Broken spamware, stay away Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Like the previous reviewers, this plugin has recently taken over my entire browser. Pasting its logo and plugging the services of Abine on every website you visit.

Posted a support request, but no reply. Recommend staying away.

---

UPDATE, POST RESPONSE:
Hello Zach,

If you read more about my review, you might not be so condescending, as lack of knowledge of the mentioned wares are not applicable to your faulty software. I refer you to my extensive bug report, and reminds other readers, that it is NOT TRUE, that the pasted Abine logos can be disabled.

When this add-on is installed on Firefox 30+, a clickable Abine logo will appear in any and all <input> fields online. Whether you disable the premium services or not.

In some cases this external input triggers security alarms. An otherwise secure form in my online bank was edited by Abine, leading to an IP-block from all banking services.

All the best,
Rasmus

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.2.1113.1-signed). 

thanks for your feedback

Hi again -- I do apologize that that response was condescending. The issue you're describing is in fact a bug, and I apologize that Zach overlooked that. If you email me (Olivia at abine dot com), I will provide you with a link to DNTMe that will fix these icons being in the input fields. So sorry about that!

-Olivia

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I don't recommend this. It will take over.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.2.1113.1-signed). 

how can we help?

Hi Jaybah,

Since your review isn't very detailed, it's hard to understand your issue and help you resolve it. I would love to help further. Just let me know any questions or more specific feedback you have.

If you want to chat directly, feel free to email me at zrachins at abine dot com.

Best,
Zach

What Happened? Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Recently stopped working and even their site keeps hijacking me to their other "Mask Me" product. Three virus/malware scans-all NEGATIVE and I'm still getting the same CRAP. NOT a happy camper!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.2.1113.1-signed). 

clearing up your issues

Hey AMoonwolfe,

I'm really sorry that your first experience with DoNotTrackMe was negative. To clear up some confusion, some of what you refer to us as MaskMe features are features that are common with DoNotTackMe as well.

For example, if you read the DNTMe extension description further, you will see that when you encounter an email form that is requesting your email address, we help you provide a disposable email address to protect your real one (instead of giving out your own).

None of these features are malware or harmful to you at all - actually quite the opposite!

It would be great to know where we failed at communicating how the features work so that we can improve DoNotTrackMe for current and future users alike.

You can reach me at zrachins at abine dot com with any questions or if you want to talk further.

Best,
Zach

Why am I seeing a DoNotTrackMe tab? Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I updated Firefox to v31, and after it restarted, a tab opened up with the DoNotTrackMe website (Abine) appearing.

Where the hell did this BS come from? I didn't install any such add-ons. I don't see any Abine or DoNotTrackMe in my add-ons extension list.

Not impressed.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.2.1113.1-signed). 

Hello Tristan -- I'm sorry about that. If you go to tools>>addons>>extensions, you will be able to remove DNTMe from there. Be sure to restart Firefox once you've removed DNTMe.

Great app Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Great app i wish it supported outgoing and incoming text.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.2.1083.1-signed). 

Hi Mike -- glad to hear you're enjoying DNTMe. We plan to add support for outgoing texts in the future, but incoming texts are currently supported! If you're having issues receiving texts, please email our support staff (support at abine dot com) and they will be able to help you further.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Realy excellent tool it blocks the anoying advertisement company;s wich would snake into your websurfing behaviour with showing you advertisement from the company,i also realy like the mask e-mail feature and free of charge,and i just expeirenced that if i subscribed to a online service Abine shows you automaticly an option to mask your e-mail adres for other people or just use your default e-mail adres you prefer to use wich you previously have added at the setup at the mask e-mail option settings page.
Awesome guys for this fantastic tool keep up the good work!!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.2.1083.1-signed). 

Gutes Add-On, funktioniert aber nicht vollständig international / Good add-on but it don't works internationally Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Ein sehr gutes Add-on zum Blockieren von Trackern und für "Masked emails". Allerdings funktionieren v.a. die Premium-Features nicht in allen Ländern. In Deutschland funktionieren zur Zeit z.B. "Masked Phones" und "Masked Cards" nicht (siehe FAQ: https://dnt.abine.com/#/help/faq).
Es wäre schön wenn die Unterstützung für mehr Ländern eingebaut würde.

It's a very good add-on for blocking trackers and "Masked emails", but many premium features don't work in all countries. E.g. "Masked Phones" and "Masked Cards" don't work in Germany (see FAQ: https://dnt.abine.com/#/help/faq).
It would be nice if the support for more countries will be added.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.2.1083.1-signed). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Used to be a great add-on but recently the developers are requesting for us to register.

What a bunch of crap, a "privacy" add-on that also wants your data. Is that some kind of sick joke?

Disappointed.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.2.1083.1-signed). 

No requirement to register

hi Privox,
Sorry to dissapoint you. We don't require (and never will) any registration to block tracking. Registration is 100% optional.

However, to use the email masking and to protect the privacy of your phone and credit card, yeah, you gotta register. we can't actually proxy the information without having it.

Agreed it's a catch-22 but true "anonymity" is tough. Again, you're free to use without registering. But you can get more privacy at more places by using Masking.

Like - won't allow online banking Rated 4 out of 5 stars

I liked this add-on until I could not navigate properly through the new usbank website. Could log into account, but could not maneuver back and forth between "tabs" or click anything that pulled up a pop-up-like window.

---
In response to Abine below...I didn't realize I could do this! Done, and now things are fine. Thanks!
Tried various things to fix problem, to no avail until I turned off DNTMe.
If a fix is implemented for this kind of problem, I'd acivate this add-on again!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.2.1083.1-signed). 

One click to turn off DNT on any site

Hi there,
sorry about this. Can you open the DNT panel on USbank and simply slide "DoNotTrackMyBrowsing" to OFF? then you can use it on other sites as normal and it will remember this setting each time you visit the bank.

No Answer from Abine Rated 3 out of 5 stars

I wrote them an email and no response since I am a "Free" user . So I gave a review here as I see where they respond to some people. But no one has responded to me . So I have now uninstalled DNTMe and will not recommend it to anyone. Who wants a software when there is no kind of support. Don't get this. There are plenty of alternatives around with much better support.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.2.1083.1-signed).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Support

Hi Jilian,
Sorry you haven't gotten a response yet. We do answer all support requests, but we're struggling to keep up. We feel terrible we lost your confidence - if there is anything we can do to regain it, let us know

Extension causes Firefox to hang Rated 4 out of 5 stars

When launching Firefox or opening a new window (but not a tab), Firefox hangs for 2 to 5 minutes. I have double-checked that it is indeed DNTM that causes it. Please fix it asap. I use the extension every day.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.2.1083.1-signed). 

Issues with new tab

hi Ohnoes,
Could you send this same note into support from inside of DNTM? that way we can make sure your version and everything are logged. thanks.

Annoying Rated 2 out of 5 stars

If I can figure out how to use Ad Block Plus to block the damned popup that appears every time I open a new Web site, I'll come back and rate this higher.

There ARE other ways and other tools. Or is that why the app insists on bragging every time it does what it's supposed to do? Have to show off by advertising?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.2.1083.1-signed). 

settings

hi TJ,
click on the GEAR icon in the settings page, read each setting and decide how you want it to work. each setting is customizable by you.

Boa extensão, muito útil Rated 3 out of 5 stars

As the vast majority of Firefox adons Firefox, more quality. Congratulations to the developer.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.2.1083.1-signed). 

Yahoo is now reporting that DoNotTrack is disabled on it's site.... Rated 4 out of 5 stars

I still appreciate this add-on but it's evidently not working on Yahoo now. Naturally I blame this on Yahoo, but still....

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.2.1083.1-signed).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Yahoo! and "do not track"

Hi there,
Thanks for asking about this. DoNotTrackMe works and protects you on Yahoo! What Yahoo! has said is they will not support the technical standard which is also called "do not track". We realize this is confusing but rest assured, tracking you see on Yahoo! or Yahoo! properties that you decide to block is being blocked.

Re: Yahoo shuts it off Rated 4 out of 5 stars

I saw another reviewer who complained that Yahoo shut off DoNotTrackMe and the response was "Hello -- this message was about the DoNotTrack signals that come from your browser, which is entirely different than DNTMe. DNTMe will still work on Yahoo." However, I just had the same problem and the DNTMe toolbar icon indicated that it WAS allowing tracking on Yahoo. I checked and DNTMe was indeed off for Yahoo because it was 'suggested' by Abine as an okay site. I clicked the blocking back on but it is annoying that the service continues to follow these 'suggestions' even though I specifically disabled the 'suggestions' in the option menu. I'd prefer that the service just block all sites without any exceptions that I don't add myself.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.2.1083.1-signed).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Thanks for letting us know

hi Mike,
Thanks for letting us know about the issues. Our suggestions are not based on saying a site is "ok". Rather, they are meant to make sure everything you click on on that site functions as expected. If you continue to see suggestions after you change your settings and disabled them, please send us a bug report. Thanks!

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I think this is great.

But one question: Does it also block third-party tracking cookies?

My understanding is it blocks the site I'm on, and that's super cool, but I don't see mention of third-party blocking anywhere.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.2.1083.1-signed). 

Yes it blocks 3rd party tracking cookies

It also blocks newer tracking technologies that do not rely on cookies to track you. hope this helps.

Privacy Dashboard Not Working Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Recently, the privacy dashboard stop working all together for no apparent reason. I tried re-installing DTM multiple times to no avail. I can't use any buttons on the dashboard, and for some strange reason, all of the icons are missing as well. Please fix this.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.2.1083.1-signed). 

Fixed a cache problem with our server!

I'm sorry you had a problem, but it should be fixed now. We found that we had a bad version of a file stuck in our infrastructure's cache today.

Everything should be working for you, and please let us know if you have any problems. Email me (Andy) directly at support@abine.com if you see any problems.

We're sorry this happened and we've put changes in place to make sure it can't happen again.

Yahoo Turns It OFF! Rated 3 out of 5 stars

5/1/2014 Today I got a notification in the Chrome browser on Yahoo telling me that Yahoo has turned off DoNotTrackMe for a better experience. WHAT! This was a special notification from Yahoo in one of their notification boxes. Apparently Yahoo has found a way to turn off DoNotTrackMe or the company has configured the software to not function at Yahoo. Which is it? Either way I'm VERY disappointed because it is companies like Yahoo that I don't want to know all about me. They are the ones with the money and talent to exploit my information the most. I need a way to turn on DoNotTrackMe on this site. I want a notification in the settings menu that shows whether the software is enabled on each site I visit. If it isn't then I want to turn it on and save the setting. Please fix this. Thank you for making this software. Now find a way to block web beacons.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.2.1083.1-signed). 

Hello -- this message was about the DoNotTrack signals that come from your browser, which is entirely different than DNTMe. DNTMe will still work on Yahoo.

Very convenient addon, High memory usage in Firefox 29 Rated 4 out of 5 stars

This addon is great for privacy and it's really useful to have throwaway accounts set up so easily.

However, I have to disable it for this new update because it's using about 200 megabytes of memory at startup of Firefox. Or sometimes way more than that, and eats up a ton of memory, severely slowing down the start up, or completely freezing Firefox. I'll keep the rating at a 4 because it's pretty new release of Firefox.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.2.1083.1-signed). 

Hello -- so sorry to hear that! We were not aware of that issue and I will be sure to let our engineering team know. Thanks for your feedback!

Too many problems Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Frequently breaks some websites, and even broke my own website as I was trying to work on it. The popup for email fields is annoying and just gets in the way. Though, the biggest problem I have with it is the fact that you are required to register an account in order to change any settings, which is absurd.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (3.2.1072.1-signed). 

addressing your concerns - sorry for the confusion!

Hey Zauber,

Thanks for your insight on DoNotTrackMe. Admittedly, when you work on the back-end of certain websites (in Drupal or Joomla CMSs, for example), the Mask My Email panels do show up. We're terribly sorry about that, and we recommend you work on your website in a browser that does not have DoNotTrackMe enabled.

However, in terms of other websites, it is extremely helpful for us to know whenever DoNotTrackMe affects the performance of another site. It is usually based on a script / request we are blocking from tracking you, and again, it would be really helpful to know which website it was so that we can have our engineering team look into it.

In terms of the email fields being annoying, you can click on our icon in the top right of Firefox, go to Settings, and click the check mark next to "Don't Track My Email Here" to turn that off (and never see it again on other sites). After you do change that setting, just refresh your browser, and it will go away. To clarify, you do not need to register to change that setting.

Sorry for any confusion, and please let me know if there's anything else I can help with. You can email me personally at zrachins at abine dot com if there's anything I can do.

Best,
Zach