Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I just love it. Perfect for masking e-mails.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Not as good as MaskMe Rated 3 out of 5 stars

I don't like that bakup and sync is now a premium-only feature when it was free on MaskMe. Also, I miss the option to not pop up a message saying that the password was saved that used to have on MaskMe

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Great Feedback!

Caio,
We have been working hard to update the new version of Blur for Firefox to feel and perform more like MM - please wait less than a week and try the upgrade.
As part of the upgrade, you'll see a new checkbox to make the confirmation windows go away.
Thanks for your patience!

Loved them both, now deleting both Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I absolutely Loved MaskMe, and I was also a big fan of DNT. Each did their own thing and didn't interfere with the other.

Using DNT, I've never given a hoot about medals and things like that so I always keep them turned off. I really liked that DNT just sat there doing its job and that I could disable tracking when I needed to for web pages that wouldn't work until I did, and I especially liked that I could disable Only those that required it. That's gone! Now it is all or nothing so when I run across a web page balking, I'm forced to allow all of the tracking cookies access. Uncool! What were they thinking?! How could they possibly believe users would want to give up control?

MaskMe rocked. It worked Great! Recently, though, not all of my emails have been forwarded, and its happened quite a few times in the last few weeks. One that wasn't forwarded was important and my not receiving it caused problems for me that I couldn't fix. By the time I discovered the other party had sent me an email that I'd not received, it was too late.

Also, and most unfortunately, I'm just sick about the fact that after two years of collecting MaskMe masked emails and passwords, I've lost them all, and I mean hundreds.

After happily using MaskMe for months, I bought in as a premium member, but then didn't re-up when my subscription expired because after paying for the service, I ended up caught up in the "transition" hell. Why Abine was selling MaskMe at the same time they were phasing it out is beyond me. For sure, it was not fair to the new subscribers ponying-up subscription fees.

I tried for months to transition from MaskMe to Blur, but it ended up going nowhere, turned into a convoluted mess, and after a few emails back and forth, I don't have the time to sit and pour over screen shots with customer service. I'm locked out of my MaskMe account now anyway and can't get back in so its futile.

Finally, I'm also fed up with how aggressive Abine has become over the last year in continual pop-ups and glaring, busy icons on every one of their screens telling me to sync and backup (both of which were free with MaskMe), and whatever else they want to sell us, only to be led to the page for buying a subscription. Its basically just ads slapped on every single DNT/Blur screen! I'm one of many who intentionally blocks ads from screens, because I hate them! Why would I want my privacy protection company shoving them in front of me, cluttering my view? Get those damnable icons off our screens! If we want to purchase, we will; but guess what? I find the incessant luring with icons and the pushing, pushing, pushing, Sleazy, and for that reason alone I won't subscribe again. I don't know who convinced Abine this new direction and strategies were a good idea, but whoever it was shouldn't have been listened to.

I could accept the loss of my MaskMe emails addresses and passwords and just start over with Blur, but I'm too upset about the way the company has handled their big changes and apparent new direction, so I won't. I don't feel like rewarding them for shafting their users. By the way, MaskMe is Still available, with all the new user info available, instead of directing newcomers to Blur! What's with that? Just more people to have to put through transition and potential snags and failures. Why?

So sad. I was such a big fan. No more. I've uninstalled both MaskMe and DNT/Blur from my machines.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

As user Kumuran advised in his review, I updated Blur to the latest version (4.6.1404) - but this did not fix the problem with this addon constantly popping up anytime I need to fill in my email for any type of ID or logon box. It is constantly asking me to create a Blur account, which I do not want to do.

As others have written, I searched for a way to disable this, but there does not appear to be any option to do so.

The program (as Do Not Track Me) was a excellent and I would have rated this 5 stars. But now, the app still does a good job, but like so many other apps the annoying popups or requests to create and account, etc., are outweighing the benefits and so I am considering switching to a different no-track addon

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Hello - here are instructions on how to customize Blur Settings to best fit your needs. It will show you step by step how to turn off the features you do not wish to use: https://dnt.abine.com/#help/faq/basic-configureSettings

If users update to the latest version, complaints WILL dwindle Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Ok folks, I don't have any affiliation with Blur but I gotta step in here after reading bad reviews. Yep, I wrote a nasty one too, then edited it after discovering how good the latest update is. Given the reviews I've read, I would guess most users haven't updated their DNT or Blur to the latest version. As I said in an earlier post, you MUST update (and keep it updated) to the latest version. I did and things are waaay better. Here's the link:
http://link.abine.com/dntme-firefox-latest
As I write this the latest version is 4.6.1404. (updated Jan 26/2015, latest version is now 4.7.1430) If you're using any version lower, please update by using the link. I think you'll be pleasantly surprised.
Do yourself a favor and get the latest version. Don't judge this addon unfairly while using an old version. Thanx for reading and spread the word 'cause the update link is not well advertised.
BTW, you CAN still contact customer support through the Abine.com website.
, , , AND it now plays nice with Lastpass. Thx

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Rated 2 out of 5 stars

I can't even remember what the name of this was when I first signed up for it, but it's gone through several name changes since then.

I finally hit my limits when a panel came up for about the 20th time about some feature I didn't want. I'm sure it was trying to be useful and I'm sure someone out there wants these features, but not me. I looked for a way to simply disable the panels from popping up, but I noticed I already had all that on OFF. I pressed Settings again, hoping for a more comprehensive page on which I could disable things, but all it did was close the settings screen I was on. There seems to be no way to completely disable the annoying panels.

I also wish it would just not track me instead of keep records and medals of exactly every tracker that it's blocked, and I think most other people would feel the same.

The original medals were kind of cool, yes, but they could've just kept a counter to accomplish that.

A user who adds this because they want all of Blur's current features may give this 4 or 5 stars, but a user who added it 3-4 name changes ago like me is likely to give it 1 star. I'll compromise and give 2 stars.

From reading other reviews here, I'm not alone in my frustration and Blur does a poor job of replying to people. Not the worst job ever, but a pretty poor job.

I think this is a fair review but I wouldn't be surprised if Blur disagreed and made a stupid reply touting its current features again.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

What happened?!?
DoNotTrackMe worked like a charm. Now I can't make heads or tales of the interface and once I find the tracking portion I can't disable individual trackers to get functionality back. It's all blocked or all unblocked.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

What a disappointment Rated 1 out of 5 stars

After using maskmyemail for several years,it changed to Blur. Now it comes up and completely blocks the screen I am trying to use. there is a "hide this panel" which does not work, so the Blur panel is right in front of what I am trying to type. I do not block EVERY email entry. It always says you are not logged in, and then won't let me log in, other than on the albine site. So for me, since it no longer works, it is completely useless. I use other products to store and generate password, fill forms etc. So all I need is the mask my email function, but that doesn't work. Anyone know another product that does work? I miss being able to mask and block spam with the opayq emails.

In a previous review of donottrackme, albine says that you can log in at albine, stay logged in [meaning keeping that tab open constantly] then you can use the email block. Then WHY does the pop-up show up and ask me to log in if I can't? and why does the hide this panel do nothing at all?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

also - by by - after 3 years on maskme Rated 1 out of 5 stars

maskme was good, it was perfect, to say!
blur doesnt work
thats all to say

thank you to the maskme team for the perfect work in the past years!
think about a spin off from blur!
in the maskme team are so good developers!

Im so sorry about this bad migration to blur.
by.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

I only want it for the "MaskMe" functionality.

I'd say stop trying to also be LastPass. Focus on one thing.

I disabled the LastPass functionality you tried to kindly impose on me. But I wonder how long will it take for you to make it mandatory.

I've seen this same disappointing pattern in many companies.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Hi John Page - thanks for your review and we do appreciate the feedback. First off - we will not mandate the LastPass functionality in Blur in the future.

We've added Password & Account management to Blur so that users do not have to download multiple add-ons to achieve what Blur now offers. With Blur, you only need to install one add-on and manage one user interface to remain private on the internet and a have more convenient (and secure) online experience.

Bye Bye Blur Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I became a fan of Abine when I discovered MaskMe, which was a great product. In fact, it was so good the only reason I created an account here initially was to review that very same add-on (I gave it 5 stars). I was also pleased to discover that Abine was based out of Boston, which being from that area myself automatically earns them some points in my book. I must admit I did not use their DoNotTrackMe add-on, as I had been using something else for the same purpose (which also happens to be firefox for android compatible, a big selling point for me).

When Blur came along to replace MaskMe I have to admit I was at first intrigued, even a bit excited that Abine had something new up their sleeve for us users. How quickly that excitement turned to disappointment upon discovering that there was no longer a free, or even a lower cost sync option for those who do not desire to mask their phones and credit cards (google offers the free services wallet and voice which I am already using for this purpose, but I still respect what Abine is doing with trying to put all these privacy tools in one place).

Putting all that aside, the new software just doesn't work. The transition from my MaskMe account over to Blur failed though I followed instructions to the letter. Thankfully there was live chat support, and a rep told me some MaskMe users were having the same issue and walked me through a manual import (response from the chat rep was quick and helpful, I certainly have no complaints about that part of the process). Once manually imported I had most of my information there in terms of current username/email/password combos, but gone was all the account history that MaskMe so helpfully provided. MaskMe would let you see all the changes you'd made so if anything ever got screwed up for whatever reason you likely had the information handy to best fix it. Blur does not seem to have any kind of history feature, so if you overwrite a username or password with the incorrect info, you're likely locked out of your account unless you can remember what the correct information is or perform a password recovery with your email provider.

Speaking of passwords have I mentioned that several times I have generated passwords with Blur that have simply disappeared into the ether? I can no longer trust that passwords I generate with it will actually be saved anywhere so I am no longer using that feature. Blur also never locks, no matter what settings I set in the preferences, so anyone that opens my browser can navigate to my blur dashboard and see all my info. It doesn't matter what the timeout is set to, if the browser is closed/opened, it never locks, ever.

I have used the link Abine keeps commenting with here to update the add-on to the latest version many times, but nothing ever seems to be fixed. Currently I am on 4.6.1404 but I've had these problems with every version since the transition.

Oh, I almost forgot that with Blur, Abine is also injecting their own advertisements into your search results. If there's anything my internet experience has been lacking it's more ads! I have 9 days left on my premium trial, which means 9 days to get my info out of Blur and into... well, anything has to be better than this.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Oops Rated 2 out of 5 stars

Been using DNT+ for over a year and loved it. Was beginning to use Blur's password generating and remembering. Started a new USPS account, had Blur originate and make a secure password. Blur now doesn't remember the password that I've never seen! That's a mega-fail and a deal breaker for me. AND you cannot ask a question on their help page of the Albine website--you only get to read FAQs, which are only thinly disguised advertisements. I know I'm not the only one who has had Blur make a password that later Blur would not remember but nary a question in the FAQs, forcing me to do a lowball review here for possible answers. Maybe two stars is too many. Sorry.

I was ready to install it on my Android phone. Not doing that now until I get some answers.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Hi Rockin Robbins - I'd agree, that is a mega-fail. When you go back to sign into USPS does Blur autofill the information for you on that page despite it not being on the accounts page?

Also, I have just tested this on my own by creating an account on USPS and it did save. There is a chance that you do not have the newest version of Blur installed and I'd suggest you'd upgrade here: http://link.abine.com/dntme-firefox-latest . Hopefully that will help with USPS.

We are aware that the product is not perfect, but I can assure you we do hear our users feedback and we hope to improve Blur enough that you like it as much as you did DNT. Thank for your feedback.

It was good while it lasted. Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Like others I've been using Abine DNT for a while until this latest, greatest, update. I'm uninstalling it. Here's why: It has gone from blocking trackers to BEING a tracker, with the added bonus of annoying pop-ups (so retro!) .... pop-ups that you can't readily disable. It's literally a retrograde step in almost every imaginable way though I'm sure Blur will find a way to finish breaking the bits it missed in this revision. I don't want pop-ups and I don't want fancy. I want a solid, unobtrusive tracker blocker *running in the background* with granular control. What DNT is now is an intrusive eyesore. Textbook progression: Started out great, ideas people get involved, maybe a little VC and POW, it's ruined. It was good while it lasted.

edit: Reading back through the reviews it seems that Blur is right and everyone else is wrong and it's our fault because 'we don't get it' Riiiight.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

DO NOT INSTALL if you dont like Albine, a private company, to know all about your movements. Albine demands that you have an account, the pest you with popups about premium and they claim its better if I trust them with my creditcard, email, passwords, and blur doesnt prevent ads as DoNotTrackMe. Delete if you allready have it. Give us DNTM and Mask-me back.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

From Privacy Suite to Maskme to Blur Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I have been with Abine ever since I encountered Privacy Suite. The move to Maskme worked perfectly. DNT worked well; mind you, in combination with other anti-tracking add-ons.

But the sudden move to Blur - what a shambles. I lost all my 200+ accounts. For a split second they appeared in Blur, the next time I logged in a couple of seconds later: empty!. I had to MANUALLY enter every single one - thank you, Abine, cost me half a working day!
That was when i started looking for a replacement and found LastPass. Works well. It was the first thing that came up, I had heard of it before, so I went for it. When I have time (to waste) I may look into other options and compare. But I shouldn't have to do that, right?

Now, a couple of days ago, logging in to Blur, i got this message about the promo code for ex-maskme users to upgrade to Premium. Okay, why not, for the masked phones and credit card feature, a reduced rate for ever, why not.

Guess what? Today I am trying to buy Premium and the promo code "IS INVALID".

Thank you, Abine, for making it crystal clear - I shouldn't have bothered.
A company that gives less than two months notice before retiring a product and screwing up the transition process?

It was nice while it lasted but it is over.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Great Product Rated 5 out of 5 stars

So far so good! I'm not one to make a lot of changes but I must say I am pleased to recommend this product. Blur is very easy to use and I must say the technical support team is exceptional. I recently ordered a package and mistakenly entered the billing address as the shipping address. My package went to Blur HQ by mistake. The Blur staff contacted me and assisted in getting the package sent to the correct delivery address. What can I say, the customer service is exceptional. Thanks guys, keep up the good work!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Hi Joe- thanks so much for your review!

Listen to the Bad reviews. Rated 2 out of 5 stars

I migrated from Maskme and lost half of my data, not to mention I am locked out of masked emails in mask me so I can't go back and view my old data. I will keep what I have left of maskme until it plays out and then uninstall. Sometimes change is not better. Blur will probably be ok for new users but for me it has caused nothing but problems. I am a long time user of Donottrackme and Maskme and both were great addons. Goodbye Abine! I'm outta here!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Great for preventing tracking, but I used to have DoNotTrackMe and MaskMe. Supposedly, Blur combined those two products into one.

Blur does provide a list of companies from which it is supposedly blocking tracking cookies, but doesn't provide me with the total number of cookies blocked like DoNotTrackMe did. Far worse, however, is that Blur only imported part of my opayq emails and MaskMe generated passwords list and I'm now blocked from accessing MaskMe due to having Blur installed. Worst of all, I am unable to create any new opayq email addresses or passwords through Blur. I was planning on upgrading to get the blocked phone numbers feature (a paid annual subscription) in January, but now that there are so many issues, I'm looking for a new service -- one that actually works. WAY too many glitches!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Hello - thanks for your feedback here and I'm sorry to hear you're not enjoying Blur as much as MaskMe / DNT.

Blur does tell you how many trackers you've blocked, but in a different way than DNT did. You can see the number of individual trackers on a page from the number on the icon. If you'd like to see your total trackers, it can be found at the bottom of the extension interface.

Regarding the partial information transferred, did you sync your information immediately before you migrated from MM to Blur? If so, we can revert you back to MM to complete the migration once again. If you'd email support (at) abine (dot) com, our support staff will be able to assist you further.

And if you're unable to create Masked Emails, that is definitely a mistake. If you'd try to upgrade your version through this link, that should fix the problem: http://link.abine.com/dntme-firefox-latest

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Do Not Track Me was great. Blur is awful. Not recommended.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Love this Add on! Rated 4 out of 5 stars

This add on works great. It keep 3rd parties from following you and collecting your data and does not seem to interfere with the way sites operate like some other add ons do. Love it.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (4.5.1334.1-signed). 

Thanks for the great review! Happy to hear you love Blur and we appreciate your support.