Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I've had the dialog pop-up thing turned off, so I haven't noticed any feature changes, fishy additions etc.

However it's been eating an absurd amount of cpu (as in, 5x more than all my other 30+ addons combined) beginning immediately after browser startup and never stopping. Removed.

The toolbar icon was glitchy anyways :P

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.1249.1-signed). 

I haven't heard of it taking up much CPU before. If you'd like to see this resolved, email me : olivia at abine dot com. Thanks!

Avoid Avoid Avoid Rated 1 out of 5 stars

With version 4.5.1299, DNTM is now just an advertising platform for Abine's pay-service Blur. Version 4.5.1299 ignores the DNTM global settings and creates annoying pop-up boxes that promote the pay features of Blur while browsing. Try Ghostery instead to stop tracking. Nothing useful here anymore.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.1249.1-signed). 

Hello Magma. If you are looking just for a tracker blocker, than Ghostery may be the better add-on for you. DoNotTrackMe (renamed Blur) has moved beyond just a tracker blocker. It is now an account and password manager, a digital secure wallet, and allows you to mask all your personal information as you use the web. The majority of those features are free, but we do have paid, premium features that you can use if you choose to do so. If not, you can use our free features free for life.

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

The latest update has ruined it, I use it from behind a proxy server and now I can't get on the internet at all while this is active. disappointing.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.1249.1-signed). 

Hi Damon - please email me : olivia at abine dot com so I can give you the correct link to install. There was a bug with proxies, but that has since been resolved. Thanks!

SECURITY WARNING Rated 1 out of 5 stars

The current version bypasses the proxy settings!!!

I can enter any nonexistet proxy address in firefox and still get connected to all web pages if i have DNTM loaded, Wow, what a turnarround. Once a product to protect my privacy, now seriously threatening it, only discovered this by chance. Going to check if Blur solves this, otherwise I am done after a long time being satisfied with this product.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.1249.1-signed). 

Hi JackHack,
Although our product has been occasionally causing proxy conflicts lately, it would have no affect on you being able to enter and use a nonexistent proxy address successfully. It's possible DNTMe is disabling or conflicting with any existing proxy settings you have, but that would be all it does (and either way, we apologize for that).

I would suggest updating to the newest version of Blur, which now detects whether or not you already have a proxy enabled and then disables any of our settings which could interfere (and any of your existing proxy settings should work the same as they always did before we accidentally got in the way).

You can update to Blur here:
http://link.abine.com/dntme-firefox-latest

Rated 2 out of 5 stars

I liked Mask me I loved it. I used CCleaner to clean up my files and now the program doesn't work. It doesn't remember my email and it no longer masks. I can't remember my password I tried to install on the phone and when I click forget password nothing happens, it won't let me request a password. Too bad I really liked the program

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.1249.1-signed). 

Hi Jo,
Is this review for MaskMe, not DNTMe? Unfortunately, MaskMe relies heavily on local storage as a method of keeping your data private. The downside to this being that if you aren't careful when using products like CCleaner, your data can be erased.

Also, from the sounds of it, CCleaner caused MaskMe to think it's a fresh install, requiring you to log in again. There's a "forgot your password" option on the login screen for the extension that would have allowed you to reset your password or even show you a password hint (trying to do this through the mobile app if you've never used it on the mobile app previously probably wouldn't have worked, unfortunately).

Either way, did you contact support about this issue? I'm sure we could have helped resolve the issue to some extent (with the possible exception being any locally-stored data that was erased if you had never used the sync function).

Feel free to contact us at support@getabine.com if you'd like to discuss this further and I apologize for the unpleasant experience.

once great now crap Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I spent the last hour trying to mask an email. I already have account i masked lot emails in the past and now asking me to login. But i m already login in the acount. If i try to logout and login again from panel it just takes forever.. Keep up the great work guys. Excelent update.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.1249.1-signed). 

Hi Terastios,
The experience you described is far from normal, nor is it really even a behavior that makes sense with how the product is set up. Either way, I'm sure it's easily fixable. Did you contact us about this issue? Did you have DNTMe *and* MaskMe installed at the time?

If you'd like, you could contact us at support@getabine.com to resolve the issue.

Rated 2 out of 5 stars

PrivacySuite was the very best add on, I loved it! then they made it better...NOT with MASK me, and now that is discontinued for an even "better", NOT EVEN Close, called Do not track me, what a pain to use. Please go back to PrivacySuite. At least update it so it works with the current and future Fire Fox. Please?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.1249.1-signed). 

Hi JC, sorry to hear you were such a fan of PrivacySuite. Unfortunately, from the sound of it, there won't be any further updates for PS. We actually stopped supporting it close to two years ago, but have made quick updates for each new version of Firefox so that it could remain operational for existing users. However, due to some recent Firefox changes, further updates would require more dev time than we are able to designate to a legacy product.

That said, our new product Blur (which is actually an updated version of DNTMe) has effectively all the same features that were available in PS, will continue to be updated and fixed regularly, and we are confident it's out best privacy product to date (especially once any kinks are worked out). I understand you haven't been impressed with DNTMe so far, but I would suggest you check Blur once it's fully released.

Great addon became useless Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I can't even use the old account for maskme, i have to make another one. What's the point of this addon? Ghostery and firefox have the same features. I only want maskme features, disable half addon it's useless. Uninstalled.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.1249.1-signed). 

Hi Disagio. We plan to migrate all MaskMe users to DoNotTrackMe / Blur this week. Once that occurs, you can use the product only for the MaskMe features.

Crap since latest update. Avoid Rated 1 out of 5 stars

And yet another useful plugin turned into crap.
Needs registration then spams your e-mail with more crap, first thing you see when you open it is their own advertising.
Games on Facebook do not load.
Useless

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.1249.1-signed). 

Hi spaljeni - I'm sorry that you do not like the recent update. The requirement of registering means that you can use more of the features we've added including Masked Emails and the new password manager. If you're looking for *just* a tracker blocker, this may no longer be the extension for you. I do, however, suggest you check out the new features, and if you have any questions you can email me : olivia at abine dot com. Thanks!

Coraz gorsze Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Kiedyś to był fajny dodatek. Teraz każe zakładać konto.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.1249.1-signed). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Really great service. I enjoy using it. So usefull.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.1249.1-signed). 

Awesome - thanks for the great review!

No "Blur" ! Bring us DNTM back ! Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I have lost my "Privacy Medals" !! Why didn't you inform us before changing this addon? Once, I would have used my medals to try a "Masked Card"... Now you're forcing us to upgrade to Blur Premium! On top of that, Blur will block your internet connection if you're behind a proxy :-( The fact you have no contact details, makes me lose my trust in your products.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.1249.1-signed). 

Sorry that you've lost your privacy medals. If you wanted to use them to create a Masked Card, you can instead take advantage of the free 30 days of premium service under Blur, which include Masked Cards. Regarding the proxy, ur engineers have looked into this and we have fixed the issue. If you uninstall your current version, through tools>addons>extensions, and reinstall through this link:

http://link.abine.com/dntme-firefox-latest that should fix the problem. Please let me know if you continue to experience issues.

Breaks proxy settings Rated 3 out of 5 stars

A previously great plugin, destroyed.

Using FF 33.0.2, if you have a proxy configured, you cannot access the internet with this plugin enabled (FF does not even contact the proxy, so heavens only knows whats going on). This has cost me about a day of very frustrating messing around so far. I have confirmed this by disabling all other plugins except Blur, then starting FF - no response from any site; disable Blur, leave all other plugins active - no problems.

Curiously, I also use another version of firefox (31.2.0, Tor browser 4.0.1), where the plugin still works flawlessly.

I would also point out that, the most obvious point of contact to discuss problems, the company website, yields no sustenance - not so much as a contact form, let alone a a bug tracker.

Update: I noticed that abine had changed the release on addons.mozilla.org (package has the new name and a different release number), so I gave it a try: still the same.

Update 2: Seems like my previous comments regarding Tor browser were a little incorrect; this plugin breaks Tor as well, but by randomly blocking icon images, making my webmail accounts pretty much unusable

Update 3: Well, seems like the update posted below fixes things, so we are almost back to where we were - however, I still don't like, need, or want any of the additional functionality, so only 3 stars.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.1249.1-signed). 

Our engineers have looked into this and we have fixed the issue with DoNotTrackMe / Blur and proxies. If you uninstall your current version, through tools>addons>extensions, and reinstall through this link:

http://link.abine.com/dntme-firefox-latest that should fix the problem. Please let me know if you continue to experience issues.

proxy mess Rated 1 out of 5 stars

this update broked my network settings .... addon deleted.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.1249.1-signed). 

Our engineers have looked into this and we have fixed the issue with DoNotTrackMe (now called Blur) and proxies. If you uninstall your current version, through tools>addons>extensions, and reinstall through this link:

http://link.abine.com/dntme-firefox-latest that should fix the problem. Please let me know if you continue to experience issues.

Breaks Proxy Settings. Messed up icon pop-up. Rated 1 out of 5 stars

The 2-Nov-2014 update broke the Proxy settings in Firefox. Time to remove this add-on. (I mentioned 2-Nov since that is the day that I performed the manual add-on updates. It seemed that the major issue started earlier based on other users' comments.)

...and the pop-up menu from the icon is a total mess. With one single move, you have lost a user. I agree with JennyMac's comment.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.1249.1-signed). 

Our engineers have looked into this and we have fixed the issue with DoNotTrackMe (now called Blur) and proxies. If you uninstall your current version, through tools>addons>extensions, and reinstall through this link:

http://link.abine.com/dntme-firefox-latest that should fix the problem. Please let me know if you continue to experience issues.

Best,
Olivia

Useless now after update Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Sadly, this add on is no use to me now whilst using Little Snitch on Mac as I am unable to get onto ANY website without now having to give my permission to allow or deny access to each and every site I visit which I have never ever had to do before so have had to ditch this add on to get everything OK again.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.1249.1-signed). 

Our engineers have looked into this and we have fixed the issue with DoNotTrackMe (now called Blur) and proxies. If you uninstall your current version, through tools>addons>extensions, and reinstall through this link:

http://link.abine.com/dntme-firefox-latest that should fix the problem. Please let me know if you continue to experience issues.

Best,
Olivia

What on earth has happened to a once-great add-on? Rated 1 out of 5 stars

This is so very sad!! Until today, I would have given this add-on five stars. After all, in a few months it had blocked almost 200,000 trackers. What changed? Well, it appears there was an automatic update applied on 31st October (yesterday), since when all hell has broken loose! Supposedly DoNotTrackMe has become Blur, and it is rendering my homepage and all other websites useless! They freeze, and any interaction is impossible. I seriously question whether this change is a genuine one or if - irony of ironies - Abine is the victim of some rogue hijacking. And why, when I click on the DNT icon in my toolbar, am I suddenly being asked for my e-mail and password? (Something Abine has until now been warning me against giving indiscriminately. Indeed I have been using MaskMe). Without thinking, I gave mine because I was desperate to resolve the problems with trusted websites. That is when I was connected to a webpage informing me that DoNotTrackMe had become Blur. I clicked on the Blog link, hoping to read something about the change, but was astonished that Firefox only allowed me to read plain text. It had disabled HTML because it could not verify the web address! That's right! A Firefox add-on was not deemed safe!! Needless to say I have uninstalled this add-on because quite simply I no longer trust it!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.1249.1-signed). 

Our engineers have looked into this and we have fixed the issue with DoNotTrackMe (now called Blur) and proxies. If you uninstall your current version, through tools>addons>extensions, and reinstall through this link:

http://link.abine.com/dntme-firefox-latest that should fix the problem. Please let me know if you continue to experience issues.

Does not work!!! Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Proving to be useless, I installed it but it has never once blocked a tracker and my blocked trackers stats remain at zero, as it has from day one. I have now installed Ghostery and Disconnect and the difference is amazing, both addons actively block all sorts of trackers and analysis collectors, they show the stats, what was blocked and you know they are providing some protection from the snoopers. All the while DNTM just sits there on a big fat zero doing nothing but looking dumb and wasting space on Firefox. And to top it off, they now want you to log in as well, what a contradiction that is. I gave it enough time to prove its worth, but it has to be ditched. Does Not Work!!!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.1249.1-signed). 

Addon broken Rated 1 out of 5 stars

As reported it seems that the addon cause troubles in the browser to connect internet website trough a proxy.
Was working until today. The Firefox addon manager report an update that day, october 31th, but the Mozilla addon site doesn't mention any new update since october, 5th... Same version 4.0.1249 doesn't see any change in the name as reported by @madbrit
Strange.
Addon deactivated.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.1249.1-signed). 

Hello - so sorry about that. Would you email me : olivia at abine dot com and I will help you get to the bottom of this? I do apologize for the inconveinece.

Blur: Passwords, Payments, Privacy (Formerly DoNotTrackMe) 4.5.1277 Rated 2 out of 5 stars

Seems to have morphed into a replacement addon, but completely blocks FF from talking to the net if enabled.

For the record, I'm behind a proxy/firewall, so that might be involved.

I'll have to test off that proxy'd network and report further.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.1249.1-signed). 

Hello - so sorry about that. Would you email me : olivia at abine dot com and I will help you get to the bottom of this? I do apologize for the inconvenience.