Googlebar replacement - Missing My Local search Rated 3 out of 5 stars

I'm still using googlebar and it works well but has some impairments with recent FF versions and no real support. Tried googlebar lite and it seems to work ok. What's missing is the googlebar My local search function where the user supplies a default address and the my local button triggers a google map search near that location. Put "paint stores" in search bar, hit my local and it shows paint stores near my address. A plain map search shows 1/3 of the country...far less convenient. Please consider adding such a feature.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.9.10).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Well I dont use this anymore, since I have used it in the past, I can say it was pretty good.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.9.10). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Googlebar Lite is the best alternative to old and buggy official google toolbar. All the features from the official google bar works exept of the google suggest feature (exemple when i write "yah" in the official google toolbar they suggest me "yahoo" "yahoo mail" etc..). I will give 5 stars if this feature will be added! ;-)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.9.10). 

Google bar lite hidden? Rated 2 out of 5 stars

Hi, after some use of google bar lite, i can't see anymore the toolbar, plugin is always available but not accessible! I try to check the options in about:config. Nothing to hide or show this bar! Any idea? Thanks

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.9.10). 

I'm guessing that the toolbar item has (for some reason) been hidden in the customize toolbar toolbox. Here's how to (hopefully) get it back:

1. Right click the Googlebar Lite toolbar and select the “Customize” menu item
2. Drag the Googlebar Lite toolbar item from the toolbox (the dialog that appears when you do step 1 above) to the toolbar where you want it to live
3. Click the “Done” button

Search does not work with FF 25.0.1 Rated 3 out of 5 stars

I tried Googlebar Lite 4.9.10 and search does not work. When I enter a search words and press enter or the search button nothing happens. Firefox updated itself to 25.0.1. When I press Enter in the Googlebar Lite search box and then in the Google search box on a previously opened google search site Enter does not work either. I think I already had testet Googlebar Lite some time ago. If I remember right I had a similar issue ... or was it a lack of a feature I wanted? I'm not sure.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.9.10). 

Search works for me on 25.0.1 across several systems. I'm guessing that either your Firefox profile has been corrupted, or another extension is interfering somehow. Try creating a new profile, and testing the extension there.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

In the current version of firefox klicking on a searched word in the Googlebar light does no longer find that word in the page! Please fix urgently, and it will be 5 stars!!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.9.10). 

Googlebar Lite 4.9.10 fixes this issue in Firefox 25.0. If you are seeing the issue in a later version of Firefox (an alpha or beta version), note that I only support released versions.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Short of a few small useful changes (icons from Google Toolbar original, add Translate button, and arrangeable buttons), this is practically perfect! >_<

Otherwise, hardly different from the original from Google, and doesn't cause mouse-overs to not show (only reason I even looked for a replacement...).

Awesome work, and thank you!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.9.10). 

poor Rated 2 out of 5 stars

It,s good but search suggestions doesn´t exist! :(

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.9.9). 

Where are the suggestions when typing ? Rated 2 out of 5 stars

Without showing suggestions when typing, i can hardly call this an alternative for the Google Toolbar... too bad.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.9.9). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This is a life saver after Google discontinued its toolbar for Firefox. I didn't realize how much I used it until I didn't have it anymore. This is by far my favorite add-on.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.9.7). 

Boolean bloos Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Love being able to highlight and find search terms in the documents I find with Google, or if have a document open I can search for or highlight different terms simply by typing them into the Googlebar Lite search box. It is much more flexible then the Firefox search which can only handle one word or term at a time.

The only problem is that I regularly search Google using Boolean operators like OR. But Googlebar Lite highlights ever occurrence of 'or' on the page, even in words like 'for' or 'orangutan'. I have to scroll through the Googlebar Lite search box and remove every OR and AND.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.9.7). 

Thanks! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

The fix worked. This add-on is much better and faster than the official toolbar. Odd that Goggle is known for simplicity - yet their toolbar is clumsy, busy. GL is more Google than Google.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.9.5).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Googlebar Lite with the terms I´m searching to find the content in the sites, is very comfortable and for me one of the reasons to use firefox. Jonah Bishop has a great support.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.9.5). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

以前、公式のGoogle Toolbar for Firefoxを使用していました。Googleキーワード検索とそのキーワードをハイライトマーカーで反転できる機能がすごくお気に入りでした。しかし、最新版のFirefoxは公式のGoogle Toolbarに対応していません。
このツールに出会えてとてもラッキーです。

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.9.3). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

All the features I relied upon from the original Google Toolbar that has been discontinued. I like having a separate search bar for Google searches vs. the built in search feature in Firefox which I use for a variety of other searches (i.e., amazon, allmusic, youtube, etc.).

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.9.3). 

A little problem Rated 5 out of 5 stars

When I using brackets in my keyword like "(1 OR 2) 3" the finding keyword area(click it and the keyword in page will be inversed ) will display brackets too, but it's actually not a part of keyword.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.9.3).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Fantastic Extension Rated 5 out of 5 stars

So you're researching something. You search Google for it. There aren't very many results, and what results there are are a hundred pages long. You want to do a "find in page" for what you searched Google for, but you don't want to have to hit CTRL-F and retype your search term. Googlebar Lite solves that problem so nicely, among others. It also lets you search Google Maps and various other things with one click, highlight search terms, etc. A wonderful extension. For the past few days I've been playing with Chrome, and this extension is the one thing I really miss. Fantastic work, wish the author would port it to Chrome.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.9.3). 

Works fine ... Rated 5 out of 5 stars

and does everything it promises!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.9.1).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Nice!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.9.0). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Till Firefox 12, I managed to keep using the Google toolbar with some hack I found on the web. But with Firefox 13, I was tired and decided look for an alternative. I should have switched sooner!

Features I was pleasantly surprised to find -
- Options for site, image, news and maps search
- The search word buttons, next to highlighter (absolutely didn't expect to find it here)

Features I miss -
- Youtube search - I really need this!!
- Search suggestions - When I need suggestions I use the default Firefox search, so I guess it's ok.
- Gmail button - I just needed a link, so I found a way (albeit awkward) to drag the gmail link on the same column as Googlebar Lite.
- Translate - miss it a little
- Amazon search (custom added) - hardly miss it
- Google docs button - hardly miss it

Overall a very pleasant surprise for a long-time Google toolbar user.
Thank you Mr. Jonah!

-----------------------------------
Edit: Reply to Mr. Jonah

Thank you for your reply. All I can say is that my review is 100% honest.
I tried the video search, but maybe because I set the option to google.co.in, it didn't work. It showed a 404 error page.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.9.0). 

Thanks for the great review! FYI: if you use Googlebar Lite's "Video Search," you'll mostly get YouTube hits. Also, there's a link to GMail in the Googlebar Lite main menu (under "Google Links").