Rated 3 out of 5 stars

I only want it for the "MaskMe" functionality.

I'd say stop trying to also be LastPass. Focus on one thing.

I disabled the LastPass functionality you tried to kindly impose on me. But I wonder how long will it take for you to make it mandatory.

I've seen this same disappointing pattern in many companies.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Hi John Page - thanks for your review and we do appreciate the feedback. First off - we will not mandate the LastPass functionality in Blur in the future.

We've added Password & Account management to Blur so that users do not have to download multiple add-ons to achieve what Blur now offers. With Blur, you only need to install one add-on and manage one user interface to remain private on the internet and a have more convenient (and secure) online experience.

Bye Bye Blur Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I became a fan of Abine when I discovered MaskMe, which was a great product. In fact, it was so good the only reason I created an account here initially was to review that very same add-on (I gave it 5 stars). I was also pleased to discover that Abine was based out of Boston, which being from that area myself automatically earns them some points in my book. I must admit I did not use their DoNotTrackMe add-on, as I had been using something else for the same purpose (which also happens to be firefox for android compatible, a big selling point for me).

When Blur came along to replace MaskMe I have to admit I was at first intrigued, even a bit excited that Abine had something new up their sleeve for us users. How quickly that excitement turned to disappointment upon discovering that there was no longer a free, or even a lower cost sync option for those who do not desire to mask their phones and credit cards (google offers the free services wallet and voice which I am already using for this purpose, but I still respect what Abine is doing with trying to put all these privacy tools in one place).

Putting all that aside, the new software just doesn't work. The transition from my MaskMe account over to Blur failed though I followed instructions to the letter. Thankfully there was live chat support, and a rep told me some MaskMe users were having the same issue and walked me through a manual import (response from the chat rep was quick and helpful, I certainly have no complaints about that part of the process). Once manually imported I had most of my information there in terms of current username/email/password combos, but gone was all the account history that MaskMe so helpfully provided. MaskMe would let you see all the changes you'd made so if anything ever got screwed up for whatever reason you likely had the information handy to best fix it. Blur does not seem to have any kind of history feature, so if you overwrite a username or password with the incorrect info, you're likely locked out of your account unless you can remember what the correct information is or perform a password recovery with your email provider.

Speaking of passwords have I mentioned that several times I have generated passwords with Blur that have simply disappeared into the ether? I can no longer trust that passwords I generate with it will actually be saved anywhere so I am no longer using that feature. Blur also never locks, no matter what settings I set in the preferences, so anyone that opens my browser can navigate to my blur dashboard and see all my info. It doesn't matter what the timeout is set to, if the browser is closed/opened, it never locks, ever.

I have used the link Abine keeps commenting with here to update the add-on to the latest version many times, but nothing ever seems to be fixed. Currently I am on 4.6.1404 but I've had these problems with every version since the transition.

Oh, I almost forgot that with Blur, Abine is also injecting their own advertisements into your search results. If there's anything my internet experience has been lacking it's more ads! I have 9 days left on my premium trial, which means 9 days to get my info out of Blur and into... well, anything has to be better than this.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Oops Rated 2 out of 5 stars

Been using DNT+ for over a year and loved it. Was beginning to use Blur's password generating and remembering. Started a new USPS account, had Blur originate and make a secure password. Blur now doesn't remember the password that I've never seen! That's a mega-fail and a deal breaker for me. AND you cannot ask a question on their help page of the Albine website--you only get to read FAQs, which are only thinly disguised advertisements. I know I'm not the only one who has had Blur make a password that later Blur would not remember but nary a question in the FAQs, forcing me to do a lowball review here for possible answers. Maybe two stars is too many. Sorry.

I was ready to install it on my Android phone. Not doing that now until I get some answers.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Hi Rockin Robbins - I'd agree, that is a mega-fail. When you go back to sign into USPS does Blur autofill the information for you on that page despite it not being on the accounts page?

Also, I have just tested this on my own by creating an account on USPS and it did save. There is a chance that you do not have the newest version of Blur installed and I'd suggest you'd upgrade here: http://link.abine.com/dntme-firefox-latest . Hopefully that will help with USPS.

We are aware that the product is not perfect, but I can assure you we do hear our users feedback and we hope to improve Blur enough that you like it as much as you did DNT. Thank for your feedback.

It was good while it lasted. Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Like others I've been using Abine DNT for a while until this latest, greatest, update. I'm uninstalling it. Here's why: It has gone from blocking trackers to BEING a tracker, with the added bonus of annoying pop-ups (so retro!) .... pop-ups that you can't readily disable. It's literally a retrograde step in almost every imaginable way though I'm sure Blur will find a way to finish breaking the bits it missed in this revision. I don't want pop-ups and I don't want fancy. I want a solid, unobtrusive tracker blocker *running in the background* with granular control. What DNT is now is an intrusive eyesore. Textbook progression: Started out great, ideas people get involved, maybe a little VC and POW, it's ruined. It was good while it lasted.

edit: Reading back through the reviews it seems that Blur is right and everyone else is wrong and it's our fault because 'we don't get it' Riiiight.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

DO NOT INSTALL if you dont like Albine, a private company, to know all about your movements. Albine demands that you have an account, the pest you with popups about premium and they claim its better if I trust them with my creditcard, email, passwords, and blur doesnt prevent ads as DoNotTrackMe. Delete if you allready have it. Give us DNTM and Mask-me back.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

From Privacy Suite to Maskme to Blur Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I have been with Abine ever since I encountered Privacy Suite. The move to Maskme worked perfectly. DNT worked well; mind you, in combination with other anti-tracking add-ons.

But the sudden move to Blur - what a shambles. I lost all my 200+ accounts. For a split second they appeared in Blur, the next time I logged in a couple of seconds later: empty!. I had to MANUALLY enter every single one - thank you, Abine, cost me half a working day!
That was when i started looking for a replacement and found LastPass. Works well. It was the first thing that came up, I had heard of it before, so I went for it. When I have time (to waste) I may look into other options and compare. But I shouldn't have to do that, right?

Now, a couple of days ago, logging in to Blur, i got this message about the promo code for ex-maskme users to upgrade to Premium. Okay, why not, for the masked phones and credit card feature, a reduced rate for ever, why not.

Guess what? Today I am trying to buy Premium and the promo code "IS INVALID".

Thank you, Abine, for making it crystal clear - I shouldn't have bothered.
A company that gives less than two months notice before retiring a product and screwing up the transition process?

It was nice while it lasted but it is over.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Great Product Rated 5 out of 5 stars

So far so good! I'm not one to make a lot of changes but I must say I am pleased to recommend this product. Blur is very easy to use and I must say the technical support team is exceptional. I recently ordered a package and mistakenly entered the billing address as the shipping address. My package went to Blur HQ by mistake. The Blur staff contacted me and assisted in getting the package sent to the correct delivery address. What can I say, the customer service is exceptional. Thanks guys, keep up the good work!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Hi Joe- thanks so much for your review!

Listen to the Bad reviews. Rated 2 out of 5 stars

I migrated from Maskme and lost half of my data, not to mention I am locked out of masked emails in mask me so I can't go back and view my old data. I will keep what I have left of maskme until it plays out and then uninstall. Sometimes change is not better. Blur will probably be ok for new users but for me it has caused nothing but problems. I am a long time user of Donottrackme and Maskme and both were great addons. Goodbye Abine! I'm outta here!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Great for preventing tracking, but I used to have DoNotTrackMe and MaskMe. Supposedly, Blur combined those two products into one.

Blur does provide a list of companies from which it is supposedly blocking tracking cookies, but doesn't provide me with the total number of cookies blocked like DoNotTrackMe did. Far worse, however, is that Blur only imported part of my opayq emails and MaskMe generated passwords list and I'm now blocked from accessing MaskMe due to having Blur installed. Worst of all, I am unable to create any new opayq email addresses or passwords through Blur. I was planning on upgrading to get the blocked phone numbers feature (a paid annual subscription) in January, but now that there are so many issues, I'm looking for a new service -- one that actually works. WAY too many glitches!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Hello - thanks for your feedback here and I'm sorry to hear you're not enjoying Blur as much as MaskMe / DNT.

Blur does tell you how many trackers you've blocked, but in a different way than DNT did. You can see the number of individual trackers on a page from the number on the icon. If you'd like to see your total trackers, it can be found at the bottom of the extension interface.

Regarding the partial information transferred, did you sync your information immediately before you migrated from MM to Blur? If so, we can revert you back to MM to complete the migration once again. If you'd email support (at) abine (dot) com, our support staff will be able to assist you further.

And if you're unable to create Masked Emails, that is definitely a mistake. If you'd try to upgrade your version through this link, that should fix the problem: http://link.abine.com/dntme-firefox-latest

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Do Not Track Me was great. Blur is awful. Not recommended.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Love this Add on! Rated 4 out of 5 stars

This add on works great. It keep 3rd parties from following you and collecting your data and does not seem to interfere with the way sites operate like some other add ons do. Love it.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Thanks for the great review! Happy to hear you love Blur and we appreciate your support.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Review edited to add that I was apparently using a buggy version. Bad behavior was apparently fixed by updating, My rating will be changed from two to five stars.

I really liked Do Not Track Me. It was a five star add on.

Blur has too many nag screens trying to get you to purchase it's services. Even after I have set Blur not to Mask My Credit Cards it asks me every time if I want to mask my cards. Blur asks me to mask my cards on fields that are not asking for my credit card number. I haven't purchased any of the paid portions of this add on. I see a value in having them if they functioned.

I really can't tell if Blur is malfuntioning or just trying to get money from me.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Hi Gary F - Thanks for your review, and sorry about the nag screens you're seeing in Blur.

If you've turned off the Masked Card feature, we definitely should not be asking if you'd still like to mask your card, and for that, I apologize. There was a bug in an older version of Blur, that has since been fixed. Please reinstall with this link: http://link.abine.com/dntme-firefox-latest. That should make that setting stick.

Blur is blurry Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I have been a long time user of MaskMe and loved the product. Blur not so much...yes it still saves my passwords but since I wont pay for a subscription I cant see the list like I have in the past with MaskMe. At first I thought it was an issue with the addon so I un-istalled and reinstalled...no help.

While I think the idea is good, I cant help but wonder if they are forcing me to pay to see me passwords.

My advance to current MaskMe, dont switch. New users wait until this plays out and Blur gets it act together. It was and can be still a great add on.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Hi Michael S - Thanks for your review and I'm sorry to hear you don't like Blur as much as MaskMe. That said, I'm not too sure what you mean when you say that you are unable to see your passwords unless you pay for a subscription. Password & Account management is a free feature, but Syncing your information in Blur is a premium feature, where it wasn't in MaskMe.

We have, however, enabled a premium subscription for existing MaskMe users that costs just $12 and is good for life. You should have received an email about this before you left your review. If you did not and would like to redeem this, please email me and I'll set you up with a code : olivia at abine dot com. Thanks!

Started to take over my browsing Rated 1 out of 5 stars

It was working fine doing the do not track me job. Then it started popping up to save email - password - address and Credit card info. I didn't ask for any of that - so I uninstalled it.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Password manager and private payments versus just tracker blocking

Blur users are free to use Blur as a "do not track" tool only - by turning off the password manager and private payments features. There are other free tools in the market to do just tracker blocking. Ironically, unless you try and do the other things that Blur offers like using different email addresses and not always using your real credit card, you will still be tracked easily even if you do block web-trackers. That is why we built Blur as a simple all-in-one solution. We believe we are right to do this - some users will figure this out early, and some only later. Thanks!

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

So far so good.

Blur support staff has been responsive and helpful with directions on shifting accounts — with all "MaskMe account data export/import Blur" flowing well for me. In my experience thus far — over past several years — Abine is a top shelf security outfit. The only issues experienced to date were prior to the re-brand, and had more to do with Mac OS-Chrome compatibility than with MaskMe — though I really would have appreciated a MaskMe/Safari option from Abine had there been one . Recent switch back to Firefox has been impressive — with Blur and Firefox playing nicely together on Mac OS. Many thanks to Abine for great products and service. Keep it up!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Do Not Install is a better name Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Echoing the other people on how this product has been ruined with bloat and "get premium" crap. All I wanted was to not be tracked. Period.

Deleted.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

If all you want is to not be tracked

use tracking blocking along with masked emails, masked phones, and masked credit cards along with unique passwords for your accounts. Period.

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Absolutely THE WORST! Why do you think people will want this? You took a perfectly good, working application, added a tremendous amount of unnecessary bloat, required a login and have made this addon itself a veritable pest.

I'm very aware you can go to settings and uncheck all the popups but why even do that? Why not set it that way in the first place? I know! Its to show us how wonderful and on top of things Blur has become! Go on, tell us how its much better for us to keep our settings via the cloud where we need and should always be logged into Blur's control panel or whatever you call it. Enough already! If you're going for a pay model or moving in a new direction, simply say so! Stop using smoke and mirrors to try and hide the fact you want to charge for this.

Now YOU decide what I can and cannot block? There was NO option yesterday to block a certain Facebook tracker and I was forced to take Blur's "suggestion" not to track it. How about no?

Noticed I now have only a 30-day trial to use what was previously free. Won't happen and there will be alternatives soon. If not, let this be a shout out to those who can write an easy, non-intrusive anti-tracking app without all the nonsense Blur has added to this.

My eyes are going Blurry with all the "new and improved" features this app has acquired. Thanks but no thanks!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Thanks!

Thanks for your critique Herman,

We're not hiding that we want to charge for the app's premium features (generally $3-4 per month) and that Blur goes beyond tracker blocking into password management and private payments.
Your information that "we decide" what you can and can't block is incorrect. YOU decide and YOU control all settings.

The fact that some users want only a free tracker blocker is fine, we respect that. As we've said before, you are free to use Blur in this fashion or to use another product. These don't do anything close to enough to provide good online privacy and security - THAT is why we think people will want Blur. Thanks for your critical feedack anyway.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Its the best app ever

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Problem! Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Locking may not work after last update. Mozilla 34.0. What to do?
http://d1p4fa0g2cgyhv.cloudfront.net/images/web-v2/donottrackme/screenshots/suggestions3.png

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

If you are unable to change that from "Allowed" to "Blocked", please uninstall & reinstall Blur through this link: http://link.abine.com/dntme-firefox-latest . That should fix the issue!

Finally had to delete it Rated 2 out of 5 stars

This was once a very useful extension, but since becoming 'Blur', it's pretty much just become a pain in the ass. Where it once stayed out of the way until you needed it, it now pops up all the time. On everything. Even on sites I had told it to ignore. Today I reached my limit. I deleted the extension and my account.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed).