How to fix the attachment problem for quicktext pro Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I have fix the attachment problem with quicktext pro!

You can contact me for sharing the fixed code under:
https://www.thunderbird-mail.de/index.php/Thread/67155

Yes, but... Sorry to have to be a bit critical Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Thanks a lot for fixing this add-on.

Yet a problem remains with the pro version, that still cannot manage the attachments...

When can we expect a solution?

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful. Thank you very much for upgrade!

This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Workaround success! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Thanks to R. Kent James for "How to fix the core code" below. I'm happy to report that this worked for me on the pro version, running OSX 10.10. You've saved the day!

THANK YOU for fixing Quick Text (0.9.11.6) Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Great. Thank you.
This addon is so important!

This user has 3 previous reviews of this add-on.

How to fix the core code Rated 5 out of 5 stars

As mentioned by others, this addon does not work with Thunderbird 38 due to an encoding issue. I've looked at the code, and presented the trivial change needed to restore read/write capability of template files. See http://mesquilla.com/2015/07/15/fixing-quicktext-addon-for-thunderbird/

I've contacted the author asking that this change be done, or someone else released to do the change.

R Kent James
Chair, Thunderbird Council

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.11.5). 

Great plugin, but needs update!!! Here's how to bring back disappeared templates Rated 5 out of 5 stars

===== TUTORIAL FOR TB 38 ON MAC OSX, LINUX ====

This is a great addon, I use it all the time and have about 30 templates in 5 categories.

Here is a little script to solve the problem with encoding on latest TB while waiting for the author to fix it (hopefully!).
Just run this ONLY ONCE each time after you modify your templates in Quicktext. If you already have broken templates, run this script while Thunderbird is NOT running. Everything should be OK when you start it again!

PLEASE NOTE: you have to change the Thunderbird profile folder on line 1. Simple instructions: copy the following text into your text editor, put the correct path to your TB profile then copy the whole thing and paste it in Terminal.

cd "~/Library/Thunderbird/Profiles/7saor6vs.default/quicktext/"
echo -ne 'xFFxFE' > templates.new
cat templates.xml >> templates.new
rm templates.xml
mv templates.new templates.xml

Alternative for Mac users: use this little Autimator app: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/79938589/fix%20quicktext.app.zip
But you still have to edit it with Automator and replace with the correct Thunderbird profile folder.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.11.5). 

Wonderful! Wonderful! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I love this addon! I use it every day for every message! This addon is well thought out and versatile.

I wrote a tutorial on Stack Overflow about how to embed images in email - and you can use this method easily with QuickText: http://stackoverflow.com/a/18008898/1038866

Also, change the encoding of your QuickText quicktext\templates.xml file in your profil folder will fix the problem with the configuration not showing in Thunderbird 38.01. There are directions in one of the reviews previous to mine.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.11.5). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

* * * * TUTORIAL FOR TB 38 * * * *

1. Make changes to your QuickText templates.
2. Close Thunderbird;
3. Find the templates.xml file (on Windows, it's located in C:Users<Username>AppDataRoamingThunderbirdProfile<Profile>quicktext)
4. Open templates.xml in Notepad++ and set the encoding to "UCS-2 Little Endian" (this step restores the required BOM characters);
5. Save the file and restart Thunderbird.
6. Redo after making any change to your QuickTexts.

ENOY :)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.11.5). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I also could not import templates

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.11.5). 

Rated 2 out of 5 stars

Since THB 38.01, the saved text are erased and there is no possiblity to reimport the saved settings

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.11.5). 

Erasing Groups and Templates after restart TB Rated 3 out of 5 stars

I agree witch previous post. This plugin does not work correctly (with TB 38.0.1), erasing groups and templates after restart.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.11.5). 

テンプレデータが消える件 Rated 5 out of 5 stars

thunderbirdのバージョン上げてから、自動で表示されなくなりましたが、
「設定」→「全般」→「起動時にインポート」の部分に、ファイルの階層を入れてやれば、毎回読み込むようです。

また、新規にエクスポートしたデータを読み込んでも、何も表示され無い件は、
中身自体は消えていないので、テキストエディタ(秀丸とか)で
読み込んで、その他、正常に読み込めるデータに移植してあげると、正しく読み込めるようになりました。

※上部の<menu>から下部の</body>まで

いつも便利に使わせてもらっているので、対応を期待します。

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.11.5). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

It not work with TB 38.0.1, template isn't saved after restart TB, please fix :(

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.11.5). 

Alternative Rated 4 out of 5 stars

I was worried when reading about this add-on no longer working, so looked for an alternative.

This seems to do what I need and is compatible with the latest Thunderbird:
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-us/thunderbird/addon/clippings/

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.11.5). 

Templates missing Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Hi,

As Andy68 mentions the problem appears to be that quicktext now saves templates.xml without the FFFE at the beginning of the file. If you are a windows user you can resolve this by opening the templates.xml in notepad++ going to encoding, changing the encoding to "UCS-2 Little Endian" and saving. After changing the encoding and restarting thunderbird, quicktext should read the templates correctly. If you save in quicktext though you will have to do this again. Hopefully this workaround helps until Quicktext is fixed to save properly.

PS Windows users may find templates.xml in C:\Users\<Username>\AppData\Roaming\Thunderbird\Profile\<Profile>\quicktext\

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.11.5). 

Stopped working, all templates gone!! Rated 1 out of 5 stars

This was an indispensable module (a 5 star one) - I had dozens of ready to use templates to drop into emails. However, since an update to Thunderbird, all of them have disappeared. I've tried saving new ones, but they disappear after restarting the computer...

Not cool! I'm going to have to disable this module now. There hasn't been an update in over a year, so doubt anything will change any time soon.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.11.5). 

Quicktext does not work any longer - XML template file also corrupted! Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Bogobogo's workaround is working. Nevertheless the XML master-template was obviously corrupted! (???)
I did a binary comparison of the XML master-template file stored in \profile\quicktext\templates.xml with an older backup template.
Both files were equal except for two additional leading bytes at the top of the template file from my backup. (Bytes: FF FE)
If you want to restore your possibly corrupted Quicktext template I recommend to open your template with HEX editor and add two additional leading bytes "FF" "FE" to the file.
It worked for me.
I hope there will be a bug fix of Quicktext as soon as possible.

Regards!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.11.5). 

HELP! Today ALL my template texts have disappeared from thunderbird!!! Rated 1 out of 5 stars

WHAT HAPPENED? Where are all my saved texts??? They all disappeared overnight!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.11.5). 

Abandonware Rated 1 out of 5 stars

There are multiple bug reports. Author does not responde for months.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.9.11.5).