How I got this to work after updating Firefox Rated 5 out of 5 stars

After updating Firefox to 39, this add-on was no longer working for me. Here's how I got it to work: I disabled and removed the add-on and re-started Firefox. Then I installed the add-on fresh and re-started. Then it worked.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.7.20150426.1-signed.1-signed). 

latest firefox/waterfox update may have broken it Rated 4 out of 5 stars

It's been a useful add-on, but since updating 4/20/2015 to Waterfox 37.0.1 (64-bit version of FF), it doesn't seem to work. Installs OK, button shows up in customize and can be added to a toolbar, but no activity when clicked. My theme is "Firefox 2, the theme, reloaded 1.0.11," and I'm also using Classic Theme Restorer 1.3.0.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.6.20150407.1-signed.1-signed). 

Hi, I installed Waterfox to test this, but the add-on is working fine in Waterfox for me. (I kept the default theme, so I don't know if there's an issue with the ones you mentioned.) I tested disabling and re-enabling the add-on, and it still worked ok.

It sounds like the add-on didn't install correctly for you, as normally the install automatically adds the button on the top bar so that you don't need to add it manually. If the install didn't work right, that would explain nothing happening when you click the button. This same thing happened to me once before on Firefox, but disabling and re-enabling the add-on (and restarting the browser in between) fixed it. I wasn't able to recreate the problem again after that, so I don't know what could cause that to happen sometimes.

**Update** : I found the problem in the install routine which was causing the aforementioned issues. It happened whenever installing from scratch in a new profile. I've corrected that now, and retested with Firefox, SeaMonkey, Palemoon, and Waterfox. They all seem to be working well.

Thanks for reporting the problem. Let me know if it still doesn't work for you.

ToggleDocumentColors and Australis interface, and still firefox 37, and button of your addition Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Hi, generally your addition of ToggleDocumentColors, I noted for a long time incorrectly works, after appearance of the Australis interface, addition doesn't work, but after installation of "classic theme restorer" your addition again nichinat to work, after firefox 37 again ceased to work, and earned only then when I set one more addition of Blank Your Monitor + Easy Reading, here then earned also yours, and after deleting Blank Your Monitor too now works... I look there was a new version under firefox 37, and here with "Australis" now too normally works, too something corrected?

And if you want, it is possible to change still a type of the button, that is to make a figure in the button in style as all remaining other buttons in Firefox... and in my opinion the program is actual only for a classical subject in windows 7 as only on it it is possible without additional programs to change background color to switch between this background and a background of the site

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.6.20150407.1-signed.1-signed). 

I don't know why the add-on wouldn't have been working for you before; perhaps there was some conflict between this add-on and other ones you had installed. I did make an update for version 37 that was necessary due to a change Mozilla made to the browser color preferences.

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

This craftwork does not even have an interface with settings like other add-ons. Also I can see, that this thing does not work properly (FF 37).

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.5.20141023.1-signed.1-signed). 

The add-on does not have any settings of its own, as its purpose is simply to toggle the color settings in the browser options.

I've now updated the add-on for FF 37. The new version should be available after it goes through the review process.

Works Great Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I've tried macros to do this but, if your browser isn't in the same exact spot when you run a macros it can miss when replicating your button pushes. Not with this. This works out of the box. No setting up custom buttons, learning the code to even attempt to design a button etc...
Did I mention "This works great¿"

michael clyde
FireFox 28 (29, 30 & 31 suck)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.4.20120122.1-signed.1-signed). 

It works Rated 5 out of 5 stars

That may sound like faint praise, but if you check my dozen odd reviews, non-functioning extensions aren't as rare as you think.
Problem with, to name names, Color Toggle for one, is that the alternate color profile can easily hide GUI links, and actually render them inert [so even if you know where a button is, you're still screwed].
TDC does one narrow job, but does it effectively. Kudos!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.4.20120122.1-signed.1-signed). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

great addon, now it's easy to switch between youtube colors and my colors and I can see which videos I've seen (visited links appear in a different color than unvisited)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.4.20120122.1-signed.1-signed). 

Love it Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This is so great for helping me read all those annoying websites with 50% gray type on white backgrounds or with white type on black background.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.4.20120122.1-signed.1-signed). 

Great for colour blindness Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This is the add-on I've been waiting for and didn't realise it existed. Most web sites of course look better with their own colours, but some just make it very difficult for us colour-visually challenged folk when they make the colours of, for example, un-followed and followed links so close (to me) that I can't distinguish them ... in such cases, toggling to my own colours is the answer. Thank you.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.4.20120122.1-signed.1-signed). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

great shortcut, thanks

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.4.20120122.1-signed.1-signed). 

easier reading Rated 4 out of 5 stars

This addon allows me to keep wild web colors to a minimum, greatly easing my reading. It is so important to me that I am delaying my Firefox 10 upgrade until this last addon supports it.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.4.20120122.1-signed.1-signed). 

I don't understand why Firefox is reporting the add-on as incompatible during the upgrade process. That seems to be some kind of bug or quirk. I just upgraded my own Firefox browser from version 9 to 10. I selected to continue with the upgrade even though it listed ToggleDocumentColors as incompatible with v10 and indicated that it would be disabled. After the upgrade completed, the add-on page lists the add-on as enabled (!), and it is working fine. So I think you should be safe to go ahead with the upgrade.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Bug report:
With ToggleDocumentColors, I switch to user-specified colors.
In Firefox options, I choose system colors (meaning colors from the current Windows 7 theme).
Firefox correctly displays system colors.
With ToggleDocumentColors, I switch to page-specified colors.
Firefox correctly displays page-specified colors.
With ToggleDocumentColors, I switch to user-specified colors.
Firefox incorrectly displays the Firefox-configured colors rather than system colors. In Firefox options, the system colors checkbox is incorrectly not selected.

ToggleDocumentColors 1.3.20111008, Firefox 8, Windows 7.

I don't see any better place to submit a bug report.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.3.20111008.1-signed.1-signed). 

Thank you for reporting this bug. I have applied a fix; the new version will be available once it has been reviewed.

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Nice add on. But it would be better if it had a extra option like domain oriented, so you don't need to activate and deactivate every time.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.3.20111008.1-signed.1-signed). 

Don't use it yet Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Don't use it (version 1.2.20110411) yet. Although a potentially good add-on, ctrl-shift-c is used by Seamonkey mail to mark all your (perhaps years of) e-mail as read. Undoing this in Seamonkey does not seem to work. If you use IMAP as protocol, this marking is done immediate at server level and there is no way of undoing it, except perhaps asking your system administrator to reset all your e-mail. I've informed the author and asked him to choose another key combination for this much wanted program.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.2.20110411.1-signed.1-signed).