Looks great! Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Just started using this add-on and I really like the features it includes. I'm always worried about giving out my personal information so this will be very helpful.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.1038.1-signed). 

Perfect Rated 5 out of 5 stars

works great ! f°°° google tracks ! indispensable

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.1038.1-signed). 

Good Experience Rated 4 out of 5 stars

I have been using DoNotTrackMe for about a month now, this extension has been hassle free and has performed the job it claims to have been created for. Nothing but praise for this great extension. I took the step of trying the MaskMyMail function after looking at the background of albine and deciding i could trust them and again i have been impressed

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.1038.1-signed). 

Spys on your email Rated 1 out of 5 stars

This used to be a good add-on. Then Abine added what they claim is a "mail anonymizing" feature. But what that does is forward your email to Abine. That's a terrible idea. And it's in your face all the time. Abine is constantly watching what you type. If you type an email address, Abine pops up a message.

FAIL.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.1038.1-signed). 

An Explanation of Proxy Email

This used to be a good add-on.
THANKS, WE HOPE MOST FIND IT EVEN BETTER NOW :)

Then Abine added what they claim is a "mail anonymizing" feature.
WE CLAIM IT HELPS PREVENT SPAM AND THE COLLECTION OF YOUR PERSONAL INFO. IT DOES EXACTLY THIS.

But what that does is forward your email to Abine.
NOPE. IT RELAYS ONLY THE MAIL SENT BY WEB SITES YOU DON'T WANT TO GIVE YOUR REAL EMAIL OUT TO. ALL RELAYED MAILS ARE PERMANENTLY DELETED.

That's a terrible idea.
HOW IS GIVING OUT YOUR EMAIL TO LESS WEB SITES MARKETERS AND THIRD PARTIES A BAD IDEA?

And it's in your face all the time.
IT APPEARS AS A CHOICE *ONLY WHEN* YOU ARE DECIDING IF YOU WANT TO GIVE YOUR EMAIL TO A NEW SITE.

Abine is constantly watching what you type.
NOPE. THE ADD-ON KNOWS ONLY IF YOU ARE CLICKING INTO AN EMAIL FIELD.

WE WELCOME ANY ADDITIONAL QUESTIONS AND YOU CAN ALWAYS REACH US IN SUPPORT WITH ANY TECHNICAL ISSUES OR PRIVACY QUESTIONS.

DoNotTrackMe and sheldon in the big bang theory Rated 2 out of 5 stars

ABINE is clearly impervious to the almost continuous, constructive, positive and kindly feedback, and intransigently refuses to redesign it's add-on, but stolidly, perhaps in part with the mentality of a bureaucrat, refuses to change

THEIR replies, and those of the legion of "supporters", who curiously pop-up at the opportune moment, seem simply ensnared by their egos, and impervious to sound feedback

I see comparison with sheldon from "the big bang theory" tv series

EXAMPLES of add-ons i like, which are easy to use, and configure, and in which their designers incorporate consttuctive feedback into redesigns are flagfox, noscript and removeitpermanently

I'M not using DNTMe currently

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.1038.1-signed).  This user has 3 previous reviews of this add-on.

Dear Sir

We listen to all the feedback, and take it very very seriously. We respond to all of it and take action on the constructive feedback. We're looking into what to redesign to make it easier for people to change their settings and see exactly what they want.
We try very hard to listen and to make things that you and everyone want. Your particulary feedback on how you'd specifically like DNTME redesigned can be sent directly to the CEO - rob at abine dot com. #nobeaurocrazy.

Does what it's supposed to Rated 5 out of 5 stars

The add-on blocks trackers. I don't understand why people are moaning about the messages for the email or phone masking as it is easy to disable them globally via <settings> then look under <global defaults>. Personally I only need the basic tracking protection.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.1038.1-signed). 

I can't stand this product anymore wtf! Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I don't see any way to disable the popups, and there is no "LARGE SETTINGS link to control email masking". All I get when I go there is an option to pay for more crap I don't want, when all I want to do is TURN THE EMAIL POPUP OFF! So I am also ready to give up on DoNotTrackMe. Why they had to hobble such a great product like this is beyond me.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.1038.1-signed). 

Hello vincecooks,

There is a way to turn off the popups in DNTMe. Click your DNTMe icon and select Settings in the top right hand corner of the popup. Beneath "global defaults" toggle off "don't track my email". This will stop the popups from occurring.

seems great Rated 4 out of 5 stars

I enjoy the privacy of not being tracked. I had blocked over almost right after 1,000 after downloading because I read a lot of news online and these sites have crazy amounts of trackers. I don't want my political views based on what I read somehow collected or inferred by data tracking companies!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.1038.1-signed). 

Hi narutogamer,

Great to hear you're enjoying DoNotTrackMe! Thanks for your feedback :)

It used to be good and now it's as annoying as the ads Rated 1 out of 5 stars

There is no way to turn off the mask my email popup through the settings. Why are you shoving this feature down our throats? Your email address is easily stolen by anyone you have ever emailed being hacked. So this is a pretty useless feature to start with. Plus, how safe is it to route our emails through you or anybody else for that matter? That seems to be a larger risk than a spammer knowing my email address.

Since the settings for this addon are worthless and they require you to create an account to even access them, I found a work around to turn off the mask my email feature. Get adblocker plus addon (if you don't already have it). Next get the Element Hiding Helper for Adblock Plus addon. Then go to a page that causes the mask my email popup to appear. Finally, in the adblocker settings pick "Select an element to hide", pick the mask my email box, and change the "Bind to domain" to apply to "Any Domain". Now the mask my email popup will be blocked on every page it tries to appear.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.1038.1-signed). 

Incorrect information

Dear FreedySam20,
1. Simply click on the LARGE SETTINGS link to control email masking. If there was some problem, please restart your browser or contact us in support.
2. We don't quite understand your comment about people you have corresponded with getting their email addresses hacked. Spammers, data collectors, and identity thieves need to associate your real email *with* online activity. Using private masked emails makes solid sense to protect your privacy and to limit spam.

Used to be Decent Rated 2 out of 5 stars

Seems like it does it's job well, but the constant popups make it almost as bad as the stuff it's supposed to be blocking. I don't want the "hide your email" stuff, nor hiding my credit card number, etc. Go back to simple.

I understand the danger of email tracking, but I also understand that I already have autofill software for forms I want to use -- LastPass -- and I don't want all my information stored in yet another service. I tried to figure out how to turn all of this stuff off, but -- honestly, why should I be forced to turn them off? And why should I watch an advertisement while I'm putting in my cc number? Oh, I can turn it off, but since DNT apparently stores stuff in settings I clear every time I exit FF, it forgets my settings constantly.

It's a bit ironic that a "privacy program," would store information about me in this way.

Just block trackers, and leave the rest alone -- unless you're going to try and compete with something like LastPass in its entirity -- and then, let me see the total package side by side, rather than bugging me to buy one service here, and another service there, and...

I've switched to something else to get rid of the annoyances of this new update. DNT is yesterday's software at this point.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.1038.1-signed). 

hi Russ

Thanks for your critical feedback. We respect it and understand your desire for simplicity. We are actually trying to be simple: allow your browsing, your email, phone, and credit card #'s not to be tracked. That's it. We believe not giving out this personal information is JUST AS important as blocking web trackers... which is why both free features are on by default.

One click on the interface should show you a SETTINGS link where you can control all the settings.
Did you try this and have it get "cleared" off during your next session? If so, please report this to us.
You should be able to use LastPass alongside DNTMe by the way.

New version is bloated nonsense. Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Like many others, I'm also uninstalling with the "upgrade" to the latest version. This addon got way out of control with all the annoying popups and other "helpful" features. Guess what? I don't need you to block half my screen every time I enter a credit card number with a link to some Forbes articles about stolen credit cards. Also, if I click "never show again", it doesn't do anything. I looked all over settings to try and disable this nonsense and there is nothing to be found. I already have Firefox set to forget any forms I fill out, so I don't need you to be blocking anything.

It is such a shame to see addons start to bloat themselves to this nagware type activity to upgrade. I suppose everyone needs to make a buck, so hopefully it all works out for you, but you've lost me until you can get back to basics.

EDIT:
I appreciate the prompt reply. As for filing a complaint, I already uninstalled. That said, I'm on Win7, most current Firefox release, and most current version of the add on (all set to auto update). When I clicked "never again" it just didn't do anything. Clicking on the credit card box still brought up the popup.

As for the settings, they aren't exactly straight forward, but until now I was able to do whatever I needed to do (e.g., disable the annoying email popup--again, Firefox is set to handle this, I don't need your help).

My main complaint is that your software used to be in the background, quietly doing its thing. All of the sudden, it's giving me more popups than the advertisers I'm trying to block, and no clear way to disable. Clearly there is a problem here.

I'm a bit of a power user, so perhaps I'm not your target audience with all these features and hand holding. I wish you luck, but I've already installed another highly recommended addon to do the same as yours, and so far it appears to be working quietly in the background, just as it should.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.1038.1-signed). 

Balance and settings

Thanks for your feedback, while negative, it's appreciated and helpful. A few comments:
1. If you clicked "never show again" and you EVER saw another message like that, please please file a complaint with support (that'll let us investigate what browser, OS, and version you have)
2. because of your complaint, we're removing all of this until we can find the source of the bug.
3. were you able to control the other SETTINGS easily? we've tried to make the settings very clear and simple. maybe you could suggest how we can improve?
4. lastly, we are very sensitive to the maintaining a streamlined efficient build and program. we are trying to design software that makes it EASY NOT TO BE TRACKED. the email feature, as an example, should show up instantly, only when you're about to give out your personal email address, and give you a disposable email address only when you want one.
Finally, yes, we have to make money, but we believe unless you pay for the product you ARE the product. In this sense, our $5/month premium service is 100% aligned with privacy. Our free users get everything from version 2 and more... with no limits. But our premium users can keep their phones and credit cards private. Which we think is pretty cool. Again, appreciate your feedback. We realize we have bugs to fix and work to do.

Mixed recommandation ... Rated 3 out of 5 stars

I write an updated review :

This add-in seems to be more complicated since the latest update (3.1) because when i try to give a "Masked E-mail address", inscriptions on website can't be realized because the e-mail to confirm my subscription won't be send to my real Box-mail... At least I don't understand anything ...
=> Perhaps translated versions of the add-in would be greater to understand how does it works exactly !! :)

Moreover, it expects any modification in our profile on Skype.com once that we're connected : we must disable it (start again the browser, reload Skype.com... grr) to modify ("editing") any personal information. Then re-activate DNTM and reload the browser...
I originally reported the bug in the Skype's forum and moderators suggested me it was DNTM which prevented any modification : it appears a '#' at the end of the URL, and nothing happens...

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.1038.1-signed).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Used to be good Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Used to be good, easy to configure and use.
now its a total piece of junk.

You require to constantly go to a website to manage your options.. this is unacceptable.
Also the options not always work, you most of the time cant go to change these options! their page just asks you to register again and again.

Also despite turning off the email filtering.. It is still annoying me with the dumb "mask your email'.

Farewell DoNotTrackMe, You converted into something you supposedly were used to avoid.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.1038.1-signed). 

Privacy, configurations

Hi Cesar,
Sorry you didn't like the private email feature. What didn't you like, specifically, about it? That would help us improve? Millions of people are using it to stop spam and keep their email private from wherever they choose.
Please contact us in support and let us know.
Lastly, we never "converted into something" different. We're doing 100% privacy and are 100% dedicated to YOUR privacy. Always have been, always will be.
Sorry you didn't like the new features.

The previous version was good Rated 3 out of 5 stars

This one, not so much.

For one thing, it has lost the intuitive feel of the previous versions.
For another, some of the trackers are enabled by default (especially Brightcove).
And the 'Send anonymous data' option should not be enabled by default - defeats the whole purpose of the extension; its like swapping trackers from the advertisers to Abine. Not everyone will click the Settings button.

Slightly disappointing, because I was raving about this extension to everyone in December.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.1038.1-signed). 

Trackers and configurations

Hi there,
Thanks for your constructive feedback. Here are a few answers / comments:
- can you be more specific about how this has lost intuitive feel? it should function the same way as previous version - better - in fact.
- trackers enabled as suggestions are because we can't block them consistently without breaking major functionality on sites. it takes 1 click to keep them blocked if you prefer.
- the send anonymous data simply gives us usage reporting, nothing more, nothing less. Do you still think we should have it only opt-in? We respect your opinion but disagree that is like swapping trackers from advertisers.
What can we do to get you back raving about DNTME? we're working very hard to try and do the right things.
Thanks.

HORRIBLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Needed? Yes, something like this anyway. But you cannot control the %^(%(^%%^% thing. EVERY time I try to log into an email account this damnned thing fills in some non-sense. That's annoying enough, but you can't stop it unless you disable the entire thing. If I've got to disable it why not just uninstall it. Seriously, find something else. This is GARBAGE!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.1037.1-signed). 

That's a lot of exclamation points

Dear Baba Reeves,
Are you aware that your email address is very easy to track?
The private email feature is easy to turn on and off, just click settings.
The "nonsense" that is being filled in when you click mask your email is a PRIVATE EMAIL ADDRESS, just for you. this email forwards to your real email address, which you can block anytime. It is also 100% FREE.
We're sorry you didn't like the feature, which we worked really really hard on and which was the #1 requested addition to the product.
If you'd prefer to disable the extension than the feature, well, that's your choice.

Superb + extensible Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I discovered this recently and have come to rely on it at least a few times a week - beyond the ads it's blocking for me. Whenever I sign up on a site where I might suspect them of spamming me, I use a disposable email now. I find I've actually done this a few times this week. Surprisingly easy. Caveat: sometimes the email window does not come up for me as expected. I suppose this is because the software is new?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.1037.1-signed). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

So far so good alot easier to use than the avg tool bar

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.1037.1-signed). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Intriguing new features. I think this adds basic VPN capabilities for better privacy. My suspicion is that I'm now not tracked by my IP but not sure. The email is fun to use but took me a while to figure out. Should be better explained up front.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.1037.1-signed). 

Annoying Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Previous versions were good,but this is damn annoying. Biggest gripe is websites not remembering my phone number via autofill when DoNotTrackMe is installed. I have had to uninstall this add-on. Unbelievable how something that was so good,is now so bad.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.1037.1-signed). 

Hello -

Our apologies for the frustration this has caused you. This is a bug in the product and certainly not intentional, and we have passed this on to our engineering team as a high priority fix.

DoNotTrackMe 3 does have logic related to form fields because of new features we added: Masked Emails, Masked Phones, and Masked Cards. These are powerful privacy features that in our testing proved very popular amongst our users. Obviously not everyone will enjoy these features (though we encourage everyone to try Masked Emails - which is free and a great way to be more private online). If you want, you can easily turn these new features off under "Global Defaults" in "Settings". You did unfortunately run into a bug that made these features disruptive to you, and as mentioned we hope to get it fixed asap.

Have a happy new year!

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

excellent add-on. didn't have it previously but works alongside AB+ nicely. browsing feels noticeably faster.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.1.1037.1-signed).