Bad so bad Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Very bad that it dont run if you don t have an account... I m an asocial uncollaborative guy that need to put stickies on some pages but that is bored to be tracked

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.5.7). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Great tool. Would love to see multiple color options for highlighting so that you can make some highlights stand out even more.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.5.7). 

3.1.6.1 works in flock beta Rated 4 out of 5 stars

I've updated diigo extension to 3.1.6.1 and it works in the latest flock beta, too (I am using Mac OS X). I noticed a new feature they call "Quick Access Filter" which lets you easily access your bookmarks in a list or with certain tags. Currently the filters don't show in chevron menu so I have to relayout my buttons first to make room for the filters. Hope they add chevron menu support soon!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.5.7). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

The new diigo extension is working great for me! Thanks for the job! I have used the old diigo extension, too. It had a few problems but generally worked. There is huge a difference between v3+ and the legacy version. I like the new version, though it took some time to get used to the UI. Now I'm finding the new UI more convenient and time saving.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.5.7). 

Diigo = buggy + bloated Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Great idea. Poorly implemented. If it worked, I would love it, but it doesn't. It says that notes and highlights are persistent, but once I navigate away from the page I was highlighting, everything disappears. I checked and made sure that I was signed on, but it still didn't work.

Conclusion: Diigo is a buggy, bloated application that I will promptly delete.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.5.2007021000). 

A long and winding road to disappointment Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I imagine I am one of the longest users of Diigo around, given that I discovered it very soon after it came onto AMO. Unfortunately for me, this has led to a discovery about problems with the Diigo features that only crop up after significant usage over an extended period of time.

At the outset, Diigo was for the most part what I wanted in a research addon. It allows the user to select and highlight text on webpages directly and the text remains highlighted every time the user returns to the page. One can also add "sticky notes" to highlighted pages that pop up and display one's comments when moused over. In addition, before I discovered the amazing extension Autocopy, which far surpasses Diigo's functionality in this area while maintaining fantastically low overhead, I frequently used Diigo on new builds for Firefox just to be able to copy text automatically when selected. Actually, in Diigo's case, there is a menu that pops up if this feature is selected that allows you to choose to copy or highlight the text. These functionalities kept me using Diigo for quite a long period of time (two or more years), but ultimately did carry enough weight to either counterbalance the flaws with Diigo or beat out their competition.

The Flaws:
* Not enough users: Diigo has attempted to become a social bookmarking utility of sorts, allowing users to make their individual sticky notes public (viewable by others) on a sticky by sticky basis. Unfortunately, in all my experience (and I had this installed and active for a couple years) public comments are extremely rare and you almost never see them while browsing. When one does see a comment on a page, however, it is usually unintelligible, frequently being either a few words long, in another language, or something like "lol." Also, if one does leave a sticky on a public page and someone replies to it, unless the sticky is on an extremely high traffic page for Diigo users it is usually months before anyone responds to your thoughts, and by then you've forgotten that you posted something there at all (Diigo's ability to inform you of these responses is completely lacking).
* No Colors: Through Diigo there is no means by which one can have multiple highlighter styles (or even choose one's own!). There is one primary one available, standard yellow highlighting, and two others that manipulate the text. If you switch from one to another, all your bookmarks will reflect the change. This feature was, is, and always will be a deal breaker for me on highlighting extensions. I kept waiting for this functionality to come from Diigo, seeing it in some other extensions, but Diigo has yet to even mention this feature for something on the horizon. Highlighting functionality brings me to my next major gripe.
* "Welcome to Diigo": As other reviewers have criticized as well, Diigo usage requires you to be signed into their website, but the website signs you out after any fairly short amount of inactivity. (Oh yeah, did I mention it kinda sucks to have to have an account for an annotation extension? More on that later...) Everything from going through every account setting available for Diigo users to using Cookie Culler has left me where I started on this one. I nearly modded the extension myself, but bigger issues came up with using this extension that left me wanting to steer clear of it altogether.
* Terrible performance on plaintext files: As a hobbyist programmer, I thought it would be fun to use this when examining js, css, html, c++, etc files online to take notes and help me learn more. Unfortunately, I quickly realized that Diigo is of no assistance in with these areas. On large plaintext files that load instantaneously without Diigo, the more one highlights and stickies the text the slower Diigo gets. The performance is awful, though, even after one or two highlights. With more annotations on such a file, one even begins to get Firefox alerts asking if you would like to stop Diigo's script from running on the current page as it is clearly taking so long. All the while, by the way, as with every time Diigo is loading your highlights, the remainder of the browser effectively locks up when Diigo is inserting highlights into a revisited page.
* The BIG One: Diigo saves all highlights locally in PREFS.JS. This might not come as a shock to you immediately. Indeed, I found it reasonable for quite awhile. But consider the fact that Diigo adds each highlight (or at least each URL...I can't recall off the top of my head) into prefs.js as an entry, with the entire highlighted string as the key value. As with another famous preference registry that comes to mind, after adding enough to prefs.js, Firefox experiences a nontrivial system slowdown. I didn't mind having to dig through over 5,000 entries in prefs.js, but I did mind having that many when Firefox began getting far too top heavy. Initially, I was unaware of what was causing the slowdown, but after several wasted hours of extension configuration changes, uninstalls, preference edits, etc., it was clear that Diigo was the source of my issue. This was most abundantly clear after installing a fresh Firefox build, installing Diigo, and only importing my users.js file. The new profile was predictably faster with 40 or more extensions not installed, but it still remained significantly slower than a plain old fresh install of Firefox with the same Diigo extension and preferences other than the highlight preferences.

It's worth noting that simple solutions can be thought of quite quickly for this last problem but none have been implemented by Diigo. For starters, simply storing the last date each highlighted webpage was accessed within prefs.js would allow for tweakers to remove the highlights from the list that haven't been used in ages. (Note: Creation dates are already stored at diigo.com for each highlight, and, as such, this wouldn't be much work for Diigo to implement.) A more user friendly alternative would be to include settings through which one could tell Diigo to remove highlights from local storage (but not from diigo.com) that had not been accessed in X numbers of days/weeks/months. By doing this, only the highlights most needed by the user at present would be saved within his or her browser's preferences, and the remainder could be called from diigo.com (and thus stored again locally) the next time the pages they are on are visited.

These along with a number of other less significant issues have led me to switch to solely using Zotero for research and Autocopy for my copy and pasting needs. I hope Diigo actually starts correcting its long standing and frequently mentioned bugs in the future, but until then I will stick with the other available options.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.5.2007021000). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

This is really helpful. It is very frustrating that I have to keep signing in after every other highlight. When that happens, I have to rehighlight it. Is there anyway you could fix this?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.5.2007021000). 

Excellent replacement for del.icio.us Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Even if you don't want all the other great features, it works great just as a replacement for del.icio.us. It's faster, more responsive, and it even sync's with del.icio.us if you want to use both. They also have a Firefox 3b5 version that I've had no problems with at all.

The only downside is that it takes 2 clicks to add a new site. Once to add it to bookmarks, then again to add the tags. I'd prefer a single click since I tend to always add tags.

I'm still experimenting with all the features, but so far I've very impressed with this service.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.5.2007021000). 

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

This extension is a lifesaver for those who are doing research online as I was for senior paper. However it kept signing me out, and every time I needed to highlight something, it would redirect me to the Diigo homepage which was extremely frustrating because then I had to resign in for every new highlight. This completely counterbalances the convenience of persistent highlights. I find myself using this product less now as it takes me an extra 20 seconds each time I need to highlight something. It only did this recently though. I don't know what changed or why it does this now, but if the developers could work out that bug it would be great! I really need this program, but I don't want to fight with it all the time...

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.5.2007021000). 

Mostly useable. Such potential! Rated 4 out of 5 stars

So far, I have been very pleased with Diigo and believe it has great potential. Having used it for some time, I do however notice a few things which stand between it being a good program and a professional, intuitive tool.

- Lists:
Bookmarking works fine, as does tagging. You can also categorise your bookmarks into 'Lists' (e.g. I would put items tagged 'dogs', 'cats', and 'fish' all under the list 'Pets'). However, it is extremely frustrating that these Lists do not prevent the creation of multiple copies of the same item. When a bookmark is (accidentally) added to the same List on two separate occasions, that List's item count goes up (eg. "Showing 20 of 20" becomes "Showing 20 of 21"), and the bookmark is displayed multiple times under the "By Time" tab. There is no intelligible reason as to why Lists should function this way. In fact, for people such as myself who use lists as a sort of "ordered checklist of sites to visit", it wastes my time by sending me to the same page repeatedly. Also, it causes the item count on my lists to grow incredibly daunting - even when I actually end up having few items. This makes me misjudge the amount of time needed to visit all the bookmarks on my List, and affects my overall time-management! Such duplication within Lists needs to be written out of the program so that Diigo can be put to professional use.

- Simultaneously adding a tag to multiple bookmarks:
If I want to add a specific tag(s) to two or more bookmarks, I have to either edit each bookmark separately, or check all the relevant ones, choose 'Edit' in the drop-down menu at the top of the page, and then manually type each tag for each bookmark into the textbox that appears. An example of a more desirable method can be found on Gmail, where I can "label" several messages simultaneously by checking all the relevant messages and choosing the desired label from a drop-down menu. Using the same method - just substituting messages for bookmarks and Labels for Tags - Diigo could instantly become a far more usable tool. My lengthy observation of the Diigo Forums shows that I am not the only user looking forward to this innovation. The user drojack has posted the same suggestion ( http://groups.diigo.com/Diigo_HQ/forum/topic/2139).

- Different versions of the same tag:
When I search through my bookmarks by tags, I sometimes do not get all the results I want because some of the relevant bookmarks have accidentally been tagged under a slightly different version ( e.g. some relevant bookmarks are tagged "community", others are tagged "communities", others are tagged "comunity", etc.) It is difficult to remember the exact conjugations of words that already exist in your tagcloud, especially when you use Diigo a lot and have a great variety of tags. Furthermore, one can easily misspell a word and thereby accidentally create a new tag. To prevent this, I suggest that the Diigo form for creating new bookmarks should anticipate which tag the user is entering when creating a new bookmark. A wonderful example of this was the drop-down menu which used to be available on the form, but which is unfortunately no longer there (at least in my Firefox 2.0.0.11 browser). An alternative and even better system would the one used by the Firefox extension "Bookmark Tags". Let's say I want to create a new bookmark using Bookmark Tags, and I want to tag it 'french'. When I bookmark it and type 'f' into the 'Tags' text box, it alphabetically suggests the first tag that I already use beginning with 'f' (e.g. 'facebook'). When I continue typing, it automatically changes its suggestion, whilst still suggesting existing tags ( e.g. 'facebook', - 'free' - 'free' - 'french '). If 'french' is a tag I have not used before, it will stop making suggestions after I have typed 'frenc'. I then simply finish typing the word, and Bookmark Tags recognises it as a new tag. Using this kind of system, Diigo users can more efficiently create and retrieve both bookmarks and tags.

- Lack of means to contact the developers:
Last but not least, I am rather disconcerted by the fact that the users' only means of (perchance!) reaching the developers is through the Community Forum. I searched the entire site and was not able to find a single e-mail address for "User Support", "Helpline" or anything to that effect (instead, I found this info-email for people interested in "partnerships, investment, licensing, and career opportunities"). A more direct line of communication would benefit not only the users and the community, but also the developers and the program.

That being said, Diigo is generally a functional and time-saving utility. It bookmarks correctly, the tagcloud is efficient, highlighting is a dream come true, and its stickies are downright practical. Most of the problems mentioned here do not impede the day-to-day use of the program; their improvement would simply provide an even more gratifying user-experience.
I still recommend - just be aware the issues above :) (and perhaps take a look at the review by Peter below)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.5.2007021000). 

Please Diigo User Forum

We use the discussion forum to involve our users and provide help.

Please join here http://groups.diigo.com/Diigo_HQ/forum

TrulyFrancesca and Peter,

Most of your problems have been addressed. Also, the toolbar here on Mozilla is often not as up to date as the one on our website.



We hates it. We hates it to pieces! Rated 2 out of 5 stars

It makes me weep with sorrow when I think of the wasted potential of Diigo. Such a great idea, but executed so damned poorly.

The idea of Diigo is great, although I suspect that most of us are more interested in private bookmarking. The implementation, in a word, "sucks bigtime." Sorry; I guess that was two words.

It's barely usable.

First of all, half the time when I want to use it, the browser navigates away from the page I want to bookmark so I can log in to Diigo. And for what? Why won't it let me stay logged in to Dec 31 5150 if I care to? I want to stay logged in forever. Why force me to log in so much? And why navigate away from the page I intend to highlight/comment on? Why not open a new tab? HELLO???? We have these amazing things called tabs. USE THEM.

Secondly, the interface is awful. Wasted space. I just want to see my comment. Nothing else. I don't want to know that my comment was posted by "me". And I don't want to know that the comment is provided by "Diigo". The sticky notes need to be streamlined to be space-efficient, fast, and predictable. No margins. No borders. I just want to see my comment.

The sticky notes are unreliable. Sometimes different sticky notes get strung together. I have no idea why.

This is a great idea just waiting for a good implementation.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.5.2007021000). 

Robust & Customizable Rated 5 out of 5 stars

An all around excellent tool. While the average user will find it more than capable as a social bookmarking too, its real value lies in the ability to capture, highlight, annotate & share with specific groups of friends and colleagues. The extensive number of features does not inhibit the speed - the search is lightning-fast, which I consider an absolute necessity.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.5.2007021000). 

Pure genius! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This is hands-down the most invaluable research tool I have found. I do a lot of research, on a vast majority of topics, and this tool has made my life so much easier. Great job! This is something I cannot live without. It has changed the way I do research, and makes regular bookmarking and tagging obsolete, in my opinion.

I love the fact that you can highlight the relevant parts on a page, add sticky notes, forward your information from the context menu, and all of your information is saved. I also love the fact that you can set privacy to default. And that once you install the toolbar (yes, I hate too many toolbars, too)that you can drag and drop the icons you want to other areas, eliminating the space another toolbar would take up. And viewing your information is effortless, with previewing your highlights and notes, without actually having to go to the website. Fantastic, great job, I wish I had found this sooner!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.5.2007021000).