It's BarTabv3.1, not BarTab4 - midgo is a phony Rated 1 out of 5 stars

<pre>
Ok, I wanted to give people a heads-up on this addon's situation. Here's how things have happened to the best of my knowledge:

- philiKON created BarTab. He has a github page at https://github.com/philikon/BarTab which was last modified on March 22, 2011.

- fhoech is a coder who significantly modified BarTab. He also has a github page at https://github.com/fhoech/BarTab which was last modified on December 23, 2011. His latest update note says, "Bump maxVersion to 99." This means if you compile his version, you will be able to use it on any version of Firefox.

- Barleyman, on November 10, 2011, first mentioned fhoech's github experiment with instructions on how to compile it.

- I, myself, drhouse on November 10, 2011, using Barleyman's instructions, compiled and uploaded a new version which I named BarTabv3, according to fhoech's install.rdf version, for others to download and also use, here: http://www.mediafire.com/?7zhs6h11vii7zi4
It has close to 1000 downloads at this time.

- Sometime during this, I was made aware that another user named firefox.ext had authored an addon called UnloadTab, which basically did all that BarTab does. It seemed that the author was going to update and maintain the code for that project and so switching over made sense.

- However, checking today as of January 23, 2012, it seems UnloadTab has been discontinued. I have left a review message about UnloadTab to the author on another one of his addons and will wait to see if he replies. *He has replied - UPDATE BELOW

- Another user, midgo, has recently uploaded a minor updated version, which may be useful to some, however he has also been behaving in two misleading and unhelpful ways. The significance of this behaviour... is just that since nobody is authoritatively taking ownership of this addon, there are no admins or mods, it's up to the users to behave responsibly... and so it is shameful when someone wanting an ego-boost or to feel important purposefully spreads misinformation for their own gain out of the confusion. First, he has been acting like a coder by requesting that users give feedback about performance, which would imply he has the ability to do something about it, when he doesn't. Already some users have fallen for this misleading fakery as evidenced by their responses to him. Unless shown otherwise, it is fair to assume the uploader is not an actual coder who can make significant updates to the addon, as his profile page shows zero addons developed and his only 2 comments have been links to the addon that was uploaded, he should not be especially trusted. Second, in the coding world, the revision number should not be increased with as such a minor modification, it falsely creates the impression to users that there has been a significant upgrade in the code's behaviour itself. The uploader, not being a real coder, does not know this already or is acting ignorant in a self-serving scummy way. We also don't know if it is a compiled version from fhoech's github page, it might as well be. As it is still exactly the same as BarTabv3, with the small change allowing it to be version free by adding asterisks, skagon is correct in that it should not actually be given a new revision number, but would more accurately be called BarTabv3.1 or BarTabv3b.

- As for development on a tab unloading addon for the future, it seems we're stuck, having no active contributors or developers working on it, with fhoech being the closest. We need philiKON, fhoech or firefox.ext to return, as they are actual coders who can significantly improve and author updates, as need be, for either addon. Having said that however, both addons seem to work fine and are sufficient for my browser needs, at least for the present time being.

*UPDATE - I just received a response from firefox.ext, the author of UnloadTab, which can be read here: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/tabby2/reviews/332163/
He has detailed reasons why UnloadTab will no longer be maintained and says "Although development hasn't officially ceased, I make no promise regarding a future release."
</pre>

Download BarTab 3.0 for Firefox 8 Rated 5 out of 5 stars

<pre>Version 3.0 available here:
http://www.mediafire.com/file/7zhs6h11vii7zi4
I'll try to keep the download link on the front page until something more official can be arranged. To BrenBarn, perhaps try uninstalling and reinstalling the addon, also read my previous review to see how I got it to work.
25/11/11 642 downloads
22/11/11 580 downloads
17/11/11 415 downloads
15/11/11 300 downloads
13/11/11 200 downloads</pre>

Download BarTab 3.0 for Firefox 8 here Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I went ahead and following Barleyman's instructions, compiled a version 3.0, available here:

http://www.mediafire.com/file/7zhs6h11vii7zi4

15/11/11 Update: 300 downloads.

BarTab 3.0 working perfectly with Firefox 8.0 Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I went ahead and following Barleyman's instructions, compiled a version 3.0, available here:

http://www.mediafire.com/file/7zhs6h11vii7zi4

13/11/11 Update: 200 people have downloaded the file in 2 days, wow cool. I activated Memory Fox and BarTab seems to combine together with it for maximum memory reduction. To Alexmonk - feel free to make your own .xpi from the github source code.

History:
I installed it in FF 8.0, but after restarting saw no indication of it working at all. I tried several tests and still nothing. Then I went back and reinstalled version 2.0. The phantom tab problem showed up again, which makes it unusable. Then I tried installing version 3.0 once again, restarted and this time it works 100% completely perfect. Every option functions, tabs load automatically when you put focus on them. Most importantly, the single most reason to use the addon, automatic unloading of tabs is activated. I have it set to 1 minute and still no problems after restarting the browser.

Technical Notes:
The BarTab functionality works with 'tab groups' and unloads tabs even while in Panorama mode. If you will be using groups, then I suggest going in the options menu, and setting "When closing a tab:" to 'do nothing'. If you choose 'select the nearest loaded tab' instead, then the group you have open could auto shift focus to another tab-group once that other group's last tab is done unloading.

I saw an option to 'Always keep pages from these sites loaded' and using the right-click context menu option, it works at keeping Fast Dial and other local address-based tabs open. Other than that, I am going to try Memory Fox later, but I'll experiment with that on a separate FF install base.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

<b><i>lorum ipsum</i></b>
<b>test</b>
<i>test</i>
<u>test</u>