Worked!!! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

It works well

Thanks for the review!!

Top notch service Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I really was frustrated by a bug. The dev noticed it was important to me and helped me out with a new pre-alpha release which fixed things for me. 6/5 stars. I'm treated like a king and I won't forget.

This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Glad we could be of help. Thanks for the review!

Incomplete Rated 1 out of 5 stars

It does not save 100% of comments. For example a youtube video with 1000 comments.

If you tried saving comments then you know the option says "Save Comments Viewed, Max 2000" (see 3rd screen shot above). If you are browsing through a video’s comments and wish to save what you have read, CYS will do exactly that…save the comments you have read…up to 2000. It doesn' t claim to do anything else.

It works again Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I stand corrected.
After updating to the latest version, it works again.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (5.6.56).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Thanks for the 5 stars :)

Doesn't work Rated 2 out of 5 stars

Options say something about icon and arrow but there's no icon nowhere on GUI or customization screen so there's no way to "activate" downloading.

edit: I found out the icon is "fixed" (as in: cannot be customized) on the address bar. Which I do not have. At all. Because pentadactyl.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (5.6.53). 

Fix Using Firefox 46 and CYS v5.6.56:

After installing CYS, restart Firefox and then the Icon will be movable. If you enter "Customize" right after installing v5.6.56, it will not be movable.

Contact us at cytsaver@hotmail.com if you are still having problems.

Best YouTube Downloader ever Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This addon is well worth supporting and does everything you could imagine!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (5.6.53). 

Thanks for the review!!

Again Great add-on → when it works !?? Rated 4 out of 5 stars

it seems CYS is unable to Download/mux 1080p content → AGAIN !!?? i see the A/V files appear in browser but for some reason are not downloaded and therefor is cys unable to mux it !!?

mozilla : 45.02
CYS: 5.6.53

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (5.6.53).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

We are working on a solution to keep these changes from breaking CYS so often (signature encoding/decoding). An update will be ready soon, please bare with us, thanks...

Good To Hear That CYS Is Back Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I'm glad to hear to CYS developers reached their 1st Patreon goal. Best news I've hear all week. Now we can get back to downloading 1080p 60fps videos from Youtube again. Yay!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (5.6.53).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Thanks for the 5 stars!!

most flexible/powerful youtube downloader available, and I've tried them all. Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Please consider supporting the author on Patreon so that he can continue development. I created an account there specifically for this purpose -- it's quick and easy, and definitely worth it for such a useful tool.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (5.6.53). 

Good news...we reached the 1st funding goal on Patreon!! Thanks for your support!

Mandatory for downloading videos from YT Rated 5 out of 5 stars

The only free addon that still lets you save full 480p\1080p videos or audio from Youtube (except for Vevo protected clips).
I still wonder why YT decided to split a\v for those resolutions..
This addon has also been updated after each YT crappy change, so: great job!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (5.6.53). 

Thanks for the 5 stars!

Love it Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This is the best YouTube add-on out there that can download MP4 videos at their native resolution, or MP3 at high bit rate. Very versatile and powerful. I truly hope development can continue as I cannot find a single, or even combination of add-ons that can do what this does.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (5.6.53). 

Appreciate the support, thank you!

Don't let Complete YouTube Saver die! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This is the only tool that I know of that can download *all* YouTube streams in their original form.

Other tools (including tools that are **not** free):

1. Only download three pre-muxed and low quality encoded files (flv 240, mp4 360, and mp4 720), and

2. **Re-encode** those files to make "fake" 1080p files and/or 480p files.

Complete YouTube Saver can download the *actual* 1080p and other high quality video DASH streams, *and* high bitrate audio streams, then **only** uses ffmpeg to mux the stream content to a MP4 file format (there's NO re-encoding, it's the same encode that plays direct from YouTube. You have the option of downloading the higher quality DASH streams for 1080p, 720p, 360p, 240p, etc., as well as *only* high bitrate audio streams... a lot of people don't realize that many YouTube videos actually have 256K CBR and/or 192K VBR streams available, and Complete YouTube Saver can download these in their native M4A encoding!)

While YouTube is not encrypted for the most part, the actual download links for the streams are, which Complete YouTube Saver is able to decrypt from your browser's ability to play the links. YouTube regularly changes the way this works, and it usually stops Complete YouTube Saver from working, so with no more updates, this final version won't last very long.

It would be an ABSOLUTE SHAME to lose this important and useful tool because 150 people (of the over 22,000 users) could not spare $2.00 per month.

Some points to keep in mind about Patreon:

1) For the Patreon "rewards" of adding your name to the donations page and/or adding your name to the "about" window, ***YOU HAVE THE OPTION TO JUST PLEDGE AND NOT HAVE YOUR NAME ADDED TO ANYTHING***, if privacy is a concern for you.

2) YOU CAN EDIT YOUR PLEDGE ***AFTER*** PLEDGING!!

Please don't let this add-on die!

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (5.6.53).  This user has 2 previous reviews of this add-on.

Users who wish to be anonymous on Patreon can create a user name different from their real name, or simply make their account private.

Thanks so much for the great review and support!!

The best Rated 5 out of 5 stars

This is the best Youtube downloader, probably even better than my long time favorite "Youtube video and audio downloader". It's slick and functional. Perfect for usage with "HTML5 everywhere".

However, it makes stupid assumption about ffmpeg location on Linux, it should search folders of standard $PATH or at least make assumption about /usr/bin where all such binaries are. Also it shouldn't silently create folders, especially in non-standard location like ~/Downloads. At least it should assume FF default download folder.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (5.6.49). 

Thanks for the 5 stars!! Please contact us at cytsaver@hotmail.com...we will look into this.

An invaluable tool for video lovers Rated 5 out of 5 stars

There are any number of reasons for saving YouTube videos. Perhaps you have streaming/bandwidth issues; perhaps you find videos that are so good that you must archive them; perhaps you are afraid that a precious video will disappear from YouTube and you will no longer be able to return to find it. The reasons are endless, but whatever your reason CYT is your priceless companion. If a video has been posted in a range of image qualities (480p, 1080p, etc.), CYT enables you to choose in which resolution you would like to save the video. Another useful feature is that you have the choice of saving audio-only from a YouTube video, with, of course, a range of different file types and levels of audio quality to choose from. I recommend this Firefox extension and I urge all who use it to give some support to the people at CYT who've made this available to us for free.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (5.6.49). 

Appreciate the support, thanks for the review!!

Great Work! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent! That's what I was looking for. The only pity is that, there is no option to download subtitles in Polish.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (5.6.49). 

Added Polish subtitles to the language list. You can download version 5.6.51 here:

https://cys.mantishub.com/view.php?id=74

Thanks for your review!!

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Works great. Love it.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (5.6.46).  This user has a previous review of this add-on.

Thanks for the 5 stars :)

need to move the toolbar icon plz Rated 3 out of 5 stars

functionally, it's perfect.

but need to move the toolbar icon! furthermore, when not in the youtube website, the icon should be hidden automatically. will be better!

Now, have to disable this addon when not watching youtube to make the icon disappear.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (5.6.44). 

We are checking the icon, please contact us at cytsaver@hotmail.com so that we can respond...

As for hiding the icon on non YT pages, there is an option for this but it was accidentally disabled. We will re-enable it, thanks.

Great! Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I can download 4k 60fps videos now!
I can't move the Add-on icon...

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (5.6.44). 

Thanks for the five stars!!!

We are checking the icon, please contact us at cytsaver@hotmail.com so that we can respond...

Best YouTube Downloader When It's Working Rated 5 out of 5 stars

When it's working it's the best. When it's not can't get anything.

Needs fixings yet again at 20th December and onwards since FireFox made an update to 43.0.1.

Might be worth in the future thinking ahead of the game and making the updates run on the Aurora and Beta builds of FireFox.

That way if FireFox final gets an update we will have a fully working build everytime because it would have been made whilst said build is in it's Beta stages without having to wait for days and weeks for a CYD fix no offense.

As a new feature I would like to see it list both the opus and ogg VP9 versions as sometimes one is higher bitrate than the other so I think it's vital we have both options listed instead of having to choose the muxing for the VP9 or H265.

It's likely the m4a will still be the best audio for years to come on YouTube anyway but I feel if it's a video on the odd occassion that the Opus and Ogg are the best we need both on the screen to see what is the highest bitrate of them two.

Of course the mp3 and wave conversion needs to be able to automaticly detect the best bitrate from the lot of formats as well to be able to max the quality of the audio conversion especially on older videos where Ogg might win on the formats shootout with pure 128 vs 126 of the m4a in these older ones and Opus might not be on them older videos at all.

5 Stars for the great work creating this great YouTube Saver as it's the best when it works.

It does need to keep up with the FF updates system though as at the moment we will have to wait days for a fixed version because wouldn't even work on the new version after an FFMPEG December 2015 build update which is the latest although the website still has the 2014 but it should be working no matter which one we use as the addon detects both.

Yeah, definitely in the future making builds for the Beta of the next one 43.0.2 in advance will have us sorted ready for the final bug fixed version of 43.0.2 but at the moment we just need an 0.1 fix to get us working again and it's all good.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (5.6.44). 

Thanks for the constructive review. Your feature request for listing VP9 + OPUS and OGG is a good one; we will consider it for a future update.

The problem with CYS 5.6.44 is not a compatibility issue with 43.0.1, it is an issue with signature encoding/decoding (for some users). Your point is well taken though. You can download the fix, v5.6.46 here:

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/complete-youtube-saver/versions/

To Install in Firefox 43 before it passes review, set the preference "xpinstall.signatures.required" to "false" in "about:config". You can read more about this here: https://cys.mantishub.com/view.php?id=68

If you are still having problems, please contact us at cytsaver@hotmail.com. Let us know what OS you are using, thanks.

Update 5.6.44: OK (wav and several other formats were not available anymore with v.5.6.32) Rated 5 out of 5 stars

edit Dec. 2nd, 2015 -- OK: updated to version 5.6.44: working again. Thank you for the fix.
_________________

Version 5.6.32: as of Nov. 15~16th 2015, "Uncompressed Wav CD quality" and many other download (high quality) formats are not available anymore... I get a "zero byte" file. "Plus" 32-bit Firefox 37.x and 40.x now warn: "CYS unverified module"...

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (5.6.32). 

We are working on a fix...an update should be ready soon...

11-19-15 Update: Download v5.6.44 here: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/complete-youtube-saver/versions/