Feature request + how to troubleshoot Bewertet mit 3 von 5 Sternen

Hi,

I haven't been able to determine a way to contact the developer directly so I'm submitting this review instead.

1) Would it be possible to add a new preference called something like, "always enabled"? (I don't mean "enabled" as a Firefox extension, I mean "enabled" as in always ready to run when downloads are finished.)

2) I'm trying to launch a custom .bat under Win 7. If I do a "save and test" it works perfectly. But when there are actual downloads that have finished, it doesn't launch. Is there a log I can check to troubleshoot what's happening or not happening?

In case it matters, I am not using the DownThemAll extension.

UPDATE to respond to developer:
Regarding 2), yes, it is enabled. There are no paused downloads.

1)
The add-on will be unsupported in a few months, because Firefox will only support WebExtensions. It's not possible to execute commands or use FFI anymore (for obvious security reasons). WebExtensions can use "Native messaging", but that would require the users to install an application on their computer, which executes commands and system calls on behalf of the add-on. (That's pretty inconvenient and I'm not interested in developing or maintaining it.)

2)
* Have you enabled it?
* It doesn't work if you have paused downloads IIRC.

perfectly working, just missing way of contribution Bewertet mit 4 von 5 Sternen

oh folks, folks, folks...

If there is written shutdown command for windows till version 8 and you are trying it out on windows 10, than that isnt the addon developers fault but the fault of you not taking care about what you are doing (read and think about thinks before you confirm them if you are working with computers) and maybe the fault of microsoft that they arent making there commands backwards compatible...

i am using debian gnu/linux and the addon is working perfectly

the only thing i am missing is a way to contact the developer because i may have some improvement suggestions/issue reports. It would be grate if you could add a github/gitlab/whatever page where users can discuss new features and even other developers can help to improve that addon

thanks to the developer in advance for adding an issue system and keep up the good work!

Dieser Benutzer hat eine ältere Bewertung zu diesem Add-on.

Damage my PC Bewertet mit 2 von 5 Sternen

After shutdown my PC (force close), my wallpaper is gone (black screen), my screensaver setting is gone, my antivirus (Comodo) is broken, my firefox session is gone (49.0.2) (all tabs is gone). Shutdown command is very aggressive.
Windows 10 Home 64 bit.

A simple shutdown should not cause this problems. I guess there is an additional problem.

Nice and very useful Add-on!!! Bewertet mit 5 von 5 Sternen

I find this add-on very handy indeed. Unfortunately, the file for version 0.9.19 is missing or it's not signed off yet. So whenever you try to install it, a kind of connection error is received and its installation fails.

Diese Bewertung wurde für eine vorherige Version des Add-ons (0.9.19.1-signed) abgegeben. 

The file for version 0.9.19 is missing. I have reverted to version 0.9.18 as a workaround.
You can also install the latest version from https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/auto-shutdown-ng/versions/

e10s support Bewertet mit 5 von 5 Sternen

Once this is implemented the extension would be perfect.

Diese Bewertung wurde für eine vorherige Version des Add-ons (0.9.19.1-signed) abgegeben. 

I've added e10s support in the latest version : https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/auto-shutdown-ng/versions/
Unfortunately the review process is very slow.

It works well Bewertet mit 5 von 5 Sternen

It works well in my operative system Windows 7 Pro X64.

Trabaja muy bien en mi sistema operativo Windows 7 Pro x64

Diese Bewertung wurde für eine vorherige Version des Add-ons (0.9.19.1-signed) abgegeben. 

Uselessness Bewertet mit 1 von 5 Sternen

1st
What is it doing if not present within the download section
anyway.

2nd
No start elsewhere but confusing prefs

What I am supposed to with that gibberish not using DownThemAll! anyway?

Integration
Add icon to DownThemAll!

Hint
Detection of remaining downloads in DownThemAll! is unreliable. Please activate "Close DownThemAll when all downloads are complete" in DownThemAll! Preferences to make it more reliable.

Diese Bewertung wurde für eine vorherige Version des Add-ons (0.9.19.1-signed) abgegeben. 

> What is it doing if not present within the download section
anyway.

The add-on adds an icon to the toolbar.

> No start elsewhere

You have to click on the icon in the toolbar to enable it.

> but confusing prefs

You only have to set the command: Choose one predefined command from the drop-down list or set it manually in the text box.

> What I am supposed to with that gibberish not using DownThemAll! anyway?

If you are not using DownThemAll! just ignore that part.

Awesome Bewertet mit 5 von 5 Sternen

very handy

Diese Bewertung wurde für eine vorherige Version des Add-ons (0.9.19.1-signed) abgegeben. 

Bewertet mit 3 von 5 Sternen

this is not applicable addon. because it is normal to have items for download that are cancelled or paused. and AutoshutdownNG must act after all downloadable (not paused and not cancelled) items complete.

Diese Bewertung wurde für eine vorherige Version des Add-ons (0.9.19.1-signed) abgegeben. 

Paused downloads are not detected, that's an API limitation. Cancelled downloads should work.
(If this is about DownThemAll! read the hint in the preferences.)

Issue loading pages Bewertet mit 2 von 5 Sternen

Recently I had to reset Mozilla since I couldn't open pages fully. Other web browsers would load the pages each time and once reset Mozilla it worked great. That is until I installed the program again. Otherwise this is a great program.

Diese Bewertung wurde für eine vorherige Version des Add-ons (0.9.19.1-signed) abgegeben. 

Hi,
I can't reproduce your problem.
What version of Firefox and operating system are you using? Can you give an example of a website that doesn't load?

One small issue - Thank you for this useful addon! Bewertet mit 5 von 5 Sternen

When inserting the addon-icon into the "addons bar" (The addon bar restored) or into "Shortcuts bar" the icon brings the bar to be re-sized to a bigger height.
All other addon-icons do not produce this effect.

Could you look at this? The icon might not be in a format which can be re-sized, or maybe it is needed a set of sizes...

Many thanks in advance!
BR

Diese Bewertung wurde für eine vorherige Version des Add-ons (0.9.18.1-signed.1-signed) abgegeben. 

Fixed in version 0.9.19

More of a question Bewertet mit 5 von 5 Sternen

Is it possible to set a command line for sending an email to me once the download is complete?

Diese Bewertung wurde für eine vorherige Version des Add-ons (0.9.18.1-signed.1-signed) abgegeben. 

Good but icon bar dissapear in lasts versions Bewertet mit 5 von 5 Sternen

I have firefox 28 and since version 0.9.17 the icon of autoshudownng dissapear from addonbar...
I have to install version 0.9.14, the icon appear and i can update until 0.9.16 without problem

Thanks for the answer 990m4.

Diese Bewertung wurde für eine vorherige Version des Add-ons (0.9.18.1-signed.1-signed) abgegeben. 

Hi,
I set the required minimum version of Firefox correctly (for versions >=22.0).

Bewertet mit 5 von 5 Sternen

After installation, I click on the "open preference" was the initial setting.
I was able to use successfully. It's very convenient.

However, I do not see the button on the toolbar again to restart the Firefox.
I need other method for use "auto-shutdown-NG".
For example, Adblock plus, the command increases in the Tools menu.

In addition to the tool button, can be used if there is a command in the Tools menu.

Diese Bewertung wurde für eine vorherige Version des Add-ons (0.9.18.1-signed.1-signed) abgegeben. 

Thanks, it works fine now. Bewertet mit 4 von 5 Sternen

a

Diese Bewertung wurde für eine vorherige Version des Add-ons (0.9.18.1-signed.1-signed) abgegeben.  Dieser Benutzer hat 2 ältere Bewertungen zu diesem Add-on.

Update has new bug Bewertet mit 3 von 5 Sternen

This addon was perfect but since last update it wont remember that I set it to shutdown but it only forgets if I reboot my computer then when I use the addon I get the message (Configuration error Command: Not configured) then I enter the command I want it to do and i will be fine until I reboot or start up my computer since I turn off my computer when I'm not using it.

Diese Bewertung wurde für eine vorherige Version des Add-ons (0.9.18.1-signed.1-signed) abgegeben. 

Hi,
I'm not able to reproduce your problem.
Can you provide more information?

Not working on FF 34 Bewertet mit 3 von 5 Sternen

Sorry to say it but the newest version 0.9.17 is not working with Firefox ver 34. There's error indicating command: File not found. This addon is great, been using it for years. But Firefox upgrades to often causing this addon to stop working. I am running Ubuntu 14.04. Please address this issue. Thanks.

Diese Bewertung wurde für eine vorherige Version des Add-ons (0.9.17.1-signed.1-signed) abgegeben. 

Hi,
there is a typo in the predefined shutdown command for Linux.
The executable erroneously is "bus-send" but it should be "dbus-send".
Just add the missing "d" and it should be fine.
If you are not using the predefined shutdown command, please report the exact command that is not working.

Edit: Fixed in version 0.9.18.

0.9.17 release fixes issues Bewertet mit 5 von 5 Sternen

Lastest release 0.9.17 works fine with Firefox Nightly 37.0a1 (2014-12-31). Using Windows 7 64-bit Pro.
Many thanks, 99om4 :)

Diese Bewertung wurde für eine vorherige Version des Add-ons (0.9.17.1-signed.1-signed) abgegeben. 

Bewertet mit 5 von 5 Sternen

Auto Shutdown NG 0.9.17 works fine with FF 31.3.0 ESR. Thanks 99om4 (author).

Diese Bewertung wurde für eine vorherige Version des Add-ons (0.9.17.1-signed.1-signed) abgegeben.  Dieser Benutzer hat 2 ältere Bewertungen zu diesem Add-on.

Not Working with latest version of FF Bewertet mit 1 von 5 Sternen

Not working anymore & author seems to have abandoned this. Last update was over a year ago.

Diese Bewertung wurde für eine vorherige Version des Add-ons (0.9.16.1-signed.1-signed) abgegeben. 

Hi,
the add-on still works for me with FF34 (latest stable version).
What exactly is the problem?