BLUR is the clear choice for ... Rated 1 out of 5 stars

... people who like overworked products that regularly interfere with normal browsing and who want an overload of mostly unnecessary features that can't be turned off even when you don't want them. John Galt has it absolutely right with his review. This used to be a nice add-on, now I'm uninstalling it.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Dear T-Mon, please be specific so we can understand your feedback

T-Mon,
while we appreciate every review including yours as it gives us a sense of what some users feel, it really doesn't help us or other users much unless you're more specific. for example, can you name one feature that you couldn't turn off? two? what did you do to try to turn them off? this would help us a LOT to improve.
secondly, if you think features like password management and credential masking are "unecessary" please let us know why. thanks!

The worst Abine product to date, should still be in Beta Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Everytime Abine releases a new product and "upgrades" the old, the features and usability just get worse and worse. I will only refer to the Password Manager in Blur, because it is so broken I can't get past it to use any other features. I originally started using the password manager in Privacy Suite many years ago, then I was forced to switch to DoNotTrackMe, now I'm stuck with this hideous add-on called Blur, which I will uninstall once I find an alternative password manager.

1. Password are not protected by a password. This seems pretty obvious as it was the case with previous versions, but not with Blur! Close the browser and reopen and Blur automatically starts working, without the need to enter a Blur password. This is exactly why I don't use Chrome's password manager. You can also view every password the account list with out entering a Blur password, again just ridiculous.

2. Blur doesn't update incorrect passwords automatically, nor does it give the option to delete an incorrect password immediately like previous versions had. You must go into your password list to edit/remove/save a password manually.

3. Abine support is the worst I've ever encountered, emails go unanswered for weeks and they intentionally omit issues from their FAQs. There reps that respond to these reviews are uninformed and often rude. There is no way to contact support from individual product pages or faqs, only through the main Abine.com - contact us general mailbox.

In short Blur is not convenient, it is not intuitive, it is much more complicated that previous versions.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Responses to your issues 1-3

Dear Beenjammin,
thanks for your critical and usefule feedback. on (1) you can go into settings- advanced and change the re-check password settings to whatever you desire.

2. could you be a little more specific about what is going wrong here with updating incorrect passwords? that would help us fix it.

3. we invest heavily in our support staff and are working through a large queue where premium customers are serviced first. most support emails or chats are answered within 24 hours during the business week.

Please keep the feedback coming, we will get things straightened out.

Necessary tool for privacy Rated 4 out of 5 stars

The tracker blocker from the old TACO extension is still great and the new features from merging DoNotTrackMe and MaskedMe make it an all in one privacy tool.

Ever wondered which website is leaking your email to annoying webmarketers ? With Blur, it's ancient history. I use it everyday and can't imagine registering to a new website without it. Easy, efficient and well integrated, you can create new masked email in a second and block annoying newsletters even faster.

Only 3 things missing, Text message and Masked cards for France and a better protection for accounts (2 factor identification) and you'll get my fifth star.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Once great, but sold its soul to the marketing department Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I got DoNotTrackMe because it did exactly what I want - it ran, and stopped trackers, and didn't fuss about it. Unfortunately, the new Blur "services" are now completely, 100%, profit-motivated - which is fair enough, that's their right, I guess, but this feels more like a blatant cash-in on a once free service than anything.

Why the **** am I being forced to create an account for Blur? They put a "why the **** do I need to create an account" button on the widget, but the only answer they provide to that question is "because our new services are so awesome that you'll love them."

They also address the "I just want to block trackers" issue that has come up in all of the one-star reviews. The response boils down to: "The internet is so scary and dangerous that you need to trust us to take care of it for you."

That's great, but if your new services are truly so awesome, then you shouldn't need to force us to sign up for them. If this was truly a move in your existing users' best interest, as you claim, then you wouldn't need a "why do I need to do this" page filled with marketing spin.

Again, corporations exist to make money, and I'm fine with the freemium Blur service existing, but I take exception with the sort of bait-and-switch you've pulled -- the attempt to strong-arm old users into becoming new customers by hiding the single feature they signed up for behind a whole bunch of other stuff that they're not allowed to refuse.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Great feedback and thanks for raising these issues

Look, we appreciate you raising these issues. We do. The very first answer to your question and accusation about bait-n-switch is:
1. You can still block trackers automatically without creating an account or doing anything - right out of the box. And, this is 100% FREE.

2. As we said in the explanation of our product features that require an account or paid account, for these features to work at all, this is required. As we also said, and this is not the typical "marketing department speak" if you only want a tracker blocker and nothing else to protect your privacy, go use a different free product.
3. For you and everyone out there who wants only free software - consider that when you get that, you are the product and someone somewhere is paying for your data. To make a strong privacy product, you need a strong privacy company, transparent, and funded by its users. That is what we're trying to create.

Painless transition Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Not sure why people are having problems. I had no transition issues at all. From my perspective, it's just been a name change.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Very nice extension! Thank You very mush!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Rough! Needs LOTS more work! Rated 2 out of 5 stars

Definitely not ready for prime time. #1 I do not appreciate being forced to switch to Blur. It has taken me the better part of two days to get things running halfway right. Not at all a painless process. They should have gotten the bugs worked out BEFORE forcing this thing on us. I am seriously considering bailing out for another method of keeping track of log-ins. My computer is way locked down and I do not use multiple computers, mobile phones, tablets or any other type of device. I still use a flip phone and do NOT plan to change. I'll give this Blur thing a while longer but I'm not holding my breath on this.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Dear JohnRB, our apologies

Please contact us in support and we'll do our best to make up the bad experience you've had with the transition and give you coupons for free / discounted service for syncing. Thanks!

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I don't need ''Do not track me'' and premium features like ''phones and cards'' are not supported in my country. What should I pay for?! - Dropbox sync? Bring back "mask me" with normal sync!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Dear stranger

We apologize and understand your critique from MaskMe to Blur. Please contact us and we'll make it up to you with free / discounted premium service.

Extreme Dissapointment Rated 1 out of 5 stars

This used to be a good add-on... But a recent update changed it from the simple 'donottrack' feature into a monstrous, heavy, annoying plugin known only as 'blur'.

I can't seem to make it behave the way I want it to... Which is, simply put, to stay in the background and do its work. Instead, it pops up on every page announcing that it's now known as 'Blur' and there is no way for me to turn this off... It's really frustrating me because my laptop is very slow, and this makes it even slower.

It's become extremely unusable and completely in the way. Where can I contact customer support so I can yell at them?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

That popup was a bug that has since been resolved. Please uninstall your version of Blur and reinstall with this link: http://link.abine.com/dntme-firefox-latest . The support contact is support at abine dot com.

Rated 2 out of 5 stars

Doesn't seem to cause any issues, but I have yet to see how useful the add-on really is. I will probably be uninstalling it later after using it a bit more to see.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Used this before when it was DNTM, doesn't look so good now unfortunately :/

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Hi Lulu - if you have any specific questions, concerns, or feedback, please email me : olivia at abine dot com. Thanks!

Very disappointed with Blur and uninstalled it. Rated 1 out of 5 stars

DoNotTrackMe was a good addon... it will be missed.
Uninstalled Blur and won't be using it.
I will stick with the Ghostery and Priv3 addons.

edit:
would also recommend
https://www.eff.org/privacybadger

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

No longer usable -- going back to an old version for now Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I'm glad to see Abine is at least responding to people about this, but for now there are too many problems with the add-on. I'm greatly alarmed by reports that it isn't blocking as much as it used to, but more than that I'm bothered by the ways it actively interferes with my browsing experience.

The "mask your e-mail" popup appears in practically every other text field I use, to constant annoyance; I don't know if that's still happening since I figured out how to supposedly disable them. But much worse is if you post in a forum that uses message numbers; the "mask your credit card" popup, which CAN'T BE DISABLED, comes up incessantly. I don't have masking turned on; Blur just wants to remind me it's a service I can pay for, even though it has zero relevance to the particular field I'm typing in. The frustration index of this add-on has become very high in just the last few days.

I appreciated what DoNotTrackMe did to eliminate a number of trackers. If it's not doing that as well anymore (the jury's still out, but that seems to be the consensus), there's no reason to use it at all. When it actively gets in the way of what I'm trying to do, forget it, The quality of the add-on has fallen off remarkably after what should have been a simple name change.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Thanks for your review and I'm sorry to hear you're no longer satisfied with Blur. The Masked Email panel can be turned off from Settings of your Blur extension. Regarding the Masked Card panel, if it's popping up where it shouldn't be, that's definitely a bug that we'd love to hear more specifics about. You can email or chat with support here to contact our team: https://abine.com/support.html

Regarding the trackers, we are still blocking as many trackers as we once did. If you are noticing the number blocked is a lot less, please reinstall with this link: http://link.abine.com/dntme-firefox-latest

Disapointed Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I liked DNTM as it worked fine the way it was, the mask emails etc was good. Now with blur it stops very little to no trackers. I downloaded the new version 4.5.1335 and it is no better then the old one from a couple of weeks ago. I use last pass to protect my passwords & adblock plus to block pop up ads, so did not need all the extra stuff that was added to blur. Because DNTM was so good I am going to give them a week or two to go back to DNTM or fix blur so it works as good. If not I will join the long list of people that are dumping this app.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Hello - we hope to be able to fix the issue you're referring to. Would you email me : olivia at abine dot com so I can help you get to the bottom of this issue? Thanks!

You either die a hero or see yourself become the villain. This addon took the second path. Rated 1 out of 5 stars

DoNotTrackMe was supposed to block tracking and in effect prevent ad creators from making a complete profile of it's user. That's all I ever wanted. Now it requires me to give my e-mail adress to "create aliases for logging in into pages". Which means they want to know every page I log into. Which means I could as well log in with Facebook. Uninstalling this piece of garbage now.

EDIT: As the number of one star reviews might suggest people DON'T WANT a one-stop tool. They wanted an alternative to Ghostery. Well, think whatever you want.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Feel free to uninstall DoNotTrackMe. We are not recording the wesbites that you go to. We have added features to DNTme to allow users to have more privacy online. It is no longer a simple tracker blocker, it is now your one-stop privacy tool online.

DoNotTrackMe now Blur completely lost the plot Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Used DoNotTrackme for quite some time. But now it's time to let it go. Since it is called Blur it's packed with interference which makes me think Blur is keep track on everything what I do.
And there seems no easy way to adjust the settings. Now it wants to store passwords. That was one step to much. Blur went over the line and I de-installed it. Shame on you Abine for making a nice plug-in such a pain. Sometimes less is more. Bye.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Sorry to hear that you've uninstalled Blur / DoNotTrackMe. Any features that you do not want to use can be turned off when you click Settings from your extension. We don't mean to make it a pain, we are simply trying to make an extension that allows our users to be as private on the web as possible.

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Tons of features we haven't demanded for. All we need is the simple interface and just blocking trackers!

To block the trackers this seems to be enough: https://adblockplus.org/en/features#tracking

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Hello - we have added additional features that are meant to keep your online experience as private as possible. The add-on is no longer a simple tracker blocker, but we have added some great new features, like the ability to mask your personal information online. Our goal is to provide an add-on that is one stop shopping for all things privacy.

Rated 2 out of 5 stars

Love the addon, but have grown complex! why have you removed the possiblety for me to choose what to block!!! I either have to block everything on NBA.com and not watch videos or choose to be tracked by all and watch videos. Let ME CHOOSE!!!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

You have all the choice you want

You can choose exactly which trackers to block and unblock - same as ever. Please describe what you are trying to do or used to do so we can understand how to help you.

If you ever notice that a website is breaking due to DNTMe / Blur, please feel free to email our support team : support at abine dot com. From there, we will escalate this website to our development team so they can set Blur to automatically unblock the troublesome tracking company on that website.

Upgrade Doesn't Work Too Swift Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I've switched and the password manager doesn't work anymore like it used to with DNTM.

EDIT: I re-installed the plug-in as a last resort and now it's working, but the pop-ups are annoying as hell. Yes, save my pw gotdammit!!!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

I'm glad to hear that it's working. After you've saved your password on a website, we will not ask again. You only have to click Save once on each website and then we will autofill in your information for you!

Why doesn't this block as many trackers as it once did? Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Been using DNTM for a ling time, over 500,000 trackers blocked. Now it would take me a lifetime to get the next 500k. I use to go to HuffPost webpage for example and DNTM would find tons of of trackers, now Blur finds two. Privacy badger finds 20. It is the same on all the heavy tracker sites, it only detects a fraction of what it used to block. This is no longer useful if it is unable to detect the majority of trackers. Let me know when you fix it, I don't install half finished addons.

Edit: You are correct, when I disable one the other finds more. PB finds 15 where Blur finds 10 on HuffPost. No reason not to run them both because together they find more than individually.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Blur blocks the exact same (and growing) # of trackers as DNTME.

If you have more than one tracker blocker installed, DNT / Blur will not block as many trackers as it would if it were installed on its own. That is because if the other add-on has already blocked the tracker, Blur cannot see that that tracker is there, thus it cannot block the tracker. If you uninstall Privacy Badger, you should notice that Blur blocks more trackers than with it installed!