Worked perfectly Bewertet mit 5 von 5 Sternen

It was a big issue having to retype every e-mail in the address box in a fresh installation. This extension solved this problem :D

Все отлично Bewertet mit 5 von 5 Sternen

Thunderbird 52.
Работа с контактами и группами отличная. Спасибо.

very happy Bewertet mit 5 von 5 Sternen

Installed on Thunderbird 48, now using on 52. Seems to work very well. Thanks!

Nice UI but still has issues Bewertet mit 2 von 5 Sternen

I have tried this add-on in the past and had problems before and just had a serious bug today that blocks me from using this add-on once again.

On a windows box, I created a simple test case where I created two contacts in Google, I synced with the settings set to bi-directional (default) and the contacts came down fine. I then created a new contact in Google and synced again and gContactsSync deleted the contact in google (what?). I re-tested several times and had confirmed the bug. I then set gContactSync to read-only and it then ignored the new contact (???).

I strongly recommend that you move this source code over to an open development area so others can assist with the code base. Its extremely important that Thunderbird have a tool like this but it must work as a read only sync as a bare minimum! Please consider moving over to Github and creating a user forum for people to share and assist others.

Besides the bugs above, please add ability for user to remove an account. I could not find any UI to do this which makes testing very difficult.

Thanks for the effort!
- Tim

Hi Tim,

Make sure your local machine is set to the correct timezone and that the local time is accurate. Usually when this happens your local time is not correct.

gContactSync has been open source with a support forum (http://pirules.org/forum/index.php) from the start; first on mozdev (http://gcontactsync.mozdev.org/ - no longer maintained) and now on github (https://github.com/jdgeenen/gcontactsync). These links are in the add-on description and the developer information.

When testing just create a new address book, then delete it when finished. Repeated testing, particularly involving mailing lists, in an address book can slow down or even corrupt the address book. Just make sure you restart Thunderbird after deleting an address book or you'll run into one of many TB address book bugs.

Josh

Fixed Bewertet mit 5 von 5 Sternen

Works again with Thunderbird 52.

Diese Bewertung wurde für eine vorherige Version des Add-ons (2.0.11) abgegeben. 

I uploaded versions 2.0.12 and 3.0.0a5 with a fix for Thunderbird 52.0.

Funktioniert nicht... Bewertet mit 1 von 5 Sternen

...mit TB 52.0

Diese Bewertung wurde für eine vorherige Version des Add-ons (2.0.11) abgegeben. 

I uploaded versions 2.0.12 and 3.0.0a5 with a fix for Thunderbird 52.0.

Problems with TB 52 Bewertet mit 4 von 5 Sternen

I have been using this extension for at least 2 years with success. Unfortunately, few days ago, as soon as I installed TB version 52.0 (final release), I got a problem caused by gContactSync both using its "official" 2.0.11 version and also its developmental version 3.00alpha4.
The problem is that I can't drag and drop anymore contacts from an addressbook into mailing list(s) both for the "GMail synced addresssbook" and also for all the other addressbooks I have.
So I had to inactivate gContactSync at the moment, unless when I need to sync my Google Contacts otherwise I cannot assign contacts to mailing list(s) and/or I need to move contacts from an addressbook to another one.
I hope that it could be possible to patch this annoying bug.
Topoldo

Diese Bewertung wurde für eine vorherige Version des Add-ons (2.0.11) abgegeben.  Dieser Benutzer hat eine ältere Bewertung zu diesem Add-on.

I uploaded versions 2.0.12 and 3.0.0a5 with a fix for Thunderbird 52.0. Thanks for letting me know and providing a translation!

Works a bit Bewertet mit 4 von 5 Sternen

This addon freezes thunderbird all the time. It also freezes many other windoze apps too when thunderbird is frozen that use the same subroutines. Suggest using it, then disabling it, and only enable/use when you need to sync manually.

Update: Gsync isn't why TB is freezing. Will continue investigation: thanks for replying Josh!

Diese Bewertung wurde für eine vorherige Version des Add-ons (2.0.11) abgegeben. 

If it freezes while synchronizing I suggest making a new address book and setting up sync with it to see if it syncs more quickly. The Mork DB format used by the TB address book seems to degrade and perform very poorly sometimes, though I can never seem to recreate the problem.

If you don't want to do that you can at turn off automatic synchronization in the gContactSync preferences instead of disabling/enabling and restarting Thunderbird.

Josh

Taugt leider gar nichts Bewertet mit 1 von 5 Sternen

Synchronisiert leider nur mit dem Nirwana: die Kontakte werden zwar von Thunderbird zu ..........@gmail.com hochgeladen, aber sie erscheinen dann NICHT in Gmail (..........@gmail.com) ! Umgekehrt werden die Gmail-Kontakte nicht nach Thunderbird synchronisiert. Zwischen Gmail und iPad habe ich kein Problem, aber innerhalb Gmail klappt's nicht.

Diese Bewertung wurde für eine vorherige Version des Add-ons (2.0.11) abgegeben. 

I really like this, but lately issues... Bewertet mit 4 von 5 Sternen

Have the import for facebook and Twitter stopped working? Both of these options do not seem to do anything anymore. The logins do not complete. Also the app on the Facebook site, shows the broken app icon.

Diese Bewertung wurde für eine vorherige Version des Add-ons (2.0.11) abgegeben. 

Excellent Bewertet mit 5 von 5 Sternen

Excellent

Diese Bewertung wurde für eine vorherige Version des Add-ons (2.0.11) abgegeben. 

So far so good! Bewertet mit 5 von 5 Sternen

Working very well on TB 45.4.0.
Thank you for this much needed addon.

Diese Bewertung wurde für eine vorherige Version des Add-ons (2.0.11) abgegeben. 

Really good Bewertet mit 5 von 5 Sternen

I'm using this Add-On for some time now, and it works great. Thank you

Diese Bewertung wurde für eine vorherige Version des Add-ons (2.0.11) abgegeben. 

Essential app for google contact users Bewertet mit 5 von 5 Sternen

This is a great app saving a lot of time to manage the emails and its associated addresses. I don't have to update the google contacts manually because of the 2-way syncing capability of this app.

I had one issue with the recent 2-step verification update in Google account. After the setting, the syncing did not work. I removed the app and the address book from the Thunderbird, and reinstall it. Now it works fine. I hope this helps anyone who has this kind of issue.
Josh, Thank you very much for this app.
Sungkwang

Diese Bewertung wurde für eine vorherige Version des Add-ons (2.0.11) abgegeben. 

Good addon but additional email addresses are not searchable! Bewertet mit 3 von 5 Sternen

If you have more than 2 email addresses configured on a contact, you will not able to find the contact using the search field in the address book... Could you please fix that?

Diese Bewertung wurde für eine vorherige Version des Add-ons (2.0.11) abgegeben.  Dieser Benutzer hat eine ältere Bewertung zu diesem Add-on.

like a charm Bewertet mit 5 von 5 Sternen

thank you, your add on work great, all my address are well organized, mi pc run Ubuntu 16.04 and Thunderbird 45.2.0

Diese Bewertung wurde für eine vorherige Version des Add-ons (2.0.11) abgegeben. 

Buggy Bewertet mit 1 von 5 Sternen

It has bugs. After I installed this I noticed that the contacts I added through my android phone got overwritten!! Once I uninstalled it, now my android phone and Google web account syncs up properly.

Diese Bewertung wurde für eine vorherige Version des Add-ons (2.0.11) abgegeben. 

Make sure your phone, computer, and Google account all use the same timezone, and that your computer's time is synchronized with a network server.

It's good app but is not working now Bewertet mit 4 von 5 Sternen

About a month this great app stop sync the contacts. Please check.

I have thunderbid 24 and no changes.

Diese Bewertung wurde für eine vorherige Version des Add-ons (2.0.11) abgegeben. 

What happened before it stopped working? Did you upgrade Thunderbird, change any sync settings, change to a new phone or upgrade your phone, etc?

Won't work for me. Bewertet mit 1 von 5 Sternen

Freezes up my Thunderbird so I have to exit and re-enter the program, I was disconnecting it and running it manually... that worked ONCE. Now it doesn't even sync anything anymore.

Diese Bewertung wurde für eine vorherige Version des Add-ons (2.0.11) abgegeben. 

It shouldn't take more than a few seconds to sync a reasonable number of contacts (up to a few thousand). Were you synchronizing with a new address book or an existing one (like Personal Address Book)? Your address book could be corrupt, especially if you killed Thunderbird in the middle of a sync when it may have been writing to that address book. Try syncing with a new AB.

Perfetta!! Bewertet mit 5 von 5 Sternen

La utilizzo ormai da un pò e devo dire che funziona veramente bene. Ottimo lavoro!!!

Diese Bewertung wurde für eine vorherige Version des Add-ons (2.0.11) abgegeben.  Dieser Benutzer hat eine ältere Bewertung zu diesem Add-on.