Don't listen to the bad reviews Ohodnoceno 5 z 5 hvězdiček

OK I was an early Abine DNTM customer and have been with them as they changed to Blur. I am not their employee, agent or otherwise in any way associated with them or anyone that has anything to do with Blur. I am not a paid or compensated reviewer of this or any other service and except as a long time paying customer, I simply have no connection with Blur.

Just to be organized about things, I'll divide this review into three parts. First I will describe what I use Blur for and what if any reservations I have about the service. Next I will describe my experience as an end user of Blur. Finally I will describe my experience with their customer service.

I consider Blur to be an indispensable part of my online security / anonymity framework for the following reasons.

1) Most people have some email account that is associated with their actual identity. Handing out this email address is as good as handing out your real identity. Blur permits me to generate (actually, it generates them itself) ad hoc email addresses just at the moment such email addresses are requested, say by some online forum which requires an email address from me.

I should inject here that in my world view, not everyone is good. For that reason, I am loathe to be forced into handing out my email address to every company or web forum who thinks they have some right to ask for it. I don't even want to hand out the same fake email address to multiple places since that in itself provides too much information to anyone who cross references those sign ups, as tracking companies do.

So it acts in a VPN-like capacity for emails. I am signed up to lots of things but under all different emails and names.

2) The same thing for credit cards. I can create arbitrary credit cards for varying ad specific amounts, at will. Consequently, no merchant has access to my real card, or even my real identity (I can use any name on the card I want) unless I am having something shipped to my house from that merchant.

This means that should that merchant's systems be breached, I don't have a problem. They don't have my *real* email and the card they have is more like a debit card I used once for a specific amount and which is now empty of funds and has some fake name on it. The address on the card is Blur's own, not mine

3) The same thing is true of my phone number, except you're limited to one fake number. So if Google for example tries to get you to give up your number when signing up for some service, you can give them this fake number. You will receive the call or text from Google and talk on the phone, but they will only see the masked number. I am not sure if texting back without revealing your identity is supported yet or not.

You can block getting calls from whoever has your fake number by clicking "block" next to their number or name in your account.

4) When you surf, Blur blocks the trackers, web beacons and cookies that online marketing and other companies try to install on your machine. Of course, you have the option to keep cookies etc. that you want.

5) When I am asked for a password, it generates a secure one for me and remembers it. Insecure passwords are of course how a lot of account hijacking happens and generating then remembering a secure one is an annoyance. There are other add-ons which will do this for you also; I think this is part of the free package with Blur. I am a paid subscriber so I am not sure which parts are paid and which are not. I know the cards, emails and hone are paid. I believe there are a few there things which I don't use yet which are also included.

Combining these services with a good VPN goes a long way to returning privacy and security to surfing. I myself also disable javascript and Flash as a matter of course since both those can be used to uniquely identify you; I turn them on if I think it's worth it and I have some level of trust with the site.

That is how I use Blur and what value it has for me. Now I will describe what it's like to use these services.

I have to say that it is very very easy to use almost everything. The emails come straight to my real inbox. I can reply by going to my Blur page and hitting reply. The receiver never sees my real email. I use this for Craigslist purchases, and online vendors of software and even big name bricks and mortars. I do this with the phone masking service also. Restaurant reservations, pizzas, information please calls, etc. etc. I call these people my once and dones. There is no reason for them to know much of anything about me nor I them for that matter. This is how it used to be before your phone number became the ticket to your identity and everything about you to perfect strangers and morally challenged marketers. Ditto your email address.

The UI presents nothing confusing here and everything just works. The only thing missing is the ability to initiate an email exchange from Blur. They say they are working on this.

The phone and credit card are also very easy to use. When a merchant asks for a card in a form on some webpage, Blur recognizes that as a credit card form and a popup appears asking if I want to 1) use a pre-existing fake card (which may have some money still on it) or 2) create a new card or 3) use my real card.

There is no problem with any of this. It really just works. Since I rarely leave money on any card- unless the item was less than $10.00 , the minimum amount a Blur card has to be for- and I always create my cards to have the EXACT amount I need, I am nearly always creating a new card. There is no issue with using this. I am taken to the site (without losing my place in the form I am filling out) and create a new card Then, it either fills it in automatically complete with expiration date, card code , address (Blur's) and credit card number or, alternatively I can cut and paste that information from the card graphic (it looks like a real credit card) they present to you. Either way, no problems.

I ran into one issue only once that involved the fact that my VPN indicated to Blur I was in China. I was thenceforth denied the creation or use of cards until i cleared that up with them. So user's tip- don't use the Blur cc service WHILE you appear to be coming from more than 500km from your actual address or it's fraud detection will think something is wonky about the transaction and shut that part of your account down until you clear it up in email.

I thought that was not unreasonable when it happened to me, even though I was inconvenienced over the weekend.

The phone is just way cool. You get a call , the caller identifies as Blur and asks if you want to talk to the number calling you. If you say yes, they're connected. If not , then they're not. It's like having your own secretary screen calls for you. When I first used it to take a call, my S.O. was totally amazed. Once again, no issues or confusion about how to use it. If you choose to, you ca block all future calls and the other side gets a message that the number (you gave them) is no longer in service.


I could go on but let me just sum this part up . Blur has done an incredible job of thinking through how people will want to use their services and provided an interface to those services that is pretty much self explanatory.

Of course there will be questions (can I have multiple phone numbers? Can I send text messages? etc. etc ) and for these questions they have a very clearly written FAQ that covers exactly how to use each service, what can and can't be done etc. etc.

In general the UI for this kind of service makes or breaks it and I am going to say that Blur must have really understood this crucial point because it is easy to use, non-intrusive, and dependable, all three, across the board.

Finally, the customer service is really excellent. They respond within a good time frame, are clearly well versed in their own product and never give me any hint that they are just hoping I'll go away or shut up nor do they start passing me around between people or saying they'll get back to me and then never doing so or any of that crap. They just attend to my problem showing genuine concern and in a friendly way and we get past it. What else do you want?

One thing I was wary of was this- what if Blur gets sold to some one like Facebook? Suppose FB dangles an obscene amount of money in front of the founder's face? Here are my thoughts on this.

1) it would be a catastrophic betrayal of trust and those involved would simply go down in infamy. The service itself would go belly up immediately and NO other such service would ever again be able to achieve the critical mass of credibility needed to take its place.

2) Despite my distrust of most people and companies (I work in IT as a programmer) which is borne of first hand knowledge of what goes on, there's still room to trust people on a case by case basis. The operators of Silent Circle are a case in point.

Such people exist (I exist!) and we have to support each other when we think we recognize each other This is how I feel about Blur.

For example, this from their TOS:

When you use DoNotTrackMe or DoNotTrackMe Mobile, you retain ownership over all of your personal data. Abine will never sell this data. All of your personal Masked Email, Masked Phone, and Masked Card data is encrypted using industry standard 256-bit AES encryption.

When was the last TOS you read that said your data is yours and not theirs and otherwise not sold ?

Yes, there's a clause that says the TOS can change at any time but in the whole time I've been with them, I've never gotten any notice to that effect except when they went from being DNTM to Blur. Compare this to FB which changes the fundamentals of it TOS on, like, a weekly basis, and never ever in the direction of increased privacy.

So if Blur sells out that would permanently destroy a lot of people's trust in anyone or anything online and the reaction would be for very very large numbers of honest people to develop and embrace stealth procedures which are otherwise now the providence of cyber criminals. I just don't believe that the principals at Blur would cause that to happen; I know I wouldn't. Not absolutely everyone is greedy to the point of mental illness. After you have 5 or 10 million or whatever, the rest of it is just a number and you are free to conduct your life and spend your time and energies in the way you see fit. You don't need to be a billionaire to effect change in the world, supposing you're a self actualizing person and that's your life's goal.

Anyways...

I recommend Blur without reservation. I have to believe that a lot of monied interests hate their guts and want them to fail since their business model is essentially disrupting and degrading the business plans of very many very rich individuals and corporations.

Here's my recommendation. Don't take it on other people's word -including mine- what they're about and what it's like to use their services both premium and free. Go to their site, read their TOS and FAQ and see their nicely done(!) explanations of their unique service and decide for yourself. If you think the premium might be worth it (I do, and by a long measure) supposing that it works well, then you can try it for some time without risk, as they say.

OK I've said everything I have to say I guess. I rarely write reviews mostly just lurk everywhere but I saw the bad reviews for this and really strongly disagreed and I really want Blur to stick around. Its now a basic part of my online security approach and I know their services to be unique, useful and effective.

HTH

Tato recenze je pro předchozí verzi doplňku (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Hi Brenda - thank you for the great and detailed review! We appreciate your support :)

Blur Ohodnoceno 5 z 5 hvězdiček

Product support is quick and efficient. Mask me stops 93% of spam and scam email. Tracking will block the two big annoying entity Google Analytic,Yahoo Analytic. Read about DO NOT TRACK 2 years ago, The product also works with Safari both platforms, OS windows, and Mac OSX, I was receiving 150-200 scams in both inbox and spam NOT any More with a little manipulation and Blur will send only what one wants to receive, the rest trash and out of site.. Desktop icon with give talley of trackers blocked, and will even list the names of trackers and you will be surprised to view the list..

Tato recenze je pro předchozí verzi doplňku (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Hi hkaufman - thanks for the great review!

Privacy invader Ohodnoceno 1 z 5 hvězdiček

I used DNTM with great joy. Both tracker blocking and opayq e-mail protecting.
Things went south since automatic downgrading to Blur. I hate this fucking bloatware now. I can't type anything to the boxes since Blur is suggesting all kinds of things to each box and covering screen area so I don't know what is asked. To make things worse it is not possible to turn off auto-filling of unnecessary items. I don't want to see Blur suggesting me ANY passwords. Stop invading my privacy! Since I lost control of this addon since "update", I have to uninstall it.

Tato recenze je pro předchozí verzi doplňku (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Hi MikkoZ - You can turn off the password prompts by following these instructions: https://dnt.abine.com/#help/faq/faq-usepwm

In terms of passwords, if you chose to store them in through Blur, all of the information is stored locally, so we never have access to any of the information you save. I'm sorry that you feel we are invading your privacy - that is definitely not the goal.

Ohodnoceno 2 z 5 hvězdiček

(Abine have responded to this review. You can read their reply at the end. I have added some comments in my text in reference to their reply.)
I have been using MaskMe for a while now, and like it very much. I penned a 4 star review on the Chrome Store some time ago, with a comment that I would certainly have given it five stars if it were less buggy. I have also recommended it elsewhere. I noticed that MaskMe is becoming Blur, and visited here and the Chrome Store to see what was going on. The longtime users all seem to be up in arms, so I decided that I would hold off on switching to give Abine time to fix any teething troubles, and I would install Blur on Firefox (which I don't use much and on which MaskMe was not already installed), in order to try it out. Here are my thoughts:
I play with Linux distros on thumb drives, so the ability to sync everything easily and efficiently is important to me. MaskMe has this built in. Blur makes this a premium feature, and requires using Dropbox, which means I'd have one more thing I'd have to install on my thumb drive Linuxes. If it were $5, or even $10, a year to do what I'm doing now, I would consider it worth it. $39 to do it in a less convenient way seems like a poor arrangement. I know that this includes other features, but I have no need for those features at present, and given the mess they seem to be making with Blur I would be less inclined to try out their other features than I otherwise would have been.
(EDIT: Abine say that they are working on a sync option for about $10 - $12 for those who don't want the full premium version. This will be worth considering if the price they select isn't too high.)
MaskMe has a setting for "Auto-lock MaskMe when I close my browser". It doesn't always work (did I mention that MaskMe is sometimes buggy?), but at least it's there. Blur does not appear to have this setting. You have to remember to close it manually if you want to make sure that people with access to your computer can't get into your accounts. Remember that if someone has access to the email account associated with an online account, they can use a password reset request to get into the other account. This is bad enough, but there's a much worse problem, and that's the way the password manager works. MaskMe's password manager comes with an option to require you to enter your password again to access password information. Blur does not have this
(EDIT: Abine point out that there is an option to require the password be re-entered after a period of time, and say they are working on an "auto-lock when browser closed" feature to be added in future).
The MaskMe password manager can be turned off altogether, and the password information can be deleted. Blur's password manager cannot be disabled. It records your password on every account that you set up with a masked email, and there appears to be no way to disable this.
(EDIT: Abine responded that you can disable it in settings. I did not make it clear to start with that I had every box in “Preferences” unchecked, including “Remember Login Accounts”, and the only thing enabled in “Global Defaults” was “Don't track my email”, but it saved my password anyway. A bug, perhaps?)
Furthermore, once it has recorded it, it seems to be impossible to remove it. Even if you edit the password file, it still shows the original password along with the new one. The only way to hide your password from Blur is to go back to the account you just set up and change the password when Blur isn't looking, so the password it knows about is no longer valid. This is just mind-boggling.
(EDIT: I was mistaken here. It is possible to delete old passwords. I just hadn't figured out how to do it.)
I haven't tried to log in anywhere with the Blur password manager, so I don't know if it actually logs you into sites properly; I tried out the MaskMe version a while back and found it buggy (I think I mentioned that MaskMe is buggy!), so I switched to LastPass, but even if it gets log-ins right I wouldn't want to use a password manager with such obvious flaws, especially when there are incomparably better alternatives available, such as LastPass. I can't imagine why Abine put out such a poorly thought out password manager, one that is worse than the one it replaces, nor why they would think it a good idea to try to force everyone who wants masked emails to use it. (EDIT: See my edit above about it saving my password despite my settings. This seems to be a bug rather than a feature.)
I have not yet had a need for a masked card, but since I started using MaskMe I have always felt that I knew where to go if I did. At this point, however, I doubt that I would want to entrust my financial security to the people who brought us Blur. I really hope that Abine listens to the feedback they are getting, and fixes this product. I don't know what plans, if any, Abine has to force MaskMe users to switch to Blur, but in the meantime I have no intention of switching voluntarily. If and when it is forced on me, I will have to decide what to do. I love MaskMe, bugs and all, but Blur is such a huge step in the wrong direction that I'm already looking to see what alternatives are out there in case I need to switch.
(EDIT: It seems that Abine are working on Blur to get it right. I'll keep an eye on it, and update or replace this review as and when there's something to say. I'm giving it two stars instead of one in the meantime.)

Tato recenze je pro předchozí verzi doplňku (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Hi RustyDog - thanks for your feedback, and I'll try to address your concerns in the order that they've been presented.



MaskMe was buggy, which is why we are transitioning MaskMe users over to Blur which is far less buggy. In Blur, Sync is premium, but in the near future we will offer users an annual plan for $10 or $12 (TBD) whose sole premium feature is Sync.

While Blur does not have the same auto-lock feature that MaskMe had, we will be adding this in a future release, for we've had a lot of feature-requests for this. You can, however, require Blur to ask for your passwords after 15 minutes, which can be found in Blur Settings under the advanced tab.

You can also turn off the password manager feature all together by following these instructions: https://dnt.abine.com/#help/faq/faq-usepwm. Furthermore, you can delete any account / password listings from the Accounts section of your privacy dashboard. From the Accounts page, click the trash can under the "Edit" tab.

Lastly, we do find user feedback very important and are taking these reviews and all user suggestions very seriously. We are a small team, so the features that users request are coming, just perhaps not as quickly as users want. Again, I appreciate your feedback, and if you have any additional questions / concerns / feedback, feel free to post here, or email support : support@abine.com. Thanks!

Blur is now bloatware Ohodnoceno 1 z 5 hvězdiček

This was a nice add-on until DoNotTrackMe became Blur. Now it is now intrusive and obnoxious with pop-ups in form fields for my email address, credit card, phone number. It has become much more complicated than necessary with features I do not need, and I don't have time to read through all the documentation.. What happened to the KISS principle (KeepItSimpleStupid!)? All I wanted was a tracker blocker! As for masking my phone number I don't need that because I can use Google Voice instead of my real number. I am uninstalling and not looking back.

Tato recenze je pro předchozí verzi doplňku (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Sorry to hear that you uninstalled Blur. As an aside, you can turn off the masking features by clicking your Blur icon, selecting Settings, and toggling off any feature you do not want to use under Global Defaults.

WORST ADDON EVER DO NOT INSTALL Ohodnoceno 1 z 5 hvězdiček

DO NOT INSTAL THIS ADDON
Abine mask me used to be a great addon I had no problems with it until it told me to migrate. I migrated and it was a BIG MISTAKE!!
It no longer creates masked email addresses
It no longer assists you when you log in
The migration itself was a pain and caused lots of conflicts with other addons such as noscript
I had to create a new email address just so that I could reinstall the old abine mask me
As soon as Iogged in it told me to migrate which I will not do until it stops working altogether because the migration is not an upgrade it's a pain in the backside.
It won't let you sync
It wont let you login
it wont create masked emails
it tells you your password is wrong
it wont let you have all of your old passwords
it is an all round MEGA FAIL!!
It is a good thing that I am not so dumb to have entrusted all my information to this piece of software and did back everything up otherwise now I would be going through a nightmare with credit cards, ebay, paypal, emails, you name it this DOWNGRADE if it relies on an email adress or password this new version has messed everything up so bad it is now completely useless, let me reiterate, this migration has messed everything up and what's worse is you cannot even contact them to ask for all of your data back. DO NOT INSTALL THIS ADDON BECAUSE YOU WILL REGRET THE DAY THAT YOU DID.
People that think it's a good idea to "FIX" something that works perfectly and is not broken should be lined up against a wall and shot for the inconvenience they have just caused to nearly half a million users
NOT WORTHY OF 1 STAR
GOODBYE Abine/TrackMeNot/Blur

Tato recenze je pro předchozí verzi doplňku (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

PrivateSearch can't be disabled! Ohodnoceno 2 z 5 hvězdiček

When this one was DoNoTrackMe and MaskMe it worked very well, never did any problems. Now must create account. Now can't disable PrivateSearch, so I can't use google as before :@. To install it I must remove old versions (lost any masked mails :@), becase update feature is not working too...

Tato recenze je pro předchozí verzi doplňku (4.5.1334.1-signed).  Tento uživatel má jednu dřívější recenzi tohoto doplňku.

Abine - Blur - Public apologies fron Abine - Yes - Delivery on offers - No Ohodnoceno 1 z 5 hvězdiček

Please see link to review - expanded today.

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/donottrackplus/reviews/649462/

For clarity:


In reply to Abine's reply.

a) I reconsidered and installed it back onto 1 of my computers.

b) Then I sent an email to support at Abine, including my email address, user id, screenshot of the conversation, and a number of questions.

So over a week later, I have:

a) No response.

b) A feeling that the reply from Abine with a kind offer was purely just for public display rather than a genuine offer.

c) So far Abine's product, offers and apologies are not fit for the purpose.

A strong hint to Abine -

Do not make (and write in a public forum) offers of support, apologies and discounted services, when you cannot deliver or some might speculate you have not intention of delivering upon.

Additionally I cannot over-ride the trackers that Abine chooses to allow - does anything really work as it should in "Blur"?


For reference my email dated 5th December 2014

Dear Support at Abine,

When I tried to migrate from Do Not Track Me and MaskMe to Blur, I found that across 6 machines (Linux, Windows, OS X) using Firefox (latest version available). I discovered that Blur did not block anymore, did not save passwords and did not import my existing passwords.

After 5 attempts at this I gave up on this and wrote a review on the Mozilla site - See attached image "reviewandresponse.jpg".

You responded to this apologising for the difficulties that I had experienced and also offered me personal support and discounted premium services.

I have given this some thought and I would like to take advantage of this offer to the extent that I have installed Blur onto one of my computers as a "clean install".

I would like to ask the following questions:

1/
Does the phone number masking feature work in the *********?

2/
Does the credit card masking feature work in the ******* for ******* bank accounts?

3/
What format of a .csv is required to import my old passwords and identities into Blur (because I was lucky in that I exported my passwords and identities prior to removing MaskMe from my browser), to clarify this, what field names/how many columns do I need and, do blank fields insert an empty entry?

I want to get all my passwords and identities imported into Blur rather than having to visit every single site again.

4/
How much discount would you offer to me and for how long would this be for?

--------------------------------------

As I said I have installed Blur onto one of my computers and it does appear to be working, currently I am still in the 1 month trial period for premium but I have not as yet synchronised to my dropbox account, as I am being very cautious about this and I do not want to waste too much of my time.

Before the update I was a loyal and recommending user/customer (I only used the free service, to be honest), I would like to have my faith and trust restored in Abine once again.

Anyway, thank you for reading this and I will look forward to hearing from you.

Best wishes

Robin

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tato recenze je pro předchozí verzi doplňku (4.5.1334.1-signed).  Tento uživatel má jednu dřívější recenzi tohoto doplňku.

Hi Robin - I do apologize for that. I have just looked through our support emails and am unable to find your inquiry :( Please email me directly : olivia at abine dot com and I'll respond to you asap. I would answer your questions here, but you've starred out a lot of your questions, so I can't see exactly what you're asking. Thanks!

More of the Same Ohodnoceno 1 z 5 hvězdiček

Suddenly I can't log in to Blur because I never made a password apparently, but I can't get to the "create a password" screen because it's hidden behind the uncloseable "You can't sign in without a password" screen, and I can't make a new account because that email address is linked to an account already /even though I don't have a password/ and cannot access that account without a password that I can't create. Oddly enough, I didn't have this problem at all until Ice Dragon updated and I had to reinstall Blur. The transition from DNTM to Blur had otherwise been painless.

Read this in an Albine response: "Our product is no longer just a tracker blocker, and if that's what they are looking for, they have the option to install different software." Your product is no longer just a tracker blocker. It is also no longer intuitive, effective, or functional.

I think Albine has missed the point in their responses. They keep saying "If you want something that's just a tracker blocker..." YES! That's EXACTLY what all of us want! You seem to be taking this business model backwards. I would have thought you'd look at the demand and create a product to supply it, rather than make a product no one wants and then tell everyone to go elsewhere for the one they do want.

I don't understand why you didn't leave DNTM as it was and integrate the premium features in a way that didn't involve alienating your customer base. I also don't understand why your responses have been nothing but defensive. At least to me, it sounds like you're desperately trying to justify your changes and fix an unwanted project, rather than come to a resolution that satisfies everyone. YOU want this new Blur add-on to succeed. WE want Do Not Track Me (or something more like it than Blur). Instead of continuing to defend a clearly broken product, why not find a way to create the product we actually want and capitalize off of /that/ (as is your right)?

Tato recenze je pro předchozí verzi doplňku (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Hello - I'm sorry to hear that you're unhappy with Blur as well as my responses to review-ers. If you want to setup your password, you can do so through this link: https://dnt.abine.com/#/forgot

My goal here is to answer users concerns as best as I can and I'm sorry that you find them to be defensive.

Pros and Cons Ohodnoceno 3 z 5 hvězdiček

The phone masking (great idea!) and email masking work well. The credit card masking concept is a good one, and works well (except the cardholder "auto-fill" which always needs manual correction), but I have had a problem with it being accepted by most of the merchants that I have tried. One major international merchant canceled my order without telling me, and it was a gift. Support was okay when they were Do Not Track Me, but since becoming "Blur", there is no support email, phone or online chat that I could find on their site. What a shame, especially after I liked DNTM enough to pay for the "Premium" subscription.

Tato recenze je pro předchozí verzi doplňku (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Hello - glad to hear that Masked Phones and Masked Emails work well. When you use Masked Cards, do you use the billing address that is listed on the card? You do need to use Abine's billing address ( 280 Summer Street, Boston, MA, 02210) in order for charges to post.

If you ever need to contact support, you can call us at 617.345.0024 or LiveChat or Email from the links here: https://abine.com/support.html

Ohodnoceno 4 z 5 hvězdiček

I really haven't tried it long enough to really know if this is an app which would be beneficial to me. According to other's when it was changed to Albine, problems started to occur by being harder to use and like everything else, all is not free. This goes for many apps unless you like advertisements. It's kind of a tradeoff. I am giving it a try but I have so many useful tools now, why would I need something like this? True, blocking telephone calls is a good idea but I have used Vonage to do that. One thing that is nice is that it picks a good password for you but I have Roboform which even does more. You really have to use discretion before you choose the right product for you.

Tato recenze je pro předchozí verzi doplňku (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Hello ezymel - thanks for the review!

i was going to try this Ohodnoceno 2 z 5 hvězdiček

but i got halfway into most of the reviews, and have decided it dosent seem worth the hassle.

Tato recenze je pro předchozí verzi doplňku (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

116 One Star Ratings Ohodnoceno 1 z 5 hvězdiček

Do you guys get the hint yet? Your star rating is in the toilet since you changed DNTM. It seems to me like you sold out to the advertisers when you let horrid spies like DoubleClick slip through. Our only hope now is that someone else makes a new tracking killer app because you're is the ultimate sell out failure.

Tato recenze je pro předchozí verzi doplňku (4.5.1334.1-signed).  Tento uživatel má jednu dřívější recenzi tohoto doplňku.

a different kind of suggestion Ohodnoceno 1 z 5 hvězdiček

The product itself has become more difficult to use, but that's just how change works. It's always more difficult initially, and I get that we older users kinda got screwed with the payment system premium thing. They're a business, guys, and the ultimate purpose is to get money. It doesn't make sense to get mad about it because it won't make a difference.

That said, I suspect different people are answering these reviews, because one of the answers to that issue is great and the other one is terrible.

The review by Antonia0101 has a good, caring response. It probably won't go anywhere, the suggestion to grandfather in previous users, but it's a good answer.

The response to Unixbrain, though, was terrible. Look, I work in customer service, and I know customer complaints are annoying. One customer saying they'll leave doesn't actually matter to you, but it's not good practice to tell people to like what they're getting or use a different product. Additionally, opening with, "Look, we appreciate you raising these issues. We do." is possibly the most insincere way to begin any kind of response. You clearly do not appreciate it. We're free users, we're not paying for your services.

Seriously, you have time to think about what you'll post. Telling us to just go find something else reveals what we already know, that you're a business and free customers aren't really a concern, and it's just awful customer service. That is not the only reason why I'm working to leave Blur, but it's certainly a good part of it. Get that person out of the review answers.

EDIT: Wow, this has been going on since the beginning. Back in February of 2012, a reviewer said Ghostery was better. Here was the response:

"Point #1: if Ghostery is the best, how come you have never reviewed that product or other products? Seems strange.
Point #2: It is good that there are a lot of good products to help consumers protect their privacy. Consumers should have choices! We would note that Abine never sells data generated by users to advertisers. We make $0 from advertisers. Thanks."

Nice. People are far more likely to rate things they dislike than things they like, which is actually very common. The only thing that seems strange is that at a company would let an angry teenager respond to customer reviews on here. One star.

But again, don't worry, I wasn't a paying customer.

Tato recenze je pro předchozí verzi doplňku (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Hello - we appreciate all feedback that our users give us. I know that you don't view that as a good way to begin a response, but that's true. Each of these reviews I read, respond to, and consider the feedback that's given.

At the end of the day, if these users are unhappy with our product, there's nothing I can say to make them happy with it. Our product is no longer just a tracker blocker, and if that's what they are looking for, they have the option to install different software.

My review of Blur Ohodnoceno 5 z 5 hvězdiček

I like this product and I think others would like it to me if you give it a chance. One of the coolest options I think is where it can mask your phone number. Also masking your email address and your credit card. What more could you ask for. Of course you have to pay a small fee for masking the phone number but it's well worth it. I get enough annoying phone calls as it is. I haven't never had a problem with this program and I would highly recommend you use this. Thanks Abine

Tato recenze je pro předchozí verzi doplňku (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Hi Razin Cane - thanks for the review! We appreciate your support.

DoNotTrackMe and MaskMe all I ever needed! Ohodnoceno 1 z 5 hvězdiček

This new Blur is no fun! Its really awkward (like someone else already said).
I wish DoNotTrackMe and MaskMe were still available.
Blur is a big pain...!
Now I can't undo what I've done.
I'm looking for something like DoNotTrackMe and MaskMe.....

I used to love DoNotTrackMe and MaskMe!

Tato recenze je pro předchozí verzi doplňku (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Ugh. Ohodnoceno 1 z 5 hvězdiček

I had DoNotTrackMe and MaskMe and they worked flawlessly. Now with Blur, the process is awkward, not all of my data seems to have transferred from MaskMe to Blur, and some of the functionality apparently has disappeared. What the heck happened?

With regard to the Sync feature being newly exclusive to the Premium subscription, I understand that companies need to make money in order to survive and grow. Being able to sync data across multiple devices is crucial and is at the heart of Blur's functionality. Abine, you can try to spin this issue any way you choose, but suddenly charging for a feature which was once free smacks of bait-and-switch. In so doing, you've undermined the customer trust which you'd previously established with the excellent add-ons DNTM and MaskMe. And either being defensive about that decision or trying to sweep it under the proverbial rug with "but look at all the other great features you get with Blur!" does nothing to convince users that they haven't been deceived and betrayed. MaskMe had been available for some time, enough time to see it grow a nice base of password-management users. And those users, entrenched in the use of masked emails and MaskMe's randomly-generated passwords, will now need to decide whether to stay and pay or to leave and start over elsewhere. You've indelibly tarnished your reputation, Abine. It would have been much better PR, and the ethical choice, to maintain the existing free features of DNTM and MaskMe and ask users to pay for spanking new features too good to pass up. That would have been good business.

Tato recenze je pro předchozí verzi doplňku (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Hello - thanks for your feedback and I definitely understand where you're coming from. You're right, we do need to make money in order to survive and grow, but there should have been some sort of grandfathered-in effect to Sync. I will be sure our team hears your feedback to see if this is something we can offer for existing MaskMe users for free.

Regarding the fact that not all of your MaskMe accounts transferred, please ensure that MM is disabled. Log out of Blur and relaunch your browser. Once you log back in, you should see all of your accounts once again.

Thanks again for your feedback and I do apologize for the inconvenience.

Ohodnoceno 1 z 5 hvězdiček

What the heck happened to this product? Talk about fixing something until it breaks, or maybe deliberate sabotage? Did tracking companies get to this product? This used to be great but now it isn't: plain and simple, it's ruined. Some trackers are not blocked as many others here have mentioned. I removed it. Goodbye, "Blur". Good riddance.

Tato recenze je pro předchozí verzi doplňku (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Sorry to hear that you didn't like the upgrade. We're sad to see you go! It's definitely not a deliberate sabotage. Our goal is to create a comprehensive privacy tool. Regarding the trackers not blocked, our team is looking into this now. For the most part, it should block most trackers, but sometimes we do allow certain trackers on a page if the website you're using is breaking. Without allowing this tracker, the page would be unusable.

Too bad! Ohodnoceno 1 z 5 hvězdiček

I used DNTM for years but I've just deleted Blur--why was I still being tracked on certain sites?

Tato recenze je pro předchozí verzi doplňku (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Hello - sorry to hear you've deleted Blur. Sometimes, when all tracking is blocked on a page, it can cause the website to break. For this reason, we have set Blur to unblock the troublesome trackers on various sites. If you want to block all tracking everywhere, please click your Blur icon and select Settings. From there, under preferences, deselect Use Abine Suggestions. Thanks!

Ohodnoceno 1 z 5 hvězdiček

Uninstalling. This was great when it was Do Not Track Me, but as Blur it has become annoyingly invasive. Dialogs popping up that prevent me from typing offering to mask my email/credit card when I'm not doing anything with either. Not worth the hassle to work my way through the settings disabling things that I didn't want enabled in the first place.

Tato recenze je pro předchozí verzi doplňku (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Hi Outback Jon - sorry to hear that you do not like the additional features offered in Blur. We're sad to see you go!