Very disappointed with Blur and uninstalled it. Rated 1 out of 5 stars

DoNotTrackMe was a good addon... it will be missed.
Uninstalled Blur and won't be using it.
I will stick with the Ghostery and Priv3 addons.

edit:
would also recommend
https://www.eff.org/privacybadger

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

No longer usable -- going back to an old version for now Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I'm glad to see Abine is at least responding to people about this, but for now there are too many problems with the add-on. I'm greatly alarmed by reports that it isn't blocking as much as it used to, but more than that I'm bothered by the ways it actively interferes with my browsing experience.

The "mask your e-mail" popup appears in practically every other text field I use, to constant annoyance; I don't know if that's still happening since I figured out how to supposedly disable them. But much worse is if you post in a forum that uses message numbers; the "mask your credit card" popup, which CAN'T BE DISABLED, comes up incessantly. I don't have masking turned on; Blur just wants to remind me it's a service I can pay for, even though it has zero relevance to the particular field I'm typing in. The frustration index of this add-on has become very high in just the last few days.

I appreciated what DoNotTrackMe did to eliminate a number of trackers. If it's not doing that as well anymore (the jury's still out, but that seems to be the consensus), there's no reason to use it at all. When it actively gets in the way of what I'm trying to do, forget it, The quality of the add-on has fallen off remarkably after what should have been a simple name change.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Thanks for your review and I'm sorry to hear you're no longer satisfied with Blur. The Masked Email panel can be turned off from Settings of your Blur extension. Regarding the Masked Card panel, if it's popping up where it shouldn't be, that's definitely a bug that we'd love to hear more specifics about. You can email or chat with support here to contact our team: https://abine.com/support.html

Regarding the trackers, we are still blocking as many trackers as we once did. If you are noticing the number blocked is a lot less, please reinstall with this link: http://link.abine.com/dntme-firefox-latest

Disapointed Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I liked DNTM as it worked fine the way it was, the mask emails etc was good. Now with blur it stops very little to no trackers. I downloaded the new version 4.5.1335 and it is no better then the old one from a couple of weeks ago. I use last pass to protect my passwords & adblock plus to block pop up ads, so did not need all the extra stuff that was added to blur. Because DNTM was so good I am going to give them a week or two to go back to DNTM or fix blur so it works as good. If not I will join the long list of people that are dumping this app.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Hello - we hope to be able to fix the issue you're referring to. Would you email me : olivia at abine dot com so I can help you get to the bottom of this issue? Thanks!

You either die a hero or see yourself become the villain. This addon took the second path. Rated 1 out of 5 stars

DoNotTrackMe was supposed to block tracking and in effect prevent ad creators from making a complete profile of it's user. That's all I ever wanted. Now it requires me to give my e-mail adress to "create aliases for logging in into pages". Which means they want to know every page I log into. Which means I could as well log in with Facebook. Uninstalling this piece of garbage now.

EDIT: As the number of one star reviews might suggest people DON'T WANT a one-stop tool. They wanted an alternative to Ghostery. Well, think whatever you want.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Feel free to uninstall DoNotTrackMe. We are not recording the wesbites that you go to. We have added features to DNTme to allow users to have more privacy online. It is no longer a simple tracker blocker, it is now your one-stop privacy tool online.

DoNotTrackMe now Blur completely lost the plot Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Used DoNotTrackme for quite some time. But now it's time to let it go. Since it is called Blur it's packed with interference which makes me think Blur is keep track on everything what I do.
And there seems no easy way to adjust the settings. Now it wants to store passwords. That was one step to much. Blur went over the line and I de-installed it. Shame on you Abine for making a nice plug-in such a pain. Sometimes less is more. Bye.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Sorry to hear that you've uninstalled Blur / DoNotTrackMe. Any features that you do not want to use can be turned off when you click Settings from your extension. We don't mean to make it a pain, we are simply trying to make an extension that allows our users to be as private on the web as possible.

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Tons of features we haven't demanded for. All we need is the simple interface and just blocking trackers!

To block the trackers this seems to be enough: https://adblockplus.org/en/features#tracking

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Hello - we have added additional features that are meant to keep your online experience as private as possible. The add-on is no longer a simple tracker blocker, but we have added some great new features, like the ability to mask your personal information online. Our goal is to provide an add-on that is one stop shopping for all things privacy.

Rated 2 out of 5 stars

Love the addon, but have grown complex! why have you removed the possiblety for me to choose what to block!!! I either have to block everything on NBA.com and not watch videos or choose to be tracked by all and watch videos. Let ME CHOOSE!!!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

You have all the choice you want

You can choose exactly which trackers to block and unblock - same as ever. Please describe what you are trying to do or used to do so we can understand how to help you.

If you ever notice that a website is breaking due to DNTMe / Blur, please feel free to email our support team : support at abine dot com. From there, we will escalate this website to our development team so they can set Blur to automatically unblock the troublesome tracking company on that website.

Upgrade Doesn't Work Too Swift Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I've switched and the password manager doesn't work anymore like it used to with DNTM.

EDIT: I re-installed the plug-in as a last resort and now it's working, but the pop-ups are annoying as hell. Yes, save my pw gotdammit!!!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

I'm glad to hear that it's working. After you've saved your password on a website, we will not ask again. You only have to click Save once on each website and then we will autofill in your information for you!

Why doesn't this block as many trackers as it once did? Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Been using DNTM for a ling time, over 500,000 trackers blocked. Now it would take me a lifetime to get the next 500k. I use to go to HuffPost webpage for example and DNTM would find tons of of trackers, now Blur finds two. Privacy badger finds 20. It is the same on all the heavy tracker sites, it only detects a fraction of what it used to block. This is no longer useful if it is unable to detect the majority of trackers. Let me know when you fix it, I don't install half finished addons.

Edit: You are correct, when I disable one the other finds more. PB finds 15 where Blur finds 10 on HuffPost. No reason not to run them both because together they find more than individually.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Blur blocks the exact same (and growing) # of trackers as DNTME.

If you have more than one tracker blocker installed, DNT / Blur will not block as many trackers as it would if it were installed on its own. That is because if the other add-on has already blocked the tracker, Blur cannot see that that tracker is there, thus it cannot block the tracker. If you uninstall Privacy Badger, you should notice that Blur blocks more trackers than with it installed!

Horrible end to a once great product!! Rated 1 out of 5 stars

All of the negative reviews are warranted. Everything has changed for the worse. I used to love using Mask me online for password management, Now I am using another service for that. I also use a different tracking service as well. I believe Abine will lose so many customers because some time change isn't always better. Last pass is better and does more for free.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Sorry to hear that you do not like the additional features we have added to Blur. Blur now does what MaskMe did before, the only difference is that Sync is no longer free. That said, Blur actually has *more* free features than MaskMe had, including a digital Wallet, and a full featured Mobile app, which includes a private browser. Change isn't always better, but Blur now has far more privacy and convenience features available to you and we find the additions to be much better!

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Used to be a great app, now interferes too much with my browsing experience.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Sorry to hear that the app is interfering with your browsing experience. If you have specific examples of how, we'd be happy to look into these and fix. Feel free to email me : olivia at abine dot com. Thanks!

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Just ok.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Just plain *HORRIBLE* now. Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I too would not give it even 1-star if I could...Last (I was able to) view my old Masked emails, I have been a PAYING customer since masked cards were rolled out.

I have probably 100 masked emails I can't get.

This is *FOrcing me*????? To use Dropbox Integration. WHy?> Local synce was up to date with my Android Sync before..what went wrong> I give *NO ONE* access to my Dropbox.

The very fact it's a "requirement" now is SO HORRENDOUSLY COUNTERINTUATIVE (DID YOU FORGET! Abine represents itself as a *****PRIVACY COMPANY/SOLUTION***********

Therefore, why would I be *REQUIRED* to allow access. to DB?

Oh well, i twas nice while it lasted.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

We will make it up to you.

We are sincerely sorry about the negative experience you've had and we'll get it right. We promise. Please contact us to make sure you can get all your old emails and cards. You should only bet getting a 100% BETTER experience with Blur and we acknowledge we didn't get the transition right.

1. Dropbox is not required
2. all your key account data is encrypted BEFORE it gets to Dropbox.
3. we're adding alternatives (SpiderOak API doesn't exist, etc)
4. we will personally help you with your account transfer.




Hello - authorizing Dropbox is by no means required. You can leave your information stored locally if you'd like. That said, all of the information that is stored on Dropbox is encrypted before it is sent to the database. At no point is your plain text information stored on their servers. Just fyi.

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

If this now had zero stars, I would give that!! Been using "DoNotTrackMe" for YEARS not any more !!!!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Sorry to hear you're no longer a DNTMe user! If you have any questions, feel free to ask : olivia at abine dot com

I'm quit to extension Maskme online. I'm not use Blur ! Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Blur not have Sync for free :( I love Maskme online but i don't like BLUR. Sorry ! My data is gone :( Thanks for Maskme online !

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Blur upgrade turned privacy tool into spam agent Rated 1 out of 5 stars

After DNTM became Blur, suddenly my browser experience is filled with advertising spam trying to entice me to become a premium member. Constant reminders of features I don't want and won't use. Very shady, and not the sort of behavior I installed a privacy Add-on to experience. I was annoyed enough to go through the trouble of making this Mozilla account just to warn other users about this. DNTM worked great and i was very happy with it. Blur is stupid spam that should be avoided.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Hi amp - sorry to hear you don't like the new additions to DoNotTrackMe. We did, unfortunately, have a bug in our most recent release that caused users to see the same screen repeatedly, and I can assure you that was not our intention. If you have an interest in reinstalling, you can do so through this link: http://link.abine.com/dntme-firefox-latest . The product is still free for the most part, but we do also have certain opt-in, premium features. If you have any additional questions, please email me : olivia at abine dot com. Thanks!

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I've had the dialog pop-up thing turned off, so I haven't noticed any feature changes, fishy additions etc.

However it's been eating an absurd amount of cpu (as in, 5x more than all my other 30+ addons combined) beginning immediately after browser startup and never stopping. Removed.

The toolbar icon was glitchy anyways :P

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.1249.1-signed). 

I haven't heard of it taking up much CPU before. If you'd like to see this resolved, email me : olivia at abine dot com. Thanks!

Avoid Avoid Avoid Rated 1 out of 5 stars

With version 4.5.1299, DNTM is now just an advertising platform for Abine's pay-service Blur. Version 4.5.1299 ignores the DNTM global settings and creates annoying pop-up boxes that promote the pay features of Blur while browsing. Try Ghostery instead to stop tracking. Nothing useful here anymore.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.1249.1-signed). 

Hello Magma. If you are looking just for a tracker blocker, than Ghostery may be the better add-on for you. DoNotTrackMe (renamed Blur) has moved beyond just a tracker blocker. It is now an account and password manager, a digital secure wallet, and allows you to mask all your personal information as you use the web. The majority of those features are free, but we do have paid, premium features that you can use if you choose to do so. If not, you can use our free features free for life.

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

The latest update has ruined it, I use it from behind a proxy server and now I can't get on the internet at all while this is active. disappointing.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.1249.1-signed). 

Hi Damon - please email me : olivia at abine dot com so I can give you the correct link to install. There was a bug with proxies, but that has since been resolved. Thanks!

SECURITY WARNING Rated 1 out of 5 stars

The current version bypasses the proxy settings!!!

I can enter any nonexistet proxy address in firefox and still get connected to all web pages if i have DNTM loaded, Wow, what a turnarround. Once a product to protect my privacy, now seriously threatening it, only discovered this by chance. Going to check if Blur solves this, otherwise I am done after a long time being satisfied with this product.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.1249.1-signed). 

Hi JackHack,
Although our product has been occasionally causing proxy conflicts lately, it would have no affect on you being able to enter and use a nonexistent proxy address successfully. It's possible DNTMe is disabling or conflicting with any existing proxy settings you have, but that would be all it does (and either way, we apologize for that).

I would suggest updating to the newest version of Blur, which now detects whether or not you already have a proxy enabled and then disables any of our settings which could interfere (and any of your existing proxy settings should work the same as they always did before we accidentally got in the way).

You can update to Blur here:
http://link.abine.com/dntme-firefox-latest