Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Great addon, I've been using it for months. I would love if if you could add custom sound alerts like in the previous version.

This is in our plan. What kind of sound are you looking for? It would be great if you could email me at ajit [at] distill.io with your preferences.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

このアドオン「AlertBox」に更新頻度の低いサイトを登録することで自動的に通知してくれます。非常に便利です。

欠点として、初期状態で「電子メール通知のみ」に設定できません。新しい項目を登録するたびに、電子メール通知を追加して、それ以外を削除しなければいけません。非常に面倒です。また、アイコンが文字化け しています。アイコンのかわりに、2×2文字で「F O O C」のような文字が 表示されています。修正してほしいです。

----------------------------------------
<English>
This add-on called "AlertBox" can notify the renewal of the registered sites which have low updating frequency. It is very convenient.

But, there are some faults. All default settings of this add-on cannot change by users. So, users always must change the way of notification to "E-mail address only". I want to change the default setting to "E-mail address only", and must delete other ways of notification. They are very troublesome.

Moreover, this add-on cannot show icons correctly. In other words, icons are garbled. For example, a certain icon is showed 2x2 characters like "F O O C". I want the author to correct them.

Thanks for the review! Distill does not have a way to define the defaults by default. We are working on ways to make it easier. Regarding icons, are you talking about preview in Inbox? Distill should be able show images as seen in webpages. Can you email me more information about it?

1.0.17版有bug Rated 5 out of 5 stars

FF29+classic theme restorer,已将alertbox图标放到底部附加组件栏,升级到1.0.17版,工具栏右侧会出现多余的箭头图标,无法去除,1.0.15及之前版本都正常,请作者核实修正,谢谢!这个扩展监控网页变化很方便,感谢作者!!

Will try to check what you reported here. Please note that Distill does not add any "right arrow icon" to the toolbar.

Great to know that you find it easy to use!

New version is a weak imitation of old version Rated 1 out of 5 stars

This used to be a very simple, useful plugin, but the programmers decided to change for the sake of change and add a bunch of features that don't work, and change the interface to a complicated mess that doesn't function as it should. Every time I update to the "new" version I'm disappointed. I'll stick with last year's version, it may not be as pretty but it works great.

What is not working?

It is good to know that you are satisfied with the old version. In some respect that may be all you need. Could you tell me more about what is not working for you? As far as I know, most of the issues have been fixed.. It is likely that we may have missed something that is not working for you. Send me at my email address ajit [at] distill.io. It is improving as we talk and hope that your feedback will help it become even better.

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

When you set the update interval to more than 23 days (e.g. 25 or 28 days), it checks every 5 secs instead. This has been happening since the major upgrade (version 1.0.8.20140217).

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.14.201404XX). 

Fixed in the last update.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Awsome add-on. Only question I have - the add on appears to limit the number of labels to 20 which I have used. Can this be expanded on ?
Hi Ajit K
Thanks for the swift reply. I use the add-on to monitor the price of various products so each label is the product name, hence requiring in excess of 20 labels. Best regards.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.14.201404XX). 

It seems that we unintentionally limited the queried list of labels to 20. There is no other reason for us to limit it. It will be fixed! Thanks for pointing it out. I was curious to know how many alerts you have if you have the need to have 20 or more labels?

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Is there any way to monitor github pages?
---
Select elements to watch feature is still not available on github. Here's a similar issue reported on pulsvu.
http://pulsvu.com/node/2138

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.12.20140408). 

You should be able to. Reach us at support helpdesk in case you need help or have further queries.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I use this extension for several years, and it's getting better and better since than. :)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.12.20140408). 

虽有不足,但仍然推荐使用新版 Rated 5 out of 5 stars

虽然新版本比之前的旧版本缺少了一些自定义功能,但是我还是觉得新版好,首先新版本比之前更漂亮了,额,旧版本的确不好看,不过新版支持三种选择器,分别有Xpath,css seclect。javascript,利用这三种搭配使用,可以是的提醒精度更高。PS:推荐搭配EHH使用

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.9.20140304). 

我还是赶脚版本 0.4.9.20130722最好用了。。。 Rated 4 out of 5 stars

现在新版的提醒,每次新打开火狐,要提醒好一阵子,以前的好想就是只提醒最新的一个,而且,更新之后未点击的,会以计数方式出现在图标下方。。难看,还是以前独立的帅

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.9.20140304). 

no problem in FF24 Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Did what I need very good, easy to use, only the filter is a little confuse at first, if it has backup option then it's 5 *.
thanks for the hard work !

Reply to developer: thanks for the quick respond, is this going to backup only the Alert box filter created for sites? no other add on pref involves Right?
Just make a copy somewhere else and put it back where it is to restore? Thank you so much

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.8.20140217). 

If you need a backup, you can always backup the database file ([ff_profile_dir]/distill.sqlite). Before restoring from make sure that Firefox is not running.

Edit: To your added question: yes it is what you expect, no other prefs. Very easy to restore.

Alertbox Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This piece of software can take all the hard work out of watching websites for changes. Excellent add-on I highly recommend it.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.8.20140217). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I have been a long time user and nothing comes close. Thanks for continuing the development!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.8.20140217). 

Reverting to an older version.. Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Hi, I need the filter, so I need to revert to an older version. If I do so, will it keep my alerts? I do not want to lose anything..

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.8.20140217). 

Regex filter works fine with 1.0.8. In case you choose to get back to old version, you can safely do so without loss of any data. Old data is left intact. In case you decide to re-upgrade to new version later, you may have to do some cleanup. Reach out to me using my email address or at support forum for more help.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I like this amazing new UI. One advice: It appears that new version does not include the menu of check all the items for change while old version includes.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.8.20140217).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

It will be added to right-click context menu in the toolbar. Edit: the action is back in the menu popup.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

After I removed the alertbox directory in profile directory, the annoying upgrade tab disappeared, but it seems AlertBox cannot save some settings here, I unchecked "enable popup notification", but it was auto-checked when I restarted Fx. And the first lable in the left panel have two dropmarkers, which one of them is useless.

Also, it's apparently slower when I open AlertBox in new tab than older version, even when I using "strip webpage style".

BTW, some contents of AlertBox are centered, how can I make the text alignment left? And why not make "show changes" button as a toggle button instead of two buttons "show changes" and "strip webpage style" and make "show changes" default checked.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.9.20130722). 

You may have already upgraded hence won't upgrade again. Do you clear browser data every time you restart Firefox which might cause upgrade page to open at startup? To manually get rid of upgrade page at startup remove the alertbox directory in your Firefox profile directory.

Regarding speed, I expect the new version of load faster and consume less memory when have large number of alerts. Where did you experience sluggishness?

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Thanks for this great addon! It's easy to use and saves a lot of time.

Fast and friendly support from the developer!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.9.20130722). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent addon, and the only one of its kind that I've found. The newest version (found in the all versions section) has an entirely new interface that not only looks better, but makes it easier to select elements of a page to watch for a change. Highly recommended.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.9.20130722).  This user has 2 previous reviews of this add-on.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Thanks for this addon Ajit! It really has many lots of features than any other page-watch plugins I used before.

I got a little suggestion (or feature request) to make it more awesome. Currently, the popupbox shows the page title, which changed. I wish I see the changed content (optionally with a custom prefix and suffix text) in popupbox. Something like this:

Alertbox update found:
Current INR/USD value is now $62.83

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.9.20130722). 

Noted. The tricky part for us is that the solution has to be general purpose so that it fits all use cases. We will see what we can do.

Thanks for great feedback! :)

Great Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This is the only thing that do exactly what I need. Thanks

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.4.9.20130722).