Still liking it very much! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I loved the sleek functionality of DoNotTrackMe. But all the new functions in Blur I personally don't use can be switched off in the options, so it's still customizable to my tastes.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Hi Smiling Fox - thanks for your review! We appreciate your support :)

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

The plugin works great to generate email accounts that can be turned off. Great for finding out who is sharing your information. The credit card masking is a useful service as well. I highly recommend this addon.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Hi humina - thanks for your feedback! Glad to hear you're enjoying Blur.

Great Addon but impossible to modify the settings Rated 4 out of 5 stars

It's a really great add-on but because It freeze mozilla when I try to modify the settings I have to deactivate it.
I cant use Google in my language because of Blur PrivateSearch
that's absurd.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Hi Chris - thanks for your review. We have just sent out a fix for that freezing issue, you should no longer run into that and I do apologize for any inconveinece.

And you can disable Private Search if you'd like by going to settings>settings for all websites, and toggling off "Dont track my searches here".

Any additional questions, please feel free to reach out to our support team : support@abine.com

Former glory overshadowed by bloatware Rated 2 out of 5 stars

Short after the introduction, this extension once was the indispensable addition to privacy-minded people.

I liked the tracking suggestions option which served well while trying not to break the functionality of some web pages. I liked social media buttons replaced with clickable dummy icons which elegantly served a purpose of temporarily unblocking some pages just when I needed to. As an ages old Firefox user, I was never a fan of Chrome-like menu panels, but I could live with it as far as it gave me control over what I block.

All those features are gone now or they are screwed up so badly, I stopped using the extension after all. I will uninstall it straight after I will migrate to some other disposable email service. Not because Blur's is bad (it's not), but because I hate bloatware.

This is a perfect example how some good things get eventually screwed up.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Hello - thanks for your critical feedback and sorry to hear you're not liking Blur. There are a lot of features in the upgrade, but we do want our users to easily customize their add-on to suit their needs. You can configure your Blur settings by following these instructions: https://dnt.abine.com/#help/faq/basic-configureSettings.

Dreadful downgrade from MaskMe - core functions like email masking fail Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Blur has been an dreadful downgrade. Context menus don't work, very few email fields on websites are recognized and trigger a mask email popup, and some account info has been deleted.

For people coming from MaskMe, it's been a bumpy ride. Abine doesn't provide a clear description of how to migrate; you have to ask support for it. The transfer worked but Blur doesn't perform properly on my system. The basic functions fail, i.e. I can't access a mask email context menu or popup. Instead, I have to go to the dashboard, create the email there, and paste it. When I do this for accounts, they are promptly lost after a browser restart.

I'm still in touch with support, who haven't come up with useful suggestions yet. All I got was restart and update to 4.7.1476, which didn't do anything. I reinstalled the current stable version 4.5.1334 (2015-02) but it refused to work.

All in all, an awful experience so far.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Great to Bad to Very good!!! Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Loved this when it was DoNotTrackMe, it did it´s job in the background quietly. Then Blur came along and changed all this ,being intrusive, popping up when I did not want it to and it almost came to the point were I almost uninstalled it.

But what happened? The nice ppl working with Blur listened to their users! You now can make it behave as you want to without any fuss and need to register etc. etc.. Once again I love this add-on! :D

PS: I´m only going to test run it for a few and then I hope I will give it a 5 star review again.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Thank you for your review. We do listen to our users and we're happy that you're now happy!

Antes era muy bueno... Ahora es malisimo... Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Este es el complemento que más a cambiado de ser uno de los mejores pasó a ser uno de los peores...
Actualmente super pesado.
Consume mucho recurso.
A pesar de indicar la posibilidad de permitir ciertos rastreos en ciertas webs los bloquea por completo no permitiendo cambiar las opciones estándares.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I have had this add-on since it was MaskMe and I must say it has been extremely useful.

I will also say that the Abine support team has been extraordinarily helpful and patient when I thought there was an issue migrating my masked e-mails to Blur.

Eagerly awaiting the implementation of a way to reply to e-mails from Blur.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Hi catsfan - thanks for your review! Glad to hear you're enjoying the product and our team has been helpful to you. And you can reply to emails from Blur! All you need to do is click Reply and your email will remain masked. That said, you are unable to initiate conversations through Blur. Thanks again for the great review!

Get this add-on Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Great add-on, hard to live without it!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Hi AzoresOne - thanks for your review!

Over Intrusive Rated 2 out of 5 stars

When this was DoNotTrackMe it seemed to sit in the background and work quietly, and do everything it was supposed to do. Since changing to blur it has become intrusive and annoying to the point where I have simply uninstalled it. It seems that every time you click in a field to enter some text it results in something or other popping up from Blur trying to be "helpful", and in the end it just became annoying. It's a shame because the original premise of what it's trying to do is good, I think it has just suffered from over-elaboration. And yes, I've been in and changed whatever settings I could but still it seems to just give you pop-up after pop-up every time you try to type something into a a field. Uninstalled.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Hi Jonesy - Thanks for your feedback and we're sorry to see you go. There was a version of Blur that we had released in Firefox that had a bug where the settings did not stick, and it sounds like you had that version. I do apologize for that.

If you'd like to give it one more try, you can reinstall here: http://link.abine.com/dntme-firefox-latest. Furthermore, here are instructions on how to configure your Blur settings to do exactly what you want it to do: https://dnt.abine.com/#help/faq/basic-configureSettings . If you've given up, I do understand.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Blur is so great. It's easy to use and has alleviated all my online- privacy anxieties. I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for protection against data tracking and hackers. Thanks Blur!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Hi LtotheR - thanks so much for your review and feedback! We appreciate your support :)

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Love Blur! I used to have trouble keeping up with all my usernames and passwords and now I can have them all in one secure and convenient place. I am also a big fan of the masked email feature since it seems like everywhere you go they ask for your email. It may seem like an extra step but keeping my information private and secure is important and blur allows me to do so.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Hi per116 - thanks for your review! Remembering different usernames and passwords can cause quite the headache and I'm glad to hear that Blur was able to help :)

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I love all the new features, but I have to admit it did take some getting used to after the upgrade to Blur. A few weeks in I'm realizing just how convenient my browsing experience has become. I see a lot of negative reviews and I imagine these people just need time to get used to what's new!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Hi hmc - thanks so much for your review! Glad to hear that Blur has helped to make your browsing experience more convenient :) We appreciate your support.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I just added Blur, but what it offers so far interests me. The secure saving of passwords is great and easy to use. I watched the demo on the secure e-mail and credit card option, so I'll probably look into the premium after the 30 day trial. At first the dashboard was a little overwhelming for me but that only lasted briefly. In general I have to safe i"m rather pleased I added it and would definitely recommend the product to others.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Hi Slammiton - thanks so much for your review! Glad to hear you're considering premium. And although the dashboard can be a lot to take in at first, I'm glad to hear it was only briefly overwhelming. We appreciate your support! And if you'd like to recommend it to your friends, I encourage you to do so: https://dnt.abine.com/#/referral

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

The masked cards feature, alone, is clutch. Very easy to use when shopping online. It just requires a small amount of time to set up and receive your masked card info. After having my real card info compromised twice in almost as many years due to a few high profile security breaches, masking one's card has become key.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Hi Tubularocity - thanks for your review! Glad to hear you're enjoying Masked Cards and we, too, believe they're clutch :)

Rated 2 out of 5 stars

MaskMe was very good, Blur promised to deliver all that + some extras. As of yet, it fails to do so.

Migration was difficult and couldn't be done without help of support. Finally migrated and created my first account with Blur. Unfortunately, this account doesn't show up in my Blur Account, so I have to recover. Hopefully at least the newly created masked email is working, otherwise I will never receive any password reset link.

Blur actually requires to have a paid account to sync to different devices - MaskMe delivered this option free. I was very close to buy a MaskMe Premium because I enjoyed the service. With Blur, Abine is very far from getting my money.

BTW, dear Abine: Anyone who is concerned at least a bit about privacy would never sync there data to dropbox, would he? I can't see why this option should be there in the first place.

On the other hand, one would ask himself why he would give data to Abine to store on U.S. Servers........

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Hello - thanks for your critical feedback here.

We are aware that the migration process was more difficult than it had to be and I do apologize for the inconvenience.

We have, however, realized that MaskMe users no longer have free sync in Blur as they once had. We therefore created a coupon code for existing MaskMe users to redeem premium for $12 - for life. Please email support at abine dot com and our support staff will set you up with a code.

Lastly, all of your information is encrypted *before* it is sent to Dropbox, which means they never have any of your plain text information stored on their servers. You can also sync your information via Abine servers, where again all of your information is encrypted locally before it is sent to the cloud.

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Better than Guerilla mail + the credit card stuff actually worked and my virtual card was free. What's not to like? More later as I use it more.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Thanks for the review! Glad to hear you're enjoying Blur :)

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

My girlfriend insisted I try Blur after my credit card information was stolen from shopping online. I was skeptical at first, but I gave it a shot and I have to say I was impressed. I use the masked cards now whenever I shop online and it's a very easy to use feature, which is what I like. The time it takes to fill out the form and receive your masked card information is worth the extra time to keep your real credit card information away from retail hackers.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Nice Addon Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Blur has gotten better with the recent updates. Its pretty intuitive, and user friendly add-on. You don't have to worry about your information floating around all over the internet. If you give out masked e-mails and masked credit cards, you are protected from companies getting hacked, and stealing your information. I had my credit card stolen before, and I do feel safer when I use masked cards. The masked emails can be easily managed so I can delete them when I get tired of sales emails from those sites.

only 4 stars because there are more improvements to be made, but overall great addon and works well

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Hello - Thanks for your review! We appreciate your support and I can assure you that we know there are improvements to be made and we are actively working on these improvements. We hope you'll soon find Blur to be a 5-star add-on!

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Ok, I will admit that upgrading to Blur from MaskMe was not easy, and I needed some help from Abine customer support. But luckily they are GREAT and walked me through it. I expect the upgrade situation will get better (if nothing else because I expect them to learn from my problems).

As for Blur, it's a great product and works very well. I use it mostly for stored passwords and for tracker blocking, and for both of those things it's excellent. The backup feature and syncing to my other computer are great features, as is the syncing with my phone, which is a huge improvement over MaskMe. Blur mobile is a little buggy on my Android 4.4.4 phone -- it usually fails to auto-logon to websites (it's supposed to auto-logon when you click on the website through the Blur app) but that's not a fatal flaw, because all the passwords are accessible on the phone so if I'm stuck I can still enter the password in myself. Hopefully that gets better. But on the computer, the auto-logon is so far flawless.

I use MaskMe's masked emails sparingly but the few accounts I have masked work great in Blur.

I read some of the reviews here and I understand some of the frustration regarding migrating accounts from MaskMe or DoNotTrackMe to Blur, but now that I'm through it (and it really wasn't that big of a deal once I got walked through by customer support) I don't have any animosity. Other reviewers talk about versions; while getting help with my migration I was given a link to a newer version (4.7...) and I also followed that link below at one point. But that version was not working for me (running Firefox 35.0.1) so I uninstalled and went back to the 4.5... version that is on the Firefox add-on site.

Also, I was a premium account holder in MaskMe and the "premium" status transferred to Blur no problem once I finished the migration.

One other word of warning: the migration system took some time, in which my browser appeared to be frozen. Be patient. And that's true for the mobile app, too -- you need to be patient for the account list to load sometimes. And unfortunately it appears that some of my accounts are slow-loaders, too, at least a little slower than they were with MaskMe. I want to troubleshoot that a bit (it might be because of multiple accounts for those sites) but overall it's not a problem and the vast majority of accounts I've tested work great.

Finally, I like the look and feel of Blur better than MaskMe; it's slightly more intuitive and better designed. And although I haven't had Blur installed for that long yet, so far it has been less buggy than MaskMe (which was never perfect). Even though migrating has been a slight hassle, if they are cleaning up the bugs with these new versions (and new products) than I'm happy. I've been a user since the PrivacySuite days and I think the product is getting better with each iteration.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed).