Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Nice; works on FF21.0

Nice addon, not supported anymore though? Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Handy addon. It's unfortunate that it will no longer build addon installer files in the latest Firefox. Looks like it was updated 2011.

Alternatives

The original creator is no longer maintaining it, and I just agreed to take over in case I was inspired to make some modifications. However, Firefox is going in the direction of restartless addons which you can build using their online tools at https://builder.addons.mozilla.org/ . There are bugs with the feature to auto-upload from their site directly for submission to AMO (the official Addons site), but you can use the builder to download the file package (or just the source files) after you have built it and then upload the package to AMO yourself (assuming you want a public addon hosted by Mozilla). The online builder tool also doesn't support localization yet, but otherwise, you can do a lot using this tool.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Is there any plan to make this tool (especially the xul editor) integrated with Firebug?
It can be simply done if we could open these tools in Tabs instead of new window.

Failed to create xpi Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Doesn't work for me. I tried using the source of a working addon and it will not create the xpi. it creates a build folder that can be zipped manually but when installed that way, the addon does not work.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

if someone could add this line

<em:unpack>true</em:unpack>

somewhere around line 10 into install.rdf it will unpack automatically

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.3.0.20100706). 

works if you unpack it Rated 5 out of 5 stars

The addon does work if you unpack it. Since FF4 xpi files are not unpacked like they use to so now there is a guide when you need to add which the developers failed to follow -- see http://blog.mozilla.com/addons/2010/09/23/changes-to-how-extensions-are-installed-in-firefox-4/ also see https://developer.mozilla.org/en/Install_Manifests#unpack -- this addon needs to be unpacked because it uses windows bat and linux shell scripts.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.3.0.20100706). 

Is Google too busy to fix tool they developed? Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Just looking into this tool. Haven't tried it. Many recent reviews point out that it is not working - no longer creates an XPI. Perhaps it may be awhile before it is fixed since it appears to be Google developed and work on their Chrome browser likely takes precedence.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.3.0.20100706). 

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

This extension is not creating the xpi file with the current version 0.3.0.20100706.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.3.0.20100706). 

Does not create XPI anymore :( Rated 1 out of 5 stars

This is the only extension builder I found and used. But the current version (0.3.0.20100706) of this extension is not creating the .xpi files. It just creates a "build" folder inside my working directory. Many have already reported it.

Any updates from the author or development team is highly appreciated with respect to the fix.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.3.0.20100706). 

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Doesn't build .xpi (or .jar/.zip) - please fix.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.3.0.20100706). 

Is it working now???? Rated 3 out of 5 stars

I just downloaded and installed it. Whenever I try to build an extension, it gives error message as "Error creating XXXX.jar" and creates a build folder inside of my project folder. It used to just create the XPI file.

Any idea or update.
Thanks.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.3.0.20100706). 

Working???? Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Is it working again?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.3.0.20100706). 

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

This use to work great, but now I went to make an update and like everyone else all I get is "Initializing..."

Must need some updating to work with the newest version of Firefox or something...

Please fix, this was a great tool.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.3.0.20100706). 

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Have been using it from a long time, but after the last update (this addon update), extension builder stopped working. It always says "Initializing..." for 5-7 mins n then my FF crashes (FF 3.6.6).

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.3.0.20100706). 

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I can't get the Extension Builder to work either. It just says "Initializing..." but nothing works.
I'd like to ask for support, but there doesn't appear to be a "Support Section" on the website. So it has to be a negative review instead. Sorry.

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.3.0.20100706). 

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

The extension builder doesn't work. anyone can help me?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.3.0.20100621). 

Removing Error Rated 4 out of 5 stars

@grbradt:

Click on the link in the error console. Then you see the path in die title bar of the source code. Open the file an remove the whitespace between "getJarFilesAndChrome" and "Dirs" (@line: 450).

Restart Firefox and try it again ;)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.3.0.20100621). 

Extension builder broken... Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Love this, so 5 stars, but Extension Builder seems broken. From the console,
Error: missing ; before statement
Source file: chrome://extensiondev/content/extensionbuilder.js
Line: 450, Column: 2
Source code:
getJarFilesAndChrome Dirs(mf, cm, jarfiles, jardirs, newCM);

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.3.0.20100621). 

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

I tried to create two xpi files with EDE, one from the source code of Site Compare v0.87, an addon that works and is in Mozilla Addons and one from the source code of an extension that I'm developing called Missing Alert. None of them worked.

I took a screenshot of the Error Console:
http://www.2shared.com/file/12656294/e4360b4d/extensiondevelopersextension.html
I double-clicked the link below "it is null" and I took a screenshot from a source code too:
http://www.2shared.com/file/12656057/d20ec195/extensiondevelopersextension2.html

The Site Compare v0.87 source code is at:
http://www.2shared.com/file/12648556/7e7d6d6b/sitecompare_v087.html
The Missing Alert source code is at:
http://www.2shared.com/file/12656251/38e9b0ce/missing_alert.html

My e-mail is deltrem(because of Delirium tremens)1984(because of my birthdate)*the at symbol*bol (because of Brasil Online)*the dot symbol*com*the dot symbol*br

Please, help me! What should I do?

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.3.0.20090902). 

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I just saw that the "Debugging Preferences" checkbox does not set all preferences I'd like to have.
(https://developer.mozilla.org/en/Setting_up_extension_development_environment#Development_preferences)

This review is for a previous version of the add-on (0.3.0.20090902).