love the idea behind this, but I was forced to uninstall it after Firefox started crashing every 2 minutes because of it.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.2007061801). 

Excellent Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Terrific little program, but it would be nice, if I can turn it off when I'm not using it. It interferes when scrolling with the mouse

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.2007061801). 

weird flahing browser bar Rated 2 out of 5 stars

It seems like a great ext, but i am getting a werid flashing / reloading issue when i try to split the far right tab in a long list of tabs.
I am using the Pimp-zilla theme and three or four rows of all the toolbar icons show up at the top of the split window

So, this seems like a great ext, but not workgng well for me.

Oh yeah, i have my browser.tabs.closebutton setting set to '2'

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.2007061801). 

SUPERB!! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

At last, exactly the functionality I have been looking for, fantastic for research sessions. This is a must-have extension, for me at least. Thanks again!

ONE CAVEAT (at least one I have not seen mentioned here yet) - I now see yellow tooltips on absolutely EVERYTHING, including plain text on web pages. The tooltips are often irrelevant or relating to other areas of the Firefox interface.

This is extremely annoying, and much as I love this extension, it will finally force me to uninstall and await a later version if it is not fixed soon. Tooltips should appear over images and links and that's IT.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.2007052102). 

incompatibility with mouse gestures Rated 4 out of 5 stars

i'm using all-in-one mouse gestures. and found some incompatiblity with split browser. for instance,
a "back" mouse gesture performed in the child panel is actually done in the parent panel while the child panel remains unchanged.

secondly, sometimes i need to close the parent panel only to keep the child panel. but i couldn't find the close button, or menu option for closing the parent panel.

thirdly, if i split window to the right, there ususally will be a vertical scroll bar left in the parent panel, is it possible to eliminate this scroll bar, just to free more viewing space?

fourthly, is some auto-size function available to set the size of the child panel to be the same as the parent panel? in other words, child panel and parent panel share the same size after spliting? very useful when viewing paged side by side with only two panels.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.2007052101). 

Great Add-on Rated 4 out of 5 stars

I've been looking for something like this for ages. Really is a must have for a browser in my opinion.

It does exactly what it says on the box, as it were. The only negatives are those that have been voiced before. Keyboard shortcuts don't tend to work - the ability to 'focus' on a particular 'split' is fairly essential I think. Being able to have tabs within a 'split' would be nice too (think this might be possible but haven't figured out how to yet). Still a great add-on though :)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.2007050602). 

Very nice!!! Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Very nice addon. I also use 'reload every' to reload pages every x seconds. I noticed that the reload only works on the primary tab, and not on the 'split' tabs. Would make my rating go up to a 9 if there was a way to 'autorefresh' all of the splits

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.2007050602). 

WOW Rated 4 out of 5 stars

WOW! This extension is almost essential to browsing as tabs themselves! Very good idea..

You get a 7, however for implementation. Currently we can only open one functional window, and even then the function is limited.

I would like to be able to operate each screen like you normally would, without an extra address bar or anything... basically, once you click on one of the windows, all of the bookmarks, new tabs or web addresses work in that window. When you click over to the other window, all functions revert back to that window.

That would make this extension absolutely essential.. especially for those with large 24, 27 and 30' wide screen monitors.

Beautiful idea!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.3.2007041101). 

Review and Request Rated 4 out of 5 stars

I just installed this extension and it does exactly what I wanted...great!

Is there any plan to include a "Compare Side by Side" option (similar to Microsoft Office). This would make this extension superb.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.3.2007041101).