Rated 5 out of 5 stars

There's a lot of complaining in these reviews, but pretty everything these people are saying is untrue or just plain ignorant.

"Weak privacy" ---- Diigo's "private as default" setting is enabled by default upon installation. Yes, it's browser-specific and it would certainly be best if the setting was stored online, but still, it's a user's responsibility to check the privacy settings when they use public computers to do things they intend to keep private.

"Can't disable public notes" ---- Uhhhh, yes, you can. In fact, there's multiple levels of Public, Private and Group visibility of notes and they're right there in the pain Diigo menu on the toolbar.

"Doesn't work" ---- I've been using Diigo on Firefox 3.5.9 and 3.6.3 for the last 3-6 months and have never had any problems. However, I did email Diigo about a feature request and received a response within a few days.

Anyway, I do have to say that the varieties of highlighting that Diigo is capable of are a bit limited. If you want a really robust highlighting util for your browser, then I recommend checking out Wired-Marker. On the other hand, the Diigo's social networking capacity gives it an edge if that's the kind of thing your into and has the potential to be one of the web's "next big things" if it's developed properly.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.1.0.18). 

Rated 2 out of 5 stars

Not working for me at all. Can't highlight :( Useless.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.1.0.18). 

Weak privacy Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Diigo privacy settings are browser and perhaps even computer specific meaning that if one sets bookmarks to private by default in Firefox and logs out and uses Chrome or IE on another machine or even the same machine the privacy setting for bookmarks is not set to private! The privacy settings are not being stored in the person's account Diigo.

Also the annoying sticky notes. There is no way to disable seeing the public notes which a vast majority are useless test messages by someone else.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.1.0.18). 

Used to work, doesn't now and no help Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Used to work but now doesn't. Although it shows as being enabled, I no longer have access to the Toolbar..which I use to have.
The diigolet is a bad substitute for someone who's seen the power of the real Toolbar features.

And I sent a "Help" email and never heard back.

I suggest not even bothering with this one as your enjoyment of it can come to an end on any given day and there's no support.

My search continues for a reliable Annotation offering :-(

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.1.0.18). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Not good for Sticky Notes!
Cant Create Notes without Higlighting Text and if I Highlight Text so i cant Create a Sticky Note!?!?!??!?!?!
Whats that?
Bad AddOn!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.1.0.18). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Diigo is great.

Highlighting the text, adding sticky notes and getting the link to the annotated website beats the hell out of delicious and other similar services.

Taking website snapshots is very useful as well (many links you bookmark get offline over time and web archive doesn't have all of them indexes so this can be a life saver).

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.1.0.18). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I love the Diigo service and the up to date Firefox add-on you can get from there but I do note you have newer versions here but they are experimental, click on the "view all versions" link folks.

Great add-on! Adds more functionality than the Diigolet and have not noticed any problems so far, thank you!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.1.0.18). 

"Is there anybody out there?" -Pink Floyd Rated 3 out of 5 stars

So are we by any chance going to see a compatible update for this add-on anytime before hell freezes over or is this thing dead in the water? If it is dead then for the love of marmalade at least let us know. Thank you!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.1.0.18). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant little addon. The best note taking one I've used.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.1.0.18). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This is one of the best bookmark tools available. You can post comments on pages and take notes on pages. Stop surfing aimlessly.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.1.0.14). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

While there is always room for improvement, I like this add-on. The sticky notes has saved me quite a bit of money on Post-Its (hah!). Do receive some unresponsive script instances here and there, but overall I like this add-on.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.1.0.3). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Me parece genial. La combinación entre notas y marcador es perfecta. Además es rápido de usar. Y si bien la utilidad para compartir las notas no la he utilizado es ya de por sí una buena idea que habrá que ver cómo resulta...

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.6.13). 

Answer, button Rated 3 out of 5 stars

@developers: Have the problems that MathManX is referring to, been resolved? Why haven't you answered his extensive review?

I like it more than Delicious. My idea is that a button which hides/unhides the Diigo toolbar would be nice, cuz now it's taking too much screen estate on my laptop.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.6.13). 

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

I really enjoyed using the Diigo plug-in, but version 3.1.5.7 was bogging down my Firefox 3.0.5 -- too many unresponsive script instances and major spikes in CPU usage (over 90) when loading pages.

I look forward to adding an updated and less buggy version in the near future!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.6.13). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Awesome! Going to get my team at work to use it for collaborative research.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.6.2). 

Excellent tool for collaborative research Rated 5 out of 5 stars

For private cooperative research projects it's excellent. When someone else enters a bookmark, I get an email and it takes only seconds to browse their highlights and see why they included the article. Discussing the info found is simple and effective with comments and stickies. Pulling info out of even long bookmark lists is quick because of the highlights and tags.

I think several of the people who rated this add-on poorly did not understand its use. Yes, you do have to have a diigo account. Yes, you can stay signed in. It sometimes seems to slow things down but the loss is insignificant compared to the time it saves in reviewing and weighing the subject being researched.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.6.2). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

great idea, great highlighter and sticky notes. however it slows firefox down to the point of uselessness.

i also found that after highlighting something on a page and revisiting it the highlights have disappeared. Great!

How about a lightweight version?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.6.2). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

haha, I like its sidebar, it's funny!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.6.2). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

After I created an account and began to use it for several days, I really love the highlight and sticky notes feature.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.6.2). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

If you want the socialising thing..
I don't want to make an account, so nothing for me.
And I've got no full control over my notes !
Definitely not for me.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.5.7).