Doesn't work for me either Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Firefox 14.0.1. Version 3 icon shows 0 no matter what website, and clicking on icon (or on Options in Add-ons Manager) does nothing at all. Went back to DNTM 2 and seems to be working again.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.1030.1-signed). 

We fixed the problem!

Hi win98to07 -
We apologize for this terrible bug! We discovered that older versions of Firefox had this issue after users like you reported it. We moved quickly to fix the problem, and you can install an update from: http://link.abine.com/dntme-firefox-latest (we are still awaiting review from Mozilla for the official listing to update, but this link lets you update immediately).

Again, our apologies. We hope you enjoy the new version now that it works for you, and wish it had been a more pleasant experience. I'd also kindly ask you to reconsider your 1 star review after trying the update. We would appreciate any feedback you have.

Love the new version Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I usually don't write reviews, but after seeing some bad ones for the new version I had to speak up. The whole UI looks better, and I love the 'mask my email' addition. I can totally understand if some people find it intrusive, but the way it works is so convenient. Think about it. You make a brand new mask email for all sites you go to, in such an easy and quick way. How cool is that!! And if you dont like it, instead of coming here and b*tching, why dont you just take 3 seconds to go to SETTINGS and turn off that feature?! Some people are so lazy! These guys make a free product for our benefit... wish there were more companies like this out there.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.1030.1-signed). 

version 3 does NOT work [fixed] Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I updated my version 2 to 3 from Firefox's addon update. After a restart of Firefox the icon on the toolbar always show 0 blocked even on sites I know track users.

When I tried to get to the settings page of the addon it lead me to a login/signup page instead.

Tools -> Addons -> DotNotTrackMe -> Options opens the login/signup page.

Tools -> Addons -> DotNotTrackMe -> More -> Options does NOT even work as it opens nothing at all.

Terrible update, went back to version 2 at least that's working.

edit 1: this was on Firefox 19.0.2 as at least one of my must-have addon doesn't work on Firefox 20+. But this shouldn't really matter since DoNotTrackMe "Works with Firefox 3.5 and later"

edit 2:ok since I can't find any "respond" button i'm just gonna edit this review I hope the developer can see it. This is a response to the Dev reply, I know you are supposed to open settings that way but when I click on the button nothing happens. I even removed version 2 then installed version 3, then had to manually add the button to my toolbar. But it always show 0(zero) blocked on every site and when I click it nothing happens.

edit 3: newest version fixed the problem. thank you. rating changed from 1 star to 5 stars.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.1030.1-signed). 

We fixed the problem!

[UPDATE 12/18]
Hello again -
We apologize for this terrible bug! We discovered that older versions of Firefox had this issue after users like you reported it. We moved quickly to fix the problem, and you can install an update from: http://link.abine.com/dntme-firefox-latest (we are still awaiting review from Mozilla for the official listing to update, but this link lets you update immediately).

Again, our apologies. We hope you enjoy the new version now that it works for you, and wish it had been a more pleasant experience. I'd also kindly ask you to reconsider your 1 star review after trying the update. We would appreciate any feedback you have.

------
[ORIGINAL REPLY 12/14]
Sorry about the problems - we can help.1. Accessing settings should be done via the add-on, just open it and click on settings. see here: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/1015332/DNT3settings.png2. Are you still seeing zero trackers displayed? Please contact us if you are.

Rated 2 out of 5 stars

It stopped working, I reinstalled the plugin 3, but on my old pc with firefox 12 on debian does not work, it only works with the latest firefox?

edit after response
the installation of the plugin is successful but then does not work, the console error firefox shows this error:
ABINE_DNTME.openAccountsTab is not a fuction

linking to your site will appear this message:
You don't have this free feature yet :(

I send you the file generated from the console errors firefox .xul by email
hello :)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.1030.1-signed).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Compatibility with older versions of Firefox

[UPDATE 12/18]
Hello again -
We apologize for these issues. We fixed the problem for versions of Firefox 14 and up. Unfortunately for Firefox 13 and below many of our changes in Version 3 are not compatible. The listing has now been updated to correctly reflect which versions of Firefox the new version is compatible with (sorry we messed that up!).

For your old pc with Firefox 12, you can either choose to remain on DNT 2, or if you update Firefox there to 14 or above, you can then try DNT 3. If you want to stay on Firefox 12, here is a direct link to DNT2: https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/downloads/file/216518/donottrackme_online_privacy_protection-2.2.9.618-fx.xpi.


------
[ORIGINAL REPLY 12/14]
Hi there, Are you saying that you could not get Version 3.0 to work with FF version 12? Can you email us in support and let us know exactly what you are seeing when you try installling? Thanks!

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

lots of new easy to use features w/ version 3 (ie register for sites with disposable emails that you create w/ 1 click from the email form)... looking forward to checking out private "masked" credit cards

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.1030.1-signed). 

Thanks

All basic features are free in version 3. Getting a private phone # and private Credit cards are all part of the premium package which is $5/month.

Very nice Rated 4 out of 5 stars

I use alongside Adblock and it works together perfect. There's too much advertising and tracking going on period. You probably know that already but it is *amazing to see this in action (and stop it).

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.1030.1-signed). 

Thanks

we encourage you to use this with other popular privacy and security add-ons to make Firefox better.

No Longer A Good Program Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I enjoyed DoNotTrackMe until the last upgrade that removed features like being able to enable and disable individual trackers. I guess that the old features are now only available in the pay version. I will remove this once useful program and rely on Ghostery now.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.1030.1-signed). 

No features have been removed :)

Hi there,
All the features of DoNotTrackMe 2.X are still free and still there.
Here's to enable or disable individual trackers:
1. click on the big orange band showing how many trackers there are.
2. roll over any of the list of trackers shown to enable or disable.

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

with all the snooping and tracking that is going on these days software to block the tracking is a great add on

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.1030.1-signed). 

Thanks

The main new features in version 3 are about stopping the snooping and tracking of not only your browsing, but your personal information as well. We hope you like the new features.

Gone! Rated 1 out of 5 stars

With version 3, comes forced registration in order to set preferences. Once installed, the toobar icon does nothing. So you go the the ADD ONS | EXTENSION page in order to access the PREFERENCES page. Wait! All that does it take you to a registration page.... But the author says this is not so. Whatever ....

Gone! Hello Ghostery.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.1030.1-signed). 

Registration not required to set preferences

[UPDATE 12/18]
Hello again -
We apologize for this terrible bug! We discovered that older versions of Firefox had this issue after users like you reported it. We moved quickly to fix the problem, and you can install an update from: http://link.abine.com/dntme-firefox-latest (we are still awaiting review from Mozilla for the official listing to update, but this link lets you update immediately).

Also - to be clear - you being taken to the registration page was a bug. Registration is entirely optional, and is only there because some of the new *optional* features require it for the features to work. This bug has also been fixed to not incorrectly send you to a registration page at the wrong times.

Again, our apologies. We hope you at least try this new version now that the bug is fixed because we spent a lot of time on it. We wish your first experience with it had been smoother. I'd also kindly ask you to reconsider your 1 star review after trying the update. We would appreciate any feedback you have as opinions from our users mean a lot to us.

------
[ORIGINAL REPLY 12/14]Greetings ProdigalGVS,You do *not* have to register in order to set preferences. Just turn tracking on or off, or go to "settings" to have all the control and preferences you want over tracker blocking. You only have to register if you want to turn *on* the premium features, like masked phone numbers or cards numbers. It's expensive to provide those services so they are premium features. All the tracker blocking & more is free!

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

ANOTHER FF Add-On gone FREEMIUM. WTF?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.1030.1-signed). 

We fixed the problem!

[UPDATE 12/18]
Hello again -
Just to add to our previous reply: we realized there was a bug with the extension that was incorrectly sending users to a registration page. To be clear: registration is *completely optional*. Because of this bug it seemed like it wasn't. All previous features of DNT2 are still present and completely free, and there are even more free features now! We've worked hard to improve the product to our free users, as well as adding even more features to those who decide to go premium. Sorry that we screwed up your initial experience with a bug that gave you the wrong impression. We hope you give it another shot.

We moved quickly to fix the problem, and you can install an update from: http://link.abine.com/dntme-firefox-latest (we are still awaiting review from Mozilla for the official listing to update, but this link lets you update immediately).

------
[ORIGINAL REPLY 12/14]
Dear ERS2258,DNTMe 3 allows 100% of users to get 100% of the free features it always has given to users: the blocking of hundreds of targeted ad networks and tracking scripts. Never has been a charge for this, and there is not in the new version.Our premium features cost us money but deliver real enhanced privacy: private phone #'s and private credit cards for shopping. These were highly-requested by our existing users and we've made them easy to get, if you want them, for a simple $5 bucks a month. We believe - perhaps you disagree - that people who support privacy deserve a real company that can continue to invest in making privacy better and easier and more comprehensive. Given the massive increase in tracking technology and the NSA, "completely free" shareware style software is no longer a realistic or viable answer in the marketplace. That is our opinion. Thank you for expressing yours. We believe in a balanced, open dialogue about this.

Looks Good Rated 4 out of 5 stars

This looks like it would be pretty helpful. I wish the premium version services were free though. Glad I got it before I started my Christmas shopping.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.1030.1-signed). 

not 100% working anymore at firefox 27b1 Rated 4 out of 5 stars

DNTM 3.1, not 100% working anymore at firefox 27b1, please fix it

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.2.9.618.1-signed).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Great Extension Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This is a great Extension to have, it makes browsing a little more secure and it is great knowing that I'm not being tracked nearly as much. This is just one many great tools i use to browse more securely.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.2.9.618.1-signed). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This extension is really amazing,it really protects my privacy online and with this extension i really don,t need to worry about my credit card,phone number or e-mail address

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.2.9.618.1-signed). 

Very useful Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Very useful! Keeps my browsing private as it should be!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.2.9.618.1-signed). 

Annoying Rated 1 out of 5 stars

It's honestly more annoying than any ads I encountered, constant pop-ups, some kind o badges, annotations about upgrading (lol what) and installing new addons from the same author.

One word: NOPE.

All those sliders and buttons in addon are made from.. jpg's. That's right, we have image-driven addon that injects itself(!) into page in few divs, making a lot of sites bevahe randomly, sometime even crashing firefox. If you're web developer - don't even think about installing this piece of code.

There is no real settings, to configure this annoying thing you have to visit every site you want to configure and *then* open settings window. Of course if it would want to remember your settings. It's forcing it's defaults despite setting one thing over and over and over again.

Honestly, the worse addon I've seen in my life. From programmer's point of view I feel ashamed someone could even wanted to publish something like this.
Absolutely disgusting.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.2.9.618.1-signed). 

reply to UsagiAddict

Dear UsagiAddict,
We're sorry you didn't like the addon and that as a web developer, you felt like it interfered too much with how you browse.
One fact is that are are very clearly labeled setting buttons making all the settings 100% configurable. Therefore, we'd urge you to look at those before writing a review like this and publish your own information.
Thanks(!)

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I think this would be a great addition for anyone.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.2.9.618.1-signed). 

Thank you, Abdul Yakup! We like to think so too :)

Annoying Rated 3 out of 5 stars

In settings "auto fill masked mail..." is disabled but still appear the pop-up window when I click on mail required space.
This is very annoying for the users like me that don't want use this service.
Please add a real option for disable this feature.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.2.9.618.1-signed).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Hello-- So sorry about that, we definitely are not trying to annoy our users! I'd love to help you get to the bottom of this, would you mind emailing our support staff at support@getabine.com with your browser and browser version, as well as the version of DNTMe that you have installed? I will keep an eye out for the incoming e-mail and get back to you with a solution ASAP.

Great Add-on Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I do understand that there might be other apps which would have some extra features however, I am very pleased with this one!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.2.9.618.1-signed). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

DNTMe is very good add-on, but I have few complaints. I guess the overlay is html which is kind of annoying. When you press the icon, you must specifically press the close button to close the window. Compared to ghostery, you can click anywhere on the screen, the window closes. I find it convenient.
My other complaint is I block social buttons with ABP, but DNTMe recreates these social buttons. May be you should have some options for users to tinker such things. I find the social buttons, graphs kind of annoying and unprofessional. Overall I still like this tool, but if you can make few GUI changes it will be much better.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (2.2.9.618.1-signed).