Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Thanks for the update. It works fully on Firefox 21 and older now.
Scrolling is so much easier now :D
5 stars

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.45.6.20100202.1). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Guys, the new version fix for FF 21 is out!!

It's version: v0.45.8 (2013-05-19) and as you can see is brand new.

I'm guessing it will be added shortly to the addons page, but for now it can be found on the Smoothwheel mozdev page, here:

http://smoothwheel.mozdev.org/

I've installed it and its working : )

Many thanks to Avi at Smoothwheel!!

5 star addon!!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.45.6.20100202.1). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Fix for FF21 seems to be working. Thank you for the quick update!
Can't live without this addon.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.45.6.20100202.1). 

Broken in Firefox 21 Rated 4 out of 5 stars

This is a great addon, hence the 4 star rating.
However, it is completely broken in Firefox 21. I wound up uninstalling it.
On some pages it won't scroll at all, on other pages you have to position the curor at the extreme right of the screen directly over the scrollbars to scroll. It's now become a PITA to use and has lost much of it's functionality.
Why do we have to go through this kind of thing *every* time Mozilla upgrades FF?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.45.6.20100202.1). 

Alternative Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I was wrong, an update is released, good addon is back to function again.

Thanks to the developer.

[scraped]...this addon has not been updated since 2010, so chances that it will be updated are low...[/scraped]

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.45.6.20100202.1). 

It has not been updated since there was no need. I'm using it myself, so when it needs fixing, it gets fixed. FF21 update was already uploaded and currently waiting for approval.

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Unfortunately, this addon does not work anymore. I had to disable it, please fix this problem. Thank you.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.45.6.20100202.1). 

Jota Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Love this add on but like others have said the Firefox v21 update has broken this in some sites, for example bbc.co.uk.

It wont scroll a page but will scroll it if you hover the mouse cursor over the scroll bar at the side of the page. Disabled this add on for now but hope an update fixes this. Will give 4 stars just now and update to 5 when it's sorted.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.45.6.20100202.1). 

Update is required Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Please update. It doesn't work properly with Firefox 21.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.45.6.20100202.1). 

Awesome but lags in FF v.21 Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I have been using this add-on for many years. And it IS addictive. It's a pity SmoothWheel lags severely in FF v.21.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.45.6.20100202.1). 

Not working well on FF v.21.0 Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Great addon, but broken in some places with FF v.21.0. For example, all of Facebook including the login page. It will only scroll if I hover on the scroll bar.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.45.6.20100202.1). 

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

problems with Firefox 21.0

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.45.6.20100202.1). 

Проблема с работой плагина в Mozilla Firefox 21 Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Очень хороший плагин, но в Mozilla Firefox 21 начал вызывать баг с прокруткой.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.45.6.20100202.1). 

Not working with Nightly v. 21 as of ca. 10 Feb Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I've used this great add-on with no problem for years, but some recent changes to the Nightly (v.21 beginning about 10 Feb) have apparently broken something.

When the mouse is at the very left border of the monitor, it works as expected. When it's to the right of the site's main text, it works sometimes.

However, on sites including EBay.de, Spiegel.de, the BBC, and many others, when the mouse is in the middle of the monitor or anywhere over the main text section of the site, there is no vertical scrolling at all.

I'm using an identical Logitech mouse with the same driver on another computer using Aurora, and here everything is fine.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.45.6.20100202.1). 

Thank you. I'll look into it.

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Improve the scrolling experience...smooth now. But I'm looking forward for more improvements in the future.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.45.6.20100202.1). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Plenty of options and out of the box sane defaults.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.45.6.20100202.1). 

Debería venir incrustado en el sistema operativo. Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Es genial y funciona perfecto. Como bien dice su autor, para textos largos es lo mejor porque al hacer scroll con la rueda despacito, baja progresivamente y puedes seguir leyendo sin perderte. Si haces scroll de manera brusca, baja más deprisa, como viene configurado el navegador por defecto.

Es cierto que pulsando la rueda del ratón en el medio puedes hacer lo mismo, pero no... no es lo mismo.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.45.6.20100202.1). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Great addon. Just about right amount of simplicity and configurability, and it works perfectly. Just what i needed. Thanks ;)
Firefox started acting strange when scrolling since last update. I don't understand why they dont put some more options for scrolling in firefox settings.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.45.6.20100202.1). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Отлично, но! роняет Firefox 15 (i686 linux) при прокрутке над флешем, если он есть на странице.
На 17ом вроде все Ок.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.45.6.20100202.1). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This feature should be in Firefox by default. Try it, scrolling and reading in Firefox will be much more convenient with this Addon!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.45.6.20100202.1). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I love this extension it works like a dream. :-)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.45.6.20100202.1). 

Not needed

SmoothWheel is fully compatible with latest Firefox (and nightlies etc). I'm using it on many computers myself, and if an update was required, I would have updated it ASAP.