just what I needed Rated 5 out of 5 stars

It removes sites from history, future history, and best of all the "Awesome Bar" autocomplete. There's no other way out there to stop specific things from automatically popping up there, so this is worth it for that alone.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.2.10). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

In theory, this sounds great.... but all I wanted to do was block my Yahoo.ca webmail site and I have tried to do this several ways (right click on page, use the Add-on Options, etc) with this plugin and the site I want to block is still showing up in my history, even when I exit Mozilla & restart. It does annoy me that the other program I use, Stealther, deletes the WHOLE viewing history (like the author said.... red flags!) and I was really hoping this HistoryBlock would work.... I guess I'm still searching for the right thing...

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.2.10). 

Re: In theory...

It doesn't block a yahoo.ca webmail site? I'm a little confused about the exact situation...

Can you send me an email with the specifics so that I can get some testing and hopefully resolve this issue for you?

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Simple and effective!

And it does what it is supposed to do: block sites from history without me having to worry about it.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.2.10). 

Re: Simple and effective!

Thanks for the support Tiago, I'm glad you found HistoryBlock useful!

Feel free to give suggestions for future releases.

Some suggestions Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Good but it'd be nice to recover the list of blacklisted sites if you make a mistake or change your mind. Maybe you could enter a password to recover them?

Also, if you follow a bunch of links on an site you shouldn't be on, you may end up filling your history with similar sites and you'd have to block each one. Maybe you could have an option that blocks all history except for sites you approve. Sort of like a reverse version?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.2.10). 

Re: Some suggestions

Thanks for your support of HistoryBlock. I have been juggling the idea of getting the blacklist back, and I don't think that it is strictly necessary. For instance, if you accidentally type in "food.com" instead of "foo.com", you would notice that foo.com isn't being stored in history, and there is already an implementation for removing blacklisted sites. I still haven't decided if this is good enough, but it definitely is a way to solve the problem you present at the moment.

As for link-following, this is definitely something I am looking to implement (and it has been requested by at least a few people). Basically, I feel it is a slippery slope going down the white-list road, as white-lists tend to be overly restrictive and more often than not, more hassle than they are worth. On the other hand, I think that i have a good solution for this problem.

Let's say that you visit 'foo.com' and you blacklist it. However, on foo.com you followed a link to foosfriend.com, which is likely a hostname you would like blocked, if not only just for the session. The addon can get access to the referrer object and detect whether the current site was arrived at via a blacklisted site. This is likely how I will handle it.

Firefox will hit foosfriend.com and say "did you come from a blacklisted site?" If so, then HistoryBlock will attempt to block foosfriend.com. The only thing is that if you were to simply open a new tab and go directly to foosfriend.com, then it wouldn't be in the blacklist and the referrer would be empty (a brand new connection, right?).

I'm still working out the logic and how best to handle these types of scenarios, but I think I am on the right track here... look for it in a future release.

Great Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Good but it'd be nice to recover the list of blacklisted sites if you make a mistake or change your mind. Maybe you could enter a password to recover them?

Also, if you follow a bunch of links on an site you shouldn't be on, you may end up filling your history with similar sites and you'd have to block each one. Maybe you could have an option that blocks all history except for sites you approve. Sort of like a reverse version?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.2.10). 

Great Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Good but it'd be nice to recover the list of blacklisted sites if you make a mistake or change your mind. Maybe you could enter a password to recover them?

Also, if you follow a bunch of links on an site you shouldn't be on, you may end up filling your history with similar sites and you'd have to block each one. Maybe you could have an option that blocks all history except for sites you approve. Sort of like a reverse version?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.2.10). 

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Ok...downloaded this, added three pesky sites to it that have been stuck in my address bar history for awhile despite having it save 0 days of browsing history.

Anyway...two of the sites have disappeared from the browsing history, but one is still there, despite me closing and reopening firefox several times, and adding it to the blacklist several times. WTF?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.2.10). 

Re: pesky sites

I'm glad that HistoryBlock has helped with a few of your problem-sites, but I'm curious as to why some do not seem to be caught while others are.

I ran into a similar problem during debugging version 2.0.8 (I think), and it turned out being a subdomain issue (foo.ja.er.com or something silly along those lines with multiple subdomains).

In order to keep your privacy, I'd love for you to shoot me an email with the list of pesky sites you would like blocked, and make special mention of which ones work and which ones do not, and I will see if I can figure out why and issue a fix.

I promise to keep your information private.

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

excellent idea, glad the bugs are getting fixed.
can't wait to see how well it works, ill report any problems back to you.
thanks

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.2.10). 

FF 3.5 ???? Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Hey K, I just downloaded 3.5 and history block is not supported. Please tell me you are doing some tweaks ;-) to make it work on 3.5. Don't make me choose between 3.5 and History block.

cheers,

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.3.1). 

Re: Good start

Thanks for the support Rushi. I really like the idea you presented here about the tangent-links of blocked hosts, I think that I will add that, but I worry that it will be a gateway to some long, alcohol-driven, nights of coding as catching links from a host which is blocked as they go out can be tricky, especially in the case of http requests on site.

I think that I will first implement it as an option. Also, the problem of whether it makes more sense to add the tangent host to the blacklist or simply block it for that session... the list goes on and on...

I will definitely start messing with this, however, as I love the idea.

superfluous Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Maybe the aim is OK. But I tried it with imagefap, jasmin, awempire etc. Any page was stopped to appear or produce pop-ups nor divert links! No accessible blacklist to edit the input. Wasted time with it.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.2.7). 

Re: superfluous

I'm not really sure what your difficulty is (besides English... not to be a jerk, but it's hard to understand).

HistoryBlock is neither used to stop popups or divert links.

The blacklist is meant to be hidden from the user, follow the instructions on the details portion of the addon and you will see where you have erred.

Bugs Rated 3 out of 5 stars

I love this idea of this addon, it would really enforce privacy when using portable Firefox on a usb disk, however it is too buggy to use. Downloads simply screw up completely, and I seemed to experience problems with the awesome bar on a number of occasions.

I do hope you get these bugs ironed out, I can't wait to try this addon again.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.2.7). 

Re: Bugs

Thanks. You should try out version 1.2.9 to correct the downloads issue; I believe I have addressed the bug you are referring to.

As a matter of confusion: your problems with the "awesome bar" do not sound like they pertain directly to my addon. What is the "awesome bar" and what kind of problems were you experiencing (also, this is probably best discussed via email)?

Very good add-on but needs some work Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Hi,
This add-on is very usefull but I really love a "unblock site" functionnality (I know this on the way) and I found a disturbing bug which make me disable HistoryBlock : the Download list is not functionnal anymore.
When I download something on a non blocked site, it doesn't appears in the download list.

I'm on Ubuntu 8.04 and here is my add on list :
*Adblock plus
*Add to search bar
*Hunspell french dictionnary
*Firebug
*Flashblock
And the ubuntu modification add on

I don't know it everyone has this problem but it's very irritating.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.2.7). 

Re: Very good add-on but needs some work

I understand your frustration with the downloads bug. I realize it took me entirely too long to get this ironed out, but I believe that version 1.2.9 has resolved this issue. Please feel free and email me if you continue experiencing problems.

Additionally, I really like the idea of allowing a site to be unblocked again, but I have not been able to come up with a good way of implementing the interface. You see, I started this addon as a hack for my own enjoyment, but then a number of people asked me to take it wider so they could use it, and it eventually ended up here.

Long-story-short, the "options" button on the addon itself is how I control the user-input for blocking specified domains, and adding another option to it would really make me reconsider it as an options pane, rather than an input pane. I suppose this really did not make the story short at all...

Let me just say that I am currently working on a way to unblacklist hostnames and it should be in a future release soon. Thank you for your feedback.

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

works great... but it would be even greater if you could for example block it from history but keep it in the recently closed tab list

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.2.7). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Thanks for creating this, it is absolutely invaluable for the new awesomebar functionality, I'm surprised mozilla didn't add this sort of option by default as it is a real privacy risk.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.2.7). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Works like a charm! Realy great. Using Firefox/3.0.1 on a Macintosh. Grz Chris

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.2.7). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

doesn't work for me, neither with addons menu nor right-click option

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.2.7). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

this is a great add-on but my firefox crushed

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.2.7). 

wait... what?

Which is it then. You posted a 3/5 star review before stating that it didn't work, now you say it is a great addon but your firefox "crushed"??? ( I assume that's 'crashed').

When is the crash happening? What causes the crash (if you can tell) and does it happen all the time, or spuriously?

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

this doesn't work on my machine.
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux x86_64; en-US; rv:1.9.0.1) Gecko/2008072820 Firefox/3.0.1

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.2.7). 

how does it not work?

Could you please email me (kain_savage -at- yahoo.com) and explain the exact failure?\r\n\r\nI don\'t have access to a 64bit Linux install, so it\'s going to be hard to narrow this down. Also, I remember hearing that there is a different branch of Firefox depending on how it is installed (either by the Mozilla site\'s download or a system-based fork of the project). \r\n\r\nEither way, any/all details will help me narrow it down. Does it simply not install, does it install but not block hostnames properly, if so which hostnames, etc etc.

Looks Good! Rated 4 out of 5 stars

This is great... Just needs a little bit more funcionality.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.2.6). 

Looks Good!

Could just use a little more description ;-).

I am always eager to hear feedback from people who use HistoryBlock. If there is some specific functionality you feel belongs in the addon, please let me know and if I agree, I will try and get it into the next couple builds.

Searching for Incognito Rated 4 out of 5 stars

After installing Chrome and have experimented the Incognito mode, I was asking myself if this new feature wasn't already in Firefox add-ons.

Bingo! Here it is! Thank you! It really works!
Now it's just a "new feature" that will have to be transformed and added to the next Firefox version.

Cons: If we can add hostnames to the block list, then it would help to have an option to see that list and remove any hostname from it.

--------
EDIT:
--------

Thank you for your explanation! Now I fully understand why you made this add-on so simple.

Privacy is the main issue, and I was only thinking in just a small part of it. I apologize.

The blacklist is out of question to be shown to any "well" intended person that by chance happens to find it. And I'm impressed that you took time to make those hostnames unrecognizable.

So the only improvement that I can see right now is to add another field for removing any hostname that the user writes on it, as you suggested. It could be placed under the "Add a host to be blocked" field to keep it as simple as it is.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (1.2.7). 

Slippery Slope

I like the idea of removing hostnames from the black list, but there is definitely a slippery slope when dealing with privacy. For instance, I know that Chrome's "Incognito Mode" is getting dubbed "pr0n-mode" and I am under the assumption that at least a decent base of HistoryBlock users will be thinking the same way.

This is why I spent so much time debating whether to add the "Block This!" button to the right-click menu. There is a point where you want anyone who uses your firefox to not even notice the addon at all; it should be transparent (the fewer questions the better). Additionally, this is why I have hashed the hostnames in the back-end (if you never used HistoryBlock prior to 1.2.5 then you might not know, if you go to "about:config" in the address bar and search for historyblock you will find "stringpref1" which is an innocuous name and is filled with hashed strings - the blacklist which is unrecognizable). This is also why when you add a hostname to the blacklist, you aren't greeted with anything akin to "already in the blacklist," so that any other user cannot guess at what sites you have blacklisted very easily.

Privacy is the crux of the matter. If you can get at the blacklist, then anyone who might use your computer can get at the blacklist. While I agree that a user should be able to remove a host from the blacklist (and this will likely be in the 1.2.8 build), I think that I will keep it on the down-low so that they merely say "unblock this hostname" and either 1) the hostname is removed from the blacklist or 2) the hostname was never in the blacklist. Neither way should return something to the user, but the functionality will make it apparent.

Thanks for the review, and if there are any other functionality improvements you would like to see in future builds, please go ahead and leave another review or email me directly kain_savage -at- yahoo.com