Why doesn't this block as many trackers as it once did? Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Been using DNTM for a ling time, over 500,000 trackers blocked. Now it would take me a lifetime to get the next 500k. I use to go to HuffPost webpage for example and DNTM would find tons of of trackers, now Blur finds two. Privacy badger finds 20. It is the same on all the heavy tracker sites, it only detects a fraction of what it used to block. This is no longer useful if it is unable to detect the majority of trackers. Let me know when you fix it, I don't install half finished addons.

Edit: You are correct, when I disable one the other finds more. PB finds 15 where Blur finds 10 on HuffPost. No reason not to run them both because together they find more than individually.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Blur blocks the exact same (and growing) # of trackers as DNTME.

If you have more than one tracker blocker installed, DNT / Blur will not block as many trackers as it would if it were installed on its own. That is because if the other add-on has already blocked the tracker, Blur cannot see that that tracker is there, thus it cannot block the tracker. If you uninstall Privacy Badger, you should notice that Blur blocks more trackers than with it installed!

Horrible end to a once great product!! Rated 1 out of 5 stars

All of the negative reviews are warranted. Everything has changed for the worse. I used to love using Mask me online for password management, Now I am using another service for that. I also use a different tracking service as well. I believe Abine will lose so many customers because some time change isn't always better. Last pass is better and does more for free.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Sorry to hear that you do not like the additional features we have added to Blur. Blur now does what MaskMe did before, the only difference is that Sync is no longer free. That said, Blur actually has *more* free features than MaskMe had, including a digital Wallet, and a full featured Mobile app, which includes a private browser. Change isn't always better, but Blur now has far more privacy and convenience features available to you and we find the additions to be much better!

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Used to be a great app, now interferes too much with my browsing experience.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Sorry to hear that the app is interfering with your browsing experience. If you have specific examples of how, we'd be happy to look into these and fix. Feel free to email me : olivia at abine dot com. Thanks!

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Just ok.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Just plain *HORRIBLE* now. Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I too would not give it even 1-star if I could...Last (I was able to) view my old Masked emails, I have been a PAYING customer since masked cards were rolled out.

I have probably 100 masked emails I can't get.

This is *FOrcing me*????? To use Dropbox Integration. WHy?> Local synce was up to date with my Android Sync before..what went wrong> I give *NO ONE* access to my Dropbox.

The very fact it's a "requirement" now is SO HORRENDOUSLY COUNTERINTUATIVE (DID YOU FORGET! Abine represents itself as a *****PRIVACY COMPANY/SOLUTION***********

Therefore, why would I be *REQUIRED* to allow access. to DB?

Oh well, i twas nice while it lasted.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

We will make it up to you.

We are sincerely sorry about the negative experience you've had and we'll get it right. We promise. Please contact us to make sure you can get all your old emails and cards. You should only bet getting a 100% BETTER experience with Blur and we acknowledge we didn't get the transition right.

1. Dropbox is not required
2. all your key account data is encrypted BEFORE it gets to Dropbox.
3. we're adding alternatives (SpiderOak API doesn't exist, etc)
4. we will personally help you with your account transfer.




Hello - authorizing Dropbox is by no means required. You can leave your information stored locally if you'd like. That said, all of the information that is stored on Dropbox is encrypted before it is sent to the database. At no point is your plain text information stored on their servers. Just fyi.

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

If this now had zero stars, I would give that!! Been using "DoNotTrackMe" for YEARS not any more !!!!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Sorry to hear you're no longer a DNTMe user! If you have any questions, feel free to ask : olivia at abine dot com

I'm quit to extension Maskme online. I'm not use Blur ! Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Blur not have Sync for free :( I love Maskme online but i don't like BLUR. Sorry ! My data is gone :( Thanks for Maskme online !

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Blur upgrade turned privacy tool into spam agent Rated 1 out of 5 stars

After DNTM became Blur, suddenly my browser experience is filled with advertising spam trying to entice me to become a premium member. Constant reminders of features I don't want and won't use. Very shady, and not the sort of behavior I installed a privacy Add-on to experience. I was annoyed enough to go through the trouble of making this Mozilla account just to warn other users about this. DNTM worked great and i was very happy with it. Blur is stupid spam that should be avoided.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Hi amp - sorry to hear you don't like the new additions to DoNotTrackMe. We did, unfortunately, have a bug in our most recent release that caused users to see the same screen repeatedly, and I can assure you that was not our intention. If you have an interest in reinstalling, you can do so through this link: http://link.abine.com/dntme-firefox-latest . The product is still free for the most part, but we do also have certain opt-in, premium features. If you have any additional questions, please email me : olivia at abine dot com. Thanks!

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I've had the dialog pop-up thing turned off, so I haven't noticed any feature changes, fishy additions etc.

However it's been eating an absurd amount of cpu (as in, 5x more than all my other 30+ addons combined) beginning immediately after browser startup and never stopping. Removed.

The toolbar icon was glitchy anyways :P

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.1249.1-signed). 

I haven't heard of it taking up much CPU before. If you'd like to see this resolved, email me : olivia at abine dot com. Thanks!

Avoid Avoid Avoid Rated 1 out of 5 stars

With version 4.5.1299, DNTM is now just an advertising platform for Abine's pay-service Blur. Version 4.5.1299 ignores the DNTM global settings and creates annoying pop-up boxes that promote the pay features of Blur while browsing. Try Ghostery instead to stop tracking. Nothing useful here anymore.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.1249.1-signed). 

Hello Magma. If you are looking just for a tracker blocker, than Ghostery may be the better add-on for you. DoNotTrackMe (renamed Blur) has moved beyond just a tracker blocker. It is now an account and password manager, a digital secure wallet, and allows you to mask all your personal information as you use the web. The majority of those features are free, but we do have paid, premium features that you can use if you choose to do so. If not, you can use our free features free for life.

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

The latest update has ruined it, I use it from behind a proxy server and now I can't get on the internet at all while this is active. disappointing.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.1249.1-signed). 

Hi Damon - please email me : olivia at abine dot com so I can give you the correct link to install. There was a bug with proxies, but that has since been resolved. Thanks!

SECURITY WARNING Rated 1 out of 5 stars

The current version bypasses the proxy settings!!!

I can enter any nonexistet proxy address in firefox and still get connected to all web pages if i have DNTM loaded, Wow, what a turnarround. Once a product to protect my privacy, now seriously threatening it, only discovered this by chance. Going to check if Blur solves this, otherwise I am done after a long time being satisfied with this product.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.1249.1-signed). 

Hi JackHack,
Although our product has been occasionally causing proxy conflicts lately, it would have no affect on you being able to enter and use a nonexistent proxy address successfully. It's possible DNTMe is disabling or conflicting with any existing proxy settings you have, but that would be all it does (and either way, we apologize for that).

I would suggest updating to the newest version of Blur, which now detects whether or not you already have a proxy enabled and then disables any of our settings which could interfere (and any of your existing proxy settings should work the same as they always did before we accidentally got in the way).

You can update to Blur here:
http://link.abine.com/dntme-firefox-latest

Rated 2 out of 5 stars

I liked Mask me I loved it. I used CCleaner to clean up my files and now the program doesn't work. It doesn't remember my email and it no longer masks. I can't remember my password I tried to install on the phone and when I click forget password nothing happens, it won't let me request a password. Too bad I really liked the program

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.1249.1-signed). 

Hi Jo,
Is this review for MaskMe, not DNTMe? Unfortunately, MaskMe relies heavily on local storage as a method of keeping your data private. The downside to this being that if you aren't careful when using products like CCleaner, your data can be erased.

Also, from the sounds of it, CCleaner caused MaskMe to think it's a fresh install, requiring you to log in again. There's a "forgot your password" option on the login screen for the extension that would have allowed you to reset your password or even show you a password hint (trying to do this through the mobile app if you've never used it on the mobile app previously probably wouldn't have worked, unfortunately).

Either way, did you contact support about this issue? I'm sure we could have helped resolve the issue to some extent (with the possible exception being any locally-stored data that was erased if you had never used the sync function).

Feel free to contact us at support@getabine.com if you'd like to discuss this further and I apologize for the unpleasant experience.

once great now crap Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I spent the last hour trying to mask an email. I already have account i masked lot emails in the past and now asking me to login. But i m already login in the acount. If i try to logout and login again from panel it just takes forever.. Keep up the great work guys. Excelent update.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.1249.1-signed). 

Hi Terastios,
The experience you described is far from normal, nor is it really even a behavior that makes sense with how the product is set up. Either way, I'm sure it's easily fixable. Did you contact us about this issue? Did you have DNTMe *and* MaskMe installed at the time?

If you'd like, you could contact us at support@getabine.com to resolve the issue.

Rated 2 out of 5 stars

PrivacySuite was the very best add on, I loved it! then they made it better...NOT with MASK me, and now that is discontinued for an even "better", NOT EVEN Close, called Do not track me, what a pain to use. Please go back to PrivacySuite. At least update it so it works with the current and future Fire Fox. Please?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.1249.1-signed). 

Hi JC, sorry to hear you were such a fan of PrivacySuite. Unfortunately, from the sound of it, there won't be any further updates for PS. We actually stopped supporting it close to two years ago, but have made quick updates for each new version of Firefox so that it could remain operational for existing users. However, due to some recent Firefox changes, further updates would require more dev time than we are able to designate to a legacy product.

That said, our new product Blur (which is actually an updated version of DNTMe) has effectively all the same features that were available in PS, will continue to be updated and fixed regularly, and we are confident it's out best privacy product to date (especially once any kinks are worked out). I understand you haven't been impressed with DNTMe so far, but I would suggest you check Blur once it's fully released.

Great addon became useless Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I can't even use the old account for maskme, i have to make another one. What's the point of this addon? Ghostery and firefox have the same features. I only want maskme features, disable half addon it's useless. Uninstalled.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.1249.1-signed). 

Hi Disagio. We plan to migrate all MaskMe users to DoNotTrackMe / Blur this week. Once that occurs, you can use the product only for the MaskMe features.

Crap since latest update. Avoid Rated 1 out of 5 stars

And yet another useful plugin turned into crap.
Needs registration then spams your e-mail with more crap, first thing you see when you open it is their own advertising.
Games on Facebook do not load.
Useless

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.1249.1-signed). 

Hi spaljeni - I'm sorry that you do not like the recent update. The requirement of registering means that you can use more of the features we've added including Masked Emails and the new password manager. If you're looking for *just* a tracker blocker, this may no longer be the extension for you. I do, however, suggest you check out the new features, and if you have any questions you can email me : olivia at abine dot com. Thanks!

Coraz gorsze Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Kiedyś to był fajny dodatek. Teraz każe zakładać konto.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.1249.1-signed). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Really great service. I enjoy using it. So usefull.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.1249.1-signed). 

Awesome - thanks for the great review!

No "Blur" ! Bring us DNTM back ! Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I have lost my "Privacy Medals" !! Why didn't you inform us before changing this addon? Once, I would have used my medals to try a "Masked Card"... Now you're forcing us to upgrade to Blur Premium! On top of that, Blur will block your internet connection if you're behind a proxy :-( The fact you have no contact details, makes me lose my trust in your products.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.0.1249.1-signed). 

Sorry that you've lost your privacy medals. If you wanted to use them to create a Masked Card, you can instead take advantage of the free 30 days of premium service under Blur, which include Masked Cards. Regarding the proxy, ur engineers have looked into this and we have fixed the issue. If you uninstall your current version, through tools>addons>extensions, and reinstall through this link:

http://link.abine.com/dntme-firefox-latest that should fix the problem. Please let me know if you continue to experience issues.