Incredible time saving add-on Waardering 5 van 5 sterren

The ability to find and view text across tabs within a simple interface is a major boon for reviewing and updating content in some sites.

Waardering 5 van 5 sterren

This is one of those essential add-ons. I can't stand not having automatic find bar closing and match highlights anymore, and the focus feature is gorgeous. And it works beautifully considering how much functionality it adds. Thanks for making this!

Deze gebruiker heeft 2 eerdere beoordelingen van deze add-on.

You're very welcome, I'm glad you like it. :)

A surprising effort and feature-full add-ons Waardering 4 van 5 sterren

It was very surprising with the sudden release of version 2 with amazing set of feature, particularly;
- New: almost complete code rewrite, with many stability and performance enhancements across the board!
- New: multiprocess firefox (e10s) compatibility
- New: brand new preferences tab with a new "About" pane

The slow-down when using Sight and Highlight is no longer noticeable.
A beautiful new setting layout.
Excellent support considering e10s is still a work-in-progress.
Plentiful of option to play with and working right away, e.g. Highlight color. Furthermore having add-on that still being develop and support in 2015 is a great sight to see considering Mozilla recent (deserving) hatred/sadness cause by their marketing decision.

I truly liked the add-on's FindBar Tweak, however there was one annoyance that I believe people should be aware of and why I could not rate it 5-star. Whenever you open the "setting" or "option" of Find Bar tweak it does a "Phone Home" to "fasezero.com", even worse still is that it a HTTP link rather than HTTPS. There doesn't seem to be a built-in option to disable it, you will need to use some 3rd-party add-on or Firewall to block them.

Aside from that problem described above, it was difficult not to sign up to Mozilla to thank the developer in some way. Putting that aside, Mozilla sign up system is terrible, "8 chars password only", using Google's "Please fill in this house number captcha", however it was quick and easy to sign up.

Hope you enjoy the add-on and maybe my review will help you decide to use Findbar Tweak or support the developer Quicksaver's incentive.

Thank you for the add-on.

PS: It weird how this version did not get Signed.

EDIT: As of version 2.0.1, the Development Status information is only fetched when you access the About pane in the preferences. So if you don't want this connection to happen (which is harmless, as I have explained) you simply have to not go to the About pane.

I'm glad you like the add-on!

That "phone home" you refer to is an API, it only fetches the current state of development for the about pane in the add-on's preferences. It's true I could add an option to disable it, but there is absolutely no data uploaded, it only fetches an url in the same way you would type it in the address bar. That url returns a text document with the "hours" that are put into the little development box.

Because of this I didn't feel it was necessary to purchase an SSL package (I'm on a budget here, so the hosting package I'm using is very basic), since there is absolutely no personal data carried. An HTTPS connection would only put extra weight into the server and into the connection (and into my wallet) for just fetching a number.

Still you're right that it's useless to do this when you just want to open the preferences. I will make it so this data is only fetched when you open the "About" pane specifically, since that's what the fetched info is used for. That should be enough I believe. Although, like I said, it's harmless and very light (about 1kb transfer). You can confirm it yourself if you want, this is the url the add-on calls: http://fasezero.com/addons/api/findbartweak

Also, it is signed. The ".1-signed" suffix was added to already existing versions at the time a mass-signing event happened, to differentiate them from their unsigned equivalent versions. All versions uploaded (and reviewed!) after that, like the current version 2, are automatically signed so they don't have or need the signed suffix.

Waardering 5 van 5 sterren

I love this Add-on, but this update niggles me for one reason; instead of Find All being under my Find Bar I have to click a button and a new "Window" appears. I use fullscreen so this is very inconvenient.

Would it be possible to change it back to how it was?

Edit: just read the patch notes; I will be going back to 1.4.18 until this more intuitive Find All feature is implemented.

As you noticed, I am planning to rewrite the Find All lists into the window again as a sidebar that will be easier to use and less obtrusive than before.

It is your choice to go back a version of course, although you're likely to run into many existing bugs with it, so I don't really recommend it as I also can't give you an exact release date for the reworked Find All lists.

Thanks for the update Waardering 5 van 5 sterren

I enjoy your addon and I would like to thanks you for the update. So take this 5 stars =)

I'm glad you like it, you are very welcome! :) An update was long overdue, I'm sorry it took such a long time for it to come.

Thank you for updating! Waardering 5 van 5 sterren

I love this add-on! Thank you for updating!

You're very welcome! It has deserved an update for a long time now, I'm sorry it took so long.

CTRL+F issue makes the whole thing useless Waardering 2 van 5 sterren

This addon is extremely helpful and its functionality should be part of Firefox itself. However, since it does not refocus to the searchbar by CTRL+F when the search bar is already open the whole thing is not only useless but also an impediment for work.
I couldn't find a statement from the developers about this issue.

Deze beoordeling betreft een eerdere versie van de add-on (1.4.18.1-signed). 

This issue should now be fixed in the latest version 2. Please give it a try and let me know through the support page or by e-mail if you still have problems.

Waardering 5 van 5 sterren

FindBar is a life saver for me. I won't upgrade to newer versions of Firefox until this add-on is updated to work with them because I refuse to have a find bar I can't open and close myself using just the keyboard. I need to do that both when I'm searching manually (I don't want to have to use my mouse) as well as when I'm running macros I've written in AutoHotKey.

Deze beoordeling betreft een eerdere versie van de add-on (1.4.18.1-signed). 

Version 2 has just (finally) been released, so at least on the add-on's part it should be safe to update now. :)

Waardering 5 van 5 sterren

I can not adjust the length of the findbar input box.
I hope you can add this feature.
thanks!

Deze beoordeling betreft een eerdere versie van de add-on (1.4.18.1-signed). 

Please try the latest version 2, if you still have problems let me know through the support page or by e-mail.

One of the first add-ons to install - just after the ad blockers Waardering 5 van 5 sterren

Great, and actively developed too!

Deze beoordeling betreft een eerdere versie van de add-on (1.4.18.1-signed). 

Please fix CTRL+F Waardering 4 van 5 sterren

CTRL+F has no effect on find bar at all any more.Only for opening first time.
After that is doesnt affect it.

Deze beoordeling betreft een eerdere versie van de add-on (1.4.18.1-signed).  Deze gebruiker heeft een eerdere beoordeling van deze add-on.

This issue should now be fixed in the latest version 2. Please give it a try and let me know through the support page or by e-mail if you still have problems.

well, one day . . . Waardering 5 van 5 sterren

Back when this worked, it really had me feeling like I wasn't sacrificing anything to stick with firefox over chrome. Call it a hunch but I feel good that it will eventually work again.

Deze beoordeling betreft een eerdere versie van de add-on (1.4.18.1-signed). 

Trust your gut. ;)

Ctrl-F not working correctly. Waardering 3 van 5 sterren

Ctrl-F opens the find and focus there, but only one time, until you close it again, manually. Also after opening, Ctrl-F no longer closes it, even though that option is still selected.

FF 38.0.5

Deze beoordeling betreft een eerdere versie van de add-on (1.4.18.1-signed). 

This issue should now be fixed in the latest version 2. Please give it a try and let me know through the support page or by e-mail if you still have problems.

Ctrl+F issue, and a suggestion Waardering 5 van 5 sterren

-Please fix Ctrl+F issue.

-Suggestion:
Can you add more than one search bar? Sometimes I'm looking for more than one string and don't want to clear search box, type something else and later clear again and retype the previous string. Would be nice.

Thanks

FireFox 38.0.1
Windows 7 64

Deze beoordeling betreft een eerdere versie van de add-on (1.4.18.1-signed).  Deze gebruiker heeft een eerdere beoordeling van deze add-on.

This issue should now be fixed in the latest version 2. Please give it a try and let me know through the support page or by e-mail if you still have problems.

As for your suggestion, a second findbar would bring an incredible amount of extra code to maintain. Instead, I believe a combination of some of the planned future features, such as a search history dropdown menu, together with multiple find queries (through RegEx for instance), should cover your case.

You're welcome to go to the support page and follow the respective suggestion threads and add your comments if you think they can be further enhanced.

Waardering 5 van 5 sterren

Wonderful. Thanks Quicksaver for publishing this under Mozilla Public Licence. I am using Firefox 38 on Centos 7.1.

Deze beoordeling betreft een eerdere versie van de add-on (1.4.18.1-signed). 

You're very welcome. :)

CTRL-F issue Waardering 4 van 5 sterren

The same issue as reported by smartsight: Ctrl-F works annoyingly bad: doesn't moves focus to findbar again; if adjusted to "Ctrl-F should also close findbar", this doesn't work either. Besides this, great add-on.
Windows 7, FF 38.0.1

Deze beoordeling betreft een eerdere versie van de add-on (1.4.18.1-signed). 

This issue should now be fixed in the latest version 2. Please give it a try and let me know through the support page or by e-mail if you still have problems.

Waardering 5 van 5 sterren

Great addon, and thanks for fixing the focus issue that arose as of Firefox 38 (where pressing CTRL+F would no longer move focus to the FindBar)

Deze beoordeling betreft een eerdere versie van de add-on (1.4.18.1-signed). 

This issue should now be fixed in the latest version 2. Please give it a try and let me know through the support page or by e-mail if you still have problems.

Waardering 4 van 5 sterren

I test beta version 2b2 in FF35.
Search text is not removed in other tabs now. This is good news.
But bad news is "Find in All Tabs in own separate window" is by default now and this checkbox was removed.
It's very uncomfortable because this window loses focus every time when you select prev/next result of searching.
By the way, window loses focus even if you click in any place of a scrollbar. I think it's a bug.

Deze beoordeling betreft een eerdere versie van de add-on (1.4.18.1-signed).  Deze gebruiker heeft een eerdere beoordeling van deze add-on.

EDIT: the focus issue has been fixed in the latest version 2. Please give it a try and let me know through the support page or by e-mail if you still have problems. That should make the Find in All Tabs more usable at least.

The Find in All Tabs lists will be back to the main window, I am planning to write a whole new mode to show them there that's easier and more intuitive to use than it was before. So this is only a temporary measure.

As for the focus bug, I'm not sure of what you mean, can you please e-mail me about it or open an issue in the support thread and give me exact steps to reproduce this?

Waardering 3 van 5 sterren

In 2b2, when I use keyboard shortcut cmd+F to open search bar in OS X 10.10.3, the search bar cannot get the input focus. (Firefox 37.0.3, but it works well in firefox 38 beta)
and When I use the "reset all changed native settings" function, the firefox will be stuck.

Deze beoordeling betreft een eerdere versie van de add-on (1.4.18.1-signed).  Deze gebruiker heeft 5 eerdere beoordelingen van deze add-on.

These issues should now be fixed in the latest version 2. Please give it a try and let me know through the support page or by e-mail if you still have problems.

Waardering 3 van 5 sterren

Does not work with Firefox 25.0

Deze beoordeling betreft een eerdere versie van de add-on (1.4.18.1-signed). 

Due to several high level changes in firefox code from such an old version to now, it is impossible to ensure backwards compatibility like this in the most recent versions of the add-on. FBT version 2 should be perfectly usable with the latest version of firefox; for older versions of Firefox you'll also have to use older versions of the add-on.

(This was also for version 1.4.18, which was the current version at the time of this review.)