Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I'm a longtime and constant user of HighlightAll! (I use its functionality over a dozen times a day). It was acting strangely of late (as of Firefox 25) so I just went over to their mozilla page. I saw mention of FindBar Tweak in the comments, came here, installed FindBar Tweak, and happily discovered that it exceeded my expectations. What an absolutely superb and well-made add-on for Firefox! This mod author clearly understands that Firefox users are obsessive about tweaking and customizing. It's why we choose Firefox in the first place. Sadly, many add-ons provide just a basic means of customization and always leave you wishing it had something more. Not so with this add-on. FindBar Tweak has extensive settings and tweaks to play around with. A truly modular add-on.

So many words for an add-on that does such a simple thing? Absolutely, because it does so brilliantly.

Oh those little pink lines in the scroll bar on the right to indicate where in the long page other instances of your highlighted word can be found ---- thank you, thank you, thank you!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.4.13.1-signed). 

You're very welcome!

Just a heads up, there's a small difference between FBT and HighlightAll for now that might be important. FBT won't remove the highlights when you click the page to un-select the text. I am planning to add this for a next version, but for now to remove the highlights you can hit the "esc" key.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Quite simply, brilliant. Another simple add on that makes everyday tasks in Firefox a million times better. Thank you for this great add on.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.4.13.1-signed). 

You're welcome, I'm glad you like it.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Amazing

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.4.13.1-signed). 

Options are not sticking? Rated 5 out of 5 stars

1. Add my name to your ever-expanding list of thank you's!

2. On FF 25/Win7, for some reason I cannot change any of FindBar Tweak's options. I've tried via Options/Addon/FindBar Tweak and also by rt.clicking the Find bar, and even tried restarting FF. The options always stay as default installed.

Thanks!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.4.13.1-signed). 

1. You're very welcome! I'm glad you like it!

2. Please e-mail me about this, or open an issue on the support page, so we can keep discussing it. Let me know if you disable all your other add-ons, FBT still doesn't work. It sounds like an incompatibility to me (still could be wrong), and I need to know which add-on is causing it to fix it.

Way to go Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Big thanks! I'm using Firefox since 2.0 but I only now registered to comment on your great add-on (and thus on Mozilla's terrible move to change the find bar).
I also have several ideas:
1. History of or multiple search terms (AND/OR search?)
2. Placeable close button (i.e. beside the text field)
3. Vertical/Find Sidebar (maybe #1 would need this)
[Will donate more for solutions for above.]

4. Threshold for quick findbar, highlights and sights (i.e. only after third letter)
5. De/Select roll up animation style
6. Change highlights grid height
7. 'Find in Selected tabs'

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.4.13.1-signed). 

I'm glad you like the add-on!

1 and 2 I'm already planning to add in a future version, along with many more customization options like these.

3. A vertical toolbar is impossible (the text field would be impossible to manage like that, as you can't type from up to down when you're used to typing from left to right without your head hurting, at least I can't). As for a find sidebar, I have something similar planned.

4. I've been thinking about this. I'm still considering adding an absolute minimum to trigger the highlights, but I still don't see how this would be easily manageable when you actually want to search for less. The delay for when the number of characters is below a certain number should be enough to allow you to type the rest without triggering the highlights in the meantime. But yes, this is still on my to-do list.

5. I'm not sure what you mean here.

6. Why? It should fit the scrollbar at all times, if there's a specific page where this isn't the case, please let me know.

7. You can use the filters for this. Basically group the tabs you want to search into a single group (search google for "firefox tab groups"), or open them in a separate window (firefox automatically creates a different group for different windows), and select the group you want to search in the filters in the Find in All Tabs dialog.

If you'd like to discuss this any further, I'd ask you to please e-mail me directly, or open a new issue in FBT's github support page. To continue discussing through here is impossible.

Excellent!!! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Since version 25 the bottom find bar has been mutilated and buttons rearranged so every time I hit CTRL+F I have to move mouse all the way to the right to click a button. That's about 1800 pixels on my monitor, vs the 100-150 in old version. I am sorry, but the people who are behind this change may be brilliant coders but are plain idiots UX-wise. I'll explain. The first rule in UX design is "if it works, don't change it". This change is a direct violation of that rule and there is no excuse for it. This is exactly the same rake Microsoft has been stepping on for years, oh damn I don't even want to get started on that one. Did You receive thousands of complaints that buttons should be moved? I bet 100$ You didn't.

OK nuff said.Anyway, this most excellent add-on resolves all my problems and even the ones I didn't know I had :)

Thumbs up!!!

--------------------------
EDIT: As I can't reply to Your reply, I'll do it here :) If You are planning more options, could You include an option for the following... Currently one can set it up so that when text is selected, it is automatically highlighted. Would it be possible to set an upper limit for the text selection highlight activation? Since I have a habbit of constantly selecting and deselecting text while reading, I had to turn that off. But if there would be an upper limit for this, let's say 20 chars, it wouldn't highlight the text if it's more than that - cos I usually select many rows back and forth. I guess I'm not the only one doing this, I've seen others do it as well. Anyway, this is just a suggestion. Good luck!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.4.13.1-signed). 

I am planning many more customization options, that I haven't had time to finish yet, for the new find bar, that will make it look more like the old one.

Edit: That suggestion is very reasonable. I will add that.

Hallelujah! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

With the final demise of Find Toolbar Tweaks with Firefox 25, FindBar Tweak is a very worthy successor. I've only used it for 5 minutes and I can tell it's going to be another keeper!

Well done and Thanks to the Dev! :)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.4.13.1-signed). 

MERCI ! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

J'ai développé ces fonctionnalités sous FF24 voir CtrlF findbar entièrement libre...
J'ai beaucoup trop de choses à faire pour suivre les évolutions de FF.
Je conserve une version de FF24 pour mon CtrlF FindBar :)
Thank you very much !

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.4.13.1-signed). 

I looked at your add-on when you posted it in your last review. It is indeed... Big! :) Many of the things you have in your CtrlF already exist in FindBar Tweak, and I plan to add some others in the future, like the regex and whole words search that you asked for.

I hope to add these soon, but it still might a while, as I can't work on this every day as you can imagine.

A New Favorite Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic work with this add-on.
It has plenty of options to meet the needs of most users.

Thanks sincerely for developing it.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.4.12.1-signed). 

You're very welcome!

Great addon Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I used the old Find Tool Bar until I discovered today that it no longer works with FF25. Installed this addon as a replacement and it works as advertised. Very happy!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.4.12.1-signed). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Very good. Still a bug or two but very configurable and works even better than the old "Find In Tabs" extension.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.4.12.1-signed). 

Thanks. Could you e-mail me about these bugs you mention? I'd like to fix them.

some bugs Rated 5 out of 5 stars

If enabling "when it loses focus", use search all tabs and click it will cause the findbar to close.
Besides, I hope to add "shared findbar betweens tabs" feature likes previous version.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.4.12.1-signed). 

Replied about the loses focus issue when using Find in All Tabs in the github issue you created.

As for the shared findbar, you can have it by disabling preference "Findbar starts closed in new tabs" (I will make this more apparent in a future release). Also, you can't use both the global findbar and the "Close when it loses focus".

button "Clear" Rated 5 out of 5 stars

very much there is no button "Clear"

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.4.10.1-signed). 

It's on my to-do list, but there is another add-on called "Clear Fields" which can be used together with FBT that provides a clear button for the find bar. Give it a try! I haven't added this feature yet because Clear Fields works perfectly together with FBT.

Edit: Thanks for reconsidering the review!

Does it very well Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Pretty nifty

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.4.9.1-signed). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I just upgraded to Firefox 25 and this addon is an absolute necessity to restore the old search behavior.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.4.9.1-signed). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I sent a mail to your e-mail, please note that check.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.4.9.1-signed).  This user has 2 previous reviews of this add-on.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Very nice enhancements to Firefox's native Find tool. Findbar Tweaks is now part of my "must have" Firefox extensions.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.3.4.1-signed). 

- Superb - Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Thanks for your reply, Quicksaver.
I still think if there was an option to clear the text after the FindBar has closed, it would be great.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.3.4.1-signed).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

It's on my to-do list for version 1.5 ;)

Awesome add-on! Highly recommended Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This add-on is awesome, Find works so much better with it.
+1 for the 'Jesus Christ' review :) couldn't have said it better.
Thanks a lot!!! (+ donation made)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.3.1.1-signed). 

Thank you! I'm glad you like it. :)

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

A very well designed and implemented addon. There are many things to like about the Find in All Tabs, with the tabs sorted by # of hits, and content-not-yet-loaded tabs (thus no text search can be done) highlighted in red italics and clicking on them would show a link that you can then click and load the content of the tab and search at once (nice touch!). Clicking on a match goes to the match on page. An "Update Results" button to redo search in all tabs.

For text search in current tab, the scrollbar highlight and current match highlight are both nice - although personally I found the bull's eye focusing a bit annoying.Overall a great addon, and no restart is added bonus.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.3.1.1-signed). 

Thank you for your kind words! I feel like I don't deserve them, after my overstepping yesterday. You humble me. :)