Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I'll fondle your nuts, if you upgrade this to vers 40

This user has 4 previous reviews of this add-on.

That's a very nice offer, thank you (but no thank you). Would you be willing to do what this project really needs? --- http://home.comcast.net/~username54321/starfield/fundraiser.html --- http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?p=14131697#p14131697

Love the theme, however not compatible with 4.0 or windows 10? Either or.. Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I absolutely love this theme, it has been my go to theme ever since I got on firefox. However now with the update of windows 10 or Firefox 40, the top right buttons for Minimizing, Maximizing, etc, are completely gone. :-(

Aside from that, great theme, truly appreciated, you captured the cool black sleek layout that I was looking for!

Best,


Alpha7

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

супер тема большое спасибо

Great, with a couple of minor annoyances... Rated 4 out of 5 stars

This theme is very well-done, and is great for people who want a dark, non-glaring theme. There are only two things I don't really like about it:
• When you hover over a tab, the whole tab bar gets bigger. I see no useful reason for this; I guess it's just a kind of artsy-craftsy effect. Very distracting... I wish it were optional.
• In Firefox's Options page, it changes the named categories (Extensions, Appearance, etc.) to icons only. I wouldn't mind the icons if they had text labels too, but it's presumptuous to expect users to remember what all the categories are.

BTW, I'm using this theme with FF 40.0 right now, and those window icons are appearing normally for me. How odd.

Uh oh . . . Firefox 40.0 not compatible with this theme Rated 4 out of 5 stars

This is my all time favorite theme but something happened today when FF 40.0 launched. I suddenly lost the upper right corner "minimize-maximize-and close out buttons. I know I'm not supposed to revert back to FF 39.03 but I did because I love your theme so much. Hopefully, you can fix this so I can get FF 40.0 back again. I see others are having the same issue. Also, my upgrade from Windows 7 to Windows 10 seems to have also partially hidden those boxes even before FF 40.0 launched. Thanks for all that you do and I'll patiently wait for the fix.

This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

This theme override my monospace font color, it's very bad!

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This dark theme is awesome! But there is same bug - After upgrade Windows from 8.1 to 10 there is white right corner with buttons (minimalization, close). Here is PIC http://kriegerjan.sweb.cz/white%20corner.PNG Is there some possibility to fix it? Thanks for reply.

13.8.15 EDIT: After upgrade to FF 40, minimize-maximize-and close out buttons are definitely lost :D

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I love this theme. This is what real themes should be, not just a cute background image.

I am too poor, thus I won't send the $5 that I would sincerely like to.

素晴らしい作品です。感動しました! しかし・・・、 “もう少しの加工” が望まれる。 Rated 5 out of 5 stars

昨日、この addon をインストールしました。
①色使い(color scheme)が申し分がない、②レイアウトやデザインにも手が加えられており(Complete reform)、格段に、使い勝手が向上した仕上がりで、③このアドオン使用による障害やレスポンス低下も認められませんでしたetc。
素晴らしい出来栄えです。大変、感動しました。
「画面を Dark 化する拡張機能」を欲していましたが、ようやく満足できるものに出会うことが出来ました。
素晴らしい作品をありがとうございます。

余談: free-software の「F.lux」と併せて使用をすれば、最上の画面環境を実現できます。

しかしながら、下記についての要領を得ないが・・・・
1、(アドオンマネージャ、ステータスバーやタブバーなどは、規定の dark 化が為されるが) web 画面自体は、全く変移(Dark 化)しない。ぜひ 「画面全体(Background)も同様に dark 化」 したい。
2、このアドオンは、アドオンマネージャでの「削除」の選択肢しかないが、他にも 「enable/disable」 の切り替えの選択肢もあると良い。その切り替えは、コンテキストメニュ、アイコン、ショートカットキー設定などから任意選択ができると便利だと思うが・・・。

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.20150531). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

gracias es perfecto

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.20150406). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Dear mcdavis,
Most Excellent Theme!
Thank you for your review and feedback!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.20150406). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Please add more contrast to scrollbar. I'm using the NewScrollbars add-on because of this problem. Thank you for your hard work.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.20150330). 

please say more

Thanks for the comment. I don't understand what people mean when they say they want the scrollbar to be more contrasty. (You're not the only one.) Where do you want more contrast? Please post a link to a picture showing what you want.

NNL Is Shweeet! (but needs aero fix) Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I love this awesome theme. Will be making a contribution soon!

One issue, though, that I was having and have since patched with a workaround:

My display is 1920x1080, I'm using a dark vs called "Path" (Win7), and, with title bar and menu bar turned off, NNL was not rendering the top part of the browser window fully in aero. See this image: http://i.imgur.com/nXmpIPO.png

...So, I borrowed some of the code from the Stylish "Aero style for FT DeepDark (for Win7 and Vista)", creating a new style I named "Aero Style for Nightlaunch", which fixed it, as seen here: http://i.imgur.com/oniALkF.png

Here is the code: http://www.mediafire.com/view/idiqi8l5l7c3tz6/Aero_style_for_NightLaunch.txt

* To use the code, just write a new blank style in Stylish, name it Aero Style for Nightlaunch, then copy/paste the code from the text file into the body of the new style and save.

To mcdavis (the Developer of NNL), I do hope you'll correct the bug and offer an "aero" fix with the theme or Night Launch Companion in the near future, so this Stylish-hack of mine will be unnecessary.

Running Firefox 35.0 beta, but was also having the issue in 34.

Thank you for your hard work and talent --- You are the MrGrim of Firefox themes! :)

You can get my gunmetal-grey Path vs mod (for Win7) here: http://vistastylebuilder.com/forum/index.php?topic=2164.0

For Win 8.1, check out my other dark vs, "Work Nite Shift": http://vistastylebuilder.com/forum/index.php?topic=2134.0

(both look great with NNL in Firefox)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.20150106). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Bravo maestro!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.20141201). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Excelente, el mejor tema que visto hasta ahora y lo he usado ya desde hace 3 años.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.20141201). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Every time comes a new FRESH HOT version - I like it ☺

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.20141201).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

I have problem Theme ! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Everything is ok. I love it, not all page is black please fix it Thanks McDavis :(

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.20141005).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Hi. Which pages aren't dark? And which Firefox version are you using?

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Awesome!
However, there are numerous suggestions I have XD so, if you wanna see em all, read on.
1.) adblock plus is sad. Icon looks custom, but it should probably be improved to look uniform with the default firefox icons this addon cusomizes, particularly because I use the element hiding helper on my toolbar and the icon just looks a bit half-baked.

The history icon looks slightly octagonal, if you care to adjust it.
when the forward button is unavailable, the bottom blends in with the toolbar.

scrollbar is checkerboarded, and I may like it more of a two-toned...
astronaut movement is slightly jagged, I don't use the menu icon so I look at it whenever I click that button XD

I use restartless restart, and the icon does not contrast nearly enough for this theme XD black on dark grey is not good for where the icon is.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.20141005). 

Hey, thanks for the feedback. Those are all fair points, but lemme just comment on three since I'm finishing up other work for the Firefox 34 release.

1) I have NNL-specific icons for ABP, but they aren't being applied at the moment (fallout from the Australis redesign). I'll get to that presently.

2) I know about Restartless Restart. One limitation of all the restartless add-ons is that the icon is set by JS as explicit src attribute on the element, meaning it can't be set by the theme. However, traditional (non-restartless) add-ons can be themed, so if you identify one of those I'll update NNL to support it. QuickRestart was good, but last I checked it's not maintained any more.

3) I know what you're saying about the scrollbars, but I like the checkerboard, and it matches the checkerboard that shows behind toolbarbuttons when you click them. NNL has a distinctive style, and that's part of it.

If you want to say more, please do. Using the forum might be more convenient: http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?f=48&t=547498

Thanks again for the feedback. Those are all good, specific, actionable points.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.20141005). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Best FF theme hands down, thank you for making this.

For regular users, this is great. For developers like myself, there is one particular bug that is frustrating.

In console, when you click on an object it opens up the right pane with its details. If you then click on another object, it will NOT refresh the details. You have to cycle dev tools to be able to click on the second object.

Again, for the average user, not a big deal. If you're debugging JS, it's super annoying.

Regardless, excellent theme. Thank you for it.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.6.20140930). 

Thanks for the feedback, I'll take a look.

EDIT 2014/10/11: this is fixed for the next NNL beta and the following NNL release. Thanks for the bug report, good catch.