defunct or unknown conflict? Rated 1 out of 5 stars

this concept and implementation sounds amazing, indeed the screenshots are compelling too. unfortunately i'm not getting anywhere. nothing changes on the page (although it appears to reload from cache) and the sidebar is always empty. also my other add-ons appear to have the occasional hiccup since i started trialling this one (for instance imtranslator produces a bubble popup when i highlight text despite that option has being disabled) so i'm inclined to believe there's more problems than will be sorted any time soon.

i should have noticed the last review was two yeas old!

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

There are instances where an organisation, say the CIA, is missed out in the processing.

This is a fantastic App though and I also use the Open Calais plugin on my Wordpress sites as it makes useful, popularity weighted, suggestions for keywords and images.


Good add-on Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Hi there, recently I am doing a research about using Gnosis to analyze content of web pages. Can you help me to finish the tasks? Here is an example of a webpage about Edinburgh Castle http://www.scotland-calling.com/forts/edinburgh.htm. Please open that webpage and then use Gnosis to process it. Please answer the questions from this link http://www.surveymonkey.com/s/F5RBC86
Thansk

Nice tools Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Hi there, recently I am doing a research about using Gnosis to analyze content of web pages. Can you help me to finish the tasks? Here is an example of a webpage about Edinburgh Castle http://www.scotland-calling.com/forts/edinburgh.htm. Please open that webpage and then use Gnosis to process it. Please answer the questions from this link http://www.surveymonkey.com/s/F5RBC86
Thansk

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

What about new versions?

Great reference tool Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This app is great for quickly finding informaiton relevant to the topic you are researching. It stands out over other apps, in my opinion, due to its being integrated in such a way as to "not get in the way" when you don't need it.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.20080623). 

Great potential Rated 4 out of 5 stars

This addon has a great future, but i have to agree on the comment below: I don't need links that don't contain any data.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.20080623). 

Needs more work Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I can't see the point of lots of 'hyperlinks' to 'search engines' when there is no data there
e.g. the Reuters service.
More work is needed to hide those services which have no data for the particular hyperlink.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.20080623). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Regarding the previous comment - Gnosis *does* expose it's API - see http://www.opencalais.com.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.20071214). 

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

I gave this a 3 since i think Gnosis has a way to go interms of SM.
I really love the natural language processing unit it has but I dont see how pointing to a search engine with the key word is any different than someone pulling up google or yahoo on their own. It would be ideal if the application would not only highlight text that are relevant but also mash-up a list of description or articles in the pop up box. How about opening up the NLP algorithms to the public as a service, something that semntichacker.com has done.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.20071214). 

Gnosis has potential, but needs serious tweaks Rated 3 out of 5 stars

I will confess to some minor frustrations with Gnosis. \r\n\r\n1) Whenever I opened up a page, it seemed like it took forever for all the relevant material to be \"highlighted.\" This especially happened on Wikipedia pages.\r\n\r\n2) Whenever I would inadvertently mouse over a highlighted word, the popup balloon would appear. \r\n\r\nI think a couple beneficial tweaks might be:\r\n\r\nA) A sign-in account that, by way of your imported bookmarks detects your browsing history/favorites--especially linked in with StumbleUpon or Delicious and therefore only highlights words associated with the links that you put into your Gnosis account.\r\n\r\n2) With the sign-in account, I think Gnosis should also give you an alert to when you\'ve reached a new page and ask, via a pop-up menu, what you would like Gnosis to do--like so:\r\n\r\n\"You have reached a page that is not similar to your browsing patterns. What would you like Gnosis to do?\r\n\r\n1. Highlight words on this page! It\'s what I\'m looking for.\r\n\r\n2. Place it in my Gnosis bookmark account for later review.\r\n\r\n3. Don\'t do anything. It\'s not what I\'m looking for.\r\n\r\nAlso, the ability to disable those popups balloons would be a handy thing. I find them annoying at times, Hence the tweaks I suggested above.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.20071214). 

Pretty Amazing Rated 4 out of 5 stars

This is actually pretty amazing. Gnosis reads the page you are looking at and extracts all of the people, companies, geographies and a bunch of other things and instantly hyperlinks them to search engines, etc.

Reading a news story about xyz and it mentions John Doe? Just click on John Does or xyz and look him/it up in Wikipedia or Google or whatever. Take a look at the sidebar and see all the people or places mentioned in a piece of news. Pretty amazing really.

This is a tool you need to use for a while to see it's full value. While you're getting used to it make sure to open the sidebar to see what it's doing.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.20071021). 

Nice try, but needs work Rated 2 out of 5 stars

It mucks up Wikipedia and other sites' JavaScript functions.

Also, I'd appreciate it if I could delete/blacklist certain terms.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.20070214). 

A good research tool Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Gnosis is an excellent tool for people who do any web-based research - particularly corporate research for investing, competitive analysis, etc. Gnosis is able to take basically any web page (though news articles are best) and automatically analyze them to locate the people, companies, organizations and geographies inside them.

A suggestion.. Incorporate this tool with a web based RSS reader like Sage and you have a great news reading and research toolkit.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.20070214).