Doesn't work consistently Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Using 1.2.0 on FF4/Win7, when trying to download several videos in succession, this add-on only works for the first one or two. After that, all of them end up being zero-size files. I have to restart FF to get it to work. But when it works, it's great,

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.2). 

It's hard to say what's wrong: maybe it's a Firefox bug, a security software incompatibility (an overly aggressive firewall), maybe YouTube uses some protection tricks etc. I've tried to download some videos and all of them were downloaded properly. Try to create a new Firefox profile, install the extension and see if you can download videos.

Anyway, the extension only extracts the URLs and Firefox downloads the files.

On my must-have list Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I've been using this extension for some time. My laptop is 8 years old and, while it does its best, has trouble playing YT videos smoothly online. Thanks to "Download YouTube Videos as MP4 and FLV" I can watch longer clips by downloading them and playing them on a lightweight video player at my leisure. I like this extension in particular because it does its job, easily and elegantly, without a lot of system overhead or complex options. (This coming from a confessed configuration geek; I love complex apps, but sometimes I want something that "just works".) When YT's links changed in March 2011, I tried a few other video downloaders while waiting for an update. None of the alternative extensions did the job as simply and elegantly as "Download YouTube Videos as MP4 and FLV," nor were they as conservative with system resources. I was very happy when the late March 2011 update fixed the broken links and I was able to use it again. Kudos.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.2). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Thank you Mozilla. I find this format (mp4) video for my Nokia 5233 Mobile to download.
And you get me this very useful & easy to download video in this beautiful ADD-ONN.
Thanks again...

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.1.10). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I was looking for a tool to download in HD format, & i found that this addon is a very fast & easy tool to download from youtube with. It downloads from youtube in flv & HD format.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.1.10). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

my download button did show, and the MP4 files show up, however download won't even start it keep on save with 0kb ...awwwWW i cant live without this addon ..pls help ...

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.1.7). 

Install the latest version from this page: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-us/firefox/addon/download-youtube/versions/ . Click "Add to Firefox" next to version 1.1.10. I've uploaded this version one week ago, but it hasn't been reviewed by Mozilla editors.

No button ff4 Rated 3 out of 5 stars

I run ff4. Installed the plug-in but don't see a button...Where should the button be? I tried even customize toolbar and don't see it there either.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.1.7). 

The button is displayed next to all the other YouTube buttons, below the video player. There's no button that clutters Firefox's interface.

You should also install the latest version from this page: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/download-youtube/versions/ (1.1.10), which fixes a bug that prevents you from downloading videos. I uploaded the new version last week, but it hasn't be reviewed yet.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

i update to 1.1.10 can use !!
it was great!!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.1.7).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Really nice and simple. Rated 5 out of 5 stars

If you want to download from youtube, easily and without bloat this extension is great. No settings to worry about. No bloat to disable. Thumbs up!

Oh, just one thing needs fixing. The download manager window doesn't pop up when the download starts.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.1.7). 

Thanks for your feedback. The issue you've mentioned is fixed in the next release.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

A VeRY TiMe-SAvING ADD-On...
GrEAT woRK !!! ;-]

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.1.2). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

This is the right stuff.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.1.2). 

does not work on Firefox 3.6.13 Rated 2 out of 5 stars

This add-on does not work with Firefox 3.6.13 using Windows XP Professional. The MP4 files show up, however download won't even start. The same problem exist with DownloadHelper 4.8.1.
I used to download MP4's before Firefox upgrade to version 3 and DownloadHelper upgrade (3 of them) without problem. I believe Firefox is the problem, not Youtube.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.1.2). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Супер! Спасибо!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.1.2). 

Rated 2 out of 5 stars

Doesn't appear to work with Mac OSX 10.5 and Firefox 3.6.
Script generates download button in Youtube but no download.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.8). 

What do you mean by "no download"? I can't test the extension in Mac OSX 10.5, but it works well in Mac OSX 10.6. Make sure you don't have conflicting extensions and try one of the other alternate download links (FLV, MP4 HD) if they are available.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

great little add-on. Unobstrusive, and not bloated like a lot of the the other youtube add-ons out there. In addition it doesn't got broken when using it in conjunction with Tubestop (add-on that stops auto-playing vids by changing the youtube player with the embedded player). It'd be great with customizable file names (like being able to save the video title along with the videoid for archiving purposes)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.8). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

this is awsome

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.7). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This addon works great! The only gripe I have is that whenever I start a download, Firefox's Downloads window pops up. Is there someway to stop this from happening please? I have the Downloads window disabled under Options>General but to no avail. I find this somewhat annoying. Nonetheless, nice work on this. :)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.7). 

The next release will fix this issue. Thanks for your feedback.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This works great! I've tried several other downloaders for HD, and they just didn't work. This one is working perfect under FF 3.6.1

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.7). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Great add-on! It does exactly what it is supposed to do - download YouTube Videos.

It seamlessly integrates into the YouTube interface and works like a charm. Nice pull-down menu, file name is the same as video name. Regular updates. I'm very happy with the add-on.

BTW it works for me in FF 4.0b2 without any problems.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.4). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Despite being 'approved' for Firefox 4.0b2, this add-on does not work.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.0.4). 

Your review is not useful

What do you mean by "it doesn't work"? I use Firefox 4 beta 2 and the extension works well.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Really nice and simple to use. Excellent. Thank You. P.S Nice support for Firefox B1. :)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.73).