Functional, but not usable Rated 1 out of 5 stars

It works, and that is about all I can say. It causes issues with compaction which result in pop up errors every hour or so. Also, it is so heavy on disk IO that if you do not have an SSD don't even think about it. Every time I click in a folder with more than 2 or 3 new messages, would hang thunderbird for 3 or 4 minutes all the while pounding on the disk. Basically unusable. Support request went unanswered, so I uninstalled and now use davmail, which has none of the above issues and is completely free.

an essential add-on; issues with speed limit utility for larger email accounts Rated 3 out of 5 stars

I've been using ExQuilla for several years to allow Thunderbird as my email client to our corporate MS Exchange server. Easy to configure and well worth the price. Works well except for email accounts that accumulate 100's of emails in the inboxes before they are read and deleted.

I found that once I had over 150 emails or so in the inbox, ExQuilla (and Thunderbird) would lock-up while synching and updating folders. Could take 5-6 minutes several times a day.

Direct access through Outlook never has this problem, nor does using Thunderbird with the MS Exchange gateway DavMail. But ExQuilla is simpler to setup, so would be my first choice for email accounts with small to moderate throughput.

This review is for the current version, 45.0.1161

Funktioniert nicht richtig, kein Support Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Zugriff auf Exchange Server ist langsam. Es geht jedes Mal ein Fenster mit einer Fehlermeldung auf. Auf eine Supportanfrage bekomme ich keine Antwort. Der Outlook-Kalender wird nicht (mehr) unterstützt. Kurz: Geld zum Fenster rausgeworfen.

Almost perfect Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Hi,

I am using the addon to connect to my company email and I am happy with it. But each time I have a mail with an attachment Thunderbird is crashing, I sent a couple of report. Hope it will be fixed soon.

great solution for exchange Rated 4 out of 5 stars

I've been using the exchange imap interface, combined with a corporate LDAP server for addresses for many years with a variety of problems - mostly with address lookup. Exquila solved the whole issue - I now have the thunderbird features I love - good searching, thread display, etc. combined with the outlook/exchange address book - best of both worlds. 2 complaints - when archiving , the counter doesn't work, and having a good calendar interface would allow me to finally be free of outlook entirely.

works great! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I've been using OWA for years because I didn't realize that this add-on existed. Yesterday in a meeting OWA kept logging me out and being problematic. A guy sitting next to me mentioned ExQuilla and so I downloaded and configured it.

This add-on synced over 100,000 messages yesterday over some janky wifi in a conference center. It worked great and even put up with me stopping it a couple of times when I had to close my laptop.

I just noticed from reading other reviews that this is a 60-day trial. I'll very likely pay for a license as it's less than $1 per month and that's totally worth it.

I will say that I'd love to see support for push notifications.

DOES NOT WORK WITH FILTAQUILLA Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Several problems with filtaquilla.
The "save attachments to" and "detach attachments to" does not work with exquilla (saved or detached attachments becomes 0 octet empty files)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (38.0.1160). 

forwarding Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Messages with attachments are sent through filters messages without attachments. Please fix it.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (38.0.1160). 

Non-obvious licensing model Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Works as designed, but does not detail the non-free licensing model in the short description, as for example searching/installing it in Thunderbird, which is plain deceptive, as I would not have installed it otherwise. Free software exists to perform this functionality, it just requires additional work, which I'm assuming most individuals who turn to Thunderbird for Exchange are willing to research.

Edit: After Developer's update below addressing my problem I have revised my rating. There are still some issues to work-out using this add-on and then removing it however. For example, the associated email account must also be removed before removing the add-on, otherwise it won't be present or available to re-add. Functionality still works as intended.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (38.0.1160). 

OK, I'll add it in he summary, even though it has always been clear in the description

Mozilla support for non-free addons is miserable, as most such sites would have clear markers between paid and non-paid. The license model has always been clear in the description, but I'll also make it clear in the summary

Very good Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Works very well with the latest Thunderbird.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (38.0.1159.1-let-fixed). 

Configuration doesn't work as it should Rated 2 out of 5 stars

Unfortunately automatically configuration doesn't work. Autodiscover will loop. testing configuration will loop. Only manual configuration with manually added URL to EWS works as it should. Unfortunately price is too high for that functionality. 45 USD I can spend to fully working email client, not for plugin buggy and poor functionality plugin.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (38.0.1159.1-let-fixed). 

Worth it for a very small subscription Rated 4 out of 5 stars

After work migrated our emails to an exchange server we were forced to use outlook after years of Thunderbird. After looking for quite some time, ExQuilla was the only viable alternative to using outlook (there's very little out there).

We had some problems with sending attachments, but the support was helpful, they read through my logs and the problem was fixed. (Had to give them a day or two to respond but when they did the help was great).

We have never used shared address books before, and we are only a small (<50 employees) company so I can't comment on the other reviews, but if you are a small company who uses Thunderbird but want an exchange server to help multiple people manage multiple emails, backed up off-site, then we reccomend this.


You get 2 months trial and we are halfway in and will definitely be subscribing.

Edit. Evolution is no longer supported, the subscription may be a lot for some individual users, but multiple license cost is the price of a pint a year which is pretty tiny considering this guy is devoting his spare time to something that means I don't have to use the horrible horrible outlook. (It's so God damn terrible)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (38.0.1159.1-let-fixed). 

Broken authentication with Exchange 2013 Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Authentication against Microsoft Exchange 2013 appears to be broken. With the correct credentials I repeatedly get re-prompted for them. Eventually AD gives up completely and my account gets locked out.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (38.0.1159.1-let-fixed). 

No compelling reason to pay anything for poorly developed product. Rated 1 out of 5 stars

No support for the events whatsoever, no address book support, no tasks. Doesn't look like somebody spent years of development on this add-on.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (38.0.1159.1-let-fixed). 

Good plugin. Does not scale well. Rated 3 out of 5 stars

For smaller mail accounts this should work just fine, but when you're running with a larger mailbox with 15-30 subfolders and quite a few archived messages this thing begins to slow to a crawl. For comparison IMAP is able to handle the load just fine(2-8% CPU usage on average), though my office only allows exchange protocol outside the office network so I deal with ExQuilla.

The license cost is worth it, a project like this doesn't grow on trees. Evolution works, but isn't cross-platform like Thunderbird(the evolution ports are no longer developed).

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (38.0.1159.1-let-fixed). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Worth every cent

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (38.0.1159.1-let-fixed). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Working without any issue.Nice app.
But payment method.
I wish longterm payment (e.g. for 3-5 years) with discount. I 've about used 50 days. working great with exchange. After 10 days, I will buy license.Just I've not tested calendar. I'll post it again.Thanks

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (38.0.1159.1-let-fixed). 

Worthwhile Rated 5 out of 5 stars

The add-on does what is supposed to do and is apparently very well and professionally maintained. That means also, that the limitations are known, and for sure there is always room for more scope of functionality, but I prefer the approach like here that it just works well for the stuff it is built for. On my personal wish-list is compatibility with Exchange filters, but I guess this is not that simple.
The fee is fair and justified.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (38.0.1159.1-let-fixed).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Well worth the $10 sub - Works, makes Thunderbird feel native in doing exchange tasks Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Add-on works great, sync mail, address book. Simple setup, great value really to communite with exchange when you unwillingly are forced to use it in corporate enviroments. Thanks for the great work here.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (31.0.1136). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Why is there be a lifelong cost on a plugin for freeware?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (31.0.1136).