Great addon, you can even specify your own search engine Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Great,

- You can specify your own search engines
- You can specify your own keywords by adding your own RSS freeds


@Spiri81
check the Addon settings :-)

Nice, but overrides default search engine Rated 2 out of 5 stars

I use DuckDuckGo by default and try to only use Google when necessary. This extension though overrides Firefox' setting of the default search engine. I have to remove it.

Good lists Rated 5 out of 5 stars

The searches are based on news and popular searches and any rss source can be added

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.1). 

Version 0.6.728.1-signed works best Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Version 0.9.1 keeps showing "error" the whole time. "Version 0.6.728.1-signed" works fine.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.1).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Excellent Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This is just what I was looking for. I was thinking about writing a program that ran in the background to do this same obfuscation thing, but this works just great. Ha! They take your data, use it against you.

This is how we fight back. They want data? Let's give it to them. Trillions of gigs of garbage. While you are at it, invest in an RFID wallet to put your phone in so that can't be tracked either. If enough people do this then the data will lose all meaning.

I Love it.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.1). 

Thank you! Just what I needed :) Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Does exactly what it claims - I only wish it came packaged as a service or daemon instead of a browser plugin.

Probably the best way to use it is from a VPN privoxy proxy server which would keep the creeps at arms length while you perform your "good deeds".

Trackmenot beats writing endless letters to Congressional representatives who ignore you, and if enough people used this product we really would have a chance of moving all NSA employees to burger king...or forcing these traitors to clean toilets for the rest of their lives.

Congress *will* screw off tax dollars - but at some point even they will demand results. Once their money goes - so does the NSA.

Here's a good tool for protecting proxy servers: http://drivevaccine.com/ (free version should work fine).

For Linux, you could always use a GRSecurity platform or perhaps even a liveCD.

Just reboot your proxy every now and then - the creeps can do nothing. Things get to hot - just quit using the proxy for real searches (find another path to the internet) - but allow your proxy machine to continue hammering them.

Meanwhile stab at the NSA by writing letters to Congress. You really never know what will finally turn the tide. Congressmen do love their jobs....losing it for creeps ain't gonna happen.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.1). 

Buggy! Rated 1 out of 5 stars

The "Use tab to search" feature won't let me exit Firefox! It keeps opening a new tab again every time I try to quit.

The newer versions of Firefox have eliminated the status bar, so I have no way of knowing what this thing is searching besides that buggy tab bar.

The black list edit box is ridiculously small. I have to manage dozens of black list words. This is like looking through a keyhole, it's so small.

Keywords need to be improved. Variations of blacklisted words are still being searched. That is unacceptable.

Fix these things and maybe you might have a decent add-on.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.16.1-signed). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Opposite of what youre looking for; sure way to get you on many 'lists'. Out of the box this is set to randomly search keywords gathered from cnn.com's rss feed and others.

Here are some words it configured to search for first time:
DOGGYSTYLE, Cybersecurity, Terror turkey, ISIS, Spy, U.S.cuba, KKK black panthers, Transgender, Patron, 4yearold n.y., Could isis, Lone, Art sex pirelli, girl, Meet

Badly configured by default. Authors have had years to correct this and put in safeguards as standard and remove clearly BAD default feeds. As it is, it is designed to make you a target. Do not trust.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.16.1-signed). 

Frustrating Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I love the concept of this extension, but it is so terribly buggy, I can't stand it. I have a huge number of empty log entries. Apparently, TMN has been submitting empty searches.

TMN doesn't work at all unless I enable "Use tab to search". But when I enable that option, TMN slows Firefox to an absolute unusable crawl. Also, when a new search is performed, the tab it's running in turns the loading animation on and off over and over and over.

Validating the RSS also doesn't appear to do anything. I get no feedback whatsoever when I use that function.

I'd pay $50 for a fully functional bit of software of this type.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.16.1-signed). 

Thank you Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Works as advertised. Light and runs in background, won't slow you browser. A very good idea to install.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.16.1-signed). 

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Good idea. But it froze everything when I was trying to write a comment on Reddit (the first time I kept waiting for it to unfreeze, and then tried to use other programs while waiting but they froze too, so I tried hitting Control-Alt-Del and then Windows itself froze and I had to press the Reset button on the case. The second time I end-tasked Firefox as soon as it froze). After disabling it, I can write comments on Reddit without freezing; I don't wanna risk corrupting more files testing this.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.16.1-signed). 

Please file a bug report

Dear user. Sorry for the trouble, we 're investigating the issue to address the problem you reported.
Be sure that TMN should not be interfering and there is no risk TMN will corrupt files.
I tried to reproduce the bug and posted a comment on Reddit but it worked well so we would need additional information to reproduce the bug. Please file a bug report or contact us by email to help us.

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

I've used TrackMeNot for a few years without problems but since FF v34.0.5 a couple months ago to v35.0.1 now, it has been hanging when closing FF. It just wouldn't close without forcing it to by closing the process in Task Manager. Quite a hassle. But after disabling individual add-ons, I narrowed it down to the problem being with TrackMeNot 0.8.13. I'd like to see it get fixed as it seemed to work well before.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.13.1-signed). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I like this extension. And I didn't get the 'hang' problem reported below. If you look at the latest development version listed below (3 Feb 2015) you'll notice that it fixes a 'freeze' error, perhaps the same.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.13.1-signed). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Nice idea, however it seems to hang my FF when I close it / quit.

Tracked it down to this extension.. when i disable it, everything is fine and I can close FF without force-quitting.

Edit: down to 1 star as also their support link is retired.. is this still under development?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.8.13.1-signed). 

Just great!! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I see some reviews that claim the app is searching queries about porn. That is completely false as the queries are drawn from the NY Times RSS feed.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.728.1-signed).  This user has 2 previous reviews of this add-on.

Good Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Good add on !
As one user recommended look into reddit for more search items.Plenty of sub-reddits to fill up Googles hard drives with.
Takes a person that wants to not be tracked to make this work more effectively .

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.728.1-signed). 

individual counter-intelligence needs more than this Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Track Me Not is all kinds of awesome. With a little hacking it can achieve a bit more obfuscation.

However it is ABSOLUTELY necessary to change it from the default RSS list

^ That should be prompted on install as was once the selection of adblocking subscription by adblock extensions. Unlike Wladimir Palant there is no hidden financial gain for the developers. Wladimir Palant, developer of adblockplus, now profits from violations of user privacy in what he deems an acceptable fashion not much unlike google founders initial pledge of privacy defense now given only lip service.

Alternatively it would be nice to have the extension apply limited randomization of which RSS feeds are defaulted.

If correct TMN strategies are not self evident "too stupid to have freedom" might apply.

for email webPG is a start

prism break, xmpp texting OTR, zRTP

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.728.1-signed). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Nice shill jimmy22 but not good enough. It is obvious that you are paid by Google to scare people off from using this plugin.

It wouldnt be nice if the stupid goy all start using this plugin now would it? Then advertising and NSA agencies wont pay for private user data. Well i havent seen the plugin search for pipebomb and i doubt you will get swat raided for searching for pipebomb.

Your pathetic paid attempt to keep people from fighting google back is futile.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.728.1-signed). 

A Great Add-On Rated 4 out of 5 stars

I like this add-on a lot. I have since replaced the default queries with a huge list of my own, and am happy with what has been sent to the search engines (nothing bad being sent like porn).

Unfortunately, there are a few things keeping me from rating this a 5/5. For one, the log file can get big (not too big though) if you aren't cleaning it up after every once in awhile.

Also, finding rss feeds for websites that aren't news sites or blogs can be rather hard, and it would be great if you could get phrases from things other than rss feeds. (for example when i search for a headphone review of headphones that my audiophile friend is raving about, it sticks out like a sore-thumb, since i can't find any good headphone-related rss feeds) Maybe I'm not looking hard enough, but it sure is upsetting. It would be great if we could make a list of strings in a .txt file that the program could also choose from, since making an rss feed specifically for the purpose of making the TMN searches more diverse is way to much work.

That being said, I love the idea of this add-on and think the execution of the idea is very solid.

P.S. pro tip for anyone looking to find rss feeds for TMN to use, I find reddit is a great place, as long as the subreddit is active.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.728.1-signed). 

Was this add-on hacked?!??! Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I can confirm this is looking up questionable porn as well as some weird stuff like "pipebomb" etc. I only used the default RSS feeds so I don't know how some of these would happen. Is the intent to actually obscure those searches by making it part of everyone's profile history? If so that should have been stated in the download. Now I'm freaked wondering how long this was going on for.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.728.1-signed).