Firefox 5 & Dict Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I've used dict for years. It's the most straightforward and useful add-on of its type. But it apparently doesn't work with firefox 5. However, the creator says it *should* do. He suggests a ticket should be opened on sourceforge.

support for Firefox 5? Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I love this add-on so much!!, but there needs to be compatibility will Firefox 5, when will you add support for that?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.81.1-signed). 

Need Update Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I consider this an essential add-on, where is support for
FF version 3.5.1???

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.75). 

I'm Ad-dict-ed! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I've used this add-on for a couple of years now. I use it every day, many times. It is an invaluable tool for internet writing -- makes it so convenient to use the thesaurus and dictionary. I also use it to check the meanings of words as I read. I can't imagine using the internet without it, but I guess some poor souls do...

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.75). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

This is great, its a good alternative to Babylon(which you need to pay for after the trial) and the definitions are great, the only reason it didn't get that last star is 'cause it's not that pretty. But over all it's great!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.75). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

This is great, its a good alternative to Babylon(which you need to pay for after the trial) and the definitions are great, the only reason it didn't get that last star is 'cause it's not that pretty. But over all it's great!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.75). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

AshishRanjan, you can use your DICT server by assigning a shortcut to your local DICT client and then upon selecting a word (and this works outside Firefox also) you just press the shortcut and your local client should display the definition of the selected word. If your client doesn't work as I just described, try kdict, it should work just like that. Don't know about any other client.

Regarding creating the shortcut for launching the client application, I assume you use GNOME and I use KDE so you might need to seek help on ubuntu forums if you don't know how to do it.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.75). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent!

After switching from a Windows PC to a Mac, one of the few Windows-only programs I was really missing was WordWeb -- a robust-but-lightweight international dictionary program that would let you look up any word in any program window by simply clicking a keyboard shortcut (like ctrl-alt-w). Sure, Apple has a good built-in dictionary program that's also integrated with their Spotlight app and can also be used within a dashboard widget and can be acessed quickly via certain key Apple programs -- but I was still left in the cold when it came to looking up words in Firefox with super speed.

David Costanzo's "Dict" add-on/extension warms up Firefox nicely -- simply highlight any word, right-click, and choose the "Look Up" or "Define" option (depending on the version of the Dict you're using) and whammo! a slick, unfussy pop-up window appears with multiple dictionary and thesaurus entries for the word.

Works for text highlighted just about anywhere on the page -- within articles, standard HTML, and even within text-input areas. Very handy. Very fast. Intuitive GUI.

I hope that future versions might adopt some of the ancillary benefits and tools seen in WordWeb (e.g., the option to click on words to hear them pronounced; more spelling suggestions and "similar word" options and links to more resources/results, etc.). The ability to use Dict's right-click functionality in other programs would also be cool (e.g., Mac and PC shell integration, or at least integration with a few key Firefox-friendly programs like OpenOffice.org). And it would be cool if Dict could be optionally pointed at dictionaries located on the user's hard-drive instead of only using online resources.

But that's just wishlist stuff -- Dict is really quite great as-is.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.74). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

This is immensely helpful and excellent tool, BUT i will like to have one small addition. I am running my own "dict server" on my ubuntu laptop and also on my office LAN, so i want the facility to custom ADD MY OWN DICT SERVERS In THE LIST(apart from whatever list has been given), so that the word is looked not from internet, but from my local dict server (so that i can use this extension even when i am broswing my local./LAN files in browser, but i am not connected to internet ).

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.74). 

An Absolute Must Have Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This is a fabulous add-on for Firefox... top of my "must have" list. I use it all the time and have been for a few years now.

The interface, or lack of, is super clean; the ease of use is excellent; the functionality is dead on; and the implementation is as it should be... no side bars, no graphics, no fluff... just word look ups!

Thank you for your work!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.74). 

Update for Firefox 3.0? Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This is a tremendously useful extension. This should be integrated into Firefox to be honest. It is just that great. A necessity. I hope an update for Firefox 3.0 will be released soon, because I don't know how I can live without it... lol

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.73). 

Better than a paper dictionary Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Have been using the Dict extension for a few years now. It's a very handy web research tool.

Been trying Dict 0.6.73 in FF3b5 for the last week or so. There seems to be a small problem with the sizing of the search results window. I always have to resize it horizontally and vertically to view the results.

Perhaps the extension needs a bit of tweaking. Still, I'd be helpless without it.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.73). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Love it, would like to see a quick lookup option that defines the highlighted word in the address bar.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.73). 

For me this is a must-have Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I add this to every Firefox install. Quick, reliable, easy to use.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.73). 

Superb Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Thank You

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.72).