Faster Browsing Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Vastly increases my browsing speeds. Works very well and I love it.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.9.81.1-signed.1-signed). 

fast Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Fasterfox good job.
Dear Mozilla,I am so disappointed to you.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.9.81.1-signed.1-signed). 

oun't Rated 5 out of 5 stars

fast fast fast

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.9.81.1-signed.1-signed). 

Stick with the "courteous" preset if you don't understand Rated 4 out of 5 stars

If you don't know the implications of changing network settings, then you shouldn't change them. This is not a magical Go Faster extension, no extension can do that. The "turbo" setting may open too many connections, and some websites or networks WILL throttle or block you if you open too many connections at once. It's not the extension's fault if you misuse it.

The developer should consider removing or renaming the "turbo" preset, and making "courteous" the default setting. That's the reason behind the "MAEKS MY FIREFOX SLOW!!1!" negative reviews.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.9.81.1-signed.1-signed). 

RsCcman - what does this reply mean? Rated 3 out of 5 stars

I don't use Fasterfox (yet), but to ask a question, I had to give some rating.
What in the world does your reply to this reviewer mean?

"Popups Rated 1 out of 5 stars

by Ricardo Cooper on February 11, 2012 · permalink

I was also hit with popup adds, skip this addon its now got adware
This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.9.8).
wrong

by RsCcman Production (Developer) on February 11, 2012 · permalink

does not contain adware, gf on not knowing how the plugin works, it shows advised addon's that i use also gf"

What's "gf"?
And what does, "it shows advised addon's that I use also gf," mean - in English?
Are you calling him / her your girl friend; a Gaussian Filter; garbage free?

Question about another thing you mentioned in reply to recent review. Please expand on how / what it "CHECKS" on a system & optimizes settings, based on your SYSTEM & the mode chosen in Fasterfox?

Of course it can change settings based on the MODE users select, but exactly what does it check on a system & how does it make customized settings, based on WHAT IT FINDS?

*EDIT - Sept. 3, 2012* after dev's comment on Sept. 2, 2012:
OK then, thanks. Based on your explanation to me, your earlier reply to a reviewer seems to use incorrect wording:
"about the calculating, it actually does auto calculate depending on your 'mode' you have it at" -
It does NOT appear to "auto calculate." Perhaps wrong choice of wording while typing fast, but none the less,
misleading.
.
Perhaps "auto sets" or "automatically chooses" settings are better descriptions, not "auto calculates." The latter would lead one to believe
it uses input data (or checks for data), then uses some algorithm to optimize. I suggest that you edit wording in
that comment.

Also, you DIDN'T CLARIFY what one of your comments means:
"does not contain adware, gf on not knowing how the plugin works, it shows advised addon's that i use also gf"

*IMHO*, some of your replies approach the same, negative level of dissatisfied reviewers (who may / may not
understand how to configure the addon). Some may be newbies. Negative, non instructive replies by ANY
dev don't help anyone, much less make readers more inclined to use the addon.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.9.81.1-signed.1-signed). 

it does not automatically optimize, its by the users choose or one of the presets i have chosen, only thing that's done automatically is how it changes your settings for you, otherwise its all your doing.
it changes the way firefox access the internet, 1 push, 2 push even up to 9900 pushes for a pull on a websites page, but if you go overboard the site or dns that provides the site will deny you. each setting is for the user to test

re: Review for "way too slow for laptop" Rated 3 out of 5 stars

One of the reasons that this addon is not working for some people is that the tweaks it adds to about:config are specific to the developers system. Therefore as long as your system is similar enough to the developer's then it will work. (i.e., ISP's bandwidth, network card speed, other hardware specs aren't all that important unless drastically different on the lower end etc...).'

I may be wrong about the addon maybe it does a quick bandwidth check and then crosses that with users hardware specs and general ratings then calculates optimal values for them. But from what I have read I am guessing that it is the former not the latter.

Anyway note to the developer, if you want to add further functionality you could have the addon either auto check or use user input for specific fields like bandwidth, sys specs etc... and then use your baselines for those inputs to tweak the config accordingly.

From a programming nub

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.9.81.1-signed.1-signed). 

it is based on the settings you choose, but even if you don't fiddle with it is next to to set up on 2x it will slow you down however if your isp has a thread limiter the phone you wound need to custom some settings grab,

WAY, WAY TOO SLOW!!!!! FOR MY LAPTOP, ANYWAY... Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I am extremely computer literate. I checked installation, Nothing wrong there. It just apparently didn't care to participate on my Vista laptop. I will say that when I make it back to my other "desktop" computer, I will try FASTERFOX again.

I apologize for insulting you, but if you don't want the truth about how what you develop works...then don't read the comments...

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.9.81.1-signed.1-signed). 

if you don't like it, then Edit your firefox your self doing config:about
this configs it without breaking it for you

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Great addon boost your performance browsing the internet, really easy to use and understand.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.9.8.1-signed.1-signed). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Works great!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.9.8.1-signed.1-signed). 

Nice Work :) Rated 5 out of 5 stars

really speed up my browsing experience... and youtube buffering... tnx very much.. btw i wish there would be a sort of guide or tutorial on how to configure.. looking forward on seeing future enhancments :D

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.9.8.1-signed.1-signed). 

Should be call "Slowerfox" Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Firefox was loading webpages agonizingly slow and I had no clue what the problem was until I disabled "Fasterfox." Now it is working fine. Just glad to have my browser working normally again.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.9.8.1-signed.1-signed). 

well, obviously you didnt set it up, you need to go to 'tools > addon's and fasterfox and click options and change what speed you want

Works like it should (for the most part) Rated 4 out of 5 stars

This *does* make a difference for speed. But it depends on some things, e.g. which version of FF you have.
This ext does something sane for caching in older versions of FF, e.g. 3.6.x, but not so much in the newer FF5-11 because the handling of disk cache size has changed such that normally the Fasterfox setting for Disk Cache Capacity has no effect at all.

I'd not advice anyone with less than 4G of mem to have Memory Cache Capacity size set to anything else than -1 (= automatically calculated). The Piplining and Connections part of this work quite well!

But the rendering is a bit dodgy, there's almost never any point in setting the Inital Paint Delay to anything less than 250 unless you have a *really* fast PC and 100 Mbit broadband. Lowering it to 100 may be good in that case, but not less.

Since this exts Presets insist on setting some things to more or less non-optimal values, one needs to go into Custom and tweak stuff. And that's not very user friendly, so part of the point of Fasterfox fails at it is now. I still like it, having these options settings in one place where I can have a good overview of the perf affecting stuff -- therefore 4 stars

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.9.8.1-signed.1-signed). 

about the calculating, it actually does auto calculate depending on your 'mode' you have it at

Doesn't speed up FireFox at all Rated 1 out of 5 stars

What a worthless app. It doesn't even remotely come close to making Firefox faster. Don't even bother installing this app.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.9.8.1-signed.1-signed). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

My firefox got faster with this add-on. I have been using this for the past two years and i have no problem!! Best Add-on Ever! I wish you fix the page load timer!!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.9.8.1-signed.1-signed). 

Popups Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I was also hit with popup adds, skip this addon its now got adware

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.9.8.1-signed.1-signed). 

wrong

does not contain adware, gf on not knowing how the plugin works, it shows advised addon's that i use also gf

Warning - Pop-up ads Rated 1 out of 5 stars

After installing this add-on I was hit with three pop-up ads.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.9.8.1-signed.1-signed). 

Ignore the bad reviews Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Those are probably the people who work/fanboys for Speedfox any difference between

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.9.7RC2.1-signed.1-signed). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

my firefox crash all the time! ff 9

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.9.7RC2.1-signed.1-signed). 

so that make it my problem? how bout reinstlling your own firefox with a clean install then try one plugin at a time before you jump or show no evidence

Display Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Where is the current loading speed shown, as it is mentioned in the options of your addon?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.9.7.1-signed.1-signed). 

being worked on , when i switched how the plugin worked it changed howt he timer works, dont worry ill get it back soon

I find bug (Я нашёл ошибку) Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Russian:
Дополнение модифицировано в связи с наличием дефекта - малая ширина окна настроек.
Редактируем файл в архиве:
fasterfox-3.9.7-fx.xpi/chrome/content/fasterfox/pref-fasterfox.xul
Открываем его блокнотом и заменяем по всему файлу:
450px
на
595px

English:
Hello
I translated fasterfox 1.0.3 in Greek but there is a problem with the appearance.

The problem is the text width in the option's tabs, the numeric input fields of
the cache and http connection preferences are not showing properly (the input fields
have the width of one character and in some cases they don't appear at all).
I altered the max-width value in the pref.fasterfox.xul file to 595px instead of
450px and it works fine, but i understand that affects all the locales,not only
the Greek one.
Is there any way to fix that in the locale? I contacted the Greek mozilla team for
a review and somebody suggested to put an extra entity in the pref.fasterfox.dtd
(<!ENTITY window.width "57em">) however that didn't fix it.
I'm sorry if it sounds stupid but i don't have a clue on xul and xml

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.9.7.1-signed.1-signed). 

as someone who cant speak more then 5 languages, i would have to change the fonting format, but if you had a problem you need to click on one of the speeds then choose custom and it will unlock all available options