Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely brilliant.
Now I can choose which spam I get.
Thanks for the great work.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.25.303.1-signed.1-signed). 

:)

Thank you!

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Takes a bit of time to adjust to using this plugin, but it is really a helpful add-on. It allows me to sync across multiple operating systems on multiple machine. I would recommend this as part of your security toolbox.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.25.303.1-signed.1-signed). 

Need info Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Good job, but is the disposable info active? Can I use the phone number to activate some subscriptions by SMS?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.24.296.1-signed.1-signed). 

Yep, you can!

All the disposable or Masked info works like normal, so yes, you can use your Masked number to activate subscriptions by SMS. You'll still receive all your texts, calls, and voicemails to that number, but if you start getting pestered by a particular number, you can block them.

Thanks,

-The Abine Team

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Had to uninstall it. Worked great at first, but then it became to obtrusive: covering words on websites with its pop up text box, filling in something I had copied and pasted the night before when I clicked on "use my email". I had recently installed an update for Firefox 23.0.1

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.24.296.1-signed.1-signed). 

Your question

Hi Jerry-

Thanks for getting in touch. AMO isn't really the place to go in depth about support issues, so can you email me (sarah at abine dot com) with more details? Thanks!

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

I'm using Firefox 23.0.1 and MaskMe will not function. It gets as far as the webpage to enter my existing MaskMe account details but then just shuts Firefox down completely.

I use Chrome too, where MaskMe works, so I would have guessed there's a 'feature' that prevents one logging in to one's account more than once from a single PC, except that FF shuts down before I've even hit the Login button - so how can it know?)

I find I need to run both browsers simultaneously so, if this is going to continue to be an issue, MaskMe will have to go.

I can see the value of a product like this and I would really don't want to remove it!!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.24.296.1-signed.1-signed). 

Updated version

Hey Elyss-

It looks like you're using an older version of MaskMe (1.24.296). Try going to www.abine.com/maskme and reinstalling the newest version from the site, then logging in with your existing MaskMe account. That should work, but if not, shoot me an email at sarah [at] abine [dot] com.

Thanks,

-The Abine Team

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

5 Star! This addon is really nice and comes in handy a lot. It is great not to have to give out your real email to websites that you know your not going to visit that often but require it along with approval of an email, because you actually receive the email but they don't have your real address.
With all the stolen credit card numbers and identity theft going on it gives me peace of mind not having to enter my real credit card number on a store that i haven't used before.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.24.296.1-signed.1-signed). 

No login after install if skipped Rated 4 out of 5 stars

I really like this add-on, using it with donottrackme, very nice for privacy. But there is something that bother me and prevent me from using it properly.I have 4 firefox in sync on 4 different computer. I did email forwarding on 1 of them. When I go to the other computer, I cannot enter my email to forward because it says it's already in used (which shouldn't say something like that because it means this email exist, thus could be used for spammer to find out real email).Is there a "login" feature or something that can be used to sync all 4 computer and have mail forwarding on all 4?

edit: Ok, I gave 1 star back because I found out that if I already launched maskme once, I cannot (well didn't find) any way to sync with an existing account. I even logged on the website and still, I wasn't able to find any place to login. But once I removed and installed it back, there was a tiny login link.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.24.296.1-signed.1-signed). 

Glad you found the login

Hey-

I just logged in to tell you that you should be able to log in on all 4 accounts, but then I saw you found it. Thanks!

-The Abine Team

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This addon is very useful for me.for me to have privacy is everything and this addon has everything I need.And I like that this runs smooth!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.24.296.1-signed.1-signed). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

I started using it to clean out my spam. It worked well. I went ahead and got the premium service. Here is my overall experience.

Here is the negative.

1) Installation is not a no brainer. Apparently there is no "login" button. I heard this will be fixed soon. Installation needs to be dummy proof

2) No way to import or manually add passwords. I first thought this would be a problem. However, just use password manager ( lastpass ) and it figures everything out correctly.

2a) There needs to be a way to manually edit the data. This should be in version 0.10alpha.

3) Syncing should be automatic. I shouldnt have to worry about if its sync or not.


Positive

1) It does run smooth. After installation is up and running, masking works well. Caught one site already giving out my email address.

2) Mask the phone. is GREAT. Hello People I don't like.

3) Credit Card masking is SUPER. I cant believe I lived without it. Its really NICE. GOOD JOB Guys.


Keep the updates, make the password manager editable via interface, and you will have 5 stars.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.24.296.1-signed.1-signed). 

Thanks for the detailed feedback!

Hey Happy-

Thanks for the awesome comments. A few replies:

- We're working hard to make installation simpler. You're definitely not the first person to be confused.
- You can manually edit your data by going into your account list, clicking whichever one you want to change, and clicking the pencil icon next to it. Are you seeing that option?
- We don't sync automatically because we want to give people the choice. By default, MaskMe stores your data locally on your device, which means we don't have access to it. That's the highest-privacy option, and we want it to be available to people. That's why we don't sync automatically: plenty of people wouldn't want their data sent to our servers without their input, even though it is encrypted. We may change this in the future because of the convenience of auto-sync, but it depends on whether we keep hearing from our users that they want it.

Glad you like the aliasing features :)

-The Abine Team

Huh, isn't trustworthy really... Rated 2 out of 5 stars

This might be a nice add-on, but we can't trust on add-on's authors who need to post several fake reviews so that the add-on gets a false sense of usefulness and/or popularity. The least to say is that it proves the ethical behavior of them, and thus VOIDs the stated Privacy Policy.

Fake reviews are by these people:

GregS: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/user/GregS/
jeremy86: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/user/jeremy86/
alness908: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/user/alisonnessa123/
nathanmans: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/user/nathanmans/
diggydonks: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/user/diggydonks/
Rory: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/user/bunnyfluffs/
randydemand: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/user/randydemand/
Sea33: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/user/babyl/
jory: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/user/jaspion85/

...and possibly others too.

Moreover, by using the FB Phishing Protector add-on there are being detected remote script injections while using this add-on. Huh? I have no idea why such add-on needs to inject remote scripts over FB pages of logged-in users...

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.24.296.1-signed.1-signed). 

Reviews and technical issues

Dear Diego,
If we find there are any bad or good reviews that are a) not legit or are b) misplaced bug reports or c) contain zero useful information, we typically request them to be removed.

Regarding the injection you're seeing with your add-on FB phishing protector, we'll look into it. is it happening only on FB pages with email or data entry fields?

Thanks

Not Quite For Me Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Thank you for clarifying where the data is stored.

I had searched previously for "MaskME" and found no data files in my profile. But, as you now report, the data is in a file called "idme_data-db.sqlite" which I have found and examined using the SQLite Manager add-on.

However, I found that this add-on interferes with the way Firefox already remembers log-in data for web sites. Before I installed this add-on, after I clicked on an empty log-in box, Firefox would suggest a name. After clicking on the name, Firefox would add automatically the password in the password box. This add-on appears to stop that happening.

So this add-on may be useful for people who always want to log in with fake IDs, but it's not for me and I have uninstalled it.

So thanks again for the information, but I have given this add-on a "neutral" rating.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.24.296.1-signed.1-signed). 

Reply to Mr Khun on where MaskMe's data is stored

Dear Mr Khun,Thanks for clarifying your questions to us. Our data use chart answers many users questions, but now we realize, it did not answer yours as you further specified. Here are the answers: MaskMe uses the browsers storage API that is available to extensions. Key data such as usernames and passwords are encrypted with AES 256 and salts for each row. The exact location where your browser puts this SQLite file may vary by OS. For Firefox users:MaskMe data is stored in a file called idme_data-db.sqlite under firefox profile folder. Interested users can look at data using sqlite-manager add-on.Helpful links:http://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/profiles-where-firefox-stores-user-data#w_how-do-i-find-my-profilehttps://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/sqlite-manager/?src=searchLastly, as I'm sure you're aware from our chart, MaskMe, by it's very nature, cannot avoid storing certain information used to privately proxy communications between you and other web sites. MaskMe is a privacy service and not an anonymity service. Thanks!

Superbe Rated 5 out of 5 stars

To Khun Roger in the review below,

Why have you rated this one star, this is an extremely well written piece of software, and ultimately a very important weapon in any security conscious users arsenal.

To answer your question all your passwords, logins and masked emails are stored locally on your computer. If you want to use the same logins, Passwords, and emails on other computers, you can use the sync option, which uploads an encrypted version of that file to the MaskMe servers. The sync file is only readable by you and no one else, not even the MaskMe people.

Once you have installed the software there are options in the main menu too explain, Privacy & my Data, Quick Intro Video, and Getting Started Guide.

I hope this helps.

P.S. I'm not associated with MaskMe in anyway, I'm Just a normal users.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.24.296.1-signed.1-signed).  This user has 2 previous reviews of this add-on.

Thanks!

You're awesome! Thanks for the great response. We just responded too, but it's great to have users like you who vouch for us and answer questions. You rock.

-The Abine Team

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Wow, I had never heard of this before today! I get a lot of spam because I do surveys, etc. This is a really effective way to stop it.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.24.296.1-signed.1-signed). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

This is pretty useful if you don't want to give out your real email. It prevents you from getting excessive spam.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.24.296.1-signed.1-signed). 

stops crap spam Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Everyone has learned the hard way at one time or another that it is easier said than done to “be safe on the internet.” But how do we do that if every website we visit asks for login name, password & email address to verify us? What’s more, I have experienced that once joining a site, I am then bombarded with spam from related companies or, worse yet, called on my cell.

i think you guys are absolutely fantastic and im totally smitten with ya! no more crappy spam.....I'M FREE at last!! i was so fed up with the usual rubbish that kept filtering through on my screen that i was at screaming point, but since you guys came on the scene i haven;t had to put up with all that garbage. HUGE THANKS GUYS so keep up the fab work! Your'e my heroes/heroines mwah...

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.24.296.1-signed.1-signed). 

Among the BEST Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This is among the Best services I have have ever had the pleasure of using ! when I want to get an email from some place but don't want to leave my real email and don't feel like creating another account just for that 1 thing MaskMe has been a wonderful tool.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.24.296.1-signed.1-signed). 

Not secure with Master Password Rated 1 out of 5 stars

It's supposed to protect you, but when you have this add-on installed and use a Master Password in Firefox the username and password of a protected site are still filled when you hit cancel! Not really secure imho.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.24.296.1-signed.1-signed). 

Clarification

Hi urshurak-

If I understand you correctly, it sounds like you're using both MaskMe and Firefox's built-in account and password manager at the same time, and I'm not sure that what you're describing has anything to do with MaskMe. Can you email me at Sarah at Abine dot com with more details?

We worked very hard to make MaskMe highly secure: Abine is a privacy-by-design company with a simple, understandable privacy policy and a firm stance never to sell user data. MaskMe uses AES-256 encryption with row-level salts for extra-sensitive info, data minimization, and host-proof hosting (so not even we have your passwords or encryption keys).

Thanks,

-The Abine Team

Great Service for Personal Security Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I first found this service on the FF addons. I first signed up for the free maskme (for email) and really liked that I did not have to give out my real email on Craigslist or other websites. I also had the need for a masked phone number and signed up for it. I've used the phone number numerous times. Once I am no longer in need of a particular caller contacting me again, via the maskme website, I can block that caller and won't get calls from them on the maskme phone number.

I also needed to contact customer service and the rep was polite and very helpful. It took two contacts to solve the issue, however the rep never made gave the impression that she was annoyed and I believe actually very glad to be able to help.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.18.245.1-signed.1-signed). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

i initially installed mask me for privacy reasons, and i love their DNTMe add on. mask me not only keeps my information private, but it also really simplifies my browsing experience. never have to remember another username/passwrod combination again!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.18.245.1-signed.1-signed). 

I love this add on Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I have the worst time keeping track of my logins and this helps me to chose if I need to hide me or not.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.18.245.1-signed.1-signed).